Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2017 Visitor Reviews of
Boo Crew Haunted House (Mechanicsburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
4 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: popplio   (Event Visited: 10/21/17 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat out of the way but they have a few signs off of the main highway to help.

Wait Entertainment: Some entertainers during the wait. Live band performs and some music videos play on a big screen but it is quite loud.

Length of Event: 10 minutes for the trail and 20 minutes for the house.

Actor Performance: Kind of spotty. Some rooms in the beginning were empty, but there were quite a few automated props in those areas. The back half had more actors who were more intense and active.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Elevator in the beginning sets pacing up for you, but the group behind us caught up since we weren't rushing.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Lots of props and the theme flows pretty well, but some things seemed kind of cobbled together. Rooms were lit well enough for you to see a lot of details, both good and bad.

Costumes / Make-up: Both good, once again some of the rooms were too lit while others were too dark, but the ones I saw were good.

Summary: Boo Crew is a nice event overall. Long wait time but I'm assuming only so many people can be on the elevator at once. They could do with more wait entertainment or letting us at least sit for a bit. Very noisy. Some of the actors seemed bored or tired, but others were very animated. For a charity though, they're worth the money and a visit.

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: newbooreview   (Event Visited: 10/13/17 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily visible from the Buckhart Rd. Additional signage helps with directing traffic as well. There is very good parking staff to help parking and traffic flow.

Wait Entertainment: "Knuckles" the clown, "Morta" a creepy gypsy, and another creepy clown lurked in the woods and had a dolls head that he was eating. The Band "Relativity" provided additional entertainment in the main haunt barn - they were outstanding!

Length of Event: Trail about 15 minutes 
House about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: This size of this attraction requires a lot of actors. Some were passive and some very aggressive. It was the right mix always wondering when/where the next big scare was going to come from. A witch in the trail was very, very good. Other noteworthy performances from the actors in the "asylum" and "freakshow".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. No problems running into others in the trail or the house. They have some very seasoned actors who help gauge and temporarily hold groups at strategic points throughout the trail and the house as needed.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the visitor. Some very intense scenes and acting.

Props / Special FX: Fantastic mix of electronically triggered items, great usage of sound, lighting and other special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Fantastic use of masks, make-up and costumes really enhances the diverse range of characters throughout the attraction.

Summary: I previously was very involved with this attraction - but unfortunately have been on a three year hiatus. However, my review is not biased. I am a Music and Theater Specialist and I am NOT easily impressed. This is an awesome, high-tech theatrical experience. The activity is completely a volunteer organization through the Rochester Lion's Club and the corps of haunted house enthusiasts work year round on this charitable activity; it is completely different year after year. Cheers to all involved! 
 

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: fannie   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to see right along side the road. Well lit. 

Wait Entertainment: one clown Knuckles at the ticket booth , who was amazingly funny. He showed up from time to time in the wait building. We saw one lady in a straight jacket for about a total of 15 min of the 2 1/2 hour wait..one blue haired clown popped in the door occasionally. otherwise no wait entertainment at all.

Length of Event: 5-10 min walk thru woods outside. 2 1/2hr. wait to get into house and then 25 minutes in Morton shed haunt.

Actor Performance: Little kids in the woods were ok but silent. in the haunt each outfit went very well with the theme of the room. Lots of rahs and a few interacted but kinds late on the timing. overall ok!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: inside of the haunt itself it went very well. we did not see another group at all. we could take our time and enjoy each super neat scene.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: tons of electronic trigger props! great Halloween videos on huge tvs in the wait line. the elevator was insane! You HAD to hang on tight! Lotsa fun!

Costumes / Make-up: not too many mask. What you would expect for face paint but well done.

Summary: It was worth the money for me because of the awesome set up to look like an old house in the beginning of the building and I LOVE old houses. If you don't live to far and have time to spend some time there and enjoy old Halloween spoof videos, this is the place. It was great scenery in the building and everyone tried really hard. people were nice.

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BillC   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find via GPS. Good signs from road. Plenty of parking space.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. "Knuckles" the Clown is a hoot. Something about that guy makes you smile. Another clown "Beep" is always good. Was a young lady that didn't say much, but had good costume.

Length of Event: Probably around 30 minutes minus wait time.

Actor Performance: Some great, some not so, but overall above average.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: First half, a walk through a wooded trail was great. A group behind us did catch up to our group, but we were walking slow, taking it all in, so we let them pass. The indoor part, flow was good. Never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Here is were Boo Crew shines. They have big money wrapped up in many of the props. Special effects, lights / sounds / etc. is impressive.

Costumes / Make-up: Same as performance. Some great, some not so, but overall above average.

Summary: Okay, here's where the problem comes out. At the midway point of the tour, between the outdoor and indoor parts, is a large room to hold customers in wait. And boy did we wait. I'm sorry, but it near ruined the evening. Come to find out, they were having problems with one of the main props of the show. What should have been done was skip that part, pretend it wasn't even there, and keep the flow going. If it wasn't such a great place, with above average actors, the night would have been ruined. But after it was over, I must say I enjoyed myself. If everything is working as it should, this is a must see!

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Papamac   (Event Visited: 10/13/17 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility and location are good easy parking and easy to find signs up showing you where to go people in the parking lot showing you where to park

Wait Entertainment: Knuckles the clown and The nurse we’re go to entertain the people in line taking your tickets and get out of the others LOL

Length of Event: The outside trail was 10 to 15 minutes long and about 20 minutes on the inside we didn’t run into anybody with time to join enjoy the scares

Actor Performance: Most the actors stayed in their performance and interacted with you

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow soon very well Security did a great job keeping everyone in place and the timing was good we didn’t run into anybody My son and some friends my song

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Special-effects fantastic each room was decked out the way they should’ve been

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent job on the make up very few mask if any at all

Summary: My son and some My Friends went to the Haunt we had a great time interacting with each other and the actors everyone was helpful security was plenty move smoothly as we walk through Outside haunt the trail was well set up with people in their proper places the little actor got some of the people the wait to get in wasn’t long as we got the speed past once inside it move Quick instructions were well put out I don’t want to give too much information about the heart as I believe you would enjoy going through it

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

13 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Colleen5   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to see along the road. There we lights and signs.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was 3 actors that came thru on occasion and two large screens playing music videos.

Length of Event: The outdoor section was about a 5-10 min. walk thru, depending on how fast you walked. Then inside the main attraction took about 15 min.

Actor Performance: The energy level of the actors was low to medium. Most characters we're silent ones or spoke a few lines. The most talkative ones that stood out the most to me were the two clowns, Knuckles and Beep.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Walk thru was Medium paced. We never meet up with another group ahead or behind us while we were in the haunt itself.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The electronic visual screens were very good. There was a lot of detailed decorations that matched the theme of each room. The large dead horse prop outside was really neat looking.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Make up were good. Each character matched the theme of their area well.

Summary: I had a good time seeing the haunt, décor, props, actors, etc. They've done a good job at setting up the outdoor walk thru the woods. I do wish there would have been more intensity, entertainment and haunt actors to entertain the que line. The over two hour wait in line did get pretty boring. But I have to give them the benefit of the doubt and understand it was opening night and things were probably a lil hectic for them. But I can see how much hard work they put into building and decorating.

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/07/17 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to locate from GPS - Illuminated sign

Wait Entertainment: There was some light entertaining from a clown walking the lines, could definitely use more because of the line length and waiting time.

Length of Event: The trail was around 15 minutes and the haunted house was around 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: It’s a hit-and-miss with some giving 100% and others just standing around. Too many young kids in the woods which basically just stood still, needs some work. The house was around 50% giving it their all while others just jumped out without much effort.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow outside was somewhat congested while we had to wait for the younger crowd to get through the trail. The house moved better and everything went very smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: I would say around 8 to 10 wouldn’t have any issues attending this attraction.

Props / Special FX: The props are extremely well done, there didn’t appear to be much different from the last couple years but it’s entertaining.. I would suggest that it might be time to update some of this attraction.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were spot on, they’re always excellent at this and it shows.

Summary: Overall this is a very enjoying attraction, we usually put this on our list every year and there’s a reason, they give you a great bang for your buck. We had a great time despite seeing most of the same surrounding from previous years, however this group usually gives you quite a haunt every time and no exceptions this year. The actors usually were right on the mark, there were spots which could use of work but it still was enjoyable. 
I highly recommend this event especially if you’ve never been through it.

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

10 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/17
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it is the only game in town so if your on the right road you can't miss it

Wait Entertainment: none to speak of....one girl and a clown giving popcorn. If you consider the yard walk as part of the wait I might add that this is the forth haunt that I have been to that features a trail. I have yet to see one that equal anything more than crowd control.

Length of Event: well....there are two parts. about ten minutes for the yard walk and about 15 for the house.  

Actor Performance: Again you have to realize the difference between paid actors and those that just want to work a haunt. Paid actors tend to be in your face intense and this is not that. They stay in character and do what they are supposed to do. That's all you can ask.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They are very good at this so no problems.

Appropriate Ages: The younger crowd can handle this so we saw many little kids there.

Props / Special FX: stellar...it is the strong suit. I will not give it away but the opening elevator is the best thing I have seen no matter how big the haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: They strive to do a good job and they do. It is appropriate for the scenes.  

Summary: I must be fair and strongly disagree with the management decision to wait until the haunt was perfect. They had a problem and held the line instead of just chalking it up to the night and run the show. We waited over two hours to enter.I talked to a couple that,like us, had never been there before. They will never go back. That is a shame because this is a wonderfully constructed scene haunt.That means they have rooms with themes not just tight hallways. I tend to favor those over the other but it is a personal choice. If you love eye candy with a few shockers as I do this is indeed a great little haunt.It is well worth the drive to get there. They do great work for the community and not the owner. Kudos

Click here for more information
about Boo Crew Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at