Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Fear Factory (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/20/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Other than the detour on Rt 136, not their fault, using the map on the website, easy to find. Easy parking.

Wait Entertainment: There was a scary movie on TV and a fire.

Length of Event: More than 15 mins, I don't really remember. Wish it was longer because we were having so much fun.

Actor Performance: All stayed in character very well. Seemed to be quite a few kids, but they did a very good job. I don't know who the guy was who followed us through the maze but he was so close the whole time, I wondered once if I was holding his hand instead of my sisters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: With the rope and the guide, I don't think it was possible to run into anyone else, so spacing wasn't an issue. I know we weren't close to our other group who went in before because at one point we were yelling for them and got no answer. I am really not crazy about holding on to a rope. Our guide went the perfect pace, but occasionally when we stopped, tried to run away, etc. I was worried about jerking her around too much and that dampened the fun slightly. And I'm afraid we did jerk her around a bit.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ Personally, I wouldn't take kids to any haunted house unless it is geared towards kids. Working in a haunted house this year, I saw far too many crying kids carried through by their parents. It's bad enough when adults are crying.

Props / Special FX: I loved the sets. The library and the lady in it was great. Corn room was terrific but, had a tad too much fog. Never did see who was trying to scare us. Loved the room with the bridge. If the chainsaw had a chain on it, we wouldn't have any feet! The tall guy. I don't know how he did it. Scared me GOOD!

Costumes / Make-up: Generally very well done. I did see too many faces and street clothes (even one unmade/unmasked face or any street clothes kind of kills the mood). The jackal guy scared the heck out of me sitting on the floor and then blocked our way, splitting our group in half. Then I noticed his face and street clothes. That was one of the times we jerked the guide backwards. Sorry! I think everyone should have had a mask or makeup. Ok, except for the cute security guy at the very end :-)

Summary: We had a blast!! Again, I am not crazy about holding on to a rope. I tried to run once and ended up on the other side of the rope, twisted around and thought I was going to choke myself. We had a great time though and were scared at almost every turn. I had to resist the urge to bury my face because I really wanted to look around at the terrific sets.

Reviewed by: GO24GO   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Much as other reviewers have stated, it's a good locale in that it is somewhat "off the beaten path."

Wait Entertainment: They had a TV, but it wasn't on. Also had a bin-fire going. We didn't have to wait very long.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good. Seemed to want to give you a scare without being too obnoxious.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. We saw no other groups. The spacing I'm sure is controlled by the "library" where you 1st enter. I thought this 1st room was an excllent beginning to the tour.

Appropriate Ages: We had a group of 10 and 12 year-olds. A few bailed on us from the library, but the majority made it through.

Props / Special FX: I would give this a 10. They obviously went to some effort where props were concerned. After you leave the library, check out the ghost on your left!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. The clowns and Children of the Corn scenes were memorable.

Summary: I'm sure there are more elaborate haunts somewhere, but this was good. I recommend this and the other haunted house in Rantoul. They're fairly close to each other and gives you the chance to tour 2 different haunts without a lot of travel.

Reviewed by: btimm007   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, but since we were not familiar with town, we had to stop at a gas station.

Wait Entertainment: Our party waited about 15 minutes to get in.

Length of Event: About 10 Minutes, kinda short

Actor Performance: The actors and their costumes were awesome, the best had to be the little clowns climbing all over the bed room, they were awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They got a group in about every 5-10 minutes, and we never ran into anyone or anyone catching up.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They were great, the lighting was awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: They were very lifelike and indeed scary.

Summary: When you first walk in you are in a dining room with Aunt Lo and she explains the rules and says at anytime if you wish to exit you can, so that is good. Then you proceed with a guide for about the first half until you reach the dark tunnels then at the end of the tunnels the guide comes back and when you get out be prepared...

Reviewed by: simon   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very easy to find, I used the directions off of the website and they were excellent! They have a sign right where you are supposed to turn and it is even a one-way street. There was plenty of parking right across the street. It was in an alley and what looked like an old body shop! It really lends to the creepiness!

Wait Entertainment: My friends and were very entertained by the TV monitor that flipped inbetween rooms. It was fun to watch other people get scared! Also they had this music playing that led into the rules, it also was very spooky! It really helped to get us in the mood!

Length of Event: It took a little over 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The Actors all did a fantastic job. They were all on cue and were relentless from the time you entered the room until you left. They put the right people in the right roles, i.e. Michael Myers ws tall and stealthy and the corn room actully looked like children from Children of the Corn!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We began in a dark library while we waited for a guide, it also gave our eyes time to adjust. The guide took his/her time and we never ran into another group. They also never spoke to us, so it helped with the mood!

Appropriate Ages: 10+ It is not for small children at all!

Props / Special FX: You really got the feel that you were in a haunted building. Each room was decorated and built to get the full effect from the floor to the ceiling. There were a lot of props and special FX that were superb, but I do not want to ruin it for future customers.

Costumes / Make-up: There was good balance betwen the use of masks and make-up. A lot of the costumes did not appear to be store bought, they seemed authentic!

Summary: I felt that this haunt was worth the money and I would suggest going, but please do not bring small children! I am really hard to scare, but after what happened in the forest....well I'm spooked!

Reviewed by: ToolboxKilla   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is a small sign directing you Letchwood, so it isn't too tough to find. I loved the location- it's in an old garage, and the outside looks somewhat creepy.

Wait Entertainment: We were the first ones there, so they didn't really need to entertain us for long. They had a fire going in a barrel, but that was about it.

Length of Event: 15+ minutes.

Actor Performance: This wasn't exactly a 'professional' haunted house. Lots of the actors were kids, but it didn't really impose on our fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a rope guided tour, so we didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I really enjoyed the variety of rooms and props. You begin by sitting at the table in an old library while a creepy looking actor gets some info from you. The a bookshelf opens up and the tour begins. Getting our tour guide was probably the scariest part of the house actually, because all of these cloaked figures were just standing in the dark facing the walls, and it created this feeling of mounting intensity. Nice work! There was a monster that lit loud fireworks in the dark as you walked by. There weren't, however, many animatronics, but I am not the sort of haunt-enthusiast who dwells on animatronics, so I was not disappointed.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were pretty traditional. I don't have any complaints. I especially enjoyed the tall man in the bridge/ swamp-like room. He was definitly creepy. I think clowns are a bit overdone as far as haunts go, but the clowns at Fear Factory were very well-done! Their costumes were great, and it was very amusing the way they were jumping on a bed and laughing.

Summary: Great house, especially for more of a local haunt! Everybody in my group really enjoyed themself. If you are the type of haunt-goer who enjoys mazes, then this is the house for you. They had one of the best mazes I have ever been in- it was pitch black, long, claustrophobic, and there was slimey vasoline on the walls! Sweet! The clown rooms was fun, the crumbing bridge/ swamp room was awesome, and a good time was had by all. We had a special surprise happen at the end of that haunt; I'm not sure if they do it to everybody, but it was hilarious and scary. I won't tell because I wouldn't want to ruin it. Definitely check this house out if you're in the area. The enthusiasm of the people running it is obvious- they really want to scare you and show you a fun time. 9/10!

Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Liked the building this year. Easy to find location.

Wait Entertainment: no wait at all. We were early. 
Nice folks running the front.

Length of Event: 10 miutes or so.

Actor Performance: Great! Scared us & that is hard to do.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pace went well, guides not too fast or too slow.

Appropriate Ages: 10 & up. There were people that tried to take 2 very small children in before us, And the little ones didnt make it past the front entry way. And they probably wondered why the kids didnt sleep well that night! :-)

Props / Special FX: Props were very well done. And the way the maze is set up turning you around was good too.

Costumes / Make-up: All scaracters done a great job! Costumes were very good. The Fireplace scared the pee out of us! Did not expect that at all!

Summary: Again, very well done! We had a blast! We plan to visit again the weekend of Halloween. Will tell all our spooky friends to visit too.Since we had to cancel this year, we will send our people your way. You guys always do a good job. Every year just seems to get better. 3 Bony Thumbs up!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.