Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Eleventh Hour Haunted House (Downers Grove, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: cyamber   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was good, and easy to find with plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was excellent! It was a man in cosutume juggling knives and also juggling batons on fire--and then he put the fire out in his mouth.

Length of Event: The event lasted about 15 minutes which was just right.

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. There were a couple of times that I was actually a little creeped out by them!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The lines moved along very well. They looked long, but went pretty quickly.

Appropriate Ages: I would say no children under 10. It would probably be too scary for someone that young.

Props / Special FX: The props and effects were very good. The rooms were done very well and creepy!

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and costumes were excellent! This was the first thing that I noticed as the characters appeared.

Summary: This was a great value. I took my two teenagers and we all were very impressed. The make up, costumes, set design and the wait entertainment were all excellent! Great job!

Reviewed by: surge2013   (Event Visited: 10/27/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very hard to locate the place because there are no signs posted and even with Mapquest, it was still quite difficult.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment. The line was very short. Maybe it was a slow night for them?

Length of Event: lasted maybe a 1/2 hour. It went by very quickly.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was quite poor. Neither myself nor my girlfriend jumped. The actors didn't stay in character the entire time and the timing of their scares was way off target. The actors didn't seem too enthusiastic about doing their roles tonight

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was very good. This was because it was pretty slow when we got there.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for any age. If it didn't scare my gf that gets scared easily, it should be ok for ages above 12.

Props / Special FX: The best prop was the Dimentia Room's vortex where with the 3D glasses they gave us the room was spinning and was pretty cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors had make up on and one had a mask. The make up and costumes looked pretty well done.

Summary: The cost of admission to see all four of the Eleventh Hour's exhibits is quite steep. The time spent there was only about a 1/2 hour and the scare factor was quite low. There was also roughly about 6 actors working tonight. What would've made this place better is if there were actors going through all four of the exhibits. Instead the majority of the actors were in the main Eleventh Hour portion and there was only one actor in the Pitch Black room and 0 actors in the Third Dementia and 0 in the Chain Reaction. The Chain Reaction was the worse part of the whole place and after a while I grew bored of trying to navigate my way out. I feel as if I had no bang for my buck and left feeling as if it wasn't worth the cost of admission plus the amount of gas used to get there.

Reviewed by: alice18   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little difficult to find. But there was plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: We did not have a wait time. We purchased the R.I.P. Pass. Which is a good idea! The lines were really starting to form and we got there when they opened.

Length of Event: We expected the event to last longer than what it did but for the money it was reasonable.

Actor Performance: The actors were neat to look at and entertaining. I would recommend this haunt more for people in the teenager range.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They did a great job spacing everyone out so you could enjoy what you were viewing. It was not crowded inside any of the haunts.

Appropriate Ages: It was appropriate. But I do think the average adult would find these haunted house more as fun entertainment.

Props / Special FX: The 3-D haunt was the best and our favorite.

Costumes / Make-up: If your looking to be scared this is not the haunt. If your looking for fun and entertainment this is great.

Summary: This haunted house is not for people who want to be scared out of their mind. This is more for the teenagers. The price seems high but it is reasonable because you get to go through 4 haunts with the pass. Making the tickets available online was a great idea. However, you really don't get a discount after they add on the fees to use the internet to purchase your tickets.

Reviewed by: jilla_c   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You didn't really know where it was. There are no signs along the street or anything. It is located across the street from Best Buy for those wanting to go

Wait Entertainment: There was one guy outside that was messing with people.

Length of Event: The length of the event was maybe 45 minuets

Actor Performance: When you were in the haunted houses no one really jumps out at you. It is just dark and you can't really see where to go. if you want to take your kids this is the place to go

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was cool they kept everyone distant from one another I never ran into a group in front of me or seen the group in back of me.

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up this site is not scary at all more fun than anything

Props / Special FX: The best part is the 3D section and the maze

Costumes / Make-up: This wasn't all that great could of had more people outside to scare

Summary: This haunted house is not for people whom want to be scared out of there mind. This is more for someone who just wants to have a little fun. But I have to give it to this haunted house had the best ending the MAZE. I traveled from wisconsin almost and this was not worth the drive...

Reviewed by: DrBeer   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Search Lights and a tent in a parking lot, it was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The juggler wth the flaming torches was cool.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes

Actor Performance: They did a lot of screaming. Very predictable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went through rather fast.

Props / Special FX: Very plain, not scarey.

Costumes / Make-up: Average

Summary: The over all event was not scarey. The actors do a lot of screaming and not enough scaring. THe best part was waiting in line and watching the juggler.

Reviewed by: clehner   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A TENT RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF A SHOPPING MALL PARKING LOT!

Wait Entertainment: NOT MUCH OF

Length of Event: LESS THAN 10 MINUTES -- NOTHING TO SEE -- EMPTY HALLWAYS & ROOMS.

Actor Performance: MAYBE 5 ACTORS WHO DEFINITELY WEREN'T INTO BEING THERE AND HARDLY DRESSED UP TO SCARE A BABY!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: OUR GRUOP -- 6 PEOPLE, AND I DIDN'T KNOW THE OTHER 4, WE WALKED RIGHT THROUGH -- NO SCARES, NOTHING TO LOOK AT!

Appropriate Ages: IF IT'S ALWAYS AS EMPTY AS IT WAS WHEN I WAS THERE, 2 YEAR OLDS COULD GO THROUGH -- THEY WOULDN'T EVEN HAVE PROBLEMS AT SEEING....IT WASN'T DARK!

Props / Special FX: NOTHING

Costumes / Make-up: HARDLY

Summary: TOO BAD, CUZ I WENT TO SEE THEM THE LAST COUPLE OF YEARS AND THEY WERE GREAT -- THIS YEAR THEY DIDN'T EVEN HAVE THE ARTWORK. THEY HAD THESE 'MAZES' WHICH CONSISTED OF WALKING AROUND VERY SMALL 'CHAIN-LINKED FENCED AREAS' IN THE PARKING LOT.

Reviewed by: neely   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was difficult to find if your not familiar with the area. i drove past it twice. its actually in a parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: nothing really at all besides some music and 2 characters walking around

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: poor. we were able to go through the main house and chain reaction. there were a total of 3 characters in the house and no one in chain reaction

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fair. they put us in a group of 8. i was at the end so i could already know what was coming by other patrons reactions

Summary: we wanted to go through all 4 attractions at the time but two were not open. really disapointing and i will not return again. i did however receive free passes to come back for the other 2

Reviewed by: Sanctuared   (Event Visited: 10/09/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of this haunt is pretty terrible. It is right in the middle of a parking lot, and was well lit and generally un-proffessional looking.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment besides some alternative music that didn't fit the mood at all.

Length of Event: The eleventh hour house was the shortest haunted house I have been to, it took 10 minutes to get through.

Actor Performance: This is the catagory that Eleventh hour has ALWAYS struggled with, but this year it was unbelievably bad. The entire attraction is worked by teenagers that scream in your ear or growl unaffectively. Plus, some rooms were not even occupied by an actor since there was a total of about 10 actors in the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is one part that Eleventh hour always gets right. They have real good crowd control and you never see another group in the house, but that isnt saying too much considering it only lasted 10 minutes.

Appropriate Ages: All ages.

Props / Special FX: Almost no props, a couple cool lighting effects, but no props except for a couple gravestones. I was really dissapointed since in the past this haunt has had some decent props.

Costumes / Make-up: The custumes were decent, but I hope they would be if you are only dressing 10 actors or so.

Summary: Obviously, I was not very happy leaving this haunted house. They lacked anything imaginitive at all, and everything was just very dull. This haunted house has potential, but it was too short, didn't have enough actors, they need more props, need new ideas, and need to lower their admission price. My girlfriend is the type that gets terrified at anything very easily, and she was laughing at the actors while we were in the house, and wasn't even afraid to go first.  
 
So in conclusion, this haunted house might be somewhat fun for a family with very young children (although it's still really short even for that), but it just isn't a 'haunted house'. Never in the house was I impressed, and never did I even jump nor did anyone in my group. Although the end was somewhat fun, only because my group started to make fun of the actors since they were SO terrible. What is scary about a 13 year old in a walmart plastic mask grunting near us? Come on!  
 
I know that I will NEVER be back to that haunted house, and many people exiting the house felt the same way. Standing in line, all I heard from people exiting was them telling me to leave because it was so terrible. If you want a good laugh, go to this haunted house.

Reviewed by: Azazel   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its Easy to find if you know the area its in the cub foods parking lot

Wait Entertainment: It wasnt to bad of a wait, they had this guy that juggled fire the music was cool too

Length of Event: about 15-20 min

Actor Performance: some actualy scared me made me laugh alot the guy on the toilet was neat, the door crew was fun the first guy called us fresh meat and then a butler came and got us and cracked a few jokes and seent us on our way. his name was so cool i had to use it!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i never saw any one else, and we went at our own pace trying to find a way out

Appropriate Ages: it all depends on the person

Props / Special FX: pretty good wasnt fully finneshed yet

Costumes / Make-up: awesome the clock face guy rocked

Summary: All In All it was entertaining the chain maze was especially cool ya gotta see it it allot of attempts at shock effect and not enugh actors some had a weak performance but the rooms were good i cant wait for the other 2 attractions

Reviewed by: ffrey   (Event Visited: 10/06/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We drove up and down the street looking for the place for 20 minutes. Who would have thought a 200 year old haunted house would be placed in the middle of a mall parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: There was no waiting.

Length of Event: Less than 20 minutes. It would have been shorter but we couldn't find our way out of the first room. I was also being slowed down by two sorority girls who were grabbing onto my jacket in sheer terror.

Actor Performance: There were some really young kids working, which was surprising. The actors were about as scary as a 16 year-old in a rubber mask could possibly be. Everyone seemed to have trouble staying in character and it seemed like the same 5 people were jumping out at us over and over.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was just me, my girlfriend and two terrified sorority girls.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 8 and up. I mean it obviously wasn't too scary for an 8 year-old to WORK there.

Props / Special FX: The rooms were the best part of the haunted house. Some of them were pretty creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty much your standard $5 walgreens rubber masks...oh, and a couple of Draculas. Why are there always so many Draculas at these things? Is anyone still scared of Dracula? Much less, a Dracula who just failed his biology mid-term.

Summary: Two other parts of the attraction were closed, so I'll reserve final judgement. I'll give them credit for giving us discounted tickes though and inviting us back for free when the other sections opened. The actors would do much better if they stayed in character... and one Dracula is enough for any haunted house. The rest of the kids just looked like members of a Mudvayne tribute band. I don't even know what to say about Chain Reaction (the chain-link fence maze at the end of the attraction). These kids were hiding behind sections of CHAIN-LINK-FENCE and jumping out to scare us! Here's a tip, if you're trying to hide from someone DO NOT hide behind chain link fence. Most people can see through it!

Reviewed by: treesaw726   (Event Visited: 10/06/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little confusing but we just looked around when we were driving down 75th street and figured out that a huge tent must be it! so we found it pretty good!

Wait Entertainment: There was no line when we were there, but when you pay the guy who busted out the air, scared the living crap out of me, and when we were waiting to go into the house, some guy scared the crap out of me too.

Length of Event: Decently long, the fence maze thing was fun.

Actor Performance: There was definitely a lack of actors, but they did good with what they had. The little girl in the first room was amazing! she's the one who scared me the most, the 2 guys in the fence maze were extremely amusing. They didn't really scare me much but they made me laugh a lot, the younger kid in there was hilarious, after we got out we were fake fighting and hes running around saying "I WIN I WIN!" very hilarious, I enjoyed the actors very much. Oh yea, I really liked the actor in the house that was sitting on the toilet!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! we went at our own pace and didn't feel rushed at all.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the appropriate age set is good. 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: VERY COOL!! Out of all the haunted houses I've been too, this one was probably the best props I've seen! The whole set up was just really awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were ok, should be a little more gory!

Summary: I enjoyed myself very much going to this haunted house, since only 2 of the attractions were open, we bought the tickets for those and received the other 2 attractions for free which I thought was a very nice thing for them to do! Out of every haunted house, I would say this haunted house was the funnest one I've been to! I can't wait to go back to see the other 2 attractions! I would recommend this haunted house to my friends and anyone who asked me because you will have a really good time. One thing I liked the most is when we got out, the guy who built the inside and worked there asked our opinion of the house and interacted with me and my friend, I thought that was very nice, and showed that he cared! VERY FUN PLACE TO BE!

Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Hard to find. No signs from the road.It's in the middle of a parking lot. Hint: Look for the Cub foods and White Castle.

Wait Entertainment: Since it was early in the season, there was only about a 5 minute wait, however the "door man" was VERY entertaining. :0)

Length of Event: Only 2 of the 4 events were open. It took maybe 15 minutes????

Actor Performance: Very entertaining. Not so much scary as it was funny!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Didn't run into another set of people.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 7 and up.It depends on your child. Like I said it wasn't to scary.

Props / Special FX: I'm guessing this is their first year at this location. Looks like it needs a little more work. Like I said only 2 out of the 4 were open so probably will be better later in the season.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, not to much detail.

Summary: Entertaining and funny. The actors were more funny than scary. I went on Saturday Oct 1st and only 2 of the four events were open. So they said they would not punch our tickets and we could come back after next week and see all 4 events on that ticket (which was cool). This would be a good family outing.

Reviewed by: drum2dadrum   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Close to impossible to find. It took around 20 min to find it in the area it was in. Let me give you a hint... it's behind White Castle.

Wait Entertainment: There was absolutely no wait entertainment. There was music but it was crappy and stuttered a lot.

Length of Event: It took around 15 min to get through eleventh hour and 2 to get through "CHAIN REACTION".

Actor Performance: Some actors in eleventh hour were great. At other times it was just a 9 year old kid shrieking in your ear. The best actor had to be the door man who would lead inside to the haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group and it was very spaced out.

Appropriate Ages: ALL

Props / Special FX: There were mainly strobe and black lights but the main attraction wasnt the props/ special FX but the actors.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done. Only saw one guy out of costume.

Summary: On another day this haunted house would probably many times better because it will have Pitch Black and the 3d attraction. The worst part of Eleventh Hour had to be "chain reaction" because it had no horror aspect to it and there was no point to it. The was a cool story about the haunted house which had added to the affect but overall with just eleventh hour and chain reaction it wasn't a great time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at