Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Six Flags Fright Fest (Gurnee, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: valegrl79   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Six Flags is very visable from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: None of the 3 haunted houses had wait entertainment while I was there. However, on the way to one of them there is a "Freak Show" where they do crazy things like step on glass, eat fire, stick fish hooks in thier eyes, throw knives at people etc. That was fairly disturbing, but very cool.

Length of Event: The 3-D house was about 5-10 minutes, the Internal Nightmare was about 10 minutes and the Mosuleum of Terror was about 10-15 minutes long.

Actor Performance: The actors in all of the houses and throughout the park were quite good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: All houses broke people into small groups so it was a nice flow where everyone could get scared.

Appropriate Ages: Before 5 it is kid friendly, after 5 it is more 12+

Props / Special FX: The inflatable haunted house was neat and unique. The props in the other two were also very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up was very good. There was a guy on the way to one of the haunted house with a creepy pumpkin face and he scared the pants off some girls in front of us, and I will admit he was quite freaky!

Summary: This event is very fun because the whole park is scary! You can do the rides in the day and hit the haunted houses at night. There are monsters everywhere, the 3 haunted houses are only an additional $15, and the haunted 3-D IMAX movie is free with admission. There is also an "Elvira, virtual roller coaster". This is a fun day out if you like Halloween!

Reviewed by: Dadnkids   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ Before 3pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to get to. a little tricky getting out of there at night if you didn't know the area, roads leading out of the park not well marked

Wait Entertainment: plenty of halloween decorations to look at when you're in line

Length of Event: can easily spend an entire day there. we arrived at 1pm and stayed till 1030 pm

Actor Performance: good costumes. actors looked cool. during the day they mainly "cruised" the park and didn't interact all that much with guests

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: a bit disorganized. lines would form outside attractions and weave "wherever". all lines moved slow. the average wait time was an hour in line. even the snack food lines had a half an hour line.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: very good special effects throughout the park including "blood fountains", graveyard scenes, UFO crash sites, lots of fog covered walkways, etc

Costumes / Make-up: Hollywood like costumes and makeup, 1st rate

Summary: This park definitely provides an entire day's worth of entertainment. The special effects and overall Halloween atmosphere in the park was 1st rate. My favorite attraction was a simulator ride going thru a haunted amusement park hosted by Elvira, Mistress of the night. My favorite display was the UFO crash site simulating the alleged UFO crash at Roswell, New Mexico. There's a huge flying saucer display as well as assorted aliens trapped in freeze tube type containers. The walkway leading to the UFO area is covered in fog.  
The main draw back with the park is the lines. Be prepared to spend hours waiting in line if you go there. As already mentioned, the average wait for us was an hour per line. The most popular attraction, the "Necropolis Haunted House", had a 90 minute wait by the time we got to it at 9pm. The restaurants and snack bars all had at least a 30 minute line to get served. We skipped having anything for supper because we didn't want to burn more time standing in line.  
Overall, we had a very nice day there. However, if we go back again we'll probably go on a Sunday rather than a Saturday and hope the lines will be a bit shorter so we can do more.  
We saved quite a bit of time, and a little money, by getting our tickets in advance on the internet using six flag's website rather than waiting an hour in the ticket lines at the park.

Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 3:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's Great America, you can't miss it!

Wait Entertainment: actors all over the park. mainly in necropolis though.

Length of Event: hours of operation: 5-11 on Fridays 10-11 on Saturdays and 10-9 on Sundays

Actor Performance: all actors i came accross stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: n/a

Appropriate Ages: not real young ones but maybe 7 and up.

Props / Special FX: When you first walk into the park the fountain that is in the entrance is dyed red and there are is fire and smoke comming out of it, it look pretty cool.whole park was decorated, from changing the name of the rides iron wolf is now iron werewolf and giant drop is now the hellavator etc.. southwest territory had moving skeletons on the balcony. Hometown square is where you will find the area51 aleins and military vechicles. Yukon territory is wehre we will find Necropolis, the haunted city of the dead, a few deatiled scenes along the way i suggest you take a close look at them.

Costumes / Make-up: there makeup and costumes were really good.

Summary: This is a family fun place, so don't expect to be really scared. Fright fest is a fun atmosphere for the Halloween season, you can enjoy all of the rides of the summer and all of the fun of Halloween at the same time.

Reviewed by: hauntaholic   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since it's at great america it is very easy to see. Plus you cant miss the spiders on the american eagle.

Wait Entertainment: There wasnt much wait entertainment in the lines for the houses, but there were many actors roaming the different themed areas around the park. Six flags did a great job with the theming this year. The area 51 area was really decorated well with a giant UFO in the middle and captured aliens in cages.

Length of Event: Out of the three haunted houses, The Mausoleum of Terror was around 10 min long. Sleepy hollow in 3D was 5 min, and The Fallen Giant was around 5 and a half min.

Actor Performance: In the sleepy hollow haunted house the actors' performances were not that great and there werent that many actors inside the haunt. The actors in the haunt were more funny than scary, but it was supposed to be a family fun house. The actors performances in Mausoleum of Terror were really quite good. They all stayed in character and mad me and my friend jump quite a bit. The Fallen giant had to have the best actors out of any of the other haunted houses at six flags. The actors in this atraction reminded me alot of the actors at brookfields haunted house. They were very intense and there were alot of them. The Fallen giant was my favorite atraction at this years fright fest.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the sleepy hollow haunt we did run into another group and the workers could have spaced us out a little better. In Mausoleum of Terror the flow was great we never ran into another group but we did get lost in the mirror maz which was kind of fun. Since it was the end of the night it was only me and my friend in the Fallen Giant and there were no other groups to run into.That was great because we were the focus of the actors attention and it was really special.

Appropriate Ages: all ages. there is something for everyone at fright fest.

Props / Special FX: Props were lacking in the sleepy hollow haunt,But the other two haunts were well equiped with special effects especially the Mausoleum of Terror.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were great at this years fright fest. My favorites were the people in straight jackets who would slide on there knees to scare you.

Summary: I had such a great time at this years fright fest. We went on the 7th which was a day six flags was closed to the general public so all of the lines we very short. another special thing six flags did for this years fright fest was bring back the old themeing for demon which looked sooo spooky. If you havent been to fright fest before I definately recomend it. It was a blast!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at