Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: My girlfriend and I visited this one a second time this week. Visibility was about the same as the other time, with the hearse parked out front.

Wait Entertainment: Even better--so awesome! they had 2 movies playing and actors everywhere... and the actors were movie quality...just awesome!

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: they were perfect! very scary and awesome timing every time! again, i don't want to spoil things for others, but watch for the psycho girl who absolutely POUNDS on the plexiglass--she did such a good job that i'm starting to wonder if she's really psycho in real life (just kidding!)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect! it was just me and my girlfriend and we couldn't even hear any other groups in the house. they couldn't have done a better job with any of this.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: amazing every time! still perfect the second time through!

Costumes / Make-up: perfect again! very scary and some makeup jobs were really professional looking

Summary: This house is the best for miles and miles around--trust me on this one! we've gone to all of the top rated haunted houses within 1 1/2 hours all directions of where we live and Nightmares BOTD is STILL the best! they kick @$$!

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is my second time going this week--please check out my other review for details.

Wait Entertainment: They had even more entertainment tonight than when I first went on Wednesday. They had horror movies playing and more actors scaring the crowd. (I did miss the growling/grunting animal-like actor who for some reason was not there tonight--he was impressive and seemed to scare a lot of the patrons)

Length of Event: 1/2 hour give or take

Actor Performance: AMAZING!!! I was expecting about the same performance as compared to when I went on Wed. I couldn't believe it, but they were even better tonight!! They did seem to have more actors, which made it an even more amazing experience!! The actors did such a perfect job--I thought it would be at least a little easier to predict the scares this time since i was just there days ago, but they kept me jumping!! And I don't jump easily!!! Awesome BotD!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: EXCELLENT!!! Not a trace of the other patrons before or after us. It was like we were the only ones going through the house!!! I don't know how they time it all so perfectly, but these guys know what they're doing!!!!!

Appropriate Ages: It's a pretty scary house, so I'd say 14 and older.

Props / Special FX: Can I just say, WOW??!!!!!!! This place just seems light years ahead of all other haunted houses I've been to (and I've been to 8 of the best haunted houses in IL already). My heart is breaking at the thought that they might not be back next year, because this place is just top notch in their effects/props and in their timing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Costumes / Make-up: again, AMAZING!!!!!! Every actor had such unique and professional makeup jobs done inside the house!

Summary: Of the many, MANY haunted houses I've been to over the years, Nightmares Basement of the Dead this year would have to be my #1 absolute FAVORITE!!! I can't even emphasize this enough--go see this one this year, because it sounds like they might not be back next year. The costumes and makeup are great, the acting is as close to professional as I've ever seen for a haunted house, their timing is amazing, FANTASTIC props, scenery and lighting, great sound effects... I could go on and on. And on top of all of that, I love that they have changed things up each year, so as not to fall into that rut of predictability. I hope you all enjoy this one as much as I have!

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/26/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You need to really pay attention to the signs depending on what road you take there, but they do have a large hearse parked on the other side of the building with a "burning" trashcan

Wait Entertainment: Amazing, especially considering we didn't have a line to wait in. These guys really know what they're doing! Three actors in particular had fantastic makeup jobs and acted their parts well. They absolutely freaked out a few of the patrons who came by while we were standing by watching. One actor had to have had a very sore throat with the very realistic, animalistic growling he was doing (so real sounding!!). I think Nightmares Basement.. had outdone themselves every year!

Length of Event: approximately 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Amazing!! I don't know how these people do it and I only hope that more people are able to attend this house to really see what I mean!! I was talking to one of the actors outside after going through the house and he said that on top of sensors and other things, they also use camera's to perfect their timing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent! While I was there, they sent us in by the groups we came in--I went in with just my boyfriend and never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 13 years and up

Props / Special FX: AMAZING!!! They had some very creative prop setups and displays. For those of you who have been there in the past, I'm sure you'll love their new additions and changes this year! One really caught me off guard since I thought it was going to be the same as last year! FANTASTIC!!!

Costumes / Make-up: WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The same actor I talked to outside had an amazing makeup job, and after talking to him I found out that he does his own makeup. It really looked professional. The other actors had great makeup too and didn't have the typical makeup jobs and costumes you see in most haunted houses.

Summary: Just when I thought Nightmares couldn't get any better, it did! I've been trying to hit a haunted house or two every day until Halloween at this point and have planned out my whole schedule, but I'm seriously thinking of changed it so that I can go to Nightmares a second time this year! I heard that this may be their last year, but I'm praying that changes because they are absolutely my FAVORITE haunted house year after year!

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/26/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not too hard to find, but you do have to walk around to the other side since it is in the basement level of the building. they have signs posted and a hearse out front parked on the street. we were able to find metered street parking

Wait Entertainment: pretty cool costumes and the actors were really into it. one of the actors could've been straight out of a horror movie with very realistic makeup and acting.

Length of Event: hard to say but i think it took us between 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: very, very good. i jumped a couple times--they did a good job of distracting me while another guy would come from another direction unexpectedly

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great! we didn't run into anyone else

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: again, great! this place is a favorite for the 3 years that i have visited and it is because they seem to have everything going for them: props, acting, makeup, affordable entry fee (we even had a discount since it was during the week from a web coupon)

Costumes / Make-up: and again, great!!! they had some very creepy and different types of creatures.

Summary: I hope this one comes back next year because they are so unique when many haunted houses are the same old same old. unfortunately, from going to this one in the past, they don't seem to have the large crowds that some of the better advertised haunted houses have and i think a lot of people are missing out on going to this one. especially if this is their last year, I'd say if you're only able to go to a couple haunted houses this year, make sure you go to this one! worth every penny! (how many times do you get to see an full sized organist as part of the props?)

Reviewed by: HARD2SCARE   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right next to Hollywood casino

Wait Entertainment: VERY GOOD! They were actually chasing a group of kids up and down the stairs!

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: VERY "ON" timing was great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the kid.........10+ maybe

Props / Special FX: Great

Costumes / Make-up: Great

Summary: Wow! I went the first year they opened and I didn't like it much.....but WOW did they improve!!!! Me & my boyfriend were going to the casino and figured we would give them another try and bot am I glad we did! Half the time I couldn't tell what was props and who were the actors! They were GREAT! I jumped SEVERAL times! Kudos guys, GREAT JOB! Sorry to hear it's your last year....maybe you'll change your mind???? I would DEFINITELY COME BACK! Thanks for the scares and congrats!

Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find...exactly where they said it was on the internet...across from the casino....actually if you go to the south(or west) casino parking garage (across the river), its just to the left when you exit the parking garage to start the walk over the enclosed walkway over the river

Wait Entertainment: exellent...very good "creepy-evil-clown-dude" walking/sneaking around outside

Length of Event: about 15 minutes or so, but we were 1st in line

Actor Performance: superb....all actors totally in character...very much recommed this one

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we were 1st in line...no waiting for us....too hard to judge this one

Appropriate Ages: i'd say 12 to 13 yrs & up

Props / Special FX: superb.....not going to give anything away...sorry.....give this area a 10

Costumes / Make-up: same as above...

Summary: i've been recommending this haunt to everyone i've seen last nite.....went to 11th hour & dream reapers also last nite & nitemares blew both of them out of the water......it takes a lot for me to get scared, hence the hard reviews for the other 2 haunts listed above....but this place scared the crap out of me.....hoping that this outfit comes back next yr....cause i would definitely come back again & again & again.....

Reviewed by: kd0538   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was not difficult to find because it is right by the casino and there is a car 
with nightmares logo directly in front 
 
 
 
 

Wait Entertainment: incredible outstanding dont want to give away what awaits you but girls were crying and not wanting to even go in

Length of Event: 15 min give or take

Actor Performance: very good there timing was good and they just kept popping up out of nowhere!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: didnt run into any other groups they kept every group seperated

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: great very life-like and gore galore ihave not really seen bodies and parts so life like!!!!!

Costumes / Make-up: again I could not tell if they were actors or dummies you get great scares everyone fit for the scenes they were in incredible make-up

Summary: overall this is a great haunt. from begining to end this house keeps you guessing if you can even make it in. The actors outside are really intense. girls would not leave each others sides while the were in the line. It is also very very dark which is in my opinion what haunts need to be you never know what is lurking. i also got a $2.00 coupon off the website. We heard this is the last year for Basement of the Dead So i would say this is a must if you have not been there. hope its not true but i wil be back again before halloween !

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at