Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Shotgun Manor (Sullivan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/31/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/05/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was easy to find

Wait Entertainment: we waited inside the senior center because it was raining, it was funny watching the two high school boys keep everyone in order

Length of Event: about 25 min

Actor Performance: very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we found no one and no one found us

Appropriate Ages: 10

Props / Special FX: good for 1st year, I will be back next year to see how they top themselves

Costumes / Make-up: very good

Summary: this was my 2nd trip to sullivan to visit shotgun manor, my first visit was on 10-22, it was good then and it was even better on the 31st, it seemed like they had more scares on the 31st than on the 22nd. I drove almost two hours each way (twice) to visit this place because it was so much better than other places that I visited. keep up the good stuff for next year. see ya then. thanks Shotgun

Reviewed by: 2cRaZzZy4U   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find, located right off the square and lite up with lights to show where you are supposed to go.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent wait entertainment, kept my mind off the fact that it was 44 degrees outside.

Length of Event: 20 minutes, but seemed longer

Actor Performance: Very excellent, they played their characters very well and kept trying to scare you the whole time you walked through the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was pretty good, the first time i went in we ran into the group in front of us and a couple times, but the flow still went well. The second time I went in the group behind us kept running into us.

Appropriate Ages: I would say not for anyone younger then 11.

Props / Special FX: Very good props and special effects, kept you jumping and on your toes the whole time.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good make-up and costumes and they looked real. Very well done.

Summary: Overall it was worth the trip to Sullivan and worth the money. It was a fun time and better then other haunted houses i've been to. I will make another trip back probably on halloween. It's worth the money and the trip to Sullivan, very good for the first year and hope it comes back next year.

Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: all signage was easy to follow

Wait Entertainment: some people walking around, could do more, inside made up for lack outside

Length of Event: about 30 min., hallways went on forever

Actor Performance: very good, full of scary fun

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: some little kids ran into us from being scared, one kid was still crying

Appropriate Ages: 10 or so

Props / Special FX: you could tell that some hard work had gone into this attraction, it all was very good

Costumes / Make-up: same as above

Summary: this was the 5th attraction that I have been to this year, it has to be the best one yet, I will return on Halloween night with other people to show them what makes halloween fun, to you people at shotgun way to go, you all did good, I dont scare easy but alot of you got me good. THANK YOU!!!

Reviewed by: carman65   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find they had signs from the main streets.

Wait Entertainment: Not much entertainment besides the characters scaring those in line.

Length of Event: about 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good actor perfomance. Could use some work, but for the first year it was good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Had to stop a few times to let those in front of you go ahead. But pretty good

Appropriate Ages: 8 & Up

Props / Special FX: Great effects.

Costumes / Make-up: They had great effects. A few characters you couldn't tell if they were "real" people or not.

Summary: This was a good house for it's first year. They could use a little bit of practice. The price was very decent. They did however advertise that they were going in with Clinton on the Scream pass and then when we got there, they didn't honor it.

Reviewed by: cruiserman72   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was in the back of an old store which was great and the entrance was in an alley but it was no problem.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment, just someone selling some halloween stuff

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were very good and seemed to be enjoying what they were doing even with such a large crowd in attendance.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good. They sent in groups of 4-6 at a time and spaced them apart about 5 minutes.

Appropriate Ages: All ages as they had a lights on walk through for little kids earlier

Props / Special FX: They have to be commended for all the work that was done on the props and special effects. Someone with a vivid imagination had to heading up that department.

Costumes / Make-up: Same as above answer.

Summary: This was an excellent attraction for the first year. By the time they opened the doors (which was a few minutes late) the line was about a block and a half long. I saw some high school kids who didn't get all the way through before having to come out. The price was reasonable and I would recommend it to just about anyone. They did have signs posted at the ticket house to not go in if you were pregnant, had high blood pressure, etc.

Reviewed by: yuscareme   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find, right in the downtown area

Wait Entertainment: good, they had some actors walking the lines

Length of Event: 35 - 40 min. it seemed longer

Actor Performance: very good for first year actors, you should read website story of shotgun manor before your visit.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good, my group did not run into anyone nor did anyone run into my group

Appropriate Ages: maybe 9 or 10, had a lot of bloodly stuff

Props / Special FX: they had the normal stuff, all used in very good "manor", although the corn room could use some working over

Costumes / Make-up: make-up very very good on old lady & man, costumes fit story line both well done

Summary: very good show for first timmers, cant wait to see next year improvements, lots of surprises around corners, a MUST visit attraction, I would have paid more to see it, $6.50 was a bargain, good location, seeya again.

Reviewed by: MikeMeyers   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find right off the square. You can see the court house on the square from anywhere in town or outside of town.

Wait Entertainment: We waited about 45 minutes to an hour. No entertainment while we were waiting in line.

Length of Event: 20 to 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Most were very good portrayed characters very well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into no one and no one ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. Some crawling involved

Summary: It helpes to know or read the story of shotgun manor before you visit the house. I know that the story of shotgun manor was true. The haunted house roughly follows the story, which is the point. I don't like to give up details of what happens inside so I don't ruin the surprise for others. I was a little skeptical because it was the first year but I was very impressed. Be prepared to jump!!

Reviewed by: starburn   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. There were signs to follow. It threw me off though that the ticket booth looked like a "haunted house" and was VERY small.

Wait Entertainment: They didn't have much in wait entertainment for which I was disappointed. There was a girl selling items, but that was about it.

Length of Event: The total amount of time that I was in the haunt was around 30 minutes I think. I don't remember the exact time, but I do remember about 3/4 the way through thinking "will this thing never end"?

Actor Performance: The actors really made the evening a great experience. I knew this was their first year so I didn't know what to expect. What I got from the actors was nothing less than outstanding. There were three of them that really stood out. One was a carnival guy that scared me and my girl so bad that she didn't want to go on, the next was right after that, there was a guy in a hockey mask (I know, no one gets scared at those) that really got to my girl friend when he "wanted to wear her flesh". Then there was a guy in a kitchen looking place that really just freaked me and my girlfriend out. I won't say any more so I won't ruin anything.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was really good. I never met up with the group ahead of us and I didn't feel pushed by the group behind us.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that this is NOT for younger kids. At the very least they should be around 13 or 14. They say 9 year olds can go in, but I wouldn't reccomend it.

Props / Special FX: They had the usual, lights, fog, music. The real effects though were the actors and how each of them built a story off of the other one. Really cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes could have been a little better. Most of which could be found at the local Wally World or some other shop like Spencers. The makeup though was very good.

Summary: I would have to say that my overall experience was AWSOME for a rural town. I have been in some better in St. Louis, but this is their first year. I can't wait to see what they do next year!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at