Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: HauntGoer   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Lake County Fairgrounds are easy to get to, and easy to find when you do. The Dungeon's signs were clear and easy to follow. Although the parking was, as advertised, plentiful and free, it was not paved (or marked) - so if the weather is really wet, you might want to bring the 4x4.

Wait Entertainment: The performers working the line were good, with some very elaborate costumes and makeup. They helped keep the near three hour wait interesting. The indoor waiting area was very well decorated, but could use some better line control (the strings-on-sticks weren't quite up to the crowd), and possibly a scare or two.

Length of Event: About 35 minutes.

Actor Performance: The 'Mad Butcher' performer was great - very manic and energetic. The other performers were good, though mostly just doing the 'jump out & say boo' thing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This haunt gets top marks for handling patron flow - the haunt itself is large and complex, and needs extra care. The woman running the entry was delightful, and the woman in charge of the Buried Alive segment was just plain excellent. Overall, exceptionally well paced and controlled.

Appropriate Ages: Teens and up. Physically a bit challenging; if you use a cane or crutches, ask before you go in.

Props / Special FX: Generally very good. Two specific things: 
The swinging objects in the dark corridors are HARD - I took a pretty good bonk in the forehead (Could you guys get some foam instead of the PVC? Thanks!) 
The Buried Alive room is one of the most unique, scary effects I've ever encountered at a haunt - and I've been doing these for a looong time. Worth the entire price of admission!

Costumes / Make-up: The performer's makeup was generally superior; some of them excellent, even artistic. The costumes were thoroughly detailed and well-executed.

Summary: This haunt gets top marks for props, decor, and handling patron flow. It is large, well-designed and well-decorated, a bargain at $11. The Buried Alive segment is unique, impressive and worth the price of entry all by itself. The performers were generally good, with some really exceptional performances and outstanding crowd-handlers. 
This is a very fine haunt! Go, and be afraid ... be very afraid.

Reviewed by: yourfirst1   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there are two huge signs before you enter the parking lot of the fairgrounds on center street and 120. i live in the area so was easy for me to find. for others if they are looking they should have no problem

Wait Entertainment: This year I didnt see as much outside entertainment but what i did see was awesome

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: some performers were excellent and some just werent quite on que

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: the props in this haunted house have always been excellent and this year they added many more that i found really cool.. that tunnel gets my stomach lol

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and make up were awesome..

Summary: I loved this haunted house... the people performing in there for sure love their jobs...Lots of blood guts and gore...its loud its fun and will scare the pants off of you....

Reviewed by: ONEofTHEM   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ive been going there for many years now and i can honestly tell you that i didnt really look to see the signs they had posted. i knew where i was going, but every year they do have some signs posted for the conveinence of new-comers.

Wait Entertainment: well i got there around 10:15 and there was a line. But what of course, its the last saturday night of the season! i think i waited just over two hours. it didnt seem to be that long because of the entertainment that was there. they had their workers outside [like they do every year] working the line. by time we entered the building the graphics on the wall was amazing! it was something ive never seen before. after that my group and i got our tickets and then we were on on way. they also added a new entrance way, it was a 'walk-in' skull. over all... the wait didnt even seem like a wait.

Length of Event: this year they must have done something different because i must have been in there for a half an hour! the only thing was is that my group of three was paired up with a different group of two people. Which was fine, we still got the scare we always have. It was great watching the couple get scared too!

Actor Performance: the actors never seem to fail us! For the most part they were on que and seemed to have been practicing durring the summer. the acters throughout the whole house were wonderful.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there is something you just got to expect on a saturday night, you might just end up comming in contact with another group. the group behind us had caught up with us towards the end. but it didnt really matter, the acters and all the animatronics were still startling.

Appropriate Ages: like they said, 12+... even people over that age were terrified of the actors in the waiting line.

Props / Special FX: this year they had a lot of new props and some of the special FX were masterpeices. they did keep about 50% of their props used last year but they changed it up quite a lot.

Costumes / Make-up: This year it seems like they hired a professional make-up artist! i couldnt tell you if it was a rubber mask or if it they were wearing prostetics! every costume and their makeup had matched the flow of their scene. most other haunted houses ive been to this year have had the masks that you can tell were masks, only because the bottom of it was popping out of their costume... but the dungeon of doom was well over extraordinary.

Summary: one thing is for sure, ill deffinitaly be one of the first people in line at the dungeon of doom next year... ive gone for the past 6 years in a row, many times more than once a year, the Dungeon of Doom hasnt failed to deliver yet, and every year is an improvement. i cant wait to see what you got comming for us next year!thanks for all the screems DOD!

Reviewed by: henry   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find at RT 120 & Rt 45 in Grayslake at the fairgrounds. Signs visible from Rt 120. More than enough parking space.

Wait Entertainment: Live actors haunted you and entertained throughout our wait. Excellent costumes and makeup. 
When waiting inside the building there were movies and displays abound. Never bored.

Length of Event: It took a good 30 minutes to go through the event and we never felt rushed so we were able to see the excellent displays, animatronics and the timing was on cue to startle the bejeezus out of us..

Actor Performance: All the actors were excellent and seemed to well understand why we were there...to have a good time and get a thrill. They delivered.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Timimg was on cue. our group never ran into another until we were supposed to. VERY well run.

Appropriate Ages: 12 up depending on the temperment of your kid. I had a 12 YO with me and she is calling all her friends about it today with great enthusiasm. (hint: if you show fear like the 12 YO did, the actors pick up on it like a pack of hungry wolves.)

Props / Special FX: Awesome talented artwork and F/X. Yes, there is a spinning vortex tunnel, one of the better ones I've seen. The F/X artist painted it in 3/D and it was quite dizzying! Unsurpassed at any of the other houses we've visited this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Cosumes were excellent and very realistic. A few masks with appropriate costuming but they fit in well and were hard to tell from makeup.

Summary: FUN as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) !! I don't think it fair to tell about the details as it spoils some of the fun..but this house is AWESOME!!! I have been to several HH's every year for the last several years and this one improves every year without fail. 
If I were only able to visit one haunted house during Halloween this would be it.

Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: more signs this year, if you don't know the area could be hard to spot.

Wait Entertainment: As usual the wait entertainment was awesome! they changed up the scence inside the waiting area this year, the wall was full of artwork that was really cool, but the old stuff was still there, pumpkin head, hangman etc.

Length of Event: line 2hours (flew by) and the house probably 10, actually did not have to wait for burried alive

Actor Performance: Great This is one of my favorite houses, the actors are great, they stay in character pretty much but if they don (which is rare) they are so funny!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think the group behind us was running because they caught up to us way to quickly, we never ran into the the group in front of us!

Appropriate Ages: It says above 12. And with the graphic movie clips they play in the waiting room I would not bring them, if you do make sure they dont notice the movies playing!

Props / Special FX: rooms were a little bare this year, not sure why? the 3D area was much bigger than i remember last years being, the vortex was the best with the 3D!

Costumes / Make-up: I think they have the best make-up out of all the houses i have been too. everyone was different and had costumes to match. And Patch is still my favorite!

Summary: I have been going here for the past 5 years and absolutely love it! I am not sure why there was not as much detail this year, some rooms seemed kinda empty. I was also upset that in buried alive they had us stand! that has never happened before. hopefully if your going for the first time they will do it the right way so you get the full experience. If you want scares this is the place to go!

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/27/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not being from the area (but having visited this attraction before), we had to pay careful attention to the signs posted by the street and almost drove past it. It isn't really that hard to find since it is located in their fairgrounds, but it's a dark area and we arrived right when they opened.

Wait Entertainment: I think it may have been a slower night for them because there wasn't as much entertainment as I remember them having in the past (I've been to this haunted house for 3 years, including this one.) I really like how the waiting area is decorated though--very spooky feel to it with a large skull entrance, corpse "flame" lights, bodies hanging from the ceiling, a casket, etc. They also had scary movies playing (no sound) on a large screen in the waiting area. There were a couple costumed actors in the waiting area, but they didn't do too much scaring while I was there. Given all of that, we didn't have too long of a wait (about 10 minutes I'd say) so I'm sure they'll have even more entertainment going on on the weekend.

Length of Event: I think the haunted house took about 15 minutes plus about 5-10 minutes for being "buried alive" for a total of 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Their timing seemed a little off this year and there didn't seem to be as many actors as they have in the past. I was definitely left wanting more. I don't want to say that the actors did a bad job, either, though because I think I'm just holding them to higher standards than the other haunted houses I've evaluated--I've loved this haunted house in the past and just didn't feel the same about it this year.  
To give a little more about the actors' performance, it seemed like a number of times they jumped out or appeared *after* I had already walked past and by that time they lost that surprise factor. I think this may have been because they were trying to not just scare the first person in the group (and instead scare some from the middle or end of my group), but I think it just ended up being fewer scares for everyone.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair flow--we were sent in in groups of about 5-10 each so it felt a little clustered at times. My boyfriend and I were initially following a couple that seemed kind of scared of the house, which resulted in the rest of the group being held back. I offered to be in the front and luckily they let me. The rest of the house was okay until we all reached the "Buried Alive" part of the house. This was my favorite part (as it has been every year) and was run pretty smoothly which made for a pretty good ending.

Appropriate Ages: Due to the "Buried Alive" portion, I wouldn't recommend this for anyone younger than 14 years old. I would also say ask to skip this part if you have any fears with tight or enclosed spaces (claustrophobia) because it definitely results in you feeling very trapped and, of course, buried.

Props / Special FX: As I have already said, being "buried alive" was my favorite part of this house and the feeling I get from it is probably the scariest I've gotten from any of the houses (since it plays on your fear of being trapped/buried). The rest of the house was okay, with some good and some so so effects. Having been to this one in the past, I left it today feeling like there were some parts that were lacking in both quality and quantity (in comparison to their performance in the past). I think the animatronics outshined their other props, but I had a hard time figuring out

Costumes / Make-up: Good overall, but I can't say that anything really stood out in terms of costumes or makeup

Summary: Overall, this is still a good haunted house with some great effects. My recommendation to others this year is go ahead and see it if you live close by, but I wouldn't recommend driving over a half hour or so to see it this year. I drove about 1 hour and 15 minutes to get there and didn't feel it was quite up to par this year. I'm still hoping that they bounce back next year to be bigger and better as I know they can!

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/27/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is located within the town's fairgrounds so if you're watching for the signs you should be able to find it. They did have a couple haunted house signs posted by the street with arrows, but they weren't glaringly obvious.

Wait Entertainment: They were playing some horror movies, had the waiting room all decorated in horror props and lighting, and had a couple actors standing by the entrance. I liked the feel of the waiting area, but I didn't see anyone interacting too much with the waiting crowd.

Length of Event: I think everything took about 25 minutes, but the haunted house felt a little too short for some reason.

Actor Performance: Not as good as they used to be. My girlfriend and I were in the front of the group and the actors sometimes jumped out too late to scare anyone in our group. I could tell they were trying, though, but it just didn't work that well for me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think there were too many people in our group, but that didn't really bother me too much since we were in the front of the group. It was only moderately busy when we went so I would expect this problem to only get worse on the weekend.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: I didn't like the effects as much this year. I don't remember them having all those blasts of air in the past or the random loud noises, which I don't find scary at all (just annoying). I felt that took away from scaryness of it all. I did rate this haunted house on the scarier end of the rating scale because of the buried alive at the end which was really cool. There were some very cool props like the electrocution one and some others I don't want to give away. But I still didn't think there were as many great props this year as there were last year.

Costumes / Make-up: Not as good as last year.

Summary: My girlfriend and I didn't think this house was as good as last year or the year before and we probably wouldn't have driven so far to go if we had known. We still liked it okay, but not great. It seemed shorter this year, didn't have as many scares, was noisier and didn't seem as dark, ... I think they had a lot more opportunities to scare us through different setups and changes in the acting, which they didn't take advantage of. This all resulted in an unimpressive haunted house this year.

Reviewed by: coolkat   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: same location we visited in the past

Wait Entertainment: awesome

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: awesome

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: kept the groups apart very well

Appropriate Ages: not for young kids

Props / Special FX: awesome

Costumes / Make-up: awesome

Summary: we had to wait in line for a little longer than anticapated but we were entertained the entire time and between the characters outside and the scares inside made it well worth the wait.

Reviewed by: Devilsmajjik   (Event Visited: 10/20/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lake county fairgrounds very good location but the haunted house is in the middle...which is cool because it gives you that mysterious feeling.

Wait Entertainment: Poeple popping out of places scaring people is Awsome. chasing people out to their cars GREAT. Overall WICKED!

Length of Event: 15 - 20 mins

Actor Performance: wonderful they were on que and didnt spill up at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: LOVED IT!

Costumes / Make-up: VERY VERY WELL DONE they have alot of talented people in their make-up department. :: claps hands to you ::

Summary: Overall sum up It was great and being my VERY first time ever going through a haunted house. SUPER. you guys get 50 GOLD stars from me.and I recomend not to go through if you dont like inclosed places. well ENJOY!

Reviewed by: PIPAFIU   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not very much visibility. Kept you guessing, but also, in some spots, very predictable.

Wait Entertainment: Crowd interaction from employees very well done. Spooky music in the background, large flat-screen tv that played horror movies like 'Nightmare on Elm St.' The movies and music added to the whole Halloween experience.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Not too horrible, could have been better. Majority of characters fit the expected personna of their costumes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Groups of 5 go at one time, did not run into any others groups during the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: 11+ Some gore but what do you expect? It's Halloween!

Props / Special FX: Props well put together. From a frying cop in an electric chair to bringing back to life Frankenstein. At the end, there is quite the suprise. Not recomended for claustrophobics.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up both done very well. There were some characters that they could have done a little bit more with but for what they had, it wasn't bad.

Summary: I would definately recomend this Haunted House to my friends. They have been better in the past but it wasn't a complete disapointment. If you have a thing for being in tight spots with lots of people and no way out, I do NOT recomend this for you. At least the end of the haunted house. You do have the option at the end to participate so if enclosed places are not your thing, you do have the option to walk away. Enjoy!

Reviewed by: bigStick4u   (Event Visited: 10/20/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Decent. In lake county fairgrounds

Wait Entertainment: Very good. Lots of characters keeping everone entertained.

Length of Event: apoox 15-20mins

Actor Performance: Awesome! Always in character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Never ran into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Horror movie quality. This is the real deal

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome! Hollywood style

Summary: I've been going to this house for about 5 years now, and it continues to amaze me. This house is a MUST for haunted house fans. The props are perfect as well as the actors. Very scary

Reviewed by: mash1331   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A+

Wait Entertainment: A

Length of Event: 25 min"s

Actor Performance: perfect

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a sat night Always packed , but they know how to work it

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: A

Costumes / Make-up: i think its the best i have seen

Summary: for $11 , and to see one of the best , if you ask me Dungeon of Doom & dream reapers are the two best hunts,so you must see one of them ,they just have been around for so long and are just good at what they do

Reviewed by: blackwidow   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you've been to the lake county fair then you know where it is

Wait Entertainment: awesome there were people in the parking lot chasing people and there were also people inside walking through the lines scaring people

Length of Event: 20

Actor Performance: awesome not one person was off que and none got out of charater

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: awesome i loved the front with the 3D art on the walls

Costumes / Make-up: awesome, everyone who wan't wearing a mask was in the perfect make-up for their scene

Summary: it was the best haunt i've been to i went 2 years ago and i went last year and every year it just keeps getting better and better. great job guys keep up the awesome work

Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/05/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was the same as last year - at the fairgrounds....The directions were easy enough, but should post more signs to direct you into the fairgrounds, can be easily missed if you have not been there before. 

Wait Entertainment: Was great - we had my daughters freind with us who is terrified of clowns, they "entertained" her while we waited in line, after the haunt, they chased her to the car - out of the main enterence area all the way to the car. Lots of good props and a movie to check out during the wait

Length of Event: the haunt itself about 15 minutes, we were lucky to get there early enough to only wait about 40 minutes in line...last year waited about 2 1/2 hours

Actor Performance: great! did their job well!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: spaced out pretty good, did not run into the group that was in front of us

Appropriate Ages: 10 and over

Props / Special FX: Were very cool..well thought out

Summary: Definately would recommend this haunt. We had a lot of fun - the actors worked with the crowds very well and were into their work. The house was well thought out with many coll things to look at.

Reviewed by: cg113   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: no sighns hard to find hard to see from the road

Wait Entertainment: was great they actors kept u entertained

Length of Event: not long enough

Actor Performance: medium it seemed not maby actors in the rooms

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good didnt run into another group

Props / Special FX: the props were ok some rooms were a bit hard to see due to eother being to dark or to bright

Costumes / Make-up: very well done detailed

Summary: overall it was a good time the girl at the end was a bit rude when she was asked what they used in the buried alive ending and the buried alive scene was not that great or entertaining it was also very hot through out the house but it was a pretty good time

Reviewed by: krakhouse   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: hard to find if you haven't been there before. I have been there last year and drive by the location 5 times a week and i still had to make a U-turn to to enterence.

Wait Entertainment: Good, were always taking in character while we waited in line for 3 hours.

Length of Event: 15

Actor Performance: Great. As soon as we got in people were being chased. The people how weren't bothered/scared were caught off guard once.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: seamed like it moved slow while we stood out side in the 46 degree heat ;)

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: good prop while waiting line line. The 3D effects were the best with the tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: everyone had some kind of character to fill. no one out of place.

Summary: this was my third time to this location. Kind of had the same layout as the previous years. but if its your first time i think you have a good time. just get there early!

Reviewed by: kg029er9er   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was good it was in an old barn and that added to the scare effect

Wait Entertainment: waiting in line wasnt bad as a giant creepy guy kept scaring my party

Length of Event: long enough

Actor Performance: A+

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Slowed down at one part but it was worth it

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: A+

Costumes / Make-up: A+

Summary: This was by far the best haunted house that I have ever been to. Not only was the inside of the house scary but outside it was crawling with people ready to scare on command. It was the most fun I have ever had at a haunted house.

Reviewed by: jamers615   (Event Visited: 10/10/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is at Lake County Fairgrounds. The entrances were marked ok, but once there, there was only one small sign pointing us towards the house, which took us a bit to find.

Wait Entertainment: Two actors both dressed in similar "skull armor" costumes.

Length of Event: 10 minutes?

Actor Performance: There weren't very many actors in this haunt (maybe because it was a Monday? Not sure) but the few that were were not too remarkable. The girl in the straightjacket was pretty good. The guy behind the bars tripped when he was trying to hop out and ran into us, and the others.... mediocre.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor. We caught up with the group in front of us right away, and the group behind caught up with us. And in some spots we were stopped and waited for other groups so they could showcase certain rooms.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. Not a high scare factor here.

Props / Special FX: Some of the props were great, but we were almost forced to watch them, there was no surprise at all. The 3-D paint halls were pretty cool though.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes seemed fine, the makeup seemed okay on most of the actors, those there were more that were NOT in makeup than I would have liked.

Summary: This haunt had a lot of potential but failed to even get one jump out of me. The animatronics that they have are cool, but they would stop our group and wait for the group behind to catch up before they would activate them, so you knew it was coming. Lots of dark hallways, which were nice, and the finale would have been awesome except for the fact that we had to wait about 5 minutes for it while the actor controlling it ran back and forth to see if it was ready yet. Overall, much potential for growth, but dissapointing in its current state. Not worth the $11 we paid. More like $5 - $7 range.

Reviewed by: dickieshonda   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was a little confusing to find becuz i'am not familiar with the area.

Wait Entertainment: unbelieveable, the props and characters roaming around was great, they puta lot of deatail into it, very nice job.

Length of Event: about 20 mins

Actor Performance: excellent, everything was on que.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i never bumped into anyone i think they did an awsome job

Appropriate Ages: 12-13+

Props / Special FX: out of this world

Costumes / Make-up: out of this world

Summary: i've been to many haunted houses these past couple of years and some have been good some have been bad i've also heared of dungeon of doom but just never made it out to the house. finally this year i did and wow was it worth it the price is great and the overall attraction/performance was great i cant wait to go again. i've been telling everyone i know about this place and how they should go, they even had cool shirts for sale (i bought one). so if u havent been to the house make it a must cuz this one is the one u dont want to miss out on, i'll probably go bak at least once more this season, thanx a lot guys and keep up the amazing work. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: iperez85   (Event Visited: 10/09/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not too good untill you get close, then you cant miss it

Wait Entertainment: well when i got there, there was hardly a line, so i waited about 30 min., but last year, i went closer to halloween, so i waited about 4 hours

Length of Event: about 15-20

Actor Performance: great! everybody was really into thier characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great!!! didnt run into anyone in front of us, or behind us

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: the best as usual for this haunted house!

Costumes / Make-up: VERY REALISTIC, VERY DETAILED

Summary: i definitely recommend anyone i know, or dont know to go to this haunted house. it is definitely worth $11($10 if you bring canned food). the atmosphere is great, and the mosters are great! i normally dont scare easy, but i got freaked out a couple of times during this haunted house.

Reviewed by: Jskellington   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If I hadn't used mapquest it would of been a lot harder to find. There were some signs on the road but they weren't that noticeable. It is on a fair grounds.

Wait Entertainment: There were a lot of people inside while waiting in line who cracked a couple of jokes to ease the tension. There was also a lot of very cool decorations and props in line. The entrance to the actual douse was SO COOL it was a giant skull and you had to walk through it's mouth

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: All of the actors were really into it. The scary thing about this one was that if they saw that you weren't really scared they still came after you, so that caught me off guard. All of the people were really nice accept for one lady who handed us our 3-D glasses and she didn't give one to my friend, and when my friend told her that she didn't get one then she was like, "well you should of gotten one when I was handing them out to everyone else!" and she wasn't trying to be in character or anything. Then the lady at the starting of the "buried alive" part asked for everyone's 3-D glasses and since my friend didn't get one she jokingly (or at least I though she was) said "well you have to go back and get it then!" and my frien was like "no thank you" quivering at the thought. So then when we actually got into the buried alive room the lady was like, "NOW WHICH ONE OF YOU GUYS TOLD ME 'I don't think so' WHEN I ASKED FOR YOUR YOU TO GO GET YOUR GLASSES?" She then pointed out my friend and told her that she had to lay on the floor. She then told everyone else in the room to sit on the floor and "PREPARE TO BE BURIED ALIVE!" The two lady's kind of spoiled the experience for me, but it was still fun. Every other actor was really nice and creative though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The line wasn't that long at all. There was also a lot of good entertainment while waiting, so that made it seem even quicker. They had it all planned out very well so that our group didn't run into any others, accept for at the buried alive part, but that was expected. I would say our group of 6 people got in and out of there (form the beginning of the line to when we walked out of the house) in about and hour

Appropriate Ages: DO NOT BRING YOUR KIDS TO THIS!! I would say 13 and up unless you've got a really brave kid. But most of all DO NOT GO TO THIS IF YOU ARE CLAUSTROPHOBIC!!

Props / Special FX: The Props were EXCELLENT! The whole atmosphere in line was really exciting and nerve racking at the same time. They had some really creepy music paying that set the mood. There were also a lot of cool signs like, "Pay to get in - Pray to get out!" and one big one that said "We are going to BURY YOU ALIVE!" The "buried alive" part was by far the highlight of the whole house. My friend who has been to this said that when it's busy they put a lot of people in the room at one time, standing up. But since it wasn't that busy they made us sit on the floor! This scared the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of me.

Costumes / Make-up: All of the actor's costumes and makeup was very elaborate. The clowns were especially good. There was also a REALLY tall gug with a mask on outside who was fun to watch.

Summary: This haunted house was by far the best I have been to. My friend who goes to about 5 haunted houses every october said that that this one is the scariest she's ever been to, which proved itself to be very true. The porps and rooms were so well decorated and thought out. All of the major scares were so creative and fun. By far "buried alive" was the most thrilling part. I LOVED this haunted house and can't wait until next year.

Reviewed by: mothman   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find if you dont know the area. Closer to the haunt there are a few signs.

Wait Entertainment: The easiest way to find this place is to look for the countles people chasing patrons, scareing them while waiting in line.

Length of Event: 15 minutes. (it seemed a little short this year.

Actor Performance: amazingly horrifying and spectacular. those people realy knoew whats scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I actualy did run into the group ahead of mine twice, but I think that was the groups fault, not the haunters. Theye wouldnt go any further at times, they were so affraid.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ There were some pretty intense gore scenes. Pretty much a huge bloodbath.

Props / Special FX: tons of elecronic props. Some of them where completly  
un predictable. The most memorable being the aligator, and the flying skeliton.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes is what realy makes this place terrifying!

Summary: The dungeon of doom had many strobe light lit scenes with countless animtronic props and energetic actors. They used there props realy wisely this year. many scares included a clown with a chainsaw, blast of air, a creepy tunnel you had to crawl through, and various prison scenes.

Reviewed by: witchyone   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not very marked, no signs. It was at the Lake County Fairgrounds

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. They have a few monsters walking around outside, a movie, a very detailed graveyard scene and various other small props.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes plus the wait time in line

Actor Performance: Good. The actors never broke their character and they revealed themselves at the correct time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Only my group of 3. We never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Used at the correct times.

Costumes / Make-up: Very detailed.

Summary: Over all this is a great house. It is very detailed and was fairly scary. They also featured a very neat 3-D section of the house with a spinning vortex that you could wear 3-D glasses through to enhance the look. Watch your head because there are flying and leaning objects throughout the house. The acting was great and very intense. But being buried alive, as always, is the highlight of the house. I would definitely recommend checking this haunt out!

Reviewed by: treesaw726   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find (follow the sign that says haunted house this way!) haha

Wait Entertainment: fabulous, there wasn't a long wait when I went, but when I got there they were chasing some little kid around and cornered him and scared the living crap out of him! HILARIOUS!

Length of Event: For the price, excellent length, wish it could be a little big longer! but for $11 ($10 if you bring canned food) AMAZING!

Actor Performance: great job, MORE CLOWNS! cuz the clowns are the ones that scare me the most!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good flow, we went at our own pace, ran through a couple rooms because we were about to crap our pants :)

Appropriate Ages: well I'm 20, my friend who I went with is 18 and the first room she entered she cried and went through the side exit and couldn't handle it, so I don't know! I know if I was a little kid I wouldn't be able to handle it because it's intense.

Props / Special FX: very awesome! I love when you're waiting in line (scary movie that's playing)

Costumes / Make-up: amazing as usual!

Summary: Where do I begin? This has been my favorite haunted house for the past 4-5 years? something like that, I go to it about 5 times a year because EVERYTIME it scares the crap out of me! I brought my friends for opening weekend, my friend entered the first room (mind you the tunnel entrance this year is awesome) she started crying, and had to leave because she couldn't handle it anymore. That is what I called amazing! just everything about this haunted house is fabulous! This is truly the only haunted house that scares me EVERYTIME I go to it!! keep up the GREAT work!

Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: OK. Needs more signs on all surrounding roads.

Wait Entertainment: Good. Early in the season so only about a 5 minute wait.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great. Really interactive this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Never ran into another couple.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on child. I would say 12+

Props / Special FX: Great! Lots of detail. Of course the one-of-a-kind "Buried Alive" scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Great as in previous years! Very detailed, scary, gore.

Summary: Overall experience was great. The actors and actreses are all on-Que. Got me to jump a couple of times. Detailed scenes. Worth the drive and the money.

Reviewed by: existenz   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are not familiar with the area or fair grounds this might be a little tough to find, there are a couple of signs along the way that point you in the right direction but the attraction is not visible from the main streets.

Wait Entertainment: DOD has always had one of my favorite "waiting rooms", with the numerous props, graveyard scene, hanging man and monster vision screen there is plenty to look at and keep you busy while you wait. The actors that roam this area are also very effective!

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes depending on your pace!

Actor Performance: All of the actors seemed to try their best to get a good scream out of the visitors, however as mentioned before some of their timing was a little off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was not and has never been a problem at DOD. I have never had a group run into us; likewise I never have had a group run into us!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The props were great and most of the scenes were very detailed. The special FX in the opening scene and the Monks area were very well put together. Plus the buried alive area is always a crowd favorite!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were great. The clowns that were roaming the crowd when we arrived looked and performed great!

Summary: I have always like the DOD and have never been disappointed with my experience there! The price is fair, the length is just right and the acting and scenes are above par! Great job in 2005 and keep it up for the years to come!

Reviewed by: livingdead   (Event Visited: 10/02/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you live in the area it is not hard to find. But i do think that they could use more advertising on roads.It is located at the intersection of route 45 and route one 120.The entrance to the parking lot is on route twenty.

Wait Entertainment: This year there was not too many "spooks walking the crowd.However that could be because we went so erly on a sunday.

Length of Event: Depending on how scared that you are it can take anywhere from 10 mintues to 45 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors are amazing.It never fails that they have amazing actors and actreses. They stay in character and do their best to scare the pants off you, anything from yelling, baning on walls or following you whispering and growling in your ear. I give them a ten if this were rated.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In this feild they did amazingly well. The spaced us out throughout the house appropriately so that we could move through at iur own pace. Theere was no running intot he people ahead of us, as well as the people behind us not running into us. If you were stalling too long in a room they scared you into running into the next.

Appropriate Ages: would say do not bring anyone under the age of 10. I myself see it as too innapropriate for anyone younger, but it has no age limit.

Props / Special FX: The props, as always are amazing.Very detailed and life like, even their anomatronics are very life like. The blood and guts are amazing too.They look almost completely real. Sometime you can not even tell the characters from the animatronic props.

Costumes / Make-up: Coustumes Are great, they get better an better every year. ANywhere from clowns to skeletons. It is amazing to see how elaborated they make their costumes

Summary: Well I love the dungeon of doom. itr is my favorite haunted house in my area. i make it every year and it never ceases to ammaze me at how well they put it together. All the actors and actresses are amazing at their jobs. But i love the ones that play crazy characters the best. As always my favorite room is "burried alive" I would like to describe it for you, however i do not want to give away the surprise.There are scares and excitement in every corner of this haunted house. Make the drive if you can.

Reviewed by: RealmofTerro   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Visibility of this attraction is adequate. Since it is held @ the lake county fair grounds It is not visible from the street, but there are plenty of signs pointing you in.

Wait Entertainment: Well done. They had about 2 or 3 actors roaming around the line area, along with a very well done "graveyardish" scene up on the wall, along with various animated props.

Length of Event: Approx 15 min. Door-in to Door-out

Actor Performance: The actors were about 50/50. There were some actors that were great, and timed/played their role PERFECT. Then there were a few that were alittle off, and could use work. But all in all it was a very good performance.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: this is where Ive always had a slight problem. DoD has always had that backup right before entering Buried Alive, that makes people become somewhat restless. Granted the actor who watches that area is very on their toes, and is able to throw some jokes in, I just wish that one spot weren't so long. (but the effect is worth the wait) 
other than that, great job.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Summary: The Dungeon of Doom has changed their approach from previous years, keeping similar rooms, but downing their size allowing for a more "personal" experience with the actors, which I think is good. They use many original Ideas at this attraction and one that they have become infamous for is Buried Alive, which is by far always a crowd favorite. All in all I give the DoD an 8 (on the 5-10 scale). And will, as always chack them out again next year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at