Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Lombard Jaycees Haunted House (Lombard, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: xtina2323   (Event Visited: 10/19/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: i already knew the location from last year, but if you are not familiar with the area, you have to really look for it. no lit up signs or anything, just remember north ave & rohwling rd intersection, on the northwest corner in the plaza.

Wait Entertainment: pretty cool set up for waiting in a line, plus it's indoors so you are not freezing your butt off! ;)

Length of Event: between 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: very entertaining actors, they really get into it!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i went twice in one week, and the two experiences were very different...the 1st time we had a security guard "chaperone" three quarters of the way walking thru behind us, the 2nd time a big group of people followed us closely thru the whole thing, the first girl even held on to my jacket the whole time thru!! she wouldnt let go!!

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up

Props / Special FX: i especially liked the church pews, you had to walk right smack in between them wondering when someone was gonna jump out and ofcourse that one scared me!

Costumes / Make-up: decent make-up, a lot of masks, some were better than others...

Summary: overall, it was good. when we went the first time, it was much scarier, bcuz we didnt know what was coming next, plus the grand finale was awesome, i really felt like i was in the texas chainsaw massacre, he chased us all the way across the parking lot!! the 2nd time, was still good, but not as scary bcuz that girl wouldnt let go of my jacket, plus there was no guy at the end with a chainsaw ;( hopefully, you'll go on a night where all the actors are there! ;) plus, the black mazes were crazy, bcuz you really cant see anything and it can get pretty creepy when you are wallking in the dark for a while!! definitely worth the visit tho~!! ;)

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/25/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They did have signs posted, but they were just a little hard to spot. We were still able to find it without too much trouble.

Wait Entertainment: There was absolutely no line when we got there, so there was no need for entertainment.

Length of Event: It might have lasted 20-25 minutes. It was a good length event--I really wasn't expecting it to be as long as it was. Great length for the price!

Actor Performance: Most actors did really well with the timing and didn't really overdo it. I wasn't expecting too much with a Jaycees crowd of actors, but they really did well with dishing out the scares (and I don't scare easily!). I was caught off guard a number of times, usually because I'd already have had two actors try to scare me and I'd keep on walking by thinking it was over... only to have someone else appear and startle me. I'm guessing they didn't have the usual number of actors tonight since it was very early in the week (Tues), but they still did a great job. Only occasionally did we come across someone who did a poor job (one actor just peeked his head around the corner as we were walking through, but he never did anything to try to scare us)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other groups, but we could hear the screams of the other patrons as we walked through the pitch black hallway mazes. That really added to the creepiness.

Appropriate Ages: I would say maybe 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Amazing for a Jaycees haunted house!!! I was so impressed!!! They were so creative in their props and set design--I've actually never seen anything like them in other haunted houses (and I've been to many!). I don't want to spoil it for others, but to give you an idea of the rooms that they had in there, there was a satanic looking cathedral, a pool room(!), towel room, etc. I think the sets/rooms that they had really conjured up memories of similar scenes from the horror movies.

Costumes / Make-up: I would say the costumes were average, but again please keep in mind this was a Jaycees haunted house.

Summary: I just have to say--WOW!!! For a Jaycees haunted house, this attraction was really impressive and considerably better than a lot of the more expensive and larger scale attractions I have been to. The Jaycees actors really seemed to have their hearts in this one and made it a startling and scary experience for someone who doesn't get caught off guard easily!

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/25/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house is tucked back in a strip mall at the intersection of Rt 53 and North Ave. If you pay attention to the signs you should be able to find it.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait to get in. Since it was a slower night, I'm guessing they didn't have to worry about having any wait entertainment.

Length of Event: This attraction seemed longer than most other haunted houses and took us about 20 min. to walk through.

Actor Performance: Good overall, but for some reason one actor was standing in plain sight and didn't do anything to try to scare us. He seemed to be looking for someone else to come by.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We could hear others in the haunted house, but never saw any other people walking through like we were.

Props / Special FX: Their props were awesome with some really cool rooms that must've taken some time to build. I liked how the floors ramped up and down in places which added to the disorientation feeling. One floor even seemed spongy, which was really cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the makeup and costumes were average, but I'm guessing the actors supplied their own costumes since this was a jaycees house.

Summary: This was a great haunted house with very creative rooms and props. I couldn't believe more people weren't lined up to go to this one tonight given how great it was. This attraction gives a lot for its $10 admission. With the long and completely dark hallways and the many different types of rooms, the atmosphere is a scary one in my opinion. I'd love to see what this house is like on one of their busier days, closer to Halloween.

Reviewed by: alice18   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. We are not from the Lombard area and had no problem finding it.

Wait Entertainment: The wait time was very reasonable and not long at all.

Length of Event: It was perfect!!

Actor Performance: They were excellent and the costume designs were very cool. They did a great job making this haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved smoothly through the whole haunted house.

Props / Special FX: Were all excellent. We really liked the room you had set up with the casino/bar.

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!! I cannot say enough about this. Very impreesive. We visited many haunted houses this night and this was by far the best!

Summary: We really enjoyed your haunted house and look forward to visiting you again next year!!!!! GREAT JOB!! 
We really like how you had costumed dressed people walking around in the parking lot. Especially Michael Myers! He fit perfect by the bush he would hide behind. It scared me when we pulled up. We knew then it would be a great haunted house.

Reviewed by: girlnextdoor   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: dark parking lot, but not too difficult to find

Wait Entertainment: not too bad.. nothing too memorible

Length of Event: I would say about 15 min maybe more

Actor Performance: Not bad when they knew I was comming...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No complaints

Appropriate Ages: I would say no for the little guys as around 75% of this house is dark hallways

Props / Special FX: Honestly by the time my eyes adjusted to being out of the dark and into a room I was already back in the dark

Costumes / Make-up: Not too bad....

Summary: For a volunteer haunt not too bad but for the price I would like to see more rooms less halls... With all the darkness it truely took away from the scares because by the time I got to a room I was annoyed with the darkness... I have to say great effort and great enthusiasm...

Reviewed by: lordofgotham   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This parking lot/mall front seems poorly lit and easy to miss from the street if you are not local. The construction on 53/Rohlwing might confuse drivers further about the entrance. Not a problem for me this year, as I now know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: The boys out front seemed to be having trouble with their chainsaws, but there was no crowd/no wait as it is still early in the season, and late on a Fri. nite when I went.

Length of Event: Since I was alone, I pretty well set my own pace- about 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: A wide range here- some had well developed characters, some just slammed and banged and reset, and too many had the same angry ghost theme, shouting "GET OUT" as though there was a big line of patrons behind me....there wasn't. I caught a few rooms out of character as I approached, and I couldn't tell if some were in costume or not.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not a problem as there was no crowd during my visit- I had the place to myself. As I noted, not all rooms knew I was coming, perhaps because no teen screaming heralded my progress.

Appropriate Ages: I did'nt find this a gory haunt, more creepy. Not for kids who dislike stumbling in the dark.

Props / Special FX: The few rooms this haunt has are well detailed and solidly built. Lighting is atmospheric and well placed, but many opportunities to create a convincing scene(building wracking storm maybe,unearthly portals, etc.) were missed. 
The great lengths of winding black maze hallway constructed to fill this big space disorient you at first, and then get irritating, and finally...boring. Too much maze, too few rooms, too far apart.

Costumes / Make-up: uneven presentation- some are excellent, some look like stagehands. Okay, demonic stagehands.

Summary: I like Lombard Jaycees. I really do. Their price is reasonable for a great big built out haunt, their ideas are clever, and they have a dedicated cast and crew hard at work putting on a good Halloween show. You can see that every cent(and a lot of sweat) goes into the haunt. 
 
I'm just tired of dragging my hand along the wall as I wander through pitch black mazework waiting for something to happen. The scene rooms were great, but the endless featureless maze destroyed the effect of the theme, a haunted hotel of the damned. I kind of missed the variety and creativity of last year's haunt. It's hard to fault volunteers, though. This effort is still approaching a professional level of haunt. I just feel the design missed a beat this year, and some tighter direction or training of the actors could get this show past merely good and well over the bar into the extraordinary range. For a "non-pro" volunteer haunt, this is still one of the best. And perhaps a slow night isn't the best way to judge- these guys may really rock on Halloween weekend with a bigger cast.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at