Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
14th Annual St. Matthew Haunted House (Hawthorn Woods, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: AliceCooper   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly easy to find with plenty of free parking.

Wait Entertainment: They had entertainment available even though we didn't have to wait in line to enter the attraction.

Length of Event: About 35 min. Actors didn't rush you through.

Actor Performance: The actors are what made this such a great house. They did a great job And put a lot of emotion into it. Actual short performances rather than simple boos and screams.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow never got "backed up".

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. They are good at adjusting performances to the patron's ages.

Props / Special FX: Good, creative scenes. They did a great job on a lower budget than many of the other attractions.

Costumes / Make-up: Overall good. Costumes and makeup matched the roles that the actors were playing.

Summary: We went to this after attending two of the "big" haunted attractions earlier in the night. It was nice not being rushed through just to keep a line moving. You were given the time to appreciate all of the work that went into it. We preferred it over the big budget houses.

Reviewed by: k_ozga   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The website provides very good directions to the house. Really if you know where the church is, then you will know where the haunted house is.

Wait Entertainment: It is fun, there is a DJ and you don't have to keep on waiting in lines. You can walk around get and get food until your number is called.

Length of Event: Dependign if you are to scared to go through, it will last you from anywhere from 30 seconds to 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors are very good just like they are every year. I have been going there for three years now, and this year has been the best yet.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Same as the wait entertainment. It is fine, and you are not bored while iyou are waiting.

Appropriate Ages: Not appropriate for under 10

Props / Special FX: It is a really old school house and that is what makes it so great. The props are great.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up is great, although the costumes all seem to resemble one another only is you are in a dark room or hallway. Otherwise the costumes were really good.

Summary: Overall the house is a great house, make sure that whoever is reading this go there next year. The house rocked. It is a good old fashioned house, yolu can can tell that a lot of hard work went into the house to make it what it is.

Reviewed by: BADWITCH   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: HARD TO FIND HOUSE NOT LIT UP ADDRESS NOT VISIBLE

Wait Entertainment: NONE

Length of Event: 3 MIN DUE ACTORS CHASING YOU

Actor Performance: MY CHILDREN WERE AFRAID OF THE ACTORS ESPECIALLY THE PIG WHICH WAS CHASING YOU INTO YOUR CAR OR THE STREET WITH CHAIN SAW VERY POOR JUDGEMENT ON OWNERS. tHE OWNER OF THE HOME NOT CONCERNED IF ACTORS WERE PERFORMING POORLY

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: SET UP WAS GOOD BUT ACTORS RUINED THE ENJOYMENT OF THE HAUNT. MY FAMILY DID NOT HAVE THE PLEASURE OF SEEING THE HAUNT IN ADEQUATE TIMING

Appropriate Ages: NOT RECOMMENDED FOR CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 12 ADULTS BE AWARE OF THE ACTORS

Props / Special FX: PROPS WERE GOOD

Costumes / Make-up: ACTORS JUST WORE MASKS TO SCARE EVERYONE COSTUMES DID NOT GO WITH THEIR THEME

Summary: OVERALL THE HAUNT WAS OK IF THE ACTORS WOULD NOT CHASE YOU WITH THE CHAIN SAW INTO THE STREET OR INTO YOUR CAR. MY CHILDREN DO NOT WANT TO GO BACK DUE TO THIS BAD EXPERIENCE. FAMILIES BEWARE IF YOU HAVE SMALL CHILDREN

Reviewed by: GGaz   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where the church is, then you know where the house is.

Wait Entertainment: There was a DJand many mosters to scare you.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: AMazing the girl that I had cried 3 times, but she didnt bawl she only cried for 10 seconds and didnt sproount any tears

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any groups

Appropriate Ages: 11 up

Props / Special FX: Amazing props in every room, and the use of lesspnumatgics were a nice touch from the ordinary

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were amazing, especially in teh clown room.

Summary: This Haunt is one that you definetitely don't want to miss. It is teh best off all time for every haunted house i have ever been to. I would reccommend it to anyone who is in need ofa good scream, and I didn't see anyone who came out of that house unscared or unstartled. I love it!

Reviewed by: bholmblad   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to get to, plenty of free parking, with just a short walk to the doors.

Wait Entertainment: Indoor waiting was a big plus, since it was cold outside. DJ with karaoke was a great idea. I especially liked the fact that we did not have to wait in line the whole time. The tickets were numbered so we could go to the food court and get something to eat/drink while we were waiting for our numbers to be called.

Length of Event: it took about 20 minutes to go through once we got in the house. Other houses were too short.

Actor Performance: Excellent - timing of some of the actors really helped the scare factor. They knew just when to approach us or when to sneak up behind us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: as mentioned earlier - we could sing karaoke if we wanted ot just hum along with the DJ. The numbered tickets allowed us to go to the food court to eat/drink instead of having to wait in line for a long time. We waited about 45 minutes only.

Appropriate Ages: The adult house is definitely not for kids under the age of 10.

Props / Special FX: Rooms showed a lot of detail -real appliances used in the kitchen, lazer hallway was cool, several black mazes and the star tunnel at the end was amazing.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was great! Some were made up to blend in with the scenery which made for some intense moments in the rooms when we figured out there were people in there. Others had scary masks on - I especially liked the scary clowns. Creepy! Others were painted grimly/gory to match their respective areas.

Summary: This Haunted House was excellent. Overall attention to detail was obvious. Staff were helpful when we asked questions. I especially liked not having to wait in line all the time and we could wait indoors!

Reviewed by: cueball13   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good

Wait Entertainment: Good, the karaoke is fun.

Length of Event: Not too long

Actor Performance: The actors were great. The knew when to stop.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. No stops but you had to look around to find your way out.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: The pecial effects were cool. The thunderstorm was awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were cool. Nobody wore the same clothes.

Summary: The house is the best its been in years. The actors were very scary but knew when to back off. The hallways were either really dark or really bright. It was a cool transition. In some rooms you couldnt tell what was real and what wasn't.The room designs were neat. I will definitely go back.

Reviewed by: egrant   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you looked on the website.

Wait Entertainment: Karaoke in the lobby and characters walking thru the lines made the time pass quickly. The tickets were numbered so you didn't have to stand in "line" the whole time. You could go to their snack bar or even go outside for a smoke. Waiting was inside. 

Length of Event: It took about 20-25 minutes to go thru.

Actor Performance: Actors were good. They knew just when to "get you".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed to flow pretty good. We never saw anyone else, but we could hear them in the other rooms.

Appropriate Ages: I would say not for under 12.

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of pneumatics. Mostly good old fashioned scare tactics. I loved the spinning wheel at the end!

Costumes / Make-up: OK I guess. Didn't really look too close.

Summary: Overall this is a pretty good house! Only waited 40 minutes in line. Well worth the $10 admission price. Great snack bar too! Definitely worth repeating.

Reviewed by: Thecoolkid   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good but try to get more signs so it is a little more visible

Wait Entertainment: The DJ Guy was off the hook

Length of Event: The time it took was good about 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good especially the clown in the box in the clown room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was crowded and I think that it should have allowed more time between people.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The Black light in the hall of the school was a nice touch

Costumes / Make-up: Tell Mr. Grant to wear something other than his regular clothes. (Typical nascar fan)

Summary: The haunted house was alot of fun and quite scairy. I have to say that my favorite room was the gothic room where the people in the robes just appeared out of the fog. My other favorite room was the last one where the room was spinning(I almost fell because I was getting dizzy from watching it).All in All the house was well done and I would recomend it to a friend or a family member who loves haunted houses.

Reviewed by: tazgaz1   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, ther was kareoke and many people with masks on in the halls.

Length of Event: 20 to 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Amazing. There were at least two actors i the room for each as they were called for. They scared you at the pefect time, right when you were vulnerable especially the clown room, SCARY.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I saw another guop in the junkyard, but never caught up to them.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Very good props as there was a lot of dummies in each room and the clown room was very colorful and scary

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was exceptional, but the costumes were amazing. Especially the eye-ball room, I couldn't even see where the person was.

Summary: Overall this is teh best haunted house I've ever been to. There were at least two workers in every room that always picked the right time to scare you. The spinning vortex at the end was amazing, too, it's a classic. I also can't beleive that they took less than 200 square feet and turned it in to 25 minutes of pure scaredom and darkness. This is now my favorite haunted house in Illinois that I have been to.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at