Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/27/05 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We initially drove right past this one, but I spotted the haunted house sign as we were passing it by. It is located in an amusement park/mini golf course and is tucked in around the back. There are two haunted houses and what's funny is we walked right past the second house without seeing the entrance to that one too.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor who hovered when we went up to the entrances of both houses. There was no line otherwise though so we didn't have to wait outside for anything.

Length of Event: The first house was X Chaos and, only due to the actors blocking certain doorways it took us maybe 5-10 minutes (if they hadn't done that we probably could've walked through in less than 5 minutes). The Realm of Terror house was longer and took us maybe 10-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: I was expecting more from the actors since this attraction was more expensive than most, at $15. Most of the actors were younger and did more screaming and yelling to try to scare us. Some did a great job, but it did have more of a juvenile feel to it. I personally don't get scared when people yell at me (I get more annoyed) so I didn't think that part was too scary. The actors did have a lot of enthusiasm, though, which impressed me.  
 
At one point they blocked my boyfriend from going by for a couple minutes and when he tried to walk past them (by going around them), he accidentally bumped into them and they responded by saying "don't touch the actors!" That bothered me a bit since they really were in our faces and our space. No one tried to kick us out or anything, but I think they should be aware of how much they get in patrons's faces.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was slow when we got there and I didn't see any others going through the houses (other than the actors, of course). The first house, X Chaos, was basically a maze through the amusement park's batting cages and flowed okay for what it was. (They could have done without that one, in my opinion.) I felt a little rushed at times in the Realm of Terror house because of a few actors telling me to "get out!" or "get out of my house!" The actors that yelled these types of sayings out, really seemed to rush us out of the rooms--and I would rather have spent more time to take in all of the special effects and props. Other than this, the rest of the Realm of Terror flowed okay.

Appropriate Ages: Almost any age could go through X-Chaos because there were almost no props and the actors weren't too scary other than popping over the tops of the fences/cages. Realm of Terror would probably be okay for ages 11 and up.

Props / Special FX: There weren't many props in X Chaos and I was very disappointed in going through that one. It was basically an outside maze with fences dividing the passages. At times you could even see the parking lot and the people hanging out outside. In Realm of Terror, they had some good props and animatronics to keep things interesting, but like I said before, I didn't get to spend a lot of time looking at all of them because I was rushed through the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Average.

Summary: I think this attraction is overpriced for what it delivers, since you are really just paying for one haunted house (X Chaos was very unmemorable). They had some great effects in Realm of Terror, but didn't give us the full opportunity to appreciate all of the effects. I also think the actors need a bigger range of skills so that they don't simply yell and get in the faces of their customers as I doubt people would find being yelled at truly scary. I think Realm of Terror has a lot of great potential and that, given enough time, they could turn it into a great haunted house.

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/27/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: a little hard to spot since it's in a mini golf park. we first drove by it not seeing the sign

Wait Entertainment: we didn't have to wait to get in

Length of Event: for both houses it took us 20-30 minutes total

Actor Performance: most of the actors were younger teenagers and were more loud than scary. in x chaos their acting consisted of jumping on top of the fences to yell at us and shake the fence. a couple of them also kept us from going through certain door trying to get us to go in circles in their maze. in realm of terror they seemed a bit pushier in trying to get us to hurry through the house, even though no other patrons were around at the time. i don't think they meant for us to feel rushed in a bad way--i think they were just trying to be scary, but it didn't have much of that effect. i think with the moving pictures on the wall, they were able to catch us off guard a few times, but otherwise were average in their scares when compared to other houses.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no other patrons were there at the time

Appropriate Ages: ? 12 + ?

Props / Special FX: some props were really cool in realm of terror but there was hardly any props in the x chaos maze. i kept expecting one of the props to move or do something and none of them did. i think they should have done more with the x chaos maze.

Costumes / Make-up: they were okay, but nothing special

Summary: all in all, realm of terror was fairly good, but x chaos was very poor in terms of quality for the price. i think they could improve on realm of terror by having some older actors and maybe making the house longer so you feel like you're getting more for your money. i don't think i'll be going out of my way to go back to this one next year, but if i was in the area i might go back again.

Reviewed by: valetine   (Event Visited: 10/13/05 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find the location. Signs were very helpful.

Wait Entertainment: While in line, there were scary costumed actors walking the line entertaining the crowd.

Length of Event: The length of the visit was just right. Long enough to keep you interested and entertained, but short enough so you didn't get bored.

Actor Performance: The actors did an excellent job of entertaining and scaring in the house. They seemed professional, witty, and creative.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the crowd was unexpectedly fluid. You never got hung up in any one area of the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10 years and above would enjoy this.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects  
were done with great imagination and creativity. Some were very scary and others made you laugh.

Costumes / Make-up: Extremely well done. Very professional looking.

Summary: All in all it was a very enjoyable evening with a surprise around every corner. Of all the haunted houses I have been to in the past 20yrs, this is one of the most entertaining I have been to.

Reviewed by: blackwidow   (Event Visited: 10/12/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was kindof easy to see once i passed it up

Wait Entertainment: there were charaters outside who were really funny and never got out of charater

Length of Event: first house 10 minutes. second house like 5 minutes

Actor Performance: okay, alot were off que though

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there really wasn't anyone there when we went so we didn't see anyone

Appropriate Ages: not scary so 9+

Props / Special FX: great props but in the wrong places

Costumes / Make-up: some were ok, others looked like they got ther late and just slaped some on

Summary: all and all it was an okay house not what i expected but it's a work in progress i guess. i really didn't like X-Chaos if that's the one outside cause there really was no point to it

Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was not familiar with the area and I thought it was pretty easy to find. The drive for me was about 40 minutes and I don't think it was worth the drive.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was the best part. They stayed in character and were also quite amusing. One guy threw a fake cockroach on the ground and hit it with a hammer, then pretended to eat it. He also hid behind things and jumped out trying to scare people.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or less.

Actor Performance: I was not impressed by the actors’ performances. A lot of the actors were little kids, which doesn't scare me in the least. Most of it was actors screaming, "Get out of my house".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good, since we never ran into another group. I didn't like having to go through it with other people though.

Appropriate Ages: 12+, it would be younger, but there was a topless prop.

Props / Special FX: Only a few things actually stood out to me. They had a round room that spun and you had to walk through it. It actually made me dizzy. This is in many haunted houses though, so it wasn't very original.  
 
They also had some props that sprayed you with some water. I went through some of the haunted house with wet pant legs.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of the costumes and makeup were poor. There were a few masks that were interesting (such as the clown), but overall I was not impressed.

Summary: I was very disappointed with this haunted house. There were supposed to be two, which included Rot and X-Chaos, but X-Chaos was closed for some reason. Rot was very short and lasted 10 minutes at the most.  
 
The best part was the beginning, when this guy led you to the house. He walked similar to a zombie and was dragging a shovel. When everyone got inside the house, he told us, “You’re on your own, I’m getting out of here”, and he ran out really fast. 
 
Overall, there were a few good things about the haunted house, but mostly it was predictable and not very original. If I would have known that X-Chaos was closed, I wouldn't have driven there and I would have probably spent my money on a much better haunted house.

Reviewed by: strong   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's off Rollins Rd. You'll have to keep an eye out for Kirchoff's or you might miss is.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few customed actors haunting about, plus a loud thrash rock band

Length of Event: About 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: RoT: All were very good and stayed in character. Customes and make-up were exceptionally well done. The evil clown escorting people inside the entrance was scary and a little freaky. The person cut in half was really good, as were all the actors throughout the haunt. As with all haunted houses, the scares seem to consist mostly of unexpected actors popping out at you. After a while you can predict it which is not good, but RoT stayed pretty unpredictable, moreso than most haunts.  
 
For X-Chaos, it was pretty basic: follow a path as actors chase you and surprise you. That's pretty much all they did.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. They paced each group so that one group would not run into another. Groups were limited to around 5 or so.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 12+. There were some disturbing gory images. But what's halloween without disturbing gore?

Props / Special FX: For RoT, all were really well done with attention to detail. This haunt had the best vortex tunnel. There were plenty of pictures along the walls between scenes which made for interesting viewing, though you had to be careful as some would drop with a bang to reveal a monster popping out at you.

Costumes / Make-up: A+. The best of the haunts I've been to. Many haunts seem to rely on adolescents with facepaint to be their monsters, which is not too scary. RoT's monsters were much better done, with better costumes, props and make-up and better acting.

Summary: This one is pricey ($15 per person), otherwise this is a great haunt. The outside atmosphere is not too scary--Kirschoffs is an amusement area with putt-putt golf and gokarts--but once you get inside the haunt that makes no difference. Also, the loud thrash rock band helped to give it a tense, chaotic atmosphere that seemed to help with the scary factor. Kids under 10-12 might be a little disturbed by some scenes.

Reviewed by: itlngrl   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: At a well known location (arcade/bowling alley/mini-golf) entertainment center off of the main thouroughfare (Rollins Rd.) in Round Lake - Lots of signage in front as well.

Wait Entertainment: At the time we were there, there was none, but it was fun watching the clown mess w/groups just before he took them in.

Length of Event: 10-15 min for ROT 
5-15 min for X-Chaos (depending how "lost" you get)

Actor Performance: First 2 actors are extremely strong! In generall, all actors were strong - none were caught off-guard when we were there... all were pretty intense.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VERY Good - we could not hear nor see any groups in front or behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up (use judgement with your kiddies)

Props / Special FX: VERY Cool props - unique FX

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLENT in ROT 
X-Chaos more folks in masks and jumpsuits.

Summary: Our group loved ROT, the guy at the end got my husband. Characters are pretty intense and makeup/costumes rocked. X-Chaos could use some more creatures like ROT had (more actors & more intense)

Reviewed by: dbush   (Event Visited: 10/13/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: ALthough there wasn't anyone in front or behind us, the actors mingling outside the entrance stayed in character as we were ushered into the first Haunted House.

Length of Event: approx. 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: The characters did a wonderful job screaming at you and jumping out behind walls and from the ceiling.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since we were there early, nobody was ahead of us or behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: The spinning vortex tunnel was the best. Props were placed in great positions for the scare factor. As you walked by pictures, they dropped and monsters screamed at you. Wonderful job overall

Costumes / Make-up: Very real and scary.

Summary: I enjoyed both haunted houses immensely. Rot, the first one, was the scarier of the two and the characters were excellent in their jobs. The spinning tunnel was the best. Very effective. The second Haunted House wasn't nearly as scary, but the maze of doors was excellent. A great supplement to the first Haunted House. I feel that both of them are definately worth visiting.

Reviewed by: DBY106698   (Event Visited: 10/11/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Well located with little dificulty of finding.

Wait Entertainment: It was okay, some of the actors fell out of character every now and then

Length of Event: 25 minutes?

Actor Performance: It was decent for the most part, but still needed a bit of work, must have been a few new people to the business.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good, didn't see any other groups.

Summary: Overall it was pretty good, but for those that do not receive the NewsSun Newspaper, you may want to look at the October 11th paper if your are concerned for your own safety.

Reviewed by: hmcitore   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find/spot

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait when we went, but there were actors walking around outside entertaining us while we got our tickets & while we were just socializing.

Length of Event: IDK - 30min or so?

Actor Performance: The actors were great - the element of surprise is the main focus.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: When we went it was pretty dead (no pun intended). There were people outside of the attraction mingling & hanging out - but it was too cold outside & either too early or too late for the rush I think.

Appropriate Ages: PG13, I think - there was one room that had a naked manequin on a bed - for a reason... when you walked in, your attention was naturally diverted to the nudity (thinking to yourself, "That CAN"T be real, can it?"), & then someone pops out behind you screaming!

Props / Special FX: RoT = Excellent! Mostly realistic. 
X-Chaos - there really was none.

Costumes / Make-up: RoT = Excellent! Very professional looking. 
X-Chaos = again, there really was none.

Summary: Well, there was 2 haunted houses there - RoT & X-Chaos. RoT is by all means the better of the two, in my opinion. Pretty darn good. 
X-Chaos is basically an outdoor maze with guys jumping up on the surrounding fence.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at