Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: zoeyjelonik   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nicley located. i liked how it was in an old building and the goasts outside

Wait Entertainment: i enjoyed watching the little video and i liked the monsters walking in the lines,

Length of Event: about 20 mins. not to long not to short

Actor Performance: they were all at the right time and the right place.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no groups really ran into or saw each other. the groups were nicely "parted"

Appropriate Ages: high teens

Props / Special FX: Did they have any stunning visual effects? yes it felt like you were in a dream and when you got out of the house you woke up. 
Was there a spinning vortex tunnel? yes there were 2 
What impressive animated props did they have? dools popping out of walls 

Costumes / Make-up: Were the actors wearing detailed costumes, black robes or just plain “street clothes”? very detailed 
Were the costumes appropriate for the scenes they were in? yes 
Were the actors wearing masks or make-up? both 
How would you rate the overall quality of the costumes and make-up used throughout the attraction? 5/5 

Summary: What did you like about the event? i liked how after you got of the elevator you felt like you were in a dream/daze 
What do you think they could have done better? there were too many stobe lights 
What was your favorite scene? the clowns and the house  
Did you have a favorite actor/actress? the girl in the rocking chair in the house scene  
What scares really freaked you out? the clowns!!! 
Did they give you a lot of "bang for your buck"? yes it was worth every penny

Reviewed by: househopper   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had alittle trouble finding the place but i did.

Wait Entertainment: just your average wait a few random actors going grrrrrrrrrr or saying im going to die but thats all

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: it was pretty bad for so early in the eavning i wish i could of seen more energy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there were a few jams here and there but nothing to really care about

Appropriate Ages: ALL

Props / Special FX: TOO many strobes hitting me in the eyes. so when an actor poped out i couldent see them

Costumes / Make-up: not much variation most actors has whitefaces with black eyes an blood

Summary: I thought it was a total waste of my time i should of just payed and left that might of actually scared me. Giving people my money for nothing... gives me chills. but on a good note i was never touched by another actor and they didnt get too close so if some angry coustmer did swing nobody would get hit.

Reviewed by: supergroup02   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find, but the building it was in was very big and very cool.

Wait Entertainment: None. I was dissapointed becuase on their video it showed a bunch of monsters in the line.

Length of Event: Exactley 10 minutes not encluding the wait.

Actor Performance: Extremely Poor. For paid actors they were terrible. The didn't pop out. They just walked stagardley towards you and made a few satanic remarks but overall wasn't remotley scarey.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You never ran into the people infront of you which was very good, but I didn't like how you were forced to go in big groups.

Appropriate Ages: Yes. It wasn't too violent.

Props / Special FX: EXCELLENT!!! The rooms all had excelent potential just had poor acting quality. They had a lot of big $$ equipment!

Costumes / Make-up: INSANE!! They had tons of good costumes and awesome props.

Summary: Dream Reapers really disapointed me. I had my hopes up becuase of all the things I had read about them. They hands down had the coolest haunt of all time nut they also had hands down the worst acting of all time. I've seen beter acting at haunts that were free. Speaking of price, the enterence fee was $15! I think they shouldn't pay the actors as much and bring that price down becuase they are deffinetly getting paid way too much. Also, I didn't like the changing of themes. With as much money as they put into that, they should of centered it around a theme. Give it a background. That would have made it a whole lot better. I think that if they first, fired all the actors and got good ones, then get a good theme, it would be worth the $15 and it would deffinetly have the rights as the #1 haunted house. All in all, Dream Reapers dissapointed me.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Flashing sign from the main street was easy to see. They had a hearse parked outside along with a burning trashcan, so all of these made it very visable

Wait Entertainment: We had a short wait since we went later on a Sunday night (in the past they had more characters scaring the waiting patrons), but I did see one character passing by when we were in line.

Length of Event: I would say about 15-20 minutes, depending on how fast you and your group move through it.

Actor Performance: Very good. The timing of the scares was done very well, although occasionally there seemed to be too many actors clustered in one area which lowered the scare factor. Some of the actors were more skilled than others but I was glad to see that they really didn't resort to the scream-in-the-patrons'-faces deal. Some were very creative in their approach.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group was broken up about halfway through the tour and we never ran into another group (I was pretty happy because I was then the first person in line at that point). I tend to move slower through haunted houses and they didn't rush us at all.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 and up. There were some good scares that I wouldn't recommend for younger children (and I definitely don't scare easily!)

Props / Special FX: As far as the rooms go, most were done very well except for a couple that were a little too brightly lit. It was definitely much better than last year, and i was very happy with it this year overall.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the makeup jobs were EXCELLENT. Very impressive!

Summary: After having a bad experience with the house last year, I was very impressed with it this year. They added some new and very creative effects and rooms and seemed to improve on their weaker areas from last year. I almost didn't go to this one this year and now I'm very glad that I did!

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Only saw one actor in the waiting crowd. The hearse parked outside was pretty cool though.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Good performance by most of the actors. I was with my girlfriend and neither of us usually get caught off guard in these haunted houses, but they did get me to jump a couple times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow through the house.

Appropriate Ages: older ages

Props / Special FX: Great effects except for certain spots that weren't dark at all.

Costumes / Make-up: As usual, awesome makeup and costumes

Summary: This attraction is much better this year and my favorite addition this year has to do with their elevator (you'll see what I mean if you go). We went at a slower time so we didn't have the long lines to wait in and they also were able to get people into the house pretty fast. Despite that, we didn't run into any of the groups that went in before us and it seems to be a decent length haunted house for the money. I was able to get street parking so I didn't have to pay that extra parking fee. I would recommend this attraction this year as one of the better ones.

Reviewed by: grove226   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Right off of North Avenue in Melrose Park. Lighted sign to the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of wait entertainment with characters at the start of the line as well as walking through the line. There were also actors outside and in the parking lot across the street. Part of the fun was watching other people get startled. There was video playing of prior haunts as well as heavy metal music playing on the souns system. The big concrete "line" room was done in a haunted, cold industrial motif with gore/creature murals on the walls.

Length of Event: approx 20-25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were very ENTHUSIASTIC AND ENERGETIC. Everyone seemed to genuinely enjoy what they were doing, except for the somewhat gruff ticket-taker lady. Needless to say, no amount of props or special effects etc can make up for poor, lackluster scare performances by the actors. In my view the Actors/Actresses made this haunted house event enjoyable and memorable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The line moved pretty well both outside and inside the haunted house. We got there at just before 8pm. There was no line to buy a ticket, and the line inside lasted about 15 minutes. By the time we left, the line was outside the entry door by about a half-block. Get there as close to 7 as possible, but being that you are kept entertained during the wait, wait time isnt an issue.

Appropriate Ages: I think kids 13 and up would enjoy this experience.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were simple yet effective (with the exception of the rotating light room, which threw us all for a loop!). Most of the effects revolved around loud noises, well-placed lighting and props which were realiztic (the chainsaw guy was really good as was the "elevator to hell" at the beginning of the tour). The one disappointment were the props used in parts of the haunted junkyard scene at the end of the tour. Due to the increased lighting, the limbs used in the oven and in other parts of the scene looked plastic and fake. The characters and acting (as discussed above) made up for this very slight flaw.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were amazing. Noone seemed overdone at all. The clown room was an especially effective combination of make-up and special-effects and overall actor/actress energy. It was my favorite part of the tour.

Summary: This was my first ever haunted house AND I HAD A GREAT TIME! All of my misconceptions about haunted houses (cheesy, expensive ripoff, seedy, rowdy, unsafe etc) were all misguided as far as Dream Reapers is concerned. My family and I enjoyed the atmosphere and excitement (and alot of good humor) of this haunted house. The characters were intense at times but not overly ambitious. The sets were very detailed in their layouts and scenery. The fact that the entertainment starts from the minute you get near the entrance until you leave (In our case one of the parking lot ghouls jumped into the car for a last minute scare on our way out) givesone the feeling of having been thoroughly immersed in the experience.  
 
There was visible security as well as police at the entrace to the attraction as well as discreet security inside. Given the numerous families and younger kids I saw, I would say this was a very safe, secure and fun haunted house to visit.

Reviewed by: Prdangelo   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The directions i received from Mapquest where great. Once you turn down the street it is on you will notice the lights and fan dancing thingies

Wait Entertainment: Few monsters during duration of line and tv screen playing last years haunt. but could have been more enthusiastic

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: They were really good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good until the last few minutes when we bumped into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 16+

Summary: The interior lighting was a little high making things too visible. And the line was deceiving. An outside line wait of one hour and also an hour inside AFTER you pay. But still a really good haunt in my opinion.

Reviewed by: cg113   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: right off of north ave not hard to find

Wait Entertainment: was great we had more fun moutside then inside we waited 3n hlf hrs in line but the entertainment outside was very good the chainsaw dude chased this girl for about an hour it was a fun entertaining atmosphere

Length of Event: about 10 minutes

Actor Performance: outside the actors were great ,inside they seemed very tired

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didnt run into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12 n up

Props / Special FX: the props n makeup were great

Costumes / Make-up: costumes n makeup were also very very good

Summary: overall it was an ok time the website made it seem much more then it was we were a bit disappointed the wait was very long but we did have alot of fun in line with all the actors going round n the highlight was meeting bill mosely at the end it seemed a bit fast once inside wish it would of been longer with all the waiting we did but that was the only downfall but everything else was ok

Reviewed by: drdpd   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sort of easy to see.

Wait Entertainment: The painting on the walls were nice...created the right mood. The plastic skeletons weren't so great. A few live actors.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Ugh! There were little kids "acting" in there, that really spoiled it for me. The Hillbillies were great. Otherwise I felt they were not into their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok, seemed rushed. caught up with another group at the maze.

Appropriate Ages: I think some of the actors were about 10, so I'd say ages 9+

Props / Special FX: Great details everywhere. Allot of attention to creating moods were spent on props, just not on acting.

Costumes / Make-up: I felt cheated in this department, except for the Dr. Satan costume...that was great.

Summary: They do a great job on the interiors, I wanted to spend more time in there, but it was over too quick,and the acting and costumes took the scare out of it.

Reviewed by: MEG0527   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once on Cornell you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was great, the psych pateint and the chainsaw guys were great. The guy with the farret looking thing was funny!

Length of Event: line about 45minutes, house was about 10.

Actor Performance: actors were really great, stayed in character. I woyuld have to agree with what someone else wrote about the kids, they were not scary, but the ones in the house they were creepy, because they were quite.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we were flowing pretty well, we had a group of ten so i have no idea if anyone ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: not terribly scary, so i Think 12 and up would work, depending on your children.

Props / Special FX: scenes were great Texas chainsaw was my favorite one.

Costumes / Make-up: some were excellent and others need work.

Summary: In conculsion, this house was pretty good, i've been to many haunted houses, now that I'm 24 it takes a little more to scare me. Dreams reapers did a good job. I thought that most of the actors outside and in line were more scary than the ones on the inside, but that chainsaw will get you everytime! I was suprised to not see many clowns. Get there early if you do not want to wait in line forever. My group got there at 9, we waited 45 minutes, when we left the line was all the way to North ave!  
If your big on deatiled scenes and props this is the place for you.

Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/09/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Other then props and a continous commercial for the haunt, there were no actors working the line until the very end.

Length of Event: the wait time was about an hour - maybe a little more. The house about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. Had me jump a few times...I go to the haunts to check out the props, don't really expect to get scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good...groups were pretty well spread out

Appropriate Ages: 8 and over

Props / Special FX: Very good, well thought out and spread out thru-out the haunt

Costumes / Make-up: Basic - but good.

Summary: I really enjoyed this house, as always, they have a lot to look at and a few surprises by the actors...however, I was extremely disappointed at the end - no grand finale..just an exit into their gift shop...

Reviewed by: existenz   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great Location - Very easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: There were on or two actors roaming the line while we were there, but being that it was a Sunday there really wasn't a huge line. The coffin and movie screen was good to set the mood and something to look at while we waited!

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes!

Actor Performance: Very good! Everyone seemed to be on que and did a great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Also good! There was only one spot were we bumped into another group and that was in the maze 1/2 way through!

Appropriate Ages: 10+ depending on the kid.

Props / Special FX: Great! The details were very strong and the scenes were setup perfectly. Especially the hillbilly house!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good, unique costumes. There was one mask that a guy working the line had on that appeared to be drooling and the mouth would open and close. Probably one of the coolest masks I have ever seen.

Summary: All in all they made a strong showing again this year. Although there was a guy in a wheel chair that was blocking our car from leaving the parking lot, it took us about 15 minutes to get around him. It was all in good fun and I will definitely be back again next year!

Reviewed by: ednbillie   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very easy to find. The big blowing ghosts were a nice touch.

Wait Entertainment: We had V.I.P. passes so we can't really comment other than there didn't seem to be too long of a line with it being a Sunday.

Length of Event: We were the first ones to go through so we got to take a bit longer to look at the props and all. In all it was about 20 to 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors did a wonderful job. They were startling, and full of spirit without being too in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was steady without being too rushed. It gave you time to take a good look and make sure you got to enjoy.

Appropriate Ages: I would have to say it was more for teens through any adult age.

Props / Special FX: The props and effects were fantastic.

Costumes / Make-up: You could tell the actors went all out to look as realistic as possible. Great job done by all, even the dog!

Summary: I would deffinately recommend Dream Reapers to anyone wanting to experience a good time. The wait you usually have for a good time is well worth it and the cost was very reasonable for the entertainment. We do different haunted houses each year and it was deffinatly one that will go on the top of our list of houses to visit again in the future. We had a great time.

Reviewed by: itlngrl   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Off of a main road (North Ave.) and there is a well-lit sign.

Wait Entertainment: Various characters of ALL types messed with the crowd. B96 was also there the night we attended and Monster Drinks was doing a promotional appearance.

Length of Event: About 15-20 minutes... seemed to go on forever.

Actor Performance: A+++. Many are unique characters you won't see anywhere else. They are intense and come at you from EVERYWHERE.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved well, no traffic jams which is good!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up? (use good judgement with your kids).

Props / Special FX: SO much stuff to look at and in your face most of the time.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was amazing, and lots of detail - looked like they stepped out of a movie.

Summary: Overall an amazing haunt - we've been fans for several years and were impressed with how many changes there were from last year. Do not miss this one and one big tip: GET THERE EARLY or you will wait - when we left at 8:45 or so, the line was almost 2+ blocks long!

Reviewed by: VampOfAsylum   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with the huge lines of victims preparing to enter.

Wait Entertainment: Bunch of ghouls running around in the parking lot. One big ghoul stood in front of a persons car for like 5 minutes and wouldn't allow them to drive on.

Length of Event: 10-15 Minutes

Actor Performance: The actors performance was very poor for the most part. There was a actor here or there that was into there acting however I was not scared once in the entire house :(

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good since it was pretty much a cattle shoot sending you through as fast as possible

Appropriate Ages: 8 & Up

Props / Special FX: The Props and scenes were awesome, probally the best part of the haunt!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes/make-up jobs were very nicely done.

Summary: The outside of the building was freaky and that they had Bill Mosley there was a nice mood setting. We paid 25 bucks a piece for Dream Passes since we drove over 3 hours from Iowa to go through the haunt. The scenes in the haunt were awesome very detailed.  
The Actors were not really into there parts. Being a fellow haunter this was a big downer :( Once in awhile you would run into a actor that was into there job but for the most part they were to busy talking to each other and forcing you through the haunt. 
I could only hear a couple sounds tracks throughout the entire haunt. 
The haunt only lasted about 14 minutes and that seemed to be very short since I was very slow and try to take as much time as possible to enjoy the haunt and it's scenes. However everytime I tried to look at anything there was someone standing behind clothes or something telling me to get out of the room. 
Overall I'm not sure I will be taking a return trip to this haunt since the drive is so long and I didn't even get spooked once. I'm hoping everyone in the line who waited 3 hours plus to get in enjoyed themselves more then I did.

Reviewed by: hells_wish   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Dream Reapers is really easy to find. Signs are highly visible from North Ave. and the two air ghosts stand out.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. I enjoyed the entertainment. There were actors throughout the lines and by the port-o-pottys. My friend had to use one, and when she came out there was a monster waiting for her.

Length of Event: Once we left the line we were inside for about 20 minutes. Maybe a little longer because the slower people were at the front of the group.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. No one broke character, and they were able to pick out those whom were most scared and picked on them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I only had problems with the people in my own group. We never ran into anyone else though.

Appropriate Ages: Id say 13+ because of the scare factor. Unless your kids are up watching scary movies in the dark by themselves, wait till theyre mature enough for something like this.

Props / Special FX: The props this year were the same as last year. The only one i can think of that was a new addition was the guy with the screw driver. But there were some new spcial fx. I greatly enjoyed the elevator ride.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, really good. Very dramatic and realistic. I enjoyed Dr. Satan, looked like he came right out of the movie.

Summary: Overall, Dream Reapers lived up to my expectations. Everything about the place flows really well. From the characters, to the scenery, to the scents of the place. Definitely one of my favorite places to go this time of year.

Reviewed by: lordofgotham   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signage was highly visible from North Av., the air ghosts and the activity out front make the entrance easy to find. Plenty of free parking on the street north of the location was available.

Wait Entertainment: Several veteran actors were working the crowd line, along with some jr. monsters(kids). The girls in line were screaming, and the chainsaws roared as expected. The DR crew works hard and doesn't disappoint. The detailed murals in the inside waiting area draw much attention and comment from the crowd. 
Because I've made multiple visits to this haunt, I personally would enjoy different music during the wait, but it seems to be appropriate to the setting and the patrons' expectations. I must be getting old. 
The projection video in the wait area is a nice suspensful preview for the house, but I fear this also is beginning to show it's age for return visitors.

Length of Event: I didn't pay close attention to the time inside, maybe roughly 20 minutes from leaving the wait area to the exit.

Actor Performance: Everyone was well in character and having fun- I saw actors adapting well to a straggly group of patrons- we were all over the place. Good teamwork, and a mix of in-your-face as well as pop out interaction. The performances are varied and creative.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group I entered with kind of spread out, as some went ahead while one couple had trouble advancing at all since the lady was so willing to be stopped in her tracks by ANYTHING. The new pattern in the house was a nice change up, and gave the crew some control over this. I didn't feel rushed, and each section/room was ready for us. Some actors were actually able to reset and pop out at other patrons within my group. I don't think this affected the group behind us.

Appropriate Ages: Well, the more grisly scenes seem to disturb even some young adults. If your kids are past Jr. H.S. age and know up front that it's 1)theater and 2)it's loud and gory, they might have the time of their lives. If they have to be lied to or co-erced...GET A SITTER!

Props / Special FX: A lot of detail work goes into DR's rooms- stand out additions this year are the hellevator and the clown room. And, as always, I love the vortex!

Costumes / Make-up: Old favorites are present as well as some new work- I saw no "street clothes" haunters within the house. Gory make-up abounds as these guys pump up their creativity.

Summary: BAM! DR has kicked it up a notch in their second year in their new home. 
Dream Reapers brings in a guest like Bill Mosely for the fans, and keeps building to improve their haunt. The actors are professional and energetic. A solid haunt that I expect will grow even better in the future. I had a good time and was never distracted by any failure to deliver...well designed and well produced.

Reviewed by: wrigley11   (Event Visited: 10/13/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There shouldn't be any problems finding the place... Head down North Ave and look for the two giant ghost to the north. It's across from the International truck plant...

Wait Entertainment: There was no line - so maybe that is why there was no entertainment. It was 9:30 on a Thursday night.

Length of Event: 10 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Average at best, if you could call what they were doing a performance. I wouldn't exactly call someone running at you a performance. The overall experience was never there and it was a let down.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, they had a circular maze setup to control the flow in the middle of the haunt. They basicly made you go in a cicle to wait on groups ahead.

Appropriate Ages: 10 to 12+

Props / Special FX: Average... I wouldn't say they had anything special. THe only effect that was cool was the Alien/Spinning Room, but it wasn't worth $15 for that...

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the costumes and make-up were good, others were poor.

Summary: It's been a few years since I have visisted a Haunt House, but for $15 I expected a lot more. I have seen better props in a persons front lawn then at Dream Reapers. I hope this is not what the entire Haunting Industry has sunken to. I wouldn't call it a Haunted House when all that you remember is how attractive the nurse was... The design was on the cheap and you could see ever scare before it happened.

Reviewed by: DoDZombie   (Event Visited: 10/09/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibilty for this attraction is REAL good either from Manheim or North Ave. The 2 big ghost things they had outside drew ALOT of attention, as well did the one actor standing in the street.

Wait Entertainment: As far as wait entertainment went it was pretty good. The clown in the top hat was pretty funny as well as the guy walking around with the big horns and furry coat.

Length of Event: We waited in line for about an hour and half and it took us all of but maybe 10 minutes to get through the house.

Actor Performance: I thought the actors on the outside were probably better then inside the house, except for the redneck scene where the lady looked like she was being wacked in the head by the crazy guy. The one thing I noticed in this house was that they had at least 4-5 little kids working. I really didnt care for them that much, no scare in them

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ended up catching up to the group in front f us in the little door maze, and then the group behind us caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: Due to the fact that there was little kids working there I would say it is good for the kids to be AT LEAST maybe 9+ old

Props / Special FX: Props were killer, and I though the hellavator was pretty crazy.Cool touch

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up wise it was ok.....The coolest though was the actor dressed like Dr. Satan, I am a huge fan of that character and it looked like they pulled him right out of the movie, GREAT JOB GUYS

Summary: All in All, and not to sound like a jerk, my friends and I didnt really care for the little kids(not scary) and I think that alot of it were late on jumping out at us. Outside entertainment was great and I know I will check it out again next year.

Reviewed by: scardycat   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find right next to a big parking lot with 2 big ghost balloons

Wait Entertainment: OMG awsome , i was with a group of 10 people and, we all had some scares and some laughs waiting,, and when u get in the creepyness of being in a concrete room and the art work very very cool

Length of Event: about 15-20 min between waiting in line till we left the house roughly around an hour but well worth it

Actor Performance: Scary as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) let me tell u , ive visited a few houses in my day but for being so early in the month and the time it was great great actors, from the clowns which scared the u know what out of my girlfriend, to the hillbillies , and those 3 guys in that room with the sparks that looked like it was underground, the one guy spooked us good and kinda made us move forward scaring us from the back just to make us turn a corner to do nothing but jump back again and scream cause some big dude can get us with the chainsaw that sparked which looked real , just so he can keep us lookin at him so another dude behind a fench can get us from behind with another sparky thingy , great timing , and great set up ,

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: im not a pro but if ur not supposed to run into the group infront of u very well spaced we never saw them till we left

Appropriate Ages: well, the group of friends and me the went veried from 18 to 27 and we were scared out of our socks id say prop 13+ depending on ur kid

Props / Special FX: i went to the dreamreapers website before we went and man can u smell that stuff ,, the cemetary made me feel as if we were outside, and the forest forget about it, great decor, great rooms, great props

Costumes / Make-up: well some rooms u couldnt see to much of there faces but for the most part looks professional ,, some faces u could really tell the detail, and the blood looks almost real, and for the few who wear mask great mask fits whatever rooms there it

Summary: in my summary ,, dreamreapers is well worth whatever time u wait and money u spend, i will be def going back atleast 3 more times, the month has only started, and were already talking about our plans at what houses to visit and dreamreapers is always number one on our list awsome job everyone awsome ,p.s if the owners read this thing thanks for showing us the contacts in person

Reviewed by: tinkermybell   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location wasnt hard to find especially w/ scary actors in the middle of the street guiding you into the street where the haunted house is.

Wait Entertainment: I only had to wait 10mins probably because we arrived early before people arrived.

Length of Event: 20mins

Actor Performance: Actors were really into and the costumes and the scenes were detailed and i liked the part where we walk into a circling tunnel on a plank.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Wasn't separated from my group but we did at one point run into people that went in before us in the maze part which was the confusing part.

Appropriate Ages: Yes!!!!!

Summary: Overall it was good but not to that fact is was scarrrryyy eventhough they could lower the lights more because you were able to see everything that was going to happen and didnt scare you at all and also i think after paying a $15 entrance for all people, no discounts offered for children under 12 yrs we still had to pay parking which i think they shouldnt do.

Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Sign and 2 "Air Ghosts" make it very visible.

Wait Entertainment: Great. 3 or 4 actors walking the line. More detailed waiting area this year.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great! Everyone was on-que and always stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Let us in 2 at a time. Ran into a couple people in the maze, but lost them...

Appropriate Ages: Depends on your child. I would say 13+

Props / Special FX: GREAT! Everything is very detailed. I am always amazed at the cemetary. It smells like you are outside!

Costumes / Make-up: Great, again very detailed.

Summary: Dreamreapers was great. Still my fav! The detail in every scene is just fantastic! My favorite scene is the hillbilly house, I'm so glad you kept it from last year! The elevator was a cool addition. Definitely worth the money! Great job as always. Thanks.

Reviewed by: blondie3   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found it pretty quikly. It is really easy to find. The parking was good! There is parking right across the street.

Wait Entertainment: We did not wait too long...we waited about the average time you wait for any haunted house. However, it was cool, there were these "monsters/ crazy people" who come up to you and scare the *?#! out of you. Plus, some of them were really really funny.

Length of Event: It took us a little over an hour and a half to go through the whole thing (waiting in line included).

Actor Performance: Awsome!!! They were really good. There were these comafloge ones that you had no idea they were there. Plus, there was this one guy with a real working chain-saw, which made lots of sparks. He appeared out fo no where and all you saw was this guy coming after you and sparks. It was really cool!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow went really well. Usally whenever you are in a haunted house you always bump into the people in front of you... but it did not happen here!

Appropriate Ages: 14- whatever

Props / Special FX: The props and special efects were so awsome!

Costumes / Make-up: The make- up so cool, it looked so real. The costumes were really original!

Summary: I thought the house was very scary... i freaked out a couple of times! Everyone should go to get a really good scare. The actors were really good and they always stayed in charater. It was reallly awsome!

Reviewed by: multiplesean   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The directions were a bit off, but you can see the two large air ghosts from the street. At first I was a bit put off by the outside decor, but dont let that deter you from visiting.

Wait Entertainment: Good. Nice atmosphere. Sort of rundown industrial. There was a large screen projection. A few actors in line. The night I visited there was a female gothic corpse . She was extremely entertaining.

Length of Event: 10 minutes, maybe a few more. 

Actor Performance: Great! Alot of actors. Very in your face. Everything seemed to be executed right on que. The clowns were a incredibly animated group. My favorite were the hillbillies.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was my first visit to this haunt. I went with a friend, and they let the two of us through...I'm not sure if they normally do that...or if that was because it was opening weekend? Even still there was a bit of a line and I assume if they wanted to get things over quick they would have let a larger group in. I'm not complaining at all. The only time we ran into other people was at the maze.

Appropriate Ages: I'm 34, I enjoyed it. I'd guess it's appropriate for ages 13 plus

Props / Special FX: The visual effects were very detailed. 98% of the scenes left me feeling very satisfied. There was a nice interaction between the actors and the props. The vortex tunnel was efective.

Costumes / Make-up: I saw one actor out of place in the maze. Also, there was an actor who followed us up to the time we reached the maze. He was dressed in street clothes (black tshirt/black cargo pants/combat boots). I'm not sure what his role was? 
Everything else was perfect. The Dr. Satan character was noteworthy.

Summary: I drove from Indiana, about 75 miles, and would do it again. I wish the haunt had been a bit longer, but felt gratified in the end. The wait area has some nice art, but the plain plastic buckys hanging from the ceiling were a small let down.. considering the great detail spent on the props inside the haunt. Well worth the $15.00

Reviewed by: sweetdreamer   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The directions from the west were simple and accurate. We had no problems finding the place.

Wait Entertainment: They had several actors outside that interacted with the lines. It was quite entertaining to see.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors never broke character, continuously popping out of nowhere, places that you wouldn't even expect

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group of ppl

Appropriate Ages: 12/13+

Props / Special FX: AMAZING! Great scenes and it really makes you feel as if you're in places, ie cemetery- it makes you feel as if you're outside, and you can smell things, the forest was the same way, you could smell the trees...it was really great.

Costumes / Make-up: You could tell that there was a lot of time and effort that went into putting costumes together. People's characters seemed to fit perfectly in every room. The clown room was awesome. The maze was a little hard to find your way around, and you kept going around, but i guess thats the whole point of a maze.

Summary: Overall, I rate Dream Reapers as the top haunted house. I've been going to this haunted house since their first year, and it just keeps getting better and better. Definately had a lot of energy flowing through the house, great character set up,

Reviewed by: MGoBlue   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find. The two huge baloons are very easy to spot.

Wait Entertainment: There were actors everywhere in line they even get some stuff to make you jump as you pay at the window. Also vewry cool line setup after you pay.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Very Very good they never broke carachter (sp?) and kept you on your toes from the time you get out of the car to the time you get back in.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very smooth never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: Prob ably 12 +

Props / Special FX: Amazing you could tell alot of work went into the house and the change of scenes was incredible you would not see the change coming then you were just there in the next scene

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes in this event were pretty amazing! The makeup jobs were very impressive. A great example of the combo of both was Dr. Satan he was pretty cool lookin

Summary: Overall one of the best haunted Houses I have ever been to! A very hyped haunted house that definatley lived up to it. So many actors in the house that you couldnt move without seeing one made it even better because you would pay attention to one creature and then another would pop out at you from somewhere unseen! It was a little shorter then what I like but eh with everything else in the house it din not bother me.

Reviewed by: mirasoot36   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The visibility was okay, however the websites directions from the WEST are a bit wrong, it has you turn down the street the wrong way.

Wait Entertainment: It was really fun, a lot of visitor participation.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Needs a lot of work. The problem was lack of experience. They got too close in your face, and held you behind from your group actually touching the visitor. I was held behind from my 13 year old brother, and was not able to catch up with him until the entire haunt was over.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no flow, you were forced to leave your party behind while in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: No, I was split up from my brother half way through and was prevented from cathing up to him even though he was calling my name...we finnaly caught up at the end where you can purchase goods. He even thought about exiting via the emergency exit because he thought he was lost.

Props / Special FX: Awesome, wish it was not such a bad experience so I could have observed my surroudings better and have the possibility of being scared instead of running to find my brother.

Costumes / Make-up: Great, a lot of time and effort went into the costumes and makeup. Expecially for it being so early in the year.

Summary: Overally I would have to say I will never go back. I have been to D.R. for about 7 years now, and this was the first time I left up-set. The design of being separated takes away from the scare of the actors but insalls panic that you are alone for the whole event.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at