Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Hall of Horrors Haunted House (Farmer City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: hessianhorse   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Extremely easy to find, as the building is in the downtown and a gang of pirates waving a skull and crossbones flag signal the way.

Wait Entertainment: The pirate crew was excellent. It seems they needed some better lines, but their costumes and accents were impeccable!

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Spectacular! It was apparent everyone was extremely serious about his or her role.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once again, our group of three started backing up the line when we got turned around in the tunnel. We weren't too close to others for the most part, and had the rest of the time alone. No guides! Yay!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. Some gruesome scenes and scary CLOWNS.

Props / Special FX: Best sets I've seen thus far. The set for "The Ring" was amazing. A small kitchen-area looked a lot like the kitchen from the original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and it freaked us out quite a bit! The doll room was creepy, too!

Costumes / Make-up: Extremely intricate, down to the cat-eye contacts and whitish contacts of the zombie. Completely realistic zombie, too, by the way.

Summary: Skip the family-style haunted houses. Leave the kids behind. Go here and prepare to be creeped out! Between the intricate sets and costumes and the shapes following you in the darkness, this is what every haunted house should be!

Reviewed by: fearchild   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: Great monsters- thought my daughter and her friends were going to pass out from fright! Pirates good but maybe for an older age.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great everyone was excellent got me and the kidsa several times! Two ghouls out front were awesome!!!!!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any groups. Nor did my wife and the other three kids that was in the group behind us. We could hear the screams which added more fun to the fright fest!

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: nice special effects

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome job on the costumes. Zombie and Devil out front very nice! The guy that was all bloody - really scary!

Summary: Would highly recommend! Excellent fun at an excellent price. Daughter's birthday and was able to afford taking all the girls through without killing the pocket book! The staff did a GREAT JOB!!!!!!

Reviewed by: lixchik   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find on the corner of 2 main streets. Looking at the exterior, you would never imagine how much is in store for you beyond those walls

Wait Entertainment: The monsters and ghouls that kept you company while waiting in line were nothing less than their exterior! If they were human you couldn't tell because they never broke character and their appearances were dead-on. The line is all outside the attraction. The building, monsters and decor are all eye candy.

Length of Event: great length for the amount spent. I don't remember how long it took to go through but I was very happy with the experience

Actor Performance: impeccable! There were a few smaller monsters that were just as effective as the larger ones. Never saw one break character and all were on cue

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was so much to absorb in the haunt; props, characters, sets etc that I probably took a little longer than most normal people would so the group behind us caught up to us. But at a normal rate this probably wouldn't have happened

Appropriate Ages: This attraction might be a little too scary for the little ones

Props / Special FX: I hope I can convey how impressed I was with the set up. All of the hallways had some kind of props, even in the pitch black mazes there was hair stuck to the walls! ewww! Each of the scenes seemed to have stories to them and be complete with their ideas. I especially liked the pitch black hallways with people calling for help and characters within. . .

Costumes / Make-up: They all looked fantastic. It is apparent that the volunteers really love this hobby

Summary: This is the only central Illinois Haunt I have had time to attend this year and I believe I chose wisely! The cover was $6 and worth every penny. I can honestly say there was nothing I didn't like. My friend who is also the creator of the LIVING DEAD DOLLS (because he is scared of children) said the Ring room was "the scariest haunted house set" he had seen in a haunt. Thanks to Robert Allen and company for bringing fliers into Champaign so I could make the wise choice to visit!

Reviewed by: kgstake   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, even for someone relatively unfamiliar with central Illinois.

Wait Entertainment: Good. There were only about 15 people in line, and there were 3 actors working the crowd, so everyone in line got a significant amount of attention.

Length of Event: 10+ minutes, although members of my group sprinted through certain rooms.

Actor Performance: Good overall. There were an awful lot of them, so when you thought they were done popping out at you in one room, you were probably wrong.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! Saw no one, but could hear their screams up ahead.

Summary: The house was only $6, and well worth the money and the drive from Normal. There are some tight spaces to get through, and the maze offers some things that others did not. Watch out at the end!

Reviewed by: punknstabber   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: excellent the guy with white eyes freaked the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of us

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent, a lot of scares more than in a usual haunted house but made you think what was around the next corner.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, never scene another groupt but ours

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above

Props / Special FX: Excellent themes throughout the haunted house

Costumes / Make-up: Great make-up, masks and sounds

Summary: This place was great for the price. I have been in a lot of haunted houses and paid a lot more for less of a scare. The Scarecrow,(cool mask) in the corn field freak our group out with the evil laugh then to go into the next room to scared by the guy in the barn. The clowns were creepy as usual and the back porch I thought was a cool idea. Great job guys keep up the great work!

Reviewed by: batgirl75   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: OMG these three were on us all the time, either with a hellish scare or just to stare at the line. got everyone ready before they went in, I love feeling uneasy before the haunted event.

Length of Event: about 13 minutes of course seemed to go on forever.

Actor Performance: Outstanding! From the guy with the white eyes to that thing with the orange hair. The bus was a very nice performance! Ok and that laughing Scarecrow? That was just the icing on the cake to scare the crap out of me. Up front there was a guy that seemed nice until my girlfriend upset him. he walked away fast and came back with a chainsaw to make sure she knew who was the boss. I thought she was going to pee her pants.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: nice- did not see anyone except the three in my group!

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up

Props / Special FX: Nice special effects. Nicely decorated! Very Detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: Out of this world on the guy out front. We are still trying to figure out if it was make-up of a mask. I know he was having a bad hair day.

Summary: This place was awesome. I don't remember there being any "pop-ups" but they did not need them. The whole "tour" was making my group feel really uncomfortable and scared through most of the house. I liked that there were 2 surprises at the end. Overall for $6.00 this was a steal! Would highly recommend!!!!

Reviewed by: abbyw   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great

Wait Entertainment: Did not have a wait.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Incredible

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: Very good

Costumes / Make-up: Impressive

Summary: This place is very, very impressive and detailed. The actors are very into it. I would reccommend this haunted house to everyone. It is scary and very fun at the same time.

Reviewed by: pinkdolphin1   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: As a person from the town not hard to find. Although it is in a very easy place to find.

Wait Entertainment: We waited 5 minutes tops.

Length of Event: It took about 10 minutes to get through.

Actor Performance: They did a good job. Although some I could not see due to low lighted areas. I couldn't get the entire effect of the costumes due to this. The bus scence was my least favortite. Mainly because one "child" screamed directly into my ear.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We bumped into another group after the crawling area. Not a big deal though. More the marryer!

Appropriate Ages: depends on the child. A mature 5 year old could handle this.

Props / Special FX: the rooms where well detailed.Strob lights are a nice effect. They always freak me out!

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was scary except the "children" on the bus. I think there should be a scary school bus driver yelling at everyone! :)

Summary: My favorite scene was the guy on the leash lashing out. It really freaked me out. 
 
The corn hall way was also very creepy. Corn fields freak me out! So a room full of corn stalks was nice. 
 
It was well put together! Nice job guys! :)

Reviewed by: CandB   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: Did not have to wait but we did stand outside for a few minutes to let the girls get scared of the actors outside.

Length of Event: Event time seemed just about right plenty of time to get scared

Actor Performance: Great actors!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was great did not see others inside!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Great props/Special FX

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes very good!

Summary: We will be back!!! Great Job Farmer City!!! Very fun even had to crawl at some points!!! Loved the ending, we even stayed around to watch a few people behind us come out. Heading to Mazon Saturday we will see how they rate!

Reviewed by: Myster_E   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find....on main route

Wait Entertainment: Great....fog pouring out from the branches above the door.

Length of Event: Not sure, but I didn't feel robbed.

Actor Performance: They were all great. Very scary and made up well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved through at a steady pace. At certain places, we had to crawl, which was unexpected, but was fine.

Appropriate Ages: Over 12

Props / Special FX: The props were great...a lot of fog. Very dark in most places, which adds to the fear factor.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done. Make up was appropriate for what was trying to be accomplished. Just right.

Summary: This is a great haunted house. I plan to go again. I think the price may even be a bit low for the quality of the production. Easily competes with bigger city houses.

Reviewed by: tokay   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since its right on the corner of main st. and 54 and easy to access from I74 just between blmt. and champaign. You can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Took about a 15 min wait but you are scared by the skeleton ghoast in his top hat out front along with a couple of his ghoulish fiends.

Length of Event: I'm not sure how long we were inside, it felt like forever.

Actor Performance: Everyone of the ghouls or creatures scared me at just about every turn.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It wasn't crowded inside or out.and we were scared from behind as we went through.

Appropriate Ages: Not for younger than 10 years I'd guess.

Props / Special FX: My husband and I were amazed by everything to look at, and plan to return to see more. It's worth the 6.00 a person.

Costumes / Make-up: The top hat civil war ghost gave me the creeps just by the way he just staired and got close to you. All the creatures and living dead were amazing. I'm 45 and I was visibly scared by the end.

Summary: Many rooms, twists, turns, narrow spaces, crawling, and slideing not for the weak of heart or older. Beware of the end!!! We were seperated by the living dead so be afraid be very afraid.

Reviewed by: hotvamp   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right on main drag.

Wait Entertainment: hardly any wait at all, two creatures lurking outside in the line and I think I will have nightmares about the zombie and his eyes.

Length of Event: about 11 to 13 minutes

Actor Performance: Great all the actors were awesome- second time here and last year was good but had more young teenagers,looked like mostly adults this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not see any patrons at all going through the house. There were 3 uof us in my group and I felt like we were the only ones trapped in the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up

Props / Special FX: Special effects were great, had a nice laser effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are great! Like I said the zombie was my favorite scare plus the devil. Nice make-up jobs!

Summary: Travel around to several haunted house's and this is one of the best ones I have been to in a couple of years. Have to try this one if you really want to be scared to death.

Reviewed by: screamer   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find- right on the main street going into town

Wait Entertainment: a demon and a zombie made us feel so uneasy before going in. it was great set the tone for the actual trip through the house!

Length of Event: I would say around 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great- everyone was in character and ready to scare us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not run into any groups and no one ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up

Props / Special FX: all the props seemed so real and a couple of setting were really intimidating, and the narrow passages were great!

Costumes / Make-up: Zombie out front stalking people in the lines was horrific.

Summary: Overall I would say that this was one of the best houses I visited this year. last year I visited and the scare factor was good but this year they seemed to go over the top. Nothing seemed to over the top for them. I would recomend this house to anyone that wants a good fright. Beware I did see a couple of girls one would not even go in and the other came out crying. Great Job!!!

Reviewed by: missamerica   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: excellent location. easy to find

Wait Entertainment: did not have to wait 

Length of Event: hmmm about 15 minutes (just guessing..could be more or less)

Actor Performance: really good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: really good

Appropriate Ages: over 12

Props / Special FX: good

Costumes / Make-up: really good

Summary: im a haunted house fanatic, so i literally go all around central illinois to find them...i have no doubt this will rate in my top 3....REALLY GOOD!!!!

Reviewed by: alarnay   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find, good location

Wait Entertainment: 15 minutes

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good we were a little slow and the group behind caught up to us

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: very good

Costumes / Make-up: very good

Summary: this was a very good house, lots of attractions & props. it seemed to go on forever, we were up & down, crawling around, very good maze, dark, just enough lite to make it scary. you did a great job, thanks for the scare

Reviewed by: MikeMeyers   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Really easy to find. It was right acrossed from Casey's. It would be very hard to miss it.

Wait Entertainment: We did not have to wait we got there and got right in.

Length of Event: Approx. 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: All actors were in character and did an excellant job portraying and scaring us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into no one and no one ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Summary: Overall the best haunted house I have been to this year. When we walked up to go in the house a girl was standing outside crying because she got so scared she had to turn around and come back out. It didn't disappoint. From the man with the big spikes to the bus at the end it was one scare after another.

Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great Location! Right downtown! Awesome building.

Wait Entertainment: Very quick wait. Maybe 5 minutes.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Very good. The Top hat skeleton man at the entrance..very cool. Zombie guy's eyes were killer.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow went well, we got a little lost on the crawly part though, but that is the point right? :-)

Appropriate Ages: 10 & up

Props / Special FX: All props were done very well. Really cool stuff. Liked the school bus. Much better this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very good. again, skeleton man & zombie guy. Devil man was cool too.

Summary: Overall, I enjoyed myself this year. I think it was organized better and taken a little more seriously. Seemed like more adult scaracters, not as many kids doing the scares. Please continue this in the future. As someone who scares in a haunted house as well, I will recommend this one this year. two bony thumbs up guys!

Reviewed by: rizler   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very good, its right downtown in farmer city or buy neimen market

Wait Entertainment: good,about 15-20 minutes for me my brother and his girlfriend

Length of Event: it took a good 15-20 minutes for us

Actor Performance: great exept they were a little off cue

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into the group in front of us thats about it

Appropriate Ages: id say about 8 and up

Props / Special FX: props were very good they really looked real in the MEAT ROOM!!!!!!!!!!!

Costumes / Make-up: good, especially good with face paint it looked very pro.

Summary: overall id say it was a good haunted house. when i was there they had about 3-4 characters outside. probably the funniest thing i saw was a monster was walking around outside and scared the living sh!t out of these two girls so overall i liked it. we went through it again the next night.

Reviewed by: ParkerMusic   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right in the Scarecrow Fest.

Wait Entertainment: A nice country group sang outside opening night on the Main Stage.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes...

Actor Performance: Very good. They waited until you were in the room. I LOVED the actors who seemed like they were fake, but then came to life.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group ran into another group, only because we were moving fast. But, it didn't make any difference really.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: It looked SO good! I loved everything in it. They were very professional and real looking.

Costumes / Make-up: All were dressed in good costumes...Espcially the girl from the Exorcist...

Summary: Well, I LOVED it and screamed ALOT! It was very very good. It freaked me out! I HIGHLEY reccomend this to anyone who likes a good scare! It will blow you away!

Reviewed by: queendamned   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find, right off major highway- 74

Wait Entertainment: waited about 10 minutes- guy outside scared the crap out of us-

Length of Event: 12 minutes about maybe longer- i know no one from my group kept track

Actor Performance: everyone was really good- excellent scares

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not run into any groups

Appropriate Ages: 10 up

Props / Special FX: great special fx- fog, strobes-

Costumes / Make-up: make up on one zombie? great- nice eyes

Summary: overall they scared the crap out of me and my friends- kept us clinching each others clothes just to get through- highly recommend this as a must see this halloween season

Reviewed by: wennqueen   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy. located across from caseys.

Wait Entertainment: we got there at brake time so we waited for 45 min before getting in. no shelter from wearther so dress for the weather. pay when you get to the door before you go in

Length of Event: aprox 10 min

Actor Performance: good. everyone in mask & costume. waited to scare group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run in to any groups. and could not hear any one behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 8 to adult. they jump out at any time.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props. had to yell at my group to slow down to look at it all. could have had more special fx.

Costumes / Make-up: all actors in costumes. mostly masks.

Summary: good haunted house. some small spaces steps & crawling. I like the way they took you you outside at the end. could be a little more scary. pric4e was good,able to take family

Reviewed by: uscaredme   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Location of this event is awesome. It is right downtown in a very creepy building on the corner of their main drag. They had decorated the windows with halloween stuff, and there was a car parked on the sidewalk with a stobe light in it.

Wait Entertainment: This area could use a little work. There was a band playing, but I dont really like country music that much. They could use a couple monsters to roam the crowd to help.

Length of Event: 10-15 Minutes. It was alot longer than last years. They added some really great dark hallways outside this year.

Actor Performance: REALLY GOOD!!! I was impressed, last year when I went it seemed like they only had Jr. High kids working it, and they all missed their cues, or were not scary. This year was AMAZING!!! Everyone was in character and on cue. Especially one on the people outside in the dark hallways who was whispering creepy things to me and my friend with a deep slow voice.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well, this is hard to rate, when we were outside waiting there was only about 15-20 people in front of us and it took probably 30-40 minutes before we could get in, but once inside we only ran into the group in front of us once.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: They props for each rooms were really good. They set the atmospher and kept you distracted from the scares.

Costumes / Make-up: Good. Most everyone had on costumes and masks that coresponded with their rooms.

Summary: I run another haunted hosue in the area and usually on our time off we try to visit as many haunted houses as we can and I was really worried to go through Hall of Horrors this year. I went last year and was a little dissapointed. But as a haunt owner I know to allways give haunts second chances, cause I know ares wasnt great are first year. I am so glad that I went this year they did an outstanding job. The building they have just really sets the mood for this haunted house. There setup to this year was awesome. With the small, dark, winding hallways and the great scares this is an event that I wil definetley be returnign to again this year and for years to come. GREAT JOB GUYS KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find one turn and follow the road off a major interstate

Wait Entertainment: we waited about 20 minutes or so to go through- not a bad wait at all

Length of Event: about 10 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: very good- actors remained in character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good - course one area was hard to go through- pitch black!!!!

Appropriate Ages: maybe 10 on up- some scares were really intense in places

Props / Special FX: props and scenery were very good! The staff last year decorated this old building very well- this year they went above and beyond adding a more to their haunted house. Not too many special effects except some lighting in area but the scares were on the spot terror in places. Two rooms that really take the cake- a room with many doors and windows in in and and a creepy doll room.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very good. Most memorable: that creepy old lady- A Freddie Kruger looking character- just to name a few of the large cast.

Summary: I would recommend this as a great haunted house to visit. Be prepared to be scared and walk down dark enclosed spaces that seem to never end. Great Job- can't wait to see it next year!

Reviewed by: Msquared2003   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is very easy to find this location, as it is right off of route 54, Across from Caseys.

Wait Entertainment: It was a hours wait on opening night in 40 degree weather. 
When we got in line at 8:45 there was about 8 groups in front of us. When we got up to the door to go inside, the line stopped moving for 40mins. Apprently some of the actors got dehydrated.

Length of Event: It took about 10min to complete.

Actor Performance: The actors were ok, they didn't seem to put fourth a great effort to scary anyone. They were all placed in the ussal spots so you kinda knew when and where they were going to jump out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught the group in front of us few times, at the begining. We slowed down our pace considerably and didn't run into the group again.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up depending on the child.

Props / Special FX: Outside the building it was nicely decorated, but I couldn't say the same for the inside. It was rather plain, in most parts and just PLAIN Dark. Most parts the walls were just covered in black plastic.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes seemed ok not great. I wasn't able to tell most characters apart due to the very low lighting.

Summary: Overall I say it was ok, nothing special. It was very low on the scarefactor. I only jumped once and that was running into a windchime in the path.. I do scary fairly easily. SO I would have to say this would be more of a family house to go to.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at