Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Gilson Haunted School (Gilson, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: gmlsc   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/05/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.Good signs to lead you there.

Wait Entertainment: We were able to walk right in the night we went.Well staffed with many ghouls.

Length of Event: Approx 40 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors portrayed their part well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guide leads you thru the school on a well layed out plan.Maze was a bit confusing, as its supposed to be.

Appropriate Ages: Not appropriate for toddlers or preschoolers.

Props / Special FX: Many props and good special effects ,but seemed to be less than last year.

Costumes / Make-up: All visible actors seemed to be made up well.Hard to tell in the darkness!

Summary: The setting is in an old wooden school which adds to the great haunting effect.Overall a very good haunted site and well worth going to,just seemed a little less haunted than last year.

Reviewed by: kaylaisabrat   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was really easy to find, get to, and see.. But then again, I live in Gilson. :)

Wait Entertainment: It was pretty decent. They had people in costume walking around. Personally, Mike Myers was the scariest for me...

Length of Event: The wait to get into the school, was about a half hour the first night I went(28th)and the tour lasted around a half hour... 
The second night I went (29th) the line was around 45 minutes and it took about 45 minutes to get through it..

Actor Performance: It was pretty good. I dont really know what to say here.. :S The guys were really scary and did a good job of getting into character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Yeah, I dont know what this means....

Appropriate Ages: I would say, 10ish... only because of the amount of smoke downstairs, and the chainsaw and some of the rooms. It can be pretty nasty at some places.

Summary: Personally, I thought it was great this year. Seriously, great. But last year, was by far the best year I ever went... It was good though guys. And the maze was just as good as it has ever been!! I hope you guys are still doing it next year...There've been a few rumors.. BYE!!

Reviewed by: tracys   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there were very clear signs to find this event, the parking was just across the street and there was ample parking. the area was decorated very well.

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment was awesome. every time we turned around in line there seemed to be a different creature breathing down our necks. there was a ghoul that was breathing fire while giving the rules. the audio outside was great and people were even being chased down the street screaming. the wait wasn't bad at all because there was something going on all around us.

Length of Event: not sure of the length, i was just looking for the end

Actor Performance: excellent, very startling

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we were broken into groups of 5 or 6 and we were ushered through by a guide untill we reached the maze, we did not run into anyone else group wise and we were able to stop and look at all of the 3-D stuff for a good period of time.

Appropriate Ages: yes

Props / Special FX: excellent, 3-D was awesome, elevator was scary and the car almost running us over almost caused me to swear. everything flowed well and we screamed continuously

Costumes / Make-up: very well done, realistic and very scary..

Summary: we went in a group of five friends, 3 adults and 2 teenagers. I personally was scared to death. The whole experience from the time we pulled into the parking lot untill we ran out of the door was great. there were kids and adults of all ages and we really had a great time. we will return next year. my favorite was the bridge with the spinning tube around it, with our 3-D glasses on we were almost sideways trying to walk, it was really cool. This is definately a must see for anyone in the area.

Reviewed by: random1   (Event Visited: 10/30/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was really easy to find, the lines of cars and people helped too.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was awesome. I actually had sumone dressed up as a clown come up behind me and try to scare me. But mi friend kinda warned me that he was behind me. They scared one of mi other friends tho, it was awesome.

Length of Event: about 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good, they had a lot of Michale Myers. One guy actually tapped me on the shoulder w/ the fake knife, that freaked me out more then anything.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Over all it was pretty good, we werent stuck n long lines for like ever. The only thing we really had to wait on was for the doors to actually open.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were kewl, i loved the bridge that made u feel like you were spinning, and the "round room" where the floor was spinning.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes looked real, it was really scary.

Summary: Overall it was pretty good, I loved all the special effects in the school. Like the people jumping outta the walls, that was kewl. I was scared pretty much the whole time. It was an amazing adrenaline rush, which is pretty much why i got to haunted houses. jst for the rush. Being scared out of your mind helps too! I will deffinatly go back next year, with a bunch of mi friends.

Reviewed by: boggen1   (Event Visited: 10/31/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find. signs posted even for the back roads.

Wait Entertainment: decent enterianment.

Length of Event: 30 plus minutes pending on the maze at the end.

Actor Performance: they had there rolls down. and never crept from them. making it a more realistic feal to it all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very nice flow through entire attaction that kept changing and not same old trick around the corner.

Props / Special FX: 3D glasses were a plus and would make it worth while for a return trip just to see the artwork. 
 
more usage of what was there and what they had to work with and less cut and slap together wood. giving the overall surroundings a better feal and mood setting.  
 
the props seemed like they belonged were they were and not in some building that you had to think was suppose to be.

Costumes / Make-up: no direct movie relation that i can think of. all unquie costumes and thought out well.

Summary: overall, out of the 3 went through this year. this was the best.  
 
it wasn't ok, this corner someone going to jump out at me again, and again and again feal at end. but more of a fullfillment that they have aged and got all the wrinkles out of there haunted school.

Reviewed by: smv101   (Event Visited: 10/30/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. There were large signs along the road far in advance.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was alright. There were some interesting and scary characters. It was funny watching them come up behind people and seeing their reactions whtn they noticed them.

Length of Event: Overall it tood about an hour or so...the actual haunted house part probably took 20-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors did a very good job...the guy with the chainsaw and the Jason/Freddy guys were really scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was good.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The special effects were awesome. The 3D part especially. There were some pretty good props too.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were pretty good for the most part. Some of the characters were so unreal it wasn't that scary...but the Freddy/Jason people were scary.

Summary: Overall, it was pretty awesome. The maze and 3D part were amazing, and the very end was the scariest part. The wait wasn't that long, although we went on a Sunday, and the line moved quickly. Some parts were scarier than others, but it was all pretty cool.

Reviewed by: ahootman   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: At the time we came there was plenty of parking available and we only had to wait for about 10 mins to go in.

Wait Entertainment: While we waited we ere entertained by "Jason" with a huge bloody knife.

Length of Event: The entire tour was about 20-25 mins, it tooks us nearly 10 minutes to make our way out of the black hole, and we lost 3 people from our group, who made there way out first!

Actor Performance: The spooks and monsters were scary, I especially liked how they were able to reveal theirselves while we were in the balck hole.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The only time we encountered another group was while we were in the black hole, we got caught up with a group who had lost 3 from their party as well.

Appropriate Ages: appropriate for all ages but parent's suggested for 10 and under.

Props / Special FX: My favorite was when a big Jeep Cherokee came out of the dark, blaring it's horn and lighting up the dark path! Very Spooky!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were all Halloween appropriate. My favorites were the ones who would reveal their i.d. in the black hole only when they wanted you to see them.

Summary: The Gilson Haunted School was fun as it has been every year since it opened. They always come with new special effects that fool even someone like me who has been every year since it opened.

Reviewed by: wish9   (Event Visited: 10/30/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in a small rural town, so the ambiance made it even better!

Wait Entertainment: Evil clowns, Michael Meyers, and other ghouls wondering about the school yard while White Zombie and other mysterious music playing.

Length of Event: 20 to 30 minutes (pending getting lost in the blacken maze)

Actor Performance: Realistic masks, monsters not uttering a word just roaming around the school jumping out at you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided tour was very well illistrated and moved very well through all levels of the authentic school house.

Appropriate Ages: I believe it was appropriate for all ages...there was a family of 4 ages 8 to 35 in front of us, and a couple behind us in their 60's. Everyone enjoyed the thrills, chills, w/o the blood and gore.

Props / Special FX: The 3D paintings were awesome. (Someone did a lot of homemade work) Then the bridge crossing in 3D is something everyone should experience. 

Costumes / Make-up: Loved the evil clowns, patrons in line behind us got really scared. Guess you call that "clownafobia"

Summary: This small rural town, Gilson, IL put on one realistic haunted schoolhouse. The ambience of a really old schoolhouse was mind-spooky enough. We spoke to one of the techs in charge of this all volunteer event after our experience. He told us on an average night 50-60 people are recuited to get this spook fest completed. The elevator, the 3D bridge, and spinning floor were very well orchestrated. The evil clowns and other ghouls were enough to catch you off guard a few times. The "final rundown" is that if it was this good this year I can't wait until next year! Definitely a "must go" for all ages.

Reviewed by: chssucks06   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good, not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Long Line, moved at a pretty good speed!

Length of Event: About twenty minutes, I think. Good legnth!

Actor Performance: Good!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good!

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up?!

Props / Special FX: GREAT 3D rooms, 3D glasses and all. Very good!

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: I thought this was great. Had an awesome maze at the end, best haunted house maze I've been through. Confusing, long, which are both great! Group sizes are pretty good.. not too little so you dont get lost as easy, not too long so you everyone gets equally scared! At the end, it gets pretty crowded in the maze, but that just adds to the fun!

Reviewed by: riogirl93   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is perfect for a haunted house! It is in a very small town. It is in an old, run down school house. The outside and even the inside of it has kind of a spooky feeling.

Wait Entertainment: It was very good! There was a guy breathing fire balls, someone in a Michael Myers mask and suit, a guy dragging an ax, and there were a couple of Freddy Kruegers. They would come up to you and just stare at you. At one point, Michael Myers chased a girl down the road when she was just outside of the line.

Length of Event: The wait took awhile but it was so worth it! My friend timed us to see how long it took us to go from the start to the finish and it took almost 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good! They were very creepy and they didn't over do it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was very organized.

Appropriate Ages: It all depends really. But overall, I would say an average of 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Very realistic!

Costumes / Make-up: One word... scary!

Summary: Overall the Gilson Haunted Schoolhouse was one of the most fun places I have EVER been to! My favorite part was the spinning room, the spinning tunnel, and the elevator. At the end, in order to get out, you are required to go through a maze. There are guides with glowing mouths if you get lost. There are also glow necklaces and refreshments for sale. I highly recommend this haunted house!

Reviewed by: Helives1111   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The maps provided are all you need . It was realy easy to find. Large signs and 3 story building,You cant miss it!

Wait Entertainment: I got pics of the fire spitter that welcome the guests before they enter. While other spooky maniacs run around getting the blood rushing.

Length of Event: 20 to 30 mins , depending on how long it takes you to get through the dark maze. i think they move the walls , lol. ;)

Actor Performance: Most were good on thier timing but it was late when I went and I think they were a lil tired.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good but a lot of twists and turns and stairs and speed bumps. But thats cool cause it gives you more time to view the cool props.

Appropriate Ages: 12 n up. Not because of the scare factor but more because there are some setups that are more like a survival show. And little ones have thier own age apropriate haunts they can go to anyway. Lets face it, save the scares for the adults cause the kids get all the candy,lol.

Props / Special FX: They have a realy good team of spooks but the Fx are the best. Im not gonna tell you what happens but if you want 3 floors of scared to death then you wont be left wanting. There are a lot of diferent staging areas and they are all meant to make you lose your mind. And your stomach. Very cool!

Costumes / Make-up: Not too much out of the ordinary. Lots of dark shadows. But the FX makes up for it!

Summary: You can find the pics and my other reviews at my yahoo group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheParanormalCafe/post 
Under Photos/Gilson. 
Happy Haunting!Owner/Moderator...........Helives!

Reviewed by: brtnybgurl   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house was the greatest ever! There was a spinning bridge where the walls spin and there is alot of pop outs including a real car! Its smoky kinda and sumtimes it gets pitch black. theres stairs in a few places so be carful.

Wait Entertainment: The actors/volenteers would come out dressed up and sceare u or watch u or make u laugh

Length of Event: in takes 30-45 minutes inside seems like 10though

Actor Performance: great there was alot of unsuspecting shocking pop outs and the chainsaw is great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: U dont catch up w/ other groups or run into anyone. they are great about space!

Appropriate Ages: umm 10-40

Props / Special FX: chain saw, real car, 3d area, moving/spinning bridge, ect.

Costumes / Make-up: great costumes like clowns really sceary, micheal myers

Summary: It was great! Not as sceary as last year but great! It goes by so fast its worth waiting! There was a bridge, cages, card bored wallz move, elavator drop, and much much more!

Reviewed by: badbullock13   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was great. The signs lead you to this old, rotted looking school house with music blaring and a huge crowd. It was very easy to find, and there is tons of parking in the cornfield across the street, ( of course the stalks had been removed)

Wait Entertainment: The wait enterainment was very entertaining!There were actors in the line everywhere! The had Michael Meyers, Jason, A FIRE BLOWING vanpire, and a huge guy with a creepy mask and a fairly large axe!

Length of Event: The line probably took an hour to wait in, but it was worth the wait. It took 20 minutes to get through, and it had great scenes, props, and special effects all along the way. They also had the actors in all the right places to get you when you least expected it!

Actor Performance: They always stayed in chacter. They would trick you, scare you, and somehow stay in chacter even when they were scaring and messing with you. Overall the actors were great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any groups until the pitch black maze, but that is understandable, because that is one of the most confusing mazes to try to find your way out of!

Appropriate Ages: I would have to say appropriate for ages 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: There were many props and special effects. i especially liked the elevator, the spinning room, the 3D maze,and the vortex tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were pretty good. Some of them were very scary, others were ok. Overall, they gave you a good scare in that old, freaky school!

Summary: The Gilson Haunted School was great. It had lots of special effects, great props, and the whole mood of the school freaks you out! It is scary inside the school and out. The scenes and the actors are great, and the scaring was very good too. I recommend this haunted house to anyone who wants a good scare! You will be out off the 20 minute experience in no time when a crazed Jason with a CHAINSAW chases you through the last 3 hallways with his evil, roaring weapon!

Reviewed by: jennabean309   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There wasn't enough signs posted after you make the first left off of Route 97. There at least needed to be one more after the turn.

Wait Entertainment: While we were waiting it was just the customers. There was a little bit of music but not much.

Length of Event: Overall, it probably lasted 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: There weren't as many spooks as I thought there should have been.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The line actually moved fairly quickly. I'd say we were in line for about 45 minutes to an hour.

Appropriate Ages: I think ages 8 and up this would be appropriate for.

Props / Special FX: The best special effect was the guy hanging in the beginning. Other than that there weren't that great of ones.

Costumes / Make-up: I didn't see many spooks. There was just the traditional masks.

Summary: Overall this haunted house wasn't the best. There could of been a lot more spooks. More special effects. More scariness all together. I like haunted houses better if there is constant scariness. With this haunted house there were a lot of stairs. It felt that you were walking up and down stairs to get scared.

Reviewed by: kate898908   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was really easy to find. And it was only about 25 minutes away from where I live so it was nice for us.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was about 40 minutes or so, they had some pretty spooky people wandering around...they also do some scary things

Length of Event: 20 minutes? maybe

Actor Performance: Quite good. They were all pretty convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went pretty well, we did end up running into our other group of friends, but it didn't really bother us

Appropriate Ages: this year i would say 8 & up

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. Some parts weren't very scary and were more of a visual effect thing to make u feel kind of dizzy

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said before, they had great costumes, they had a great fake Micheal Myers. Along with Jason. Overall they were pretty good.

Summary: Gilson's Haunted School was the first haunted house i had ever been to. I liked it, but it didnt scare me that much, Boy Scouts did a great job at setting it up. I think it was designed for littler kids this year. The room with the hanging heads was good, and the hallway of body bags, the hangman, and of course the guy chasing you out with the chainsaw was good too!

Reviewed by: jackie_h13   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was ok

Wait Entertainment: i was impressed

Length of Event: about 30 mins

Actor Performance: great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: oh my the props and specieal effects get better every year

Costumes / Make-up: again i was impressed

Summary: alot of bang for the buck i love the car coming towards you and everything and the old school house looks like it should be haunted anyway the building itself is awsome my husband and i look foward to going every year and every year were more impressed

Reviewed by: jackie_h13   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can park close to the place. It was easy to find. And there are signs that tell you the date,location,and also signs leading you to the school.

Wait Entertainment: they had 92.7 The Laser outside live.The waiting room had a scary theme. they had a lot of people trying to scare you in the waiting room.

Length of Event: It took about a half-hour.

Actor Performance: they have very godd timing. The people in the middle and the end of the group get scared as much as the people in the front. They jump out at the perfect time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was o.k. I could understand why another group had to stop because of us. You make kind of a quick turn around.

Appropriate Ages: I think it's more for older kids and adults.

Props / Special FX: They had a really cool circular spinning vortex.I almost fell down in it.And they had half of a car pull out and honk it's horn at you.

Costumes / Make-up: they were all dressed up.Almost all of them had a mask on.And they all had some kind of robe on.

Summary: It was great.The waiting room had a huge guy dressed like Michael Myers.He could tell right off the bat that my step-mom was scared.So, he walked over and my step-mom kind of hid behind him. He just stood there staring at her. He stuck his hand out for us to shake it. My dad did, and he didn't do anything. But when my step-mom did he acted like he was going to cut her hand off. At the end was my favorite part. Out of nowhere, A guy reved up a chainsaw and started chasing after us. I was near the back of our group. I nearly knocked my dad on the ground, ran past my step-mom, and ran through the body bags like they weren't even there.I don't get scared easy either.

Reviewed by: kmsmith   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location for the house is perfect since the building looks haunted already. The parking was quite close. The town of Gilson wasn't too hard to find, and the signs posted for the event along the roads helped.

Wait Entertainment: In past years they have had many spooks walking through the lines and sometimes a person breathing fire. This time there were spooks, but nothing major, which is probably because it wasn't but a five to ten minute wait, and it was the opening night. Also, the waiting room was decorated with very unique props like scary looking trees and a witch scene.

Length of Event: It took about thirty minutes to go through, although I guess it depends on how long you get stuck in the maze.

Actor Performance: The characters were pretty convincing, especially some of the guides who really seemed to get into the haunting mood.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was really good. It seemed like they knew how to space out the groups.

Appropriate Ages: Age wise I think it depends on the person in question. In general I'd say twelve and up. However, I have seen younger children in past years that have really enjoyed it.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were very neat, especially the black hole. The 3-D was done really well, and it really added to the mood.

Summary: The Gilson Haunted House was well worth my six dollars, and I'll probably go again this year. The price has increased over the years, but it's still cheaper than seeing a movie, and is much more entertaining. The atmosphere was perfect, the music they paly is a great choice, and the spooks were good at scaring. Over all, it was a pretty good time.

Reviewed by: spookychick   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is very good. Parking was good as well.

Wait Entertainment: Well we didn't have to wait very long, but there were spooks walking around the short line. Last year when I went, I went closer to Halloween so the line was a lot long, and there were spooks walking around, getting in a good scare here and there.

Length of Event: I think we went through it in about 30 mins.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was pretty good. There were a few younger kids in it, that didn't make it that scary. But don't get me wrong, the older ones made me jump. Some had a lot of the same masks on. But thats ok, they still fooled me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved smoothly through it. We ran into another group while walking on the stairs. The were entering and we were going to another floor. And then when we were in the maze, we ran into a group, but they made sure we took a different route.

Appropriate Ages: I would have to say no one younger than 7.

Props / Special FX: The props were good. They had a few things that were the same. The same vortex tunnel, Which is totally awesome. They had the maze again, but this time you could kind of see in it. We made 3-4 circles in it because we couldn't find our way out, but hey thats the purpose in a maze.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were okay. Some of them had masks on with normal everyday street clothes. Which isn't very convincing. They also had a lot of costumes that they've had in the past. They still scared me. But I've seen them before.

Summary: Overall, Gilson's Haunted School is worth going to. I had a lot of fun. It's a good way to spend time with friends as well as getting a good scare. I recommend going this year! Good Job Gilson's!

Reviewed by: lilone   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We got lost and went out of Gilson rather than turning, they could really use a sign pointing you down the correct street. Parking was ok, location good.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait but maybe 5-10 minutes. The music was a good choice.

Length of Event: I bet it took us 20-25 min to get through it.

Actor Performance: Very good, although towards the end we did end up having to touch someone, that wasn't very cool.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It flowed very good, they seem to know exactly what they were doing.

Appropriate Ages: I would not let anyone under 13 go.

Props / Special FX: The 3-D room was slick, I enjoyed it. The tunnel...didn't like it BUT it's a great effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was apprpriately dressed and professional. Very well done.

Summary: Other than getting lost, myself and my friend had a good time. I'd go back again. The price wasn't bad in my opinion. $6.00 for a good scare, not bad at all.

Reviewed by: js753a   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was excellent and parking was great

Wait Entertainment: In past years they have had entertainment for people waiting in line, but since we were excepted in right away, we didn't have to wait long

Length of Event: In past years it has taken us at least half an hour or more to get through, this year we went through in about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The spooks were ok, I think they were not as scary because it was only the second night of the event and they were still getting used to it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron was fine,no problems.

Appropriate Ages: It was appropriate for ages 12 and up, but I wouldn't recommend it for any younger.

Props / Special FX: The 3D tunnel was awesome and I like how they mix it up a little bit each year, the music also sets you in the mood so that was an excellent choice.

Costumes / Make-up: The spooks wore some of the same costumes as previous years which is fine because they were still convincing, although I did see a few spooks wearing masks and regular street clothes.

Summary: The school was ok, but it hasnt changed alot from last year. They still had the elevator so I kind of knew what to expect when they lead you through the attraction. They could have thrown in a few new items and not been so predictable. I did feel that the price was high. When I first started going to the haunted school 4 years ago it was $3 to get in and each year it has risen $1, Now at $6 it is a little ridiculus and I don't know if I will be returning next year. I feel that if they are charging more they attractions should be new and intriguing. One last thing that I didn't like was that the school was supposed to open to the public at 7pm. When we arrived at 7:15pm we weren't sure if it was even open yet because there was no music and no action, when we went inside there was a line waiting to enter and they were still not letting people in. About 10 minutes later they turned on the music and began to let people enter.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at