Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: kelc84   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you know how to get there. If not it might be a little trouble. Im not familiar with the location but my friend was. Nice, secluded area of town too..perfect setting.

Wait Entertainment: A large frankenstein was walking around with these huge arms, scared the crap out of us. We screamed alot! The ticketers all were in costume also.

Length of Event: The wait was about two hours so we bought VIP tickets to get right in.

Actor Performance: Actors seemed very good at what they did. They were all in character especially the boy in the smoke room & the grieving skeleton bride.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Caught up to the group in front of us a few times but that could have been our fault too.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ maybe even 12+

Props / Special FX: Great use of the building & the effects were really good. Smoke & flashing lights everywhere.

Costumes / Make-up: The guy who tells you the rules at the beginning had the best makeup I think. He was suppossed to be a vampire maybe. He looked really scary.

Summary: I liked it alot. It is my 2nd year going & I will definetly be back next year. I hope it only gets scarier! I really enjoyed the things they had changed like the van at the end. And I also liked the crawl ways too!

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/13/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: No problem. I knew where I was going.

Wait Entertainment: I think we were the first ones there, so there was no wait at all. There were one or two scary guys walking around. LOTS of neighborhood kids running around:-(

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so. I really don't remember exactly. But it wasn't too short.

Actor Performance: We got there on opening night and there seemed to be a lot of kid actors. I was 4th in our group and I didn't see too many. They scared the first ones in the group most of the time. The Michael Myers guy did a really good job. I turned the corner and ran into something because the person in front of me was dragging me around a corner and when I turned back, he got me pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. There were two groups of us and we had to stop once, but that was because our other group was going slow. Our own fault.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I really liked the guy giving the rules. He was really good. And the ending was very good. Other than that, I didn't notice anything outstanding.

Costumes / Make-up: I only saw a few and those were mostly masks.

Summary: I'm not sure if it was because we may have been the first ones there, but I didn't get too scared. And because I was one of the last in our group, I didn't see a whole lot of actors. They were done scaring by the time I got into the room. I've heard how scary this haunted house is, so I want to go back and try it again.

Reviewed by: kgstake   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. The directions from this site got me there without a problem.

Wait Entertainment: We waited for less than 10 minutes. The actors were busy scaring people who looked a bit more terrified than us.

Length of Event: 20 minutes? It felt like forever.

Actor Performance: Excellent! Just plain scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We got to one point where the group in front of us (younger kids) thought they were lost because it got sort of challenging to find your way through. (I thought that was one of the highlights of the house). Other than that, we ran into no one.

Summary: By far the best haunted house I visited this year in central Illinois. There was hardly any wait, and while we did wait there was a radio station outside playing good music. They were also serving snacks, and there was a real black cat running around which was unnerving. Great job, Clinton!

Reviewed by: carman65   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Great location. They have kept in the same place for some years know.

Wait Entertainment: No wait at all. Got right in.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes depending on how fast you walk.

Actor Performance: Great perfomaces by all characters

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great everyone kept up at the same pace.

Appropriate Ages: 10 & Up

Props / Special FX: The ending was great. Won't give details. You have to see for yourself.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes.

Summary: Over all this is the best house by far that I have been to this year. They always have the bgest house and the wait is very minimal. The price is very decent.

Reviewed by: muskyhunter   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Difficult to find, especially since the sign for Washington street is almost falling off.

Wait Entertainment: Granted we were some of the first ones there, but it would be nice to have more characters wandering around scaring people. They did have a TV though showing The Simpsons halloween episodes.

Length of Event: wait was about 15 minutes with it lasting about 5-10.

Actor Performance: Actors were pretty good, but I did have to ask some for help because we didn't know which way to head next. There were a few though that just sat there doing nothing. One even told me, "Hey you can't go in there," even though it was the direction we were suppose to go, so that was kinda strange.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good and we didn't see any other groups, but like I said it wasn't to busy yet.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The props weren't amazing to me, but they had people jumping out from everywhere so to me it didn't really matter to me.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were excellent.

Summary: Overall it was a pretty scary house, but I also rolled an ankle and smacked my head on a wooden beam, so you might want to try to watch where you're going. I literally had to carry my wife on my back from the middle of the house until it was over cuz she was so scared.

Reviewed by: handofsteel   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: EXCELLANT

Wait Entertainment: NO WAIT WAS FIRST IN LINE

Length of Event: 10 MIN

Actor Performance: EXCELLANT ESPECALLY THE LAST PART

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VERY GOOD

Appropriate Ages: 10 AND UP

Props / Special FX: EXCELLANT

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLANT

Summary: WAS WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND THE DRIVE I GO TO THIS EVERY YEAR AND IT ALWAYS GETS BETTER EVERY YEAR I ALWAYS GO WITH A GROUP OF PEOPLE AND THEY WERE SO SCARED WHEN THEY COME OUT THEY ALMOST PEED A LITTLE THEY SAID

Reviewed by: kjlauritzen   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: GREAT! On a main street with lots of traffic that can find you!

Wait Entertainment: A little bit of a line, but well worth it

Length of Event: Perfect length

Actor Performance: Outstanding! Great actors, especially ones I would never think of!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Too many people in at once. My group got backed up and had to wait inside while everyone was backed up. A little too warm in the house for that.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great! Although there are a few extras I would add, like the hallways with the pictures of people. You should cut their eyes out and put lights in there.

Costumes / Make-up: AWESOME!!!

Summary: Great! Very Scary! Worth the drive to a small town in Central Illinois! Although I would see about moving more air throughout the house if you could. Especially when people are backed up.

Reviewed by: uscaredme   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you do not know where the event is located its very hard to find, they dont really have any signs, but since I go every year I know exactly where they are loacated.

Wait Entertainment: Good. They had around 4 characters that where scaring the crowd, they also had music such as thriller, and ghostbusters playing, and a creepy voice that explained you where at Terror on Washington Street.

Length of Event: I would say around 15-20 Minutes.

Actor Performance: OUTSTANDING!!!!!! Everyone was in character and on cue. The creepy guy in the entry room was by far the creepiest actor I have seen this year. Also the nurse that pops out in the operating room scared the pee out of me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. We did not catch up to the group in front of us, and no one caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and up. Some scenes were very intense.

Props / Special FX: AWESOME! Every room was decorated to the T! You really felt like you where in a reall place with every room. Also the pictures in the hallway that turned into corpses was amazing.

Costumes / Make-up: Great. Every one had costumes and makeup that coresponded to their rooms. Once again the guy in the entrance room was very creepy!

Summary: SUPERB!!! We go to this haunted house every year and I am never dissapointed, and this year was no exception. They really know how to scare the crap out of everyone. There props and rooms just get better and better. Keep up the good work!!

Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/13/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Always the same great place! easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: No wait. We were there opening night. I felt a little sorry for the scaracters outside having to deal with the nieghborhood young kids in their faces. It was hard to do their crowd patrolling with these kids constantly following them & getting in the way. But they handled it very well. I personally would have flipped & sent them away.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so. I am not sure, I get lost in time looking at the awesomeness.

Actor Performance: As always, great. These guys are very into what they do! And it shows in the great performance every year!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good pace. The crawling slows you down a little.

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up

Props / Special FX: These guys are forever the masters at decor! I am always amazed at the detail in this haunt! Perfect! so realistic.I have to say we are a little green with envy.

Costumes / Make-up: Same with the costumage! Never a disappointment.

Summary: As haunters ourselves we are always inspired by Clinton's haunt. They are great at it! We always have to come see what awaits us here. And it never disappoints. The ending this year was the best so far! You know you are good when A fellow haunter will not go through the van to get out of the house and screams like a little girl! As always 4 bony thumbs up! See you next year.

Reviewed by: starburn   (Event Visited: 10/13/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very hard to find. There were no signs to tell me were to go. I had to stop at subway and ask for directions.

Wait Entertainment: There were a mix of critters outside, but we didn't wait due to no line being present.

Length of Event: It lasted a good 25 - 30 minutes. In my opinion what a good haunt should be.

Actor Performance: The actors were mostly rough around the edges. They jumped out and did a roar but that was about it. I thought the guy that explained the rules was the best "spook".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one came up on us and we didn't get to anyone. I didn't know if this was by design or if it was because there was no one there when we walked up.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that 10 - 11 depending upon maturity would be an appropriate age

Props / Special FX: There was little makeup and I think there were a couple of fog machines. What made this haunt was the PROPS! They had mad props. Tons of stuff. They looked really cool.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup had something to be desired and the masks looked like they had come from a spencers gifts. Higher quality but unoriginial.

Summary: Overall it was an excellent haunt. I really liked the props they had. They also had some good prop scares! There was a complete VAN inside the haunt. I don't know how they got it in there, but it was VERY cool.

Reviewed by: priceplace   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location was very good and easy to get to. I myself was coming from Pana and had NO problems what so ever. As soon as we turned down the street, you saw the light and heard the people. You knew exactly where it was

Wait Entertainment: We went on day 2 and there were not even but 12 people in line.

Length of Event: since we had the "r.i.p" tickets, I'd say 7 min.

Actor Performance: very good and scary! Very convincing! Loved the clown!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no problem with this at all! It was perfect!!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. And for those who have smaller children, NO...there is crawling involved.

Props / Special FX: Everything was just right, except....at one part you had to crawl up and ramp and over what I belive to be plexi-glass. They should of had something underneath it-like glowing.

Costumes / Make-up: all was perfect. the best I've seen so far!

Summary: This was a chillin' haunting 
house. I've been to quite a  
few and this was good! Loved how it was so pitch black and you had to feel your way around...even when the walls were getting smaller. At 1 point you needed to crawl up and ramp, over glass and down the ramp: completely pitch black. Really kool! and at the end, you need to crawl thru a min-van with Texas chainsaw guy waiting there.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at