Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Freaky Frights on Forest (North Riverside, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: lr1314   (Event Visited: 10/30/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Parking was tricky, but its a residential neighborhood, so nobody's fault.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait. Its two blocks of houses with Halloween decor.

Length of Event: Half-hour to an hour to see everything.

Actor Performance: Few actors, but good for a scare to passerby.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was smooth, especially for a Saturday night before Halloween.

Appropriate Ages: All ages.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props. The volcano was particularly unique. And the spider-web movie screen was a clever addition.

Summary: A great community effort. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves at a leisurely pace. It was nice not to be herded or grouped like most attractions. Will definitely go back next year.

Reviewed by: darthmaher   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once you get to the block you can see all the decor so you know you've arrived at the right place. The ice cream shop at the end of the street is clarly visable

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait. Since it is 2 blocks of decorated yards, viewers just walk up and down the street enjoying the decor.

Length of Event: The beauty is that you can spend as much or as little time as you'd like pursing the decor.

Actor Performance: On the day that I went, there were no actor performances. Being that this is technically a yard haunt, I was not expecting any. However, some creatures creeping about might be a neat idea.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You can spend as much or as little time as you'd like pursing the decor. Occasionally, a few patrons might stop for longer periods at some displays, but it is easy to just walk around them if you feel the need to do so.

Appropriate Ages: I think it is appropriate for most ages. Adults may want to supervise thier younger children as some of the displays are pretty realistic looking.

Props / Special FX: The props are this haunt's strong point. There are many animatronic characters and props and they look great. There was even a large video screen where they were playing "Frankenstein".

Costumes / Make-up: On the day that I went, there were no actor performances. However the props were dressed very elaborately as though they were actual characters.

Summary: This was a lot of fun to walk through. In addition to the wonderful props, the music and sound effects add a lot to the ambiance of this display. The spirit of Halloween is definitely with the residents of this block.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/25/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can definitely spot this street from 22nd pretty easily, since all of the props and decorations are outdoors and there are many cars parked along the streets there--you should have no problems finding it.

Wait Entertainment: n/a. This was a free show for anyone who wants to go through it (although they accept donations via donation boxes).

Length of Event: As long as you want to spend looking at the "freaky frights". I think it took us about 20-30 minutes to walk up and down the 2 blocks of scenery.

Actor Performance: n/a--no actors were out tonight/Tuesday night, but I think they do occasionally have people hiding here and there to scare the people walking by.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: n/a--there were a lot of other people viewing the scenes/props, though.

Appropriate Ages: pretty much any age, but some of the props were gruesome

Props / Special FX: awesome, like last year. I don't know how they animated so many of their props, but they were very creative with their setups (like the dresser drawers that opened and closed)

Costumes / Make-up: n/a

Summary: This is a fantastic, *free*, event that families and individuals can visit this Halloween with plenty of entertainment just in walking through their Halloween prop displays. Most homes on Forest participated in this, with their yards full of creative and fantastic displays. Everyone that we passed by seemed to really enjoy viewing these displays and I personally loved it. There seems to be so much to look at and the homeowners had no problem with people taking pictures of the prop displays and even posing with them (there was a mock guillotine that my boyfriend posed in!). I'd definitely recommend stopping by this even if you have some free time this Halloween season!

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/25/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find following their directions from the website. I honestly can't remember if they had any signs posted, but you can see all of the lights and cars parked along the adjacent streets pretty easily.

Wait Entertainment: there was no wait--you walk along the streets and up and down the sidewalks to see their Halloween props and decorations

Length of Event: it took us about a half hour to walk the whole thing

Actor Performance: there weren't any actors out tonight

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: everyone walks around at their own pace and a lot of people took their time to admire the props

Summary: We had a lot of fun seeing all of the props and decorations and were really impressed with how complicated some of the displays were. More than half of the houses along the two blocks of this street had some amazing displays, ranging from the creature in Jeepers Creepers (my favorite), to a volcano scene, to a psychidellic neon moving ghoul. Most props were animated and a lot were motion activated so that did seem to catch the younger kids that were walking by off guard. We saw people going to the Freaky Frights of all ages, so I think this attraction would be okay for any age. They also had security guards standing by which I think made a lot of people more comfortable going to this event. Given that this event is free to see, I'd recommend it to all!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at