Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
The Graveyard Shift (Arcola, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find good location

Wait Entertainment: we had almost no wait

Length of Event: to long we had planned to go to at least 3 places

Actor Performance: good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was ok

Appropriate Ages: about any age would be ok

Props / Special FX: i would suggest to not have stuff spred out so much

Costumes / Make-up: make up was done nicely costumes was ok

Summary: i was ready to leave after the first hour, but i didnt know how to get back to my car. dont take this wrong it was nice but way too much stuff make it shorter for next year

Reviewed by: Rachlm79   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am familiar with the area so it was ver easy for me to find. Good location out in country.

Wait Entertainment: We did not have to wait long maybe 5 minutes and we even ate first and still only waited about 5 minutes with a line. Very fast moving line when paying to get in.

Length of Event: About a 1-2 hours. My friends and I were there for 5 hours. We did things several times.

Actor Performance: I think the perfomers did a good job. They were very energetic. They would sneak up on you and you would not even know til you turned around. They were not to scarey for the kids.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It is spread out so this is not a problem at all. You may stand in line a total of 10 minutes like with the Tram until it gets back. 

Appropriate Ages: I have a daughter who is 8 and I think some things would have been okay for her, but not the prison. The tram and hayrides would be great. There was a little boy about 6 on it and he loved it.

Props / Special FX: It seemed like the staff spent some time on the props and I think for a small company is was suitable and well done.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very good. Some were scarier then others and some were just funny. Makeup was good as well.

Summary: I really enjoyed this the atmosphere was very much the feel of halloween. I think they could do more but only cause I had such a blast I wanted to stay longer and do more. The firepits around were great, you could get warm and drink some cider or cocoa. I loved it and hope it is back next year. The food was good and staff was very friendly. Well worth the money in my opinion.

Reviewed by: missamerica   (Event Visited: 10/09/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find 

Wait Entertainment: no line did not have to wait

Length of Event: 2 hours

Actor Performance: ok

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: really good

Appropriate Ages: any

Props / Special FX: need a lot of work

Costumes / Make-up: ok

Summary: the rockhome gardens have alot of potential to be very scary and very good...but it just wasnt......the price is 18 dollars..its just way to steep...there is a lot to do..but its not what you expect from its advertisement from commercials, radio, and flyers. I felt like i was deceived.

Reviewed by: cruiserman72   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since I am from this area anyway, visibility and location was not a problem for me. I knew exactly where I was going.

Wait Entertainment: There were actors walking around scaring people outside the entrance gate but they were not trying to be too scary for the little kids sake.

Length of Event: We went through the whole thing in about an hour or so. The longest time was spent in the corn maze trying to find our way out. We also went on the hayride 4 times so we could see someone we knew who was one of the actors.

Actor Performance: I thought the actor performance was suitable for the attraction. It is supposed to be something to do for the entire family and I thought it was appropriate for that, especially for smaller kids who might have gotten really scared if it had been set up for that purpose.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was no problem for us. We were there on the first night so they were still working some of the bugs out of everything. The crowd was not really too large and the park is big enough and the attractions are spaced out enough so there were no lines to speak of.

Appropriate Ages: All ages

Props / Special FX: Just about all the props were hand made and there were not really any animatronics to speak of.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the actors had on masks and some didn't. It depended on the characters they were playing. Most were very appropriate for the parts.

Summary: I feel like we got out money's worth. They had a special for the first weekend that included dinner for two and entrance to the haunt. I really want to go back again now that they have had a couple of weeks to perfect everything and see how much better it is. For the first year of the haunt being in this location, I was very pleased.

Reviewed by: wennqueen   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: no sighns about attraction, but signs for the rockhome gardens

Wait Entertainment: not long, in a "town" so many people visiting other places

Length of Event: to see all attractions about hour, this includes hay ride.

Actor Performance: good. could use more. the hay ride took an actor off the fride for a real scare factor. in the prison they could wait to scare the person ducking behind the front.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, because it is a wide town like attraction familys could walk around together.

Appropriate Ages: kid & adults

Props / Special FX: not much other than actors dressed up to scare people walking around.

Costumes / Make-up: good. some were less tahn others

Summary: a little over priced. $18 per adult for not much of a haunted house. has lot of potential. could make more haunted attractions. more for a family halloween outing, not much for a real scare for me.

Reviewed by: Dadnkids   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: plenty of parking. a little tricky finding it in the dark if you've never been there before.

Wait Entertainment: several costumed actors keep the crowd on their toes while waiting for the events.

Length of Event: you can see all the attractions in 60-90 minutes.

Actor Performance: very good. actors convincing and enthusiastic in their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: well organized, good steady flow thru attractions

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: scattered torches,and bonfires throughout the grounds of a farm-like park in the middle of the country gives the park an eerie, halloween feel.

Costumes / Make-up: detailed, authentic make-up including madmen, zombies, etc

Summary: This event is held at Rockome Gardens, a family oriented theme park outside Arcola, Illinois. The location out in the country, where it's pitch black at night, seems very fit for Halloween. Visitors to the attractions walk along the path of the outdoor park. Along the way there are several attractions to participate in including a hayride, tram ( that looks like a train ) ride, haunted prison, corn maze, and several others.  
My favorite part was the actors, who seemed to pop out of the many dark shadows the park has and scare the guests. Vampires, madmen, zombies, and several other characters lurked about the park. All the actors played their parts well and were enthusiastic.  
Being a theme park, there were several nice places to eat at within the park including fast food areas, a sit down family restaurant, bakery, and an ice cream shop. My favorite was a stand set up in front of a bon fire selling hot chocolate and hot dogs.  
I would describe this park as more fun than frightening. If you wish to be scared to death, I don't believe that would happen. The scariest attraction in the park was the haunted prison. That did contain some shockers and gruesome scenes such as crazy killers and their victims, executions, etc. However, even in these scenes, after the initial shock wore off it seemed more entertaining than scary.  
I believe families would probably enjoy this park the most. Full price tickets are a bit on the expensive side, though you get quite a bit for your money. We saved quite a bit by getting coupons from Rockome Garden's website on the internet.

Reviewed by: dott12   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: To get to the attraction you drive out into the country and follow signs to Rockome Gardens. Some signs are not lighted or reflective, so are kind of hard to see/read. Once near it though, you can't miss it, since it is the only thing around.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment, but since all lines were outside, roaming actors offered scares to those waiting.

Length of Event: There are several attractions to visit while roaming the grounds. The train and hayride were the longest at 10-15 minutes each. The others took less then 5 minutes each.

Actor Performance: I visited on the first night while they were still working out the bugs, including actors. Some of the roaming actors and those in the attractions were excellent, but many were unconvincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In Brimstone Prison, my group had to stop many times to allow the group ahead of us to continue on and the actors reset. Also, we were led through the corn maze by a worker who was afraid it was too dark and children would get lost.

Appropriate Ages: All ages could enjoy this due to the variety of attractions available.

Props / Special FX: The number and quality of props was very bare bones in all of the attractions.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes followed suit with the props, although some actors did have more elaborate/scary costumes/make-up than most.

Summary: Visiting the first day, I knew that I might not get the best show possible, but I still had a good time. Although not altogether as scary as I would have liked, the atmosphere alone was worth it. You are given a map of Rockome Gardens, when you pay, with the attractions noted on it, however the grounds are too dark to use the map. I ended up roaming around looking for the attractions while being followed and surprised by many actors. This was by far my favorite part.  
I would say this might not be the best bet for people looking for a major scare, but it is a lot of fun, and offers a lot of variety for anyone to enjoy.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at