Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Statesville Haunted Prision (Crest Hill, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: MrComic34   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Visability was fine but when we went to turn into the parking lot they took us right back out of the parking lot and put us on weber road again i think then we had to wait in a parking lot half a mile away and get a bus to drive people up and down to the event

Wait Entertainment: None Really just some screamers music

Length of Event: Statesville- 17 min 
City Of The Dead- 7 Mins

Actor Performance: The Were Ok. But All They did was cuss and cuss and you and called you a maggot.. not very scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fine didnt bump into a nother group

Appropriate Ages: I'd Say Atleast 13-Up Which is my age and i still thought they swore alot

Props / Special FX: Very Nice, Small Slanted Rooms were very fun

Costumes / Make-up: I Didnt Get to catch all the main characters that the have on the website but when the wardan startes at first that is cool

Summary: It Was Fun Pretty Much Overall but i just couldnt get over waiting in an fast food restraunt and waiting for a bus to come and pick us up, but still it was very fun.

Reviewed by: sexy19latina   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was able to find it allright. I think what helped was the line of traffc waiting to get into the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: I liked the wait entertainment. I got there at 6:45 and had to wait to purchase my ticket. I bought it and waited under a tent for about 1/2 hour. I liked the covered waiting because it was a cold night. It was raining, and it was windy. They have a few TV's set up and really loud music blarring. Theres a few actors walking around and scaring people.

Length of Event: The first one lasted about 40 minutes and the second one lasted 15.

Actor Performance: Excellent. They knew when to jump out at you and when to just scare you. They remained in chracter throughout the night. I remember an escaped prisoner that cornered me before I even got inside the haunted house, and when I came out, another guy stalked me to the exit.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. They set us up in a large group, about 30 people. The scary thing was that I didnt see those people at all after the beginning.

Appropriate Ages: +13. A boy that was about 12-13 ended up leaving halfway through because he was too scared.

Props / Special FX: I loved the props. They are awesome and very realistic. The special effects were the best I have ever seen. I liked the part where this man ( I wont ruin the surprise) flies over your head. Theres also a girl that is cut in half and is moaning and asking you for help.

Costumes / Make-up: What make-up? what costumes? The actors seemed very real. They seemed to have gotten into accidents or just escaped from jail. The make up was amazing. You couldnt really tell that it was fake. They did a great job.

Summary: I realy enjoyed the haunted house. I loved the props and special effects. The actors were great. My favorite part was the clowns with the chain saws that corner you. There was a clown that had a very, very evil laugh. He was my favorite. The only thing I would suggest for future years would be to dim the lights more both inside the haunted house and inside the tent as you wait to go inside. The only thing I didnt like about this house was that since it was in a farm, it smelled like poop.Overall, I would recommend this to other people and I will defenitivelly be returning next year. Good Job Statesville actor! keep up the good work.

Reviewed by: HouseHopper   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a house that was easy to find. All you would have to do is look up the directions on their website and they even have a Map Quest link to get the directions and if thats not enough there is a huge sign of the side of the road that says"STATESVILLE HAUNTED PRISION"

Wait Entertainment: In this house i actually enjoied the wait. There was music, monsters, and even an occasonial scare from one of the actors.

Length of Event: All in all to it took 30 minutes to get through Statesville and another 25 to get through City of The Dead

Actor Performance: I was surprised that at 10:30 (when I got in the house)that the actors were constantly in my face and never stopped it was the most agressive house I've ever been in. I couldn't go ten feet with out having an actor in my face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Both houses were very well prepaired to keep grop sises small and allowing time for the first group to get into the house before sending another group in. SOOO i didnt even catch up to the group in front of me nor even see them... I kinda freaked me out.

Appropriate Ages: This house is way too intense for children undre the age of AT LEAST 13 any younger and you'll definately be leaving through one of the emergency exits

Props / Special FX: The houses were full of anamatronics, strobes,sounds,fountains,fog, and my favroite,a monster they had that was an anamatronic Daemon that the actors like Georgie. It's about 12ft tall and Litterally walks towards you dragging 2 mangled bodies and a massive saw... AWESOME!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Each of the many different rooms had their own paint scheme and there were loads of unique special characters. which alot of houses I've been to dont have

Summary: To sum it all up. A great scare. The actors never stop, and they makes sure that the coustomers in the house never stop, they constantly keep you moving, and of course at the end of the house the CLOWNS. So I highly recomend this House to anyone who wishs to have a Goot time in a scary place

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/26/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy enough to spot from Weber Rd. They had lit signs and decorations that could be seen from the road.

Wait Entertainment: Some of their actors were around and interacted with the waiting crowd. I would say their entertainment while we were waiting was about average.

Length of Event: There were two haunted houses, but you had to pay for both when buying your ticket. Statesville probably lasted about 20 minutes and the City of the Dead took maybe 10. In my opinion, both haunted houses took too long--I would much rather have paid the $25 and left.

Actor Performance: I was not impressed by the actors in the houses. Many just resorted to the jumping out and screaming in your face (very annoying and unnecessary). It seemed a lot of the female actors in the houses resorted to screaming at incredibly loud and irritating volumes. I do think that the way the houses were laid out and the lighting and props that were used took away from the actors' performances...but the performances were still pretty weak. I was maybe startled one time, but otherwise just felt bombarded by actors coming from every corner of the rooms and hallways. I did not find any of it scary in the least. I haven't felt this annoyed going through a haunted house in a long time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They took us in large groups (similar to a prison fashion), which was clever but I think caused a lot of us to cluster together. I was in front of the group so I was one of the luckier ones, but I think my slower pace through the houses caused the other patrons to run into our group.

Props / Special FX: With only a few exceptions, I was *very* disappointed with the props and effects. The music and sound effects played overhead were way too loud, and were more irritating than scary. The lighting was also very irritating, with it fluctuating between being bright enough that you could see every actor coming toward you (long before they made their attempts to scare you) or being blinding or hazy (by the flashing lights and/or fog) that you couldn't get scared by the actors because you never even saw them after they passed you by. I felt very overstimulated by everything and just wanted it to be over after a couple of minutes in the first house. One other thing that I should mention: Most of their hallways were built so narrow and/or low that someone larger would have a very hard time to get through. We didn't get any warning about that--and my boyfriend had a very difficult time fitting through all the hallways. I think they should have to warn patrons that their houses are setup that way. That being said, their opening sequence in the Statesville house was fantastic, one disemboweled prop was amazing, and a giant animatronic creature was pretty cool from all of the props and scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: It seemed to me that almost every actor had about the same costume/makeup on. I didn't see any different "characters" in the houses and was so disappointed given the insanely high cost of admission. I would have expected that they could afford better makeup and costumes.

Summary: I'm sure you can guess that my boyfriend and I left this attraction very angry this year. I've been to Statesville twice before (although haven't been for a couple years) and never remember it being quite this bad. I feel very ripped off by the admission fee, but I still would be angry if I had paid just $10 to get in. I feel that overall, they just use too much noise and bad lighting techniques, too many actors using the same ineffective techniques, resulting in too little scares. I was very ready to be scared and Statesville just left me upset. I'm just glad that I didn't have to wait hours in line to get in. I don't plan to go back in the future unless Statesville makes some dramatic changes.

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/26/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We saw it from Weber Rd. right away, and followed the directions from mapquest easily.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have too long to wait since it was a Wed night, but there was an actor that stayed in character the whole time. It was okay, but nothing great.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes for both houses combined.

Actor Performance: Very unimpressive. Most of the actors just did sort of a jump and growl or scream when I walked through the houses. Their timing wasn't very good either, since it just seemed like you had a ton of people jumping around in your face. It was more like being stuck in a crowd of rowdy intoxicated people than being in a "haunted house."

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair at best. We were herded into a couple large rooms in Statesville and City of the Dead and they'd then send us through in groups of 5. We'd occasionally have a group run into us, but there were times when they'd attempt to break up the groups. One couple that was in front of us got separated from each other along the way.

Props / Special FX: Uncomfortable! I got hurt walking through a lot of the halls because they were angled walls to the point where even my 5foot3 girlfriend could barely fit through. I also got one of those strong puffs of air in my eye pretty bad when walking through one of the hallways. Most of the other rooms and halls were fairly boring with little variation throughout the rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: I didn't see too many makeup jobs that didn't look like the actor did it themselves.

Summary: I think Statesville and City of the Dead are horribly overpriced with few redeeming qualities. In case any of their actors or owners read this review, my suggestion would be to change the lighting (so that it is not blinding or too bright), lower the volume of both the sound effects and the actors's screaming, use fewer actors in each room,... I could go on, but I think those are just a few places to start from.

Reviewed by: tzstrange   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had no trouble finding it.

Wait Entertainment: We took the speed pass and did not stand in the 1 hour line. Not much wait entertainment to be had.

Length of Event: It took us about 45 minutes to go through both houses.

Actor Performance: The actors did a good job. My problem was that there were so many that I wasn't even startled when they jumped out at me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The statesville prison moved pretty good with smaller groups going through. The city of the dead even though we were held up before entering rooms we were soon caught up with those in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: No clue.

Props / Special FX: Appropriate.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent.

Summary: I wouldn't go again. I was never scared or even startled. Maybe because of the size of the groups going through, too much light so I could really see where we were going most of the time, or just too many characters jumping out at you. Got more out of a cheap local haunted house than at Stateville.

Reviewed by: EmoNerd24   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find. There is a giant pumpkin and alot of lights.

Wait Entertainment: There are guys walking around in make-up scaring people. It was entertaining to watch them get scared.

Length of Event: It was a good long scare. I'd say it took about 45 minutes for both houses.

Actor Performance: The actors were amazing. The make-up and locations were truly remarkable. They even acted in character while they weren't in the actual house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was fairly easy to get around. In a couple of the rooms some characters held us back to keep us from catching up with the other groups, but most of the time it wasn't super obvious what they were doing.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 11+

Props / Special FX: The special FX were awesome. I think that's the only house I've gone to where people were flying and hanging upside down.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up really made the show. There was one guy who's make-up was amazing. He had a hole cut into his face, and it looked real.

Summary: Over all it was awesome. We bought the VIP pass which is totally worth the $5. It took you straight to the front of the line where had we not have bought it we would've been waiting in a cage for two hours. There are a lot of tight spaces, loud noises, strobe lights, screaming, and stalking. The actors do a great job, and it seems like they truly enjoy what they're doing. I don't reccommend it for people who don't like small spaces or the dark. The scenery was awesome, and the insane asylum was probably my favorite part. I would have to say the scariest is when the guy with the chainsaw cornered me and my friends and wouldn't let us pass. He went after us even when we weren't in the house. I reccomend you come out and see this house. I would go again.

Reviewed by: valegrl79   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to see from Weber Road. Good lighting and Sinage.

Wait Entertainment: Not bad. There were only 2 actors walking through the lines, loud rock music and what I believe was a DVD from last year on several TV's in the waitline.

Length of Event: About 20-25 minutes per house. There were two houses included with the general admission price.

Actor Performance: Everyone was very in character!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I know this is a busy house, but sometimes the flow of the line was like 30 people per group which made abrupt scares hard to execute.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The detail of props/scenes was amazing. I found myself having a hard time to take it all in as we were walking though because everything was so detailed. 
 
I don't want to ruin the opening scene for anyone but let's just say the special FX were sweet. My only critisism was I really couldn't hear the intro story clearly in either house with all of the other screaming going on in the background.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were also very good and appropriate for every part of the house. There was one guy that walked into a blacklight and his eyes/contacts glowed yellow. It was awesome. The clowns were very creepy and the psycho ward people looked awesome as well.

Summary: I think this house was awesome and worth every penny of the $25 admission. We were only in line for 1.5 hours which is not bad the weekend before Halloween. Also, the houses were long and there were two of them so it was a good bang for your buck! 
 
After working in a house last year, I don't scare too easy because I know where I would hide. But, this house had amazing actors, visuals, and other deranged fun I have to say, YAY Statesville! I will be back next year.

Reviewed by: krakhouse   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there was one sign on the other side of the road. the police directing the traffic into the parking lot made it easier to find. its a farm, not what i was looking for!

Wait Entertainment: none at all. Just workers telling you where to go and get your money ready!

Length of Event: statesville prison 25 minutes 
house of the dead 15 mintues

Actor Performance: good. Made you feel like you were an inmate at a prison the way they talked to you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: jammed packed. we got there 15 mins after they opened and there were lines. For $5 extra we skipped the 2 hour wait lines! fasted and best deal! crowded inside the houses, but expected with the number of people.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: the best, many different scenes there was a lot to look at and all was very cool

Costumes / Make-up: good, everyone was dressed up

Summary: i drove an hour and a half to get there. got there 15 minutes after open. we were gonna wait in the lines but a guy said for $5 more we could skip the lines. from the time i parked til the time i rolled off the lot i was only there for an hour and a half. it was a good time!

Reviewed by: jho8   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss the flashing lights at the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Actors were great at scaring the crowd. I saw at least 5 different actors going around. Music was from differnt rock groups like ozzy osbourne, and the trailer from Statesville Haunted Prison was being played. Overall if you've got friends then it shouldn't be too bad.

Length of Event: Around an hour for both houses.

Actor Performance: Every was great and doing their job to scare you. Everyone was acting out their role with more enthusiasm probably because we were the first ones there. Overall, the actors were on target.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We actually bumped into the group in front of us MANY times. So simply put, Statesville failed in this category.

Appropriate Ages: Honestly 12 and up. The language and scare factor isn't for anyone under 12.

Props / Special FX: Amazing!!! From the man being executed to the creature from resident evil. All the themes were detailed and graphic. Lots of strobe lights and fog. For 25 dollars, the props were plenty and noticable.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were great when you can actually see them. Many areas are very dark and all you can see are the paint on the actors faces due to blacklight use.

Summary: For a steep price of 25 dollars, the props and entertainment was great. You have to experience firsthand to know what i'm talking about. Whether it's your first haunted house or tenth, it's a differnt haunted house compared to the other ones. As for me I didn't get scared at all, even being in front of the line most of the time. I can't say that about the other people I was with.

Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Has signs on side of the road before the location that are not lit up, but when I went there was a cop car out side the enterance so it was easier to find.

Wait Entertainment: none really, blarring music by white stripes and marilyn manson seemed to be the pick! a couple small t.v's that were showing clips of things from the house. A guy carrying a wodden hammer, not very scary.

Length of Event: line moved quickly since when we got there people were lined up, all the way down the parking lot. wait about hour and a half to 2 hours. first house about 15 minutes and the second about 10.

Actor Performance: actors seemed tired, we were one of the last groups to go through and it seemed that a lot of the actors were already gone. the ones that were still there were decent, but like I said they were probably tired

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not very good. They mush you into groups and lines and send you through about 8 at a time and don't space the groups out very well. I got separated from my group while being put into these lines, and I caught up to them with out even trying.

Appropriate Ages: under 13 has to have an adult,(says the website) i thinkit's ok for almost anyone.

Props / Special FX: awesome, I think this is the coolest house I have ever been too! It had water fixtures, cool hallways, very well thought out rooms and tunnels.

Costumes / Make-up: I think all of the actors had makeup on, maybe one mask. make up was good, since it was the end of the night.

Summary: I always wanted to go to Statesville to check it out, heard it was good, had a lot of clowns which scare the bejesus out of me, but I was dissappointed when I went through the clown room, there were two clowns, and they were'nt even scary! This is one of the longest haunted houses I have been in, so that is why you pay more. The scenes are great, and if we weren't one of the last groups out then I'm sure the performance would have been better. You do have to crouch down in a lot of places, and walk through very, very narrow hallways, there in a triangle shape,so if you have a bad back or are very clausterphobic(however you spell it) then you might not want to come here. City of the dead is the second attraction, it was o.k, just alot of screaming in your face, not really scary, could be better. all in all I have been to many houses and Statesville is definately the best for scences, scares not so much. my favorite actor was the guy in the white room with the english accent, very good!

Reviewed by: jovan2001   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: IT was very easy to find. YOu can see the huge blow up pumpkin from down the road.

Wait Entertainment: Only two actors came out. ONe was pretty scary, but that is because he would get 2 inched from your face and not leave. They didnt have any scary music on, it was all metallica and pantera. I personally dont enjoy that type of music.

Length of Event: It was about 35 min all together. I think that it was to fast. I wanted to be able to see the scene, but it was too dark and everyone was trying to run right through.

Actor Performance: The actors where really good. From what I seen the make up was awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: everyone went to fast.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Every thingwas really creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: IT was all great.

Summary: All in all I say that it is worth the money. I was only in line for a half an hour, but when I left at 10pm it was packed. I dont know if i would stand in line for 3 hours to see it again.

Reviewed by: dropzone   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, right off Weber Rd @ Rt 30. You can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Some music from Metallica, Marilyn Manson, Ozzy was okay. There were a few TV's showing clips from scenes inside the attraction, but the TV's were small and high up and didn't really show much or add to the scare factor. A few characters were lurking through the waiting line to scare people as they waited.

Length of Event: It seemed like a LONG time... Which was nice. I'd have to guess about 15-20 minutes for the Haunted Prison, and 10-15 for the City of the Dead.

Actor Performance: It was good. Most of the characters treat you like crap (because you're in PRISON) which adds a little to the tension factor. I felt like I was on one of those Jenny Jones Boot Camp shows, just make sure you understand that ITS PART OF THE EXPERIENCE. People around me were complaining about the rudeness of the staff. Inside the attraction, actors stayed in character and there were some GREAT characters!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good flow. They do the best to separate groups by individual parties, even though it may not seem like they're going to at first. Throughout the attraction, there are points where the actors will hold you in a room to continue to space out the groups. I think we only caught up to the group in front of us a few times.

Appropriate Ages: Not for young children.

Props / Special FX: Fantastic decorations!!! Some very well designed rooms and some things I've never seen before! I don't want to give too much away.

Costumes / Make-up: These were typical white face with bloody eyes, etc... although there were a few VERY good surprises. (If you have a fear of clowns, you should probably stay home).

Summary: I really enjoyed the Haunted Prison. The City of the Dead was the equivalent of your local park district haunted house for the most part, however. I really dont scare in these things, but the people I was with said it was pretty scary. I have one big suggestion, BUY THE $5 SPEED PASS!!! Let me say that again, BUY THE $5 SPEED PASS!!! We got there at about 7:30, there was almost no line for the attraction and there was NOBODY in the Speed Pass line, so we thought "eh... why spend ANOTHER $5??" Yeah, big mistake. for every one group of people they send from the general admission line, they send 2 groups from the Speed Pass line! And while waiting, you have to sit there and watch all these Speed Pass people get to go into the haunted house while you're sitting in a chain-link cage, being reminded of what an idiot you were for not buying the Speed Pass, but that now it's too late for you!! So they do include some torture in the attraction, I swear it's done on purpose. Had we bought the Speed Pass, the wait would have been about 10 minutes... i turned into an hour and a half of watching everyone that got to the place after us, go in before us. Overall, a very good haunted house, with some really great scenes. It was worth the drive and the $25.

Reviewed by: drdpd   (Event Visited: 10/17/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find

Wait Entertainment: I went last year,and waited in a 2 1/2 hour line. Got the speed pass this year. Didn't look like there was any wait entertainment though, besides the music.

Length of Event: 45 minutes for the two

Actor Performance: If foul language scares you then they did a great job. It seems what these people lack in acting skills they well make up for in trying to intimidate the crowd by singling out people and teasing them. They kept calling one lady "barbie", another guy "four eyes", and I honestly think I heard them replace "maggot" with something else. Once you get into the prison there are alot of actors jumping out at you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Sporadic at best. Caught up with a group at the maze thing, and we were held back to watch a prop jump out of a steel cabinet. Maybe the actor wasn't watching closely enough...but my small group saw it pop out as we first entered the room. So why they held us bac to watch it again....I don't know?

Appropriate Ages: The language is something to consider, it's not just the language it's the way they treat people. Maybe 15+ ?

Props / Special FX: Ok, the props were spread out between long halls, or it was too dark to enjoy them. The first room in the prison is the same thing as last year, and I still find it hard to say exactly what the warden is saying.

Costumes / Make-up: Great work here.

Summary: Like I mentioned I went last year, something made me want to come back. I was reading on another board that an employee said they changed alot of things this year. If they did it was too subtle to notice. They length of the prison is nice. City of the dead is too short, and some of the big props from last year weren't working this year. Not allot of actors in City of the Dead either. I really wanted to enjoy this, but their scare tactics just turn out to be mean spirited in the end.

Reviewed by: kristine   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I'm a terrible driver so missed it, but then i found it again and it was very obvious, and there was a lot of parking.

Wait Entertainment: It was a bit of a wait, but while we waited in line there was monsters walking around scaring us. so the wait didn't seem that long.

Length of Event: probably 45 minutes for both houses combined

Actor Performance: very well. i was extremely scared the whole time. especially at the clown part!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the only time we ran into another group was in the second house because we were so scared we were pretty much running through. so the patron flow was good.

Appropriate Ages: probably like 13 and above

Props / Special FX: awesome!! i have to say the special effects, props, sets, and everything were awesome. although i did get a little clastrophobic in some of the small hallways.

Costumes / Make-up: very scary and dramatic. i give a lot of credit to the people that do the make-up in this haunted house they do an amazing job!

Summary: all in all, i think this was the best haunted house i've ever been to. it was the best for a few reasons, first it was extremely scary. second i really like how theres two different houses so you get a little bit of a break in between. third, all the sets and the props were amazing a lot of the stuff looked real. i just have a suggestion, maybe to get air conditioning or something in there because it's sooo hot. other than that everything was amazing, and i'm considering going back again because it was just that good.

Reviewed by: ednbillie   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Statesville is easy to find and lots of parking is available.

Wait Entertainment: We had V.I.P. passes so we only had about a five minute wait. The lines weren't too long with it being on a Sunday.

Length of Event: It lasted about fifteen minutes in the first house and about ten in the second.

Actor Performance: The actors did a very good job in general but there were some that were a bit too in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow, if anything, was too rushed. It was a bit hurried for trying to see the props and take a good look around.

Appropriate Ages: I would deffinately rate this for older teens and up. It is based on a prison and it does have some foul language and degradation.

Props / Special FX: The props and effects that we actually had the time to look at were great.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were terrific. A lot of glowing in the black lights.

Summary: This is the second year we have done Statesville, and in all I can't complain. It was a really good time. I do feel they get a bit too heavy on the fog and smoke machines and need to slow the flow a bit. I would deffinately recommend it as worth the money to all.

Reviewed by: teena   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily noticed - signs & lights all point to it.

Wait Entertainment: Not a whole lot of that

Length of Event: 40-45 mins ( combined)

Actor Performance: BOOOOOOOORRRRRRING

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Slow paced

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10+

Props / Special FX: Some were really cool - other were repetative

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: I was not scared at any point through out the haunted house. Everything seemed so boring and the actors were very laid back. I was terribly dissapointed. If you are going to pay $30 for a haunted house, it at least should be worth it. It was by far, not worth it. Sure it takes awhile to get through the house, but I would rather be scared in 5 minutes than bored for the 20 it took to walk through. It would be a better haunted house if the cost was equal to the scare factor. i dont know what these other reviews got when they went, but my experience was a complete let down, especially after I read the reviews that raved about this place, then I went and it was awful. 
Save your $$

Reviewed by: dreamgirl   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have lived here my whole life so I had no problems finding it.

Wait Entertainment: There was only 1 guy going through the line and he was terrible. He only went by scared little teenage girls. Awful. We waited 2+ hours in line and I think that was excessive. Also, it is in the middle of a field and it was dusty and they stick you in this tent with blaring music. I'm just waiting for someone to sue them!

Length of Event: I didn't pay attention how long it lasted, I guess 15 minutes, it would have lasted a lot less if they wouldn't have traffic jams in the house, the flow was horrible.

Actor Performance: Let's see. Calling people maggots is not my idea of scary or funny, I'm not sure what they were trying to be.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was horrible. There were places in the house where you could see a line of people waiting to get in the next room. One of the patrons stuck his head through the window and scared me more than the actual actors did.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ I think anyone who brings a young child to these attractions should be turned away at the door!

Props / Special FX: Nothing special. I've seen much better.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, nothing special. My 8 year old son has had better costumes.

Summary: In my opinion, it is definitely NOT worth the $25 admission price. The actors are very unprofessional and not that scary. We were waiting to get in the 2nd house and someone threw something at one of the actors (not cool, but...) and this guy went off on the guy calling him every vulgarity in the book. It was uncalled for.

Reviewed by: Matt_Hardy   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ive read that people have had to do a U-Turn...but i found the place easily as i arrived just as the sun was setting. Look for the giant pumpkin sign and corn on the right... Its at some kind of farm/cornfield

Wait Entertainment: We arrived at 6:30pm and there was already a line waiting to purchase tickerts, which didnt surprise me as ive heard this was the best in the state. After purchasing the ticket, you head to a tent where you continue to wait in line. Loud heavy metal music and several actors sneak up on you while in line. Watching the girls scream and hide behind their boyfriends was rather entertaining.

Length of Event: There were two parts. First part lasted probably 15-20 minutes, while the 2nd one lasted about 5-10 minutes.

Actor Performance: This is where the high score comes in. All actors remained in character throughout the event. Even outside of the houses.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Wasnt too bad at all. You are lined up 3 different times in the houses. Probably to fix the flow and keep everyone on their toes in the house.

Appropriate Ages: Being scared depends on the child themselves. But i believe anyone 12 and up shouldnt wet themselves during this......maybe!!!

Props / Special FX: Wow! I can honestly say this is probably the best haunted attraction ive ever attended. The special effects were superb. Lots of blood and gore! Even a Resident Evil monster was in there....very awesome!

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent! All the characters were done up amazingly and look very real.

Summary: While im in my mid 20's. i wasnt "scared" of the attraction, but the entertainment value is through the roof!! The girls were screaming their heads off! The opening sequence at the beginning is AMAZING! Just a note...if you are clausterphobic..i suggest you skip this event. Several parts where you have to duck and crawl in very small spots with actors grabbing at your hands and feet. I'm 6 feet and 210 lbs...and i had a hard time squeezing through. But it helped with the fear factor. All in all, i feel like it should have only cost 18-20 dollars instead of 25. But compared to other houses at the 20 dollar range, the extra 5 dollars is well worth it.

Reviewed by: VampOfAsylum   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: During the day it was kind of hard to notice it however when dark set in the strobes really showed off the entrances. Very nice Location about half a mile off from the real Statesville prison.

Wait Entertainment: Was very intense as they hurd you into the waiting cell it makes it for a very errie setting and mind boggling strucker.

Length of Event: Statesville Prison 20+25 Mins 
City Of The Dead 15+20 Mins

Actor Performance: Very intense and really into there roles. Really made you feel like you were an inmate. Very energetic and up in your face/ breathing down your neck to give you that extra cold chill :O)~

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Throughout the entire attraction only once ran into another group. Kept it pretty steady with some slow down rooms to keep ya spread apart.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: Some really interesting and nice props and effects. :o}

Costumes / Make-up: All the costumes and make-up were done well and according to scenes.

Summary: Finally summary of the entire show was awesome. Being a fellow haunter it's really hard to get me to jump or spook. And they started off the first room made me duck for cover it was freaky but some awesome effects. 
All the actors were really into there jobs and up in your face every minute of the show. Really made you feel like you were an inmate. 
This was well worth the 2-3 hour drive across the state to go to. I will be making a return trip next year to see what they have in store for me. :o) 
Super Job Statesville!!

Reviewed by: chevygirl57   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, but we drove from over an hour away and got a tad bit lost finding Joliet Road. The signs at the intersection of 30/Caton Farm were very visible and if you live close, it should be easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Didn't wait long, but from what I could see, it was decent.

Length of Event: 50-70 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good. Right on time and did a great job at scaring people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Heavy. It was an hour wait for those that didn't purchase the speed pass.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Awesome!

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome again.

Summary: Overall, I really enjoyed this haunted house. We were sort of dissapointed that it wasn't inside the real prison, but it was fun anyways. The actors were great and stayed in character the entire time. They really made it fun. The only part I disliked was being inside small rooms with tons of kids talking about sex and saying the "F" word every other minute. Another thing is that the groups kept catching up to each other, which sort of ruined some scarieness of everything. Otherwise, great experience.

Reviewed by: Sanctuared   (Event Visited: 10/06/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome location, very creepy. It is quite hard to find since it looks like a pumpkin patch and there is very few signs.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't have to wait, but I saw at least 7-8 actors that would normally scare the lines.

Length of Event: I don't know for sure, but it felt like we were in their for an hour. I think both houses took a total of 45 minutes.

Actor Performance: Amazing actor performance, pretty much the best I have seen. The guy who tells you the rules at the prison was truely amazing and really sets the right mood/atmosphere.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13+ depending on the child.

Props / Special FX: Here is where the haunted house stands out the most. Amazing props and the special effects are second to none. Very, very original as well.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were very convincing. The clowns were amazing.

Summary: This was truely the best haunted house I have ever been to. There were tons of actors, and the surprises never stopped. I have been to many haunts myself, and have worked a couple and created my own, so I know haunted houses well. I don't want to give anything away, but I went with two of my friends (we are all guys that are not easily scared) and we ALL were pretty freaked out. From the beggining to the ending, this haunt was truely the best in terms of actors, props, special effects, scare factor, atmosphere, room design, overall design, ideas, and any other catagory I could possibly make up. The entrance fee was pretty steep, but having gone through the house, I would have paid double. Amazing stuff.

Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Didn't see the sign until I was right on it. Had to do a u-turn.

Wait Entertainment: Great. Actors walking around everywhere.

Length of Event: 30 in the prison. 15 in house of dead

Actor Performance: GREAT! Everyone was on!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. In large groups in the beginning, but then broken up. Very good job!

Appropriate Ages: This house is not for children. Very intense and vulger.

Props / Special FX: Great effects in the clown room. My favorite this year was the insane asylum.

Costumes / Make-up: Great

Summary: Much bang for your buck! I was very impressesed this year. I didn't want to go this year because it felt like it was always the same and I wasn't scared. Kudos to the guy I talked to last weekend at Dreamreapers. He is an actor at Statesville and told me that they had everything new this year. If it wasn't for our conversation, I wouldn't have gone this year! (He also told me about the website...BTW...great teaser!)I absolutely loved the insane asylum. I walked into a couple of walls!! GREAT effect!! My only complaint would be in some parts (house of the dead) it was TOO dark to see the actors.... Other than that...great job and I look foward to next year!

Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are no signs before you get to the actual place. We had to do a u-turn and go back. It looks more like a farm selling pumpkins.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great. They did a great job of getting you in the mood from the very beginning. Several characters walked through the line and popped their heads through the side of the tent.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes for Statesville Prison. About 15 minutes for City of the Dead.

Actor Performance: They actors were aggressive and stayed in character the whole time. There was good timing and interaction between scares and screams. If there wasn't a prop/special effects, there was an actor to scare or surprise you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They did exceptionally well with the flow. You went in very large groups, but it made sense since you stood in a "prison" formation at the beginning. It was timed really well as we went through the houses, especially when our group would be seperated and then reunite several twists and turns later.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 or older. This haunted house is not for children. Actors are purposely derogatory to coincide with the mood and theme. The group before us had a young boy and it was too frightening for him.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were absolutely amazing. I don't want to spoiled all the fun, but I really liked how in both haunted houses, several actors were wearing rigs so that they were suspended in the air above you. In the very beginning of Statesville, they had a guy in an electric chair getting electrocuted. In the beginning of City of the Dead, they had a huge animatronic monster that looked similar to Nemesis from Resident Evil: Apocalypse.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were fantastic. There was a guy doing wait entertainment that really freaked everyone out. He looked like a huge executioner, except he didn't have an axe; he had a giant mallet. He didn't speak, he just stared at you. Just his presence was terrifying.

Summary: There is no other haunted house like this one. This is truly a one of a kind. I am an avid haunted house goer and I found Statesville Prison to be the scariest haunted house I have ever been to.  
 
The "insane asylum" scene was very interesting. They had plexiglass walls on both sides and the "patients" were banging on the walls so hard you could feel it as you walked through.  
 
Another memorable scene was the "clown" scene. If you are afraid of clowns, beware. They had some very freaky makeup and masks in this scene.  
 
I also liked how the floor and walls would change as you walked through Statesville. One hallway would start out a normal height and end very short. Another would start as a normal width and end very thin. Some floors led upward while some downward. This was very effective.  
 
There are so many things going on around you at this haunted house that you can't even take it all in. It was definitely worth the $25 and I would go through it again in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by: brewster   (Event Visited: 10/06/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I could see how you could pass it, but you'll notice it as you pass it, just pop a Uturn and you'll be OK

Wait Entertainment: There were a few actors doing line entertainment. They had cool costumes and were pretty effective at keeping the patrons entertained.

Length of Event: I didn't really keep track. 10-15 minutes each attraction maybe?

Actor Performance: The first half of Statesville was a little lacking (It was opening night though) but it picked up steadily through the house. The Asylum and Clown Rooms were exceptional.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. Never bumped into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I'm probably a bad judge of this, but maybe 13+

Props / Special FX: Great, but not the highlight of the house. The general disign and layout of the house is what is truly amazing at Statesville.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent, appropriate for their scenes. Lots of time and thought went into alot of the costumes. Makeup was also pretty good.

Summary: As an actor at multiple haunts I have always stayed out of writing reviews, as I don't want to be seen as biased, but I have got to let everyone know how incredibly impressed with Statesville I was. I have seen haunts all over the United States and have never seen a haunt like Statesville. I can't say enough good things about it. I look forward to working there later this month but really want to commend everyone working there now. Great Job guys!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at