Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
The Dark - Haunted House (McHenry, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Joshzprinces   (Event Visited: 10/30/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found it perfectly with Mapquest directions. I loved going through all the scary trees to get there. The big signs and the semi helped.

Wait Entertainment: We got there what I think was at a good time. Not to late...or to early, so there was no wait.

Length of Event: About a half hour. We looked at everything.

Actor Performance: Great. I liked that they were kind of young. They all stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Awesome. We didn't run into anybody, but we heard them screaming. That made it spooker.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ The spinning deamon head would be one of the things I would not take kids to see.

Props / Special FX: I was very impressed with the 3-D effects and the spinning vortex. The elevator was awesome. The people saying it was sub-par do not have an imagination.

Costumes / Make-up: Average...Robes, black. Scary.

Summary: I think it was very much worth the money. I laughed, I cried, I got very scared. For being their first year I was very impressed and look forward to making a tradition of going here each year!

Reviewed by: jamie4311   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat hard to find if you don't know the neighborhood. But good signs to direct you to the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't really any entertainment while I waited.

Length of Event: It took about 10 minutes to get through the whole thing. Which was okay.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were better than others but overall, good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There seemed to be a long intelude between each group that went in. Which was fine.

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up.

Props / Special FX: Loved the chainsaw.

Costumes / Make-up: One of the masks scared me a lot. The fake blood could have been a little darker and stained the clothing of the actors more realistically.

Summary: It was a little hard to find if you don't know the area. But they did use signs to guide you once you got close enough. The wait in the line was short. The actors were young but good none the less. The theatrical blood could be of higher quality. The length of the attraction was decent. All in all I got scared quite a few times...but I laughed a few times too.

Reviewed by: spudley   (Event Visited: 10/25/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is out of the way, in the farms of McHenry, but easy enough to get to. Signs pointing out the haunt near the vicinity are not all that clear or visible at night. You can't miss the flood light in the middle of the fields as you approach at night, though.

Wait Entertainment: I went on a Tuesday, and there was no wait at all. There was a bonfire and a corn maze, along with a concession stand with snacks and drinks. There was also loud eerie music and sound effects emanating from the haunt.

Length of Event: It lasted about 10 minutes at an unhurried pace.

Actor Performance: The actors were very energetic, loud, and quite a few "in your face." The chainsaw man was very effective. Several actors followed us around, like the evil clown, mad surgeon, and butcher. The actors were a little on the young side to be too scary, though. They needed more adult actors, like the Reaper at the entrance.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no one else there, until we were coming out, so we didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: I would say about age 8 and up, depending on your child's constitution. My 9-year old daughter had no problem, but really young children could not deal with the intensity.

Props / Special FX: There were several nice props/FX. I was particularly impressed with the 3D-effects. There only seemed to be a few animatronics, the most memorable being the giant skeleton and the spinning bleeding head. I thought the Satanic orb near the beginning was very entertaining. The elevator drop and spinning vortex were amusing but only mildly effective. I've seen a much longer and MUCH more effective spinning vortex which really made you dizzy/disoriented. This one didn't do the trick for some reason. There were some nice scenes and decor. I thought they should have decorated the outside of the haunt better, since it just looked like some farm buildings and tents.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were average, but effective. In the dark, you couldn't see too much. Lots of blood.

Summary: I thought it was worth the $10. Better than your average Jaycees haunt, but not quite top-of-the-line. No wait was nice. Be sure to take your time and observe everything the house has to offer, and be prepared for plenty of sudden surprises.

Reviewed by: dena   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 5:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find with directions provided and as you get closer large signs are seen.

Wait Entertainment: none, we waited about 10 minutes.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good, we didn't run into anybody.

Appropriate Ages: we saw children run out partway through, they were maybe 7 and under.

Props / Special FX: liked the elevator and the 3D area.

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: could have better info on what area to purchase the tickets. i was concerned about how small the tents and barn looked. but they are bigger than they appear and we had a fun/scary time. lots of fun things to do before or after the haunted house, pumpkin launch, haunted trailer, petting zoo, bon fires and food and drinks. $10.00 is $1.00 or $2.00 too much, but it goes to a real working farm, with great corn!

Reviewed by: blackrose   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, plenty of signs and parking. During the day, they seem to have a petting zoo, snack bar, pumkins, and other festive activities.

Wait Entertainment: no wait really, there was one group ahead of us and a few beind us, but it moved at a good pace.

Length of Event: 15 mins.

Actor Performance: most actors were great, high energy and they stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow is great. We never caught up with the group ahead of us nor did the group behind catch up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: There are some great original props. Some of the special effects were different and worked well. I loved the freezer room. I liked the room with the heavy fog and moving lights. The giant skeleton that flys up got a scream out of me.

Costumes / Make-up: good, esp. the guy in the elavator.

Summary: Overall, it was a good haunt with alot of future potential. I didnt mind the drive or ticket price for what I got. I enjoyed the bon fire afterwards. I think I will go back closer to halloween. Oh, and one piece of advice, if it takes you less then 15 mins to go through, your not enjoying all of the effects.

Reviewed by: strong   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. A semi trailer with a large sign on the side was parked at the closest intersection which made it hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: None. There was very little wait. A couple bonfires on the farm property were a nice touch.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Just okay. Most were kids, and it consisted mostly of them yelling at you. But some played their parts well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was fine. We didn't run into anybody. The actors tended to push you along though.

Appropriate Ages: Some scares and surprises, but kids 8-10 would be fine.

Props / Special FX: Hits and misses. They had a vortex tube, but the illusion really didn't happen. It may not have been dark enough or maybe there were enough visual cues to spoil the illusion. The elevator drop also failed to scare. They tried to create an illusion of movement with a tube of lights seen through the floor, but it really didn't do the trick. If they could employ sequenced chaser lights instead, that might have helped in creating the illusion of movement. However, the 3D portion of the haunted house was cool. Not particularly scary, but interesting and fun to go through.

Costumes / Make-up: Customes and make-up were minimal. Most actors relied on hoods to hide their faces which had minimal make-up.

Summary: Probably a pretty good haunted house to take the kiddies too, without too much scary stuff. Perhaps a little pricey considering the scares and the time through, but afterwords you can enjoy the bonfires and refreshments.

Reviewed by: samson1   (Event Visited: 10/02/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was really easy to find for me because I live right by it. But the only place I saw signs was the road that it was on.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment because there was no line.

Length of Event: I'd say 5-7 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some stayed in character. But after I passed some I'd hear them laugh and talk to another actor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good because we were the only ones in it.

Appropriate Ages: 5-13

Props / Special FX: They had like one or two good ones but the rest were plain. The elavator drop dissapointed me most. I got in and one of the actors started talking then a second later he said it was over I didn't even see anything happen.

Costumes / Make-up: There costumes and makeup where the everyday masks or makeup I'd seen in Wal-Mart.

Summary: Overall I was a bit dissapointed. I don't think it's worth the ten bucks because the time it took to go through and the quality of the hunt. The elavator drop dissapointed me most. I got in and one of the actors started talking then a second later he said it was over I didn't even see anything happen.

Reviewed by: trex2760   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: no wait entertainment because there was no wait

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: some pretty good,some so/so

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no problems

Appropriate Ages: 10 and below

Summary: i drove 40 minutes to this h.h. based on reveiws from here.very dissapointed!maybe worth 5 dollars not 10.{scare factor-high}yea,maybe for toddlers.{50 ft.elevator shaft drop}come on,my 7 year old neice didnt even buy it.im sorry,i really felt cheated when i left there spending 80 bucks!! will not go there again!

Reviewed by: rpete2121   (Event Visited: 10/09/05 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: tons of signs very visable.

Wait Entertainment: good, the grim reaper is the ticket taker there is a fire, food, and drinks.

Length of Event: about 10 min depends on how fast you walk.

Actor Performance: great, they are the scarest part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: my group ran into two other groups pecause they stoped and looked at every thing we just walked past the little parts.

Appropriate Ages: my little sister went and there where some little kids but i would say 7+

Props / Special FX: good especally how they show you your droping in a elevator.

Costumes / Make-up: great, very scary costumes and make up.

Summary: it was a little short for $10 ($8 before 5pm)but overall it was very scary and the fire was nice because it was cold that night. the actors were great and the props, the elevator and the 3/D part was great.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at