Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's located in a small town, almost out in the middle of nowhere. They did have haunted house signs posted along the streets, but they blended in where we almost didn't see them (and we visited Dungeon of Terror last year too)

Wait Entertainment: I saw one actor passing through the crowd only briefly and otherwise didn't see any real outside entertainment. We didn't have a very long wait though and they did have the inside waiting room decorated ghoulishly!

Length of Event: a pretty good length for any price, but especially good for only $6!!!!! I think it took us over 20 minutes to get through the winding mazes and all

Actor Performance: Great! They changed the opening scene from last years, so I missed that a little (LOVED last years theatrical and scary beginning!) but the actors were still great throughout the haunted house. It's amazing that such a small town's fire department can put out such a fanstastic haunted house on what I'm guessing is a lower budget.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They seemed to be timing the groups really well in keeping us separated but somehow my group (my boyfriend, friend, and I) managed to catch up to the small group ahead of us a couple times. I think this was because that group was moving incredibly slowly though the house and not the fault of Dungeon of Terror's patron flow in general. One of the actors even helped to stall us briefly in one of the rooms so that helped solve the problem of us running into the group ahead.

Appropriate Ages: It's extremely dark, so I'd say 12-13 and up.

Props / Special FX: Fantastic for a small town, and this haunted house could keep up with the best of the best (without having the advantage of the same budget). They had some creative scares and did a great job with their sets (even a moving wall in a way I'd never seen before). In between scenes, their winding maze was pitch black and sadistically twisted and narrow--SO well done!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good--they seemed better this year than last, too.

Summary: Even though this house is over an hour drive from where I live, I couldn't imagine Halloween without visiting the Dungeon of Terror!! After having gone last year, and having an equally great experience, I'm definitely hooked and plan to keep on visiting this one for years to come! While they don't have the same theatrics on the outside or the same budget as some of the more famous haunted houses have, they still pull off some amazing scares and special effects. I highly recommend this one!

Reviewed by: budman27   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to spot in a small town--make sure to watch for signs from the main roads. The actual haunted house looks almost like it's located in a strip mall kind of setup.

Wait Entertainment: When waiting outside, we had someone come up to people scaring them with a chainsaw. It was a fast moving line and I don't know if there was any other wait entertainment.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: Awesome! They did a great job! Good timing and even some laughs in the beginning before being sent through the house. And not to spoil anything for anyone, but don't expect the tunnels to be empty when passing between rooms....

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good until our group caught up to another group. The kid in the group ahead of us was pretty scared and needed a lot of encouragement to keep going. That slowed us down a bit, but we were able to hang back to let them go farther ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 14 +

Props / Special FX: From what I heard, the fire department built the props and tunnels and they did an awesome job! There were a lot of cool visual effects to look at and they definitely added to the props and rooms this year from last year.

Costumes / Make-up: Good costumes and makeup

Summary: I can see why DoT was rated so high on the list of top haunted houses. They are definitely one of the top on my list of favorites. It's worth the drive out there if you can go see this one. Their admission fee is so low too, you can afford to pay the extra gas money to get out there.

Reviewed by: rachys01   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Small town... GREAT house... we go all over and for being out of the way it is super!

Wait Entertainment: Not very long wait... but chain saw dude... werewolf man... good!

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Good spooky...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was fine when we went... they take 8 then split into fours.... you hear the ones before you screaming which is a plus... but no backup

Appropriate Ages: we saw little kids... but i wouldnt go!

Props / Special FX: I like how it is small and dark because I do not like things coming up in front of me... for a small production put on by a fire dept. i think they hire a company to do it for them so it is really NICE

Costumes / Make-up: Not the best most scarey in some parts... but the pop factor makes up for it ... plus its dark!

Summary: It is great for the price you pay... i go to numerous ones every year... and the narrow winding is fun for me in this one... i scream more at this one for six bucks than any other that i may pay top dollar to see!

Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunted house is located in a tiny little town about 9 miles outside of Dwight. If you sneeze at the wrong time, you will miss the whole town.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment included Leather face and few other guys with masks, but they did very little to try to scare people.

Length of Event: About 8 - 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were a little lacking in performance, but there were a few who did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into the group ahead of us once and had to stand there in the dark for a few minutes waiting.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for all ages. An adult should accompany smaller children.

Props / Special FX: There were more actors than special effects as this was a lower budget haunted house. There were a few special effects that mimicked the larger haunted houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the costumes were good (such as the clown) and some needed a little work. Toward the end, there was a guy in a glowing mask that was kind of lame.

Summary: Overall, there were some things I disliked and some things I really liked about this haunted house. 
 
I didn’t like running into the group of people in front of us and having to stand there and wait, so they need to control the patron flow a little better. I also didn’t like the loud alarms that went off all throughout the house. I assume these were to let the actors know when we were coming.  
 
I did enjoy the fact that this was an old style haunted house where everything is pitch black and you have to navigate through by touching the walls in-between scenes. There was one scene that I particularly thought was really good and that was the clown scene. A clown who had on a very freaky mask ran up to me. As soon as he got up to me, he popped a balloon right by my face. I thought this was very effective and would’ve really scared anyone who may be afraid of clowns. He was aggressive and I thought he was the best actor in the whole haunted house.  
 
Overall, this haunted house was definitely worth the $6 I paid to get in. 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at