Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2005 Visitor Reviews of
Creatures Crypt (Bloomington, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: terif6   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Creatures' Crypt has moved to a warehouse at the corner of Bell & Morrissey this year. Once you find the area, locating the house is not difficult. However there are not as many signs around town pointing you in the right direction as in previous years, and if you are unfamiliar with Bloomington-Normal it might not be easily located.

Wait Entertainment: As before, there are atmosphere-setting props, a television showing an old horror flick, monsters roaming the crowd, etc... There seemed to be fewer roving spooks this year.

Length of Event: The tour was less than 15 minutes. We were rushed through several parts at a near trot. I would have appriciated a little more time to see the great settings.

Actor Performance: Actors were enthusiastic but few & far between.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patrons are led through the attraction by guides & holding onto ropes.

Appropriate Ages: The Creatures Crypt was advertised for ages 10 & up, but I saw nothing that would be exceptionally frightening for a younger child who enjoys scary movies or haunted houses. In fact it was much less intense than in previous years.

Props / Special FX: Outstanding! This attraction has the best, most professional settings, costumes, lighting, and special effects of any haunted house I've seen. They were relying pretty heavily on the fog machine this year though.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellant.

Summary: The Creatures Crypt has been the best in Central Illinois for years. They are in a new building and the price has jumped this year. Because of this I had expected more and was disappointed. The special effects and settings were awesome and I would have like to have been less rushed in order to better appreciate the work that went into them. Many areas this year were entirely animated and could have benefitted from some live action. The "Halloween" room with the television was underdeveloped. And I saw no Michael Myers. The scare factor was nearly non-existant and this was a huge disappointment. At $10 for 10 minutes, I want to be scared. Possibly because the area in the warehouse is so open, the feeling of creepy things right over your shoulder was missing. There also seemed to be a lot fewer actors - again, possibly because of the increased area. Overall, I love the settings but was very let down by the scare factor. We will probably give it another try next year, but if it doesn't come together better, we'll probably take it off our must see list.

Reviewed by: iamme   (Event Visited: 10/27/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: a little hard to find if you don't know the area

Wait Entertainment: good not not great

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: top shelf. the timing was perfect, the preformance flawless

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a nice pace, you were lead by rope through the maze.

Appropriate Ages: younger kids (below 10) would be frightened a little to much

Props / Special FX: again top shelf and abundant

Costumes / Make-up: as good as it gets

Summary: This is the icon of haunted houses. As a builder of a haunted attraction myself, I found it jaw dropping. The detail of the sets and the timing and location of the actors was second to none. I could not recommend this attraction highly enough.

Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find good location

Wait Entertainment: had some

Length of Event: too short we were pulled trough too fast by our "teacher"

Actor Performance: actors was good needed more time to see them

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pulled through like a bunch of little school kids on a field trip, our guild person was in a hurry

Appropriate Ages: around 12 or so

Props / Special FX: what i could see looked good

Costumes / Make-up: same as above what i did see looked ok but most was getting ready for the next group

Summary: i was the last person on the rope did not get to see much the scares were in front i was in the back, too many people on the rope, i would suggest to get rid of the rope and if you want guildes put them at the end to push people through

Reviewed by: wickedwitchy   (Event Visited: 10/23/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find since I live near the place. But for out of towners could use more signage.

Wait Entertainment: Not much entertainment but a guy walking around and a cool b/w movie playing.

Length of Event: waited in line about 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up with the group aheard of us several times and had to wait. But what do you expect when lead through the place having to hold on to a rope at a fast pace. Went through rooms quickly.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Props and FX were very good from what you can see through all the fog from the foggers.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were great.

Summary: Although a pretty cool haunt you guys REALLY need to lose the ropes. People like to look at the rooms but do not have a chance as fast as you go through a room. Very good location this year on short notice. You guys did a wonderful job!!! Please lose the ropes.

Reviewed by: CARMAN65   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could have used more signs directing you to the house. Once you got to the main road there were 3 signs but other than that there were none. It was in a better location in relation to last year alot more covienent.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was too long for the short time you were in the house. There was not much entertainment besides the "scary" people walking around.

Length of Event: Not long enought you were drug through the house by the guide. The wait was way too long for the time it took to get through the house.

Actor Performance: Great performaces. Great special effects. Dont' get a chance to see it all because the guide person was walking too fast and you had to make sure you were holding on to the rope. DO AWAY WITH THE ROPE PLEASE!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well being that the house was guided they made sure that you didn't run into the group in front of you. Once again they took you through the house at a fast pace.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and Up

Props / Special FX: The hydrolic skeletons and such that jumped out of the walls and objects were not working properly. Other than that great effects. The tall man that touched you was awsome.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes. You could definately tell that there was alot of hard work and planning put into each costume and make-up.

Summary: Over all, the house was great. Not really worth the $10. You don't get a chance to view the entire house because you have to hold onto the rope. The guides should slow down a little bit. Most of the wait was inside the building so it wasn't cold. Maybe think about warm refreshments at the concesions as well. Once again, it was a good house.

Reviewed by: pinkdolphin1   (Event Visited: 10/19/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I went with friends who go to school at ISU. With out them I wouldn't have been able to find it.

Wait Entertainment: We were entertained pretty much the entire time we waited. The scary guys kept us on our toes. The movie that was playing was great. The scary guy was hilarious.

Length of Event: Took us 20 minutes I think.

Actor Performance: Everyone did fantastic! I was jumping and screaming in every room. Tall guy was AWESOME! I loved him! Every year I go he creeps me out!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups. Our guide stoped several times so that this wouldn't happen. I think i would have been even scarier with out the rope you must hold on to. This was u can take your time in each room.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Special effents were just amazing. I was impressed. You guys are awesome! Just when I was wasn't expecting it a special effect would happen. Very nice!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were scary! Although the man in the "older" style clothing chasing the young girl wasn't the scariest.

Summary: I think this haunted house is the best. I'd recomend this to anyone who wants a good scare! Worth the money and wait.  
I'll be back next year for more scares! :)

Reviewed by: muskyhunter   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. I've never been before but there were many signs up directing us where to go. There were also flagmen in the parking lot helping you park, very nice.

Wait Entertainment: I wish they would have had more than one guy running around scaring people in the line, but it wasn't bad.

Length of Event: Wait time was 30 minutes with the event lasting 10-15.

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good and stayed in character the whole time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved a little fast for my liking, but we also didn't run into any other groups cuz of the tour guide.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 10+

Props / Special FX: Excellent props, one of the best I've seen.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes weren't as gorey as some places, but not to bad.

Summary: For me Creature's Crypt was more fun than scary, but still a good time. Some people have complained about it not being dark enough, but the city of Bloomington has a fire code restricting them to have a certain about of light in case of an emergency, so it's not their fault. Overall it was a really fun time and I'd like to go again.

Reviewed by: handofsteel   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: was excellant

Wait Entertainment: not hardley a wait

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Summary: THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST ONES IVE BEEN IN IN QUITE AWILE IT HAD SO MUCH STUFF TO SEE YOU WERE SO EXCITED TO SEE WHAT WAS AROUND THE NEXT CORNER,I ALWAYS HAVE TO LEAD SO I FIGURE I WOULDNT GET SCARED BUT I GOT THE CRAP SCARED OUT OF ME

Reviewed by: kjlauritzen   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since they moved, it's not in a prime location as before

Wait Entertainment: We got right in

Length of Event: Long enough. Not too long, not too short

Actor Performance: Okay, Not as scary as last year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good.

Appropriate Ages: any age 6 on up

Props / Special FX: GREAT!!!! One of the best in the state!

Costumes / Make-up: Great too! Very scary individuals

Summary: Could have more characters that could pop out in other spaces. Also, holding on to the rope isn't fun. I think you should let people have a choice in the matter.

Reviewed by: KenP   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a bit hard to find. But once we were on the right road there were lights and signs.

Wait Entertainment: Good. There was a movie with a guy went through some things about the event.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. The people in the murder scene were great. Then they had a HUGE guy that just chased you everywhere. They all did a great job, they looked very cool, they were all in your face and everywhere.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, I could do without the rope though. I would much rather walk on my own. The guide wasn't awful, I'd just rather wander and get a chance to look at the rooms.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The had a ton of props and Special FX. I thought the dog was cool, though everyone else in my group jumped when that thing came out of the wall when the giant skeleton was chasing us. The rooms are super detailed though... I really wish I could have had more time to look at everything...

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were good. And there were lots of people in makeup. No one had any lame store bought masks.... everything was very well put together.

Summary: What a great show, I want to work here!!!! Not super bloody and gory though, I would like a bit more gory victims/creatures. But, they never once put you in a maze of black walls for 10 minutes and forgot about you. That post about wanting to be in darkness, go to your basement and shut off the lights. LOL.. there.... as for me, I really love that every room is full of stuff to look at. If you want a great, fun scare where they don't make you walk a maze this is it!! Just non-stop something, all the time.  
 
One negative from me. Please, lose the rope.

Reviewed by: ToolboxKilla   (Event Visited: 10/16/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasn't too hard too find.

Wait Entertainment: There were actors to scare those waiting in line. There was also an entertaining video explaining the rules of the house, as well as props.

Length of Event: 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: The actor performance was decent, although it was obvious that not too many were professionals, and many were very young. There were even a couple of girls that could have been older than 7 trapped in a room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You have to hold a rope and follow a guide, so we didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were amazing! Lots of cool animatronics that would quickly shoot out at you. The different settings were well done as also. I was especially impressed with the scene where you walk through a shadowly london-esque ally while a woman screams that someone is going to kill her. Then Jack the Ripper comes out and does just that. Very impressive. There was also a technically-cool scene in which a giant animatronic sphinx head speaks to your group before you go into the mummy's lair. It wasn't very scary, but it was entertaining.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were well-done. I especially enjoyed the 'tall' monsters that would reach down and touch your head with bony hands. It was very amusing.

Summary: This is a very decent haunted attraction. It was worth the 8 dollars I spent, because I told them that I heard about them from Haunted Illinois. I cannot emphasize, however, how much the rope lessened the fun-factor of the house. There were six of us attatched to a small rope, and every time we made our way around a corner, the rope would go very tight and dig into our sides. It really was the major flaw of this haunt. It was sort of sad, because this house has such huge potential. If Creature's Crypt could either loose the rope or find a more efficient way to employ the rope, I would give this house a 9/10. But as it stands now: 7/10. Go to see some Great animatronics!

Reviewed by: priceplace   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very good directional signs

Wait Entertainment: even thought we had "r.i.p." tickets and were able to get to the front of the line. If we hadn't, I'd say about 1/2 hour.

Length of Event: 8 min. (since I didn't have to wait in line)

Actor Performance: they did pretty good. Although I thought they could of done better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had to stop serveral times because of the group ahead of us. The grim reaper tour guide did walk a bit too fast.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: I love the tall skeleton dude. And when he touched my should with his hands, really felt life like-real boney!

Costumes / Make-up: tall skeleton dude kool! little girls in waiting room kool and scary like.

Summary: This to my opinion was a ok haunted house. It would of been better if it were darker, where you'd have to feel your way around, and not having your grim tour guide! 
I did like the zombies in the parking lot--who looked as if they were walking straight into your car (which is a good thing, because cars need to go slow in parking lots>)

Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Liked the "old Factory" scene! Great Location! Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Maybe a 10 minute wait, not long at all. It was the first weekend.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: They were very good! Screamy & all. No one really touched you "witch" is good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, the guide went a little too fast, but understandable to get people through.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 & up.

Props / Special FX: Big tall scary skeleton man freaked me & my friend out.& the sphinx was AWESOME!

Costumes / Make-up: Again, Tall man was great, the rest good too. Closet Monster scared me so I didnt look at him!

Summary: We enjoyed it alot. We put on our own House, so we are picky. These guys did a fantastic job. 2 bony thumbs up! Will probably visit again closer to Haloween! :-)

Reviewed by: Andrea_2006   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I loved the location of the house this year! The outside of the building is almost downright creepy!

Wait Entertainment: Fortunatly for us, we didn't have much of a wait at all. This year there weren't any actors creeping around the line scaring people. However, the building on the inside was eery and set the mood pretty well.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were all really energetic! I escpecially loved the guy in the Toxic Lab and the little girl in the doctors office! They both really got into their characters! All the actors did a great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had to stop serveral times, even though it is a rope guided tour. Although I didn't mind since it gave me more time to look at the sets!

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were awesome! It's always enjoyable to see some of the best sets and props around in a house! The animatronics were all nicely timed out as well.

Costumes / Make-up: No complaints on the make-up or costumes. I liked the vampire's makeup. There were several interesting masks as well.

Summary: Every year I always look forward to going through Creatures Crypt mainly for the amazing set design and use of animatronics. The sets were great as always! I just wish I could stay in each room and really admire all the hardwork that's put into each one! There's so much detail and talent shown in each room it's a shame the pace is so quick.  
Timeing, engergy level, and mood setting were all done well. My favorite room was probably the castle. I love how they take advantage of not having a low ceiling to work with, and this scene, like many, had very tall walls and detailed props to look up at.  
Even though I don't find this house extremly scary, it's still entertaining and a fun way to spend time with your friends.

Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It would have been more difficult to find if I had went by myself, but I was people who live in Bloomington and knew how to get there.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was short. While we waited, there was a video playing of the haunted house rules. The video was quite amusing.

Length of Event: 8-10 minutes, depending on the tour guide.

Actor Performance: The actors did very well. They seemed pretty prepared and knew when we were coming. I was only a little dissapointed because I was first and didn't get jumped out at by the "monsters" as much as the person right behind me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You had to keep the same pace as your tour guide. The pace was a little fast for my taste as I would've liked a little more time to look at each scene.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for ages 8 to adult. Anyone under the age of 13 should probably be accompanied by an adult. There was a tour guide the whole time and it was light enough to see as you walk through.

Props / Special FX: There were these skeleton hands that came down from the ceiling and touched my head. I wasn't expecting it and I thought it was very original and effective. 
 
At the end of the haunted house, just when I thought it was over, they had a very large prop that came down from the ceiling and came at you. It was very effective and I was impressed.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good, but would have been more effective if it was darker.

Summary: Overall, I think it was worth the $8 I paid to get in (I told them I heard about them from Haunted Illinois and got the $2 discount). I liked the length of the haunted house, but I do wish it would have been darker and we didn't have a tour guide. I think it would have made the experience more scary.  
 
There were some scenes that I really liked, including one where there was a crazy doctor /mad scientist operating on a body. As he was asking us if we wanted him to operate on us, a prop that I think was a snake shot up and sprinkled us with a little bit of water. It was a tiny amount, but it was enough to surprise me.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at