Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2005 Visitor Reviews Submitted by Hard2scare

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)
Reviewed by: HARD2SCARE   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right next to Hollywood casino

Wait Entertainment: VERY GOOD! They were actually chasing a group of kids up and down the stairs!

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: VERY "ON" timing was great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the kid.........10+ maybe

Props / Special FX: Great

Costumes / Make-up: Great

Summary: Wow! I went the first year they opened and I didn't like it much.....but WOW did they improve!!!! Me & my boyfriend were going to the casino and figured we would give them another try and bot am I glad we did! Half the time I couldn't tell what was props and who were the actors! They were GREAT! I jumped SEVERAL times! Kudos guys, GREAT JOB! Sorry to hear it's your last year....maybe you'll change your mind???? I would DEFINITELY COME BACK! Thanks for the scares and congrats!

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prision (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/07/05 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Didn't see the sign until I was right on it. Had to do a u-turn.

Wait Entertainment: Great. Actors walking around everywhere.

Length of Event: 30 in the prison. 15 in house of dead

Actor Performance: GREAT! Everyone was on!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. In large groups in the beginning, but then broken up. Very good job!

Appropriate Ages: This house is not for children. Very intense and vulger.

Props / Special FX: Great effects in the clown room. My favorite this year was the insane asylum.

Costumes / Make-up: Great

Summary: Much bang for your buck! I was very impressesed this year. I didn't want to go this year because it felt like it was always the same and I wasn't scared. Kudos to the guy I talked to last weekend at Dreamreapers. He is an actor at Statesville and told me that they had everything new this year. If it wasn't for our conversation, I wouldn't have gone this year! (He also told me about the website...BTW...great teaser!)I absolutely loved the insane asylum. I walked into a couple of walls!! GREAT effect!! My only complaint would be in some parts (house of the dead) it was TOO dark to see the actors.... Other than that...great job and I look foward to next year!

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Sign and 2 "Air Ghosts" make it very visible.

Wait Entertainment: Great. 3 or 4 actors walking the line. More detailed waiting area this year.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great! Everyone was on-que and always stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Let us in 2 at a time. Ran into a couple people in the maze, but lost them...

Appropriate Ages: Depends on your child. I would say 13+

Props / Special FX: GREAT! Everything is very detailed. I am always amazed at the cemetary. It smells like you are outside!

Costumes / Make-up: Great, again very detailed.

Summary: Dreamreapers was great. Still my fav! The detail in every scene is just fantastic! My favorite scene is the hillbilly house, I'm so glad you kept it from last year! The elevator was a cool addition. Definitely worth the money! Great job as always. Thanks.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: OK. Needs more signs on all surrounding roads.

Wait Entertainment: Good. Early in the season so only about a 5 minute wait.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great. Really interactive this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Never ran into another couple.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on child. I would say 12+

Props / Special FX: Great! Lots of detail. Of course the one-of-a-kind "Buried Alive" scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Great as in previous years! Very detailed, scary, gore.

Summary: Overall experience was great. The actors and actreses are all on-Que. Got me to jump a couple of times. Detailed scenes. Worth the drive and the money.

Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour Haunted House (Downers Grove, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Hard2scare   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Hard to find. No signs from the road.It's in the middle of a parking lot. Hint: Look for the Cub foods and White Castle.

Wait Entertainment: Since it was early in the season, there was only about a 5 minute wait, however the "door man" was VERY entertaining. :0)

Length of Event: Only 2 of the 4 events were open. It took maybe 15 minutes????

Actor Performance: Very entertaining. Not so much scary as it was funny!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Didn't run into another set of people.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 7 and up.It depends on your child. Like I said it wasn't to scary.

Props / Special FX: I'm guessing this is their first year at this location. Looks like it needs a little more work. Like I said only 2 out of the 4 were open so probably will be better later in the season.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, not to much detail.

Summary: Entertaining and funny. The actors were more funny than scary. I went on Saturday Oct 1st and only 2 of the four events were open. So they said they would not punch our tickets and we could come back after next week and see all 4 events on that ticket (which was cool). This would be a good family outing.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at