Site Sponsors

Terror on the Railroad Haunted Attraction - Union, Illinois
Fear City - Morton Grove, Illinois
Baldwin Asylum - Rantoul, Illinois
Fables Studios Haunted Attraction - Morton Grove, Illinois

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2005 Visitor Reviews Submitted by theblackpope

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Henry Street Horrors (Pontiac, Illinois)
Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/29/05 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am originally from Pontiac, so I had no problem finding the location. It may be a little more difficult for someone who does not know the area very well.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was good and consisted of many different characters. There were characters outside where you buy the tickets and also characters inside where you wait in line.

Length of Event: 10 minutes for the haunted house. 10-20 minutes for the haunted maze depending on how lost you get.

Actor Performance: Actor performances were good, especially in the haunted maze.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good. We had a large group and we never ran into any other groups. The haunted house had a buzzer to let the person taking tickets know when it was time to let another group in.

Appropriate Ages: The haunted house is appropriate for all ages, as long as there is an adult with smaller children. The haunted maze is appropriate for older children and adults as the scare factor is much higher.

Props / Special FX: They had some original props that I was impressed with. There was a scene with spiders all over the room, which was very original. I have to been a lot of haunted houses and this was the first one with a spider scene. They had a huge spider on the ceiling that came down when you weren’t expecting it.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were ok, most were costumes of different characters from horror movies, such as Jason, Freddy, etc.

Summary: There were 3 different events at this location. For $7, you get admission to the haunted house, haunted maze, and a hayride. I definitely think it was worth the low price.  
 
We went through the haunted house first and the scare factor was pretty low. There was a scene where you go through and the “monsters” grab at you and actually tore someone from my group’s jacket and broke the zipper.  
 
I was very impressed with the haunted maze. That was the best event at this location. The scare factor was much higher and it is pretty difficult to get through it. They had a lot of wrong turns with many different characters to scare you along the way and it was extremely easy to get separated from the rest of your group. The room that sticks out the most in my mind is the room full of doors. We had to figure out which door opened to let us out. A guy with a chainsaw came out while we were fiddling with all the doors, which made it much scarier and was too much for some of the people in my group. 3 of the doors opened, but 2 led you the wrong way and you ended up right back in the same room. My group got a little frustrated and I had to ask the guy with the chainsaw which door was the right one and he had to point to the right door. 
 
The haunted maze was definitely the best part. I think the haunted maze was worth $7 by itself. If you are in the Pontiac area, this is THE Halloween event to be at. 

Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/22/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was not familiar with the area and I thought it was pretty easy to find. The drive for me was about 40 minutes and I don't think it was worth the drive.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was the best part. They stayed in character and were also quite amusing. One guy threw a fake cockroach on the ground and hit it with a hammer, then pretended to eat it. He also hid behind things and jumped out trying to scare people.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or less.

Actor Performance: I was not impressed by the actors’ performances. A lot of the actors were little kids, which doesn't scare me in the least. Most of it was actors screaming, "Get out of my house".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good, since we never ran into another group. I didn't like having to go through it with other people though.

Appropriate Ages: 12+, it would be younger, but there was a topless prop.

Props / Special FX: Only a few things actually stood out to me. They had a round room that spun and you had to walk through it. It actually made me dizzy. This is in many haunted houses though, so it wasn't very original.  
 
They also had some props that sprayed you with some water. I went through some of the haunted house with wet pant legs.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of the costumes and makeup were poor. There were a few masks that were interesting (such as the clown), but overall I was not impressed.

Summary: I was very disappointed with this haunted house. There were supposed to be two, which included Rot and X-Chaos, but X-Chaos was closed for some reason. Rot was very short and lasted 10 minutes at the most.  
 
The best part was the beginning, when this guy led you to the house. He walked similar to a zombie and was dragging a shovel. When everyone got inside the house, he told us, “You’re on your own, I’m getting out of here”, and he ran out really fast. 
 
Overall, there were a few good things about the haunted house, but mostly it was predictable and not very original. If I would have known that X-Chaos was closed, I wouldn't have driven there and I would have probably spent my money on a much better haunted house.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/15/05 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunted house is located in a tiny little town about 9 miles outside of Dwight. If you sneeze at the wrong time, you will miss the whole town.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment included Leather face and few other guys with masks, but they did very little to try to scare people.

Length of Event: About 8 - 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were a little lacking in performance, but there were a few who did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into the group ahead of us once and had to stand there in the dark for a few minutes waiting.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for all ages. An adult should accompany smaller children.

Props / Special FX: There were more actors than special effects as this was a lower budget haunted house. There were a few special effects that mimicked the larger haunted houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the costumes were good (such as the clown) and some needed a little work. Toward the end, there was a guy in a glowing mask that was kind of lame.

Summary: Overall, there were some things I disliked and some things I really liked about this haunted house. 
 
I didn’t like running into the group of people in front of us and having to stand there and wait, so they need to control the patron flow a little better. I also didn’t like the loud alarms that went off all throughout the house. I assume these were to let the actors know when we were coming.  
 
I did enjoy the fact that this was an old style haunted house where everything is pitch black and you have to navigate through by touching the walls in-between scenes. There was one scene that I particularly thought was really good and that was the clown scene. A clown who had on a very freaky mask ran up to me. As soon as he got up to me, he popped a balloon right by my face. I thought this was very effective and would’ve really scared anyone who may be afraid of clowns. He was aggressive and I thought he was the best actor in the whole haunted house.  
 
Overall, this haunted house was definitely worth the $6 I paid to get in. 

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prision (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are no signs before you get to the actual place. We had to do a u-turn and go back. It looks more like a farm selling pumpkins.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great. They did a great job of getting you in the mood from the very beginning. Several characters walked through the line and popped their heads through the side of the tent.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes for Statesville Prison. About 15 minutes for City of the Dead.

Actor Performance: They actors were aggressive and stayed in character the whole time. There was good timing and interaction between scares and screams. If there wasn't a prop/special effects, there was an actor to scare or surprise you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They did exceptionally well with the flow. You went in very large groups, but it made sense since you stood in a "prison" formation at the beginning. It was timed really well as we went through the houses, especially when our group would be seperated and then reunite several twists and turns later.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 or older. This haunted house is not for children. Actors are purposely derogatory to coincide with the mood and theme. The group before us had a young boy and it was too frightening for him.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were absolutely amazing. I don't want to spoiled all the fun, but I really liked how in both haunted houses, several actors were wearing rigs so that they were suspended in the air above you. In the very beginning of Statesville, they had a guy in an electric chair getting electrocuted. In the beginning of City of the Dead, they had a huge animatronic monster that looked similar to Nemesis from Resident Evil: Apocalypse.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were fantastic. There was a guy doing wait entertainment that really freaked everyone out. He looked like a huge executioner, except he didn't have an axe; he had a giant mallet. He didn't speak, he just stared at you. Just his presence was terrifying.

Summary: There is no other haunted house like this one. This is truly a one of a kind. I am an avid haunted house goer and I found Statesville Prison to be the scariest haunted house I have ever been to.  
 
The "insane asylum" scene was very interesting. They had plexiglass walls on both sides and the "patients" were banging on the walls so hard you could feel it as you walked through.  
 
Another memorable scene was the "clown" scene. If you are afraid of clowns, beware. They had some very freaky makeup and masks in this scene.  
 
I also liked how the floor and walls would change as you walked through Statesville. One hallway would start out a normal height and end very short. Another would start as a normal width and end very thin. Some floors led upward while some downward. This was very effective.  
 
There are so many things going on around you at this haunted house that you can't even take it all in. It was definitely worth the $25 and I would go through it again in a heartbeat.

Event Reviewed: Creatures Crypt (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: theblackpope   (Event Visited: 10/01/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It would have been more difficult to find if I had went by myself, but I was people who live in Bloomington and knew how to get there.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was short. While we waited, there was a video playing of the haunted house rules. The video was quite amusing.

Length of Event: 8-10 minutes, depending on the tour guide.

Actor Performance: The actors did very well. They seemed pretty prepared and knew when we were coming. I was only a little dissapointed because I was first and didn't get jumped out at by the "monsters" as much as the person right behind me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You had to keep the same pace as your tour guide. The pace was a little fast for my taste as I would've liked a little more time to look at each scene.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for ages 8 to adult. Anyone under the age of 13 should probably be accompanied by an adult. There was a tour guide the whole time and it was light enough to see as you walk through.

Props / Special FX: There were these skeleton hands that came down from the ceiling and touched my head. I wasn't expecting it and I thought it was very original and effective. 
 
At the end of the haunted house, just when I thought it was over, they had a very large prop that came down from the ceiling and came at you. It was very effective and I was impressed.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good, but would have been more effective if it was darker.

Summary: Overall, I think it was worth the $8 I paid to get in (I told them I heard about them from Haunted Illinois and got the $2 discount). I liked the length of the haunted house, but I do wish it would have been darker and we didn't have a tour guide. I think it would have made the experience more scary.  
 
There were some scenes that I really liked, including one where there was a crazy doctor /mad scientist operating on a body. As he was asking us if we wanted him to operate on us, a prop that I think was a snake shot up and sprinkled us with a little bit of water. It was a tiny amount, but it was enough to surprise me.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.