Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2005 Visitor Reviews Submitted by meg0527

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/28/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: more signs this year, if you don't know the area could be hard to spot.

Wait Entertainment: As usual the wait entertainment was awesome! they changed up the scence inside the waiting area this year, the wall was full of artwork that was really cool, but the old stuff was still there, pumpkin head, hangman etc.

Length of Event: line 2hours (flew by) and the house probably 10, actually did not have to wait for burried alive

Actor Performance: Great This is one of my favorite houses, the actors are great, they stay in character pretty much but if they don (which is rare) they are so funny!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think the group behind us was running because they caught up to us way to quickly, we never ran into the the group in front of us!

Appropriate Ages: It says above 12. And with the graphic movie clips they play in the waiting room I would not bring them, if you do make sure they dont notice the movies playing!

Props / Special FX: rooms were a little bare this year, not sure why? the 3D area was much bigger than i remember last years being, the vortex was the best with the 3D!

Costumes / Make-up: I think they have the best make-up out of all the houses i have been too. everyone was different and had costumes to match. And Patch is still my favorite!

Summary: I have been going here for the past 5 years and absolutely love it! I am not sure why there was not as much detail this year, some rooms seemed kinda empty. I was also upset that in buried alive they had us stand! that has never happened before. hopefully if your going for the first time they will do it the right way so you get the full experience. If you want scares this is the place to go!

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prision (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/21/05 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Has signs on side of the road before the location that are not lit up, but when I went there was a cop car out side the enterance so it was easier to find.

Wait Entertainment: none really, blarring music by white stripes and marilyn manson seemed to be the pick! a couple small t.v's that were showing clips of things from the house. A guy carrying a wodden hammer, not very scary.

Length of Event: line moved quickly since when we got there people were lined up, all the way down the parking lot. wait about hour and a half to 2 hours. first house about 15 minutes and the second about 10.

Actor Performance: actors seemed tired, we were one of the last groups to go through and it seemed that a lot of the actors were already gone. the ones that were still there were decent, but like I said they were probably tired

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not very good. They mush you into groups and lines and send you through about 8 at a time and don't space the groups out very well. I got separated from my group while being put into these lines, and I caught up to them with out even trying.

Appropriate Ages: under 13 has to have an adult,(says the website) i thinkit's ok for almost anyone.

Props / Special FX: awesome, I think this is the coolest house I have ever been too! It had water fixtures, cool hallways, very well thought out rooms and tunnels.

Costumes / Make-up: I think all of the actors had makeup on, maybe one mask. make up was good, since it was the end of the night.

Summary: I always wanted to go to Statesville to check it out, heard it was good, had a lot of clowns which scare the bejesus out of me, but I was dissappointed when I went through the clown room, there were two clowns, and they were'nt even scary! This is one of the longest haunted houses I have been in, so that is why you pay more. The scenes are great, and if we weren't one of the last groups out then I'm sure the performance would have been better. You do have to crouch down in a lot of places, and walk through very, very narrow hallways, there in a triangle shape,so if you have a bad back or are very clausterphobic(however you spell it) then you might not want to come here. City of the dead is the second attraction, it was o.k, just alot of screaming in your face, not really scary, could be better. all in all I have been to many houses and Statesville is definately the best for scences, scares not so much. my favorite actor was the guy in the white room with the english accent, very good!

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: MEG0527   (Event Visited: 10/14/05 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once on Cornell you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was great, the psych pateint and the chainsaw guys were great. The guy with the farret looking thing was funny!

Length of Event: line about 45minutes, house was about 10.

Actor Performance: actors were really great, stayed in character. I woyuld have to agree with what someone else wrote about the kids, they were not scary, but the ones in the house they were creepy, because they were quite.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we were flowing pretty well, we had a group of ten so i have no idea if anyone ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: not terribly scary, so i Think 12 and up would work, depending on your children.

Props / Special FX: scenes were great Texas chainsaw was my favorite one.

Costumes / Make-up: some were excellent and others need work.

Summary: In conculsion, this house was pretty good, i've been to many haunted houses, now that I'm 24 it takes a little more to scare me. Dreams reapers did a good job. I thought that most of the actors outside and in line were more scary than the ones on the inside, but that chainsaw will get you everytime! I was suprised to not see many clowns. Get there early if you do not want to wait in line forever. My group got there at 9, we waited 45 minutes, when we left the line was all the way to North ave!  
If your big on deatiled scenes and props this is the place for you.

Event Reviewed: Six Flags Fright Fest (Gurnee, Illinois)
Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/08/05 @ 3:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/05
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's Great America, you can't miss it!

Wait Entertainment: actors all over the park. mainly in necropolis though.

Length of Event: hours of operation: 5-11 on Fridays 10-11 on Saturdays and 10-9 on Sundays

Actor Performance: all actors i came accross stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: n/a

Appropriate Ages: not real young ones but maybe 7 and up.

Props / Special FX: When you first walk into the park the fountain that is in the entrance is dyed red and there are is fire and smoke comming out of it, it look pretty cool.whole park was decorated, from changing the name of the rides iron wolf is now iron werewolf and giant drop is now the hellavator etc.. southwest territory had moving skeletons on the balcony. Hometown square is where you will find the area51 aleins and military vechicles. Yukon territory is wehre we will find Necropolis, the haunted city of the dead, a few deatiled scenes along the way i suggest you take a close look at them.

Costumes / Make-up: there makeup and costumes were really good.

Summary: This is a family fun place, so don't expect to be really scared. Fright fest is a fun atmosphere for the Halloween season, you can enjoy all of the rides of the summer and all of the fun of Halloween at the same time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at