Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Raven's Grin Inn (Mount Carroll, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: karenconrad   (Event Visited: 10/23/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A Monday night, so plenty of parking. Easy to find. Good directions on website.

Wait Entertainment: One of the employees directed us to a neighboring tavern while we waited. When our turn came up, she personally walked over to the tavern to get us.

Length of Event: One hour

Actor Performance: Jim, the owner was the primary "actor" and was excellent. He was able to use "adult" humor as appropriate and gauged his performance based on our group's reactions. Great dark humor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A large group had completely finished before we began our tour so this was not an issue.

Appropriate Ages: The tour can be tailored to fit kids through adults

Props / Special FX: Very cool, built entirely by the owner and operator. Again, lots of dark humor as opposed to just guts and gore that you would typically expect

Costumes / Make-up: N/A

Summary: Ravens Grinn is a blast, especially if you have good people in your tour. I went with just my brother and we toured with another group of four, including one patron who should have earned a salary for his own performance/reactions to the tour. There are two slides inside the house that to me were the "main event". Jessica, who assisted with our tour, was AWESOME. She let us know right away that we would have to wait about half an hour and gave great suggestions to pass the time while we waited, and she personally walked to the bar we waited in to let us know they were all set for our tour to begin. The owner, Jim, expertly tailored his own performance to our particular group. Well worth the $10 admission especially considering the tour is an hour long.

Reviewed by: OCTOBER13   (Event Visited: 10/08/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Mapquest will get you there. It's proximity to a creepy junkyard and a cemetary make it ideal.

Wait Entertainment: Lot's of interesting things to look at. Food vendors on site.

Length of Event: About an hour. It really depends how busy they are. If you go during the "off" season you can usually get some personal one on one contact with Jim.

Actor Performance: Very much into their roles. Enjoy freakin' you out as much as you allow them. Sometimes more than you like!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Depends on the number of people. I've been when it's really busy and when it was just my wife and I. When it was busy the size of the group seemed a little large.

Appropriate Ages: It's adaptable to all ages. If it's an older crowd they will cater to it. Younger people in the crowd also get catered to.

Props / Special FX: A work of ART!! Literally.

Costumes / Make-up: Good enough though they're not really needed. The house speaks for itself.

Summary: This is a must see for anyone in a 100 mile radius. The first time my wife and I went I was sceptical but we were up for a road trip in the new car and had found the website for this year round haunted house. We're both kind of creepy (we were married on Friday, October 13, 2000) and appreciate the strange and morbid. 
 
We drove about three hours to get there and the place was dead (mind you it was September). Their wasn't a soul in sight so we rang the buzzer on the Taxi (yeah, I said it right) and we're greeted by this mad scientists calling himself "Jim". He had us wait for our tour because a boy scout troup was due in a few minutes. So we hung around some of the local shops and cooled our heels at a restaraunt and went back at around 7:30 going on 8pm. We were the only ones there. Let me tell you, I'm a big guy and like I said kind of morbid, but this guy was freakin' me out. 
 
As I entered each room I was scanning for exits. There were no actors or fancy make-up; just me, my wife and this creepy guy Jim. It took me awhile to get used to him. 
 
You know how when you find yourself in a potentially bad situation you start to go through your head about what you'll do when the inevitable happens? Yeah, I was there. 
 
By the way, there's enough trapdoors in this place to make a lab rat crazy trying to find the cheese. You'll walk 50 feet down a tunnel having left Jim in the previous room and he'll pop up in front of you. 
 
Seriously, check this place out. I highly recomend it in the off season because like all haunted attractions they get too busy this time of year. If you don't go for the scare at least go and check out the art. Jim's a 3-D artist. Everything he built himself and none of it is like anything you'll ever see again. 
 
OCTOBER13

Reviewed by: AliceCooper   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Mt. Carroll, IL at the end of a dead end street (close to a cemetary).

Wait Entertainment: There is enough to look at on the exterior of the structure to keep you entertained.

Length of Event: 75 minutes

Actor Performance: The tour guides are the actors. They do a remarkable job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since it is a partially guided tour, you rarely run into the group in front of you.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up. It is tailored to the ages within the group.

Props / Special FX: No high tech effects here. You don't need them!

Costumes / Make-up: Tour guides are in character.

Summary: We made a pilgrimage (soon to be annual) from Lake Zurich, IL to Ravenís Grin Inn this year. Now Iím sitting here with the difficult task of trying to describe it. Ravenís isnít your typical blood and guts, ďrun through as fast as you canĒ haunted house (although there may be remnants of guts from the dead tubular meat on the rear bumper of one of the cars). We would describe it more as an artist/storytellerís rendition of a Halloween fun house. Iím not going to go into detail because I donít want to spoil it for everyone. The tour guide may not bring everything to your attention so be sure to keep your eyes open as there are things to look at in every hole, crack and crevice of the house. We went on three tours of the Inn within a 24 hour period and there was something different to see or hear each time. The proprietor of the inn (Jim) has incredible storytelling talents which he incorporates into the tour. Ravens Grin isnít just a Halloween experience. During the on season, there are several talented (and fun) guides that help with tours. If you go during the off season, you will most likely be treated to a full tour lead by Jim himself. We highly recommend a visit to Ravenís Grin Inn. Be sure to bring an open mind and your love of the bizarre. A big thank you to Jim and Jessica from Ravenís for making our visit so much fun.

Reviewed by: rk2004   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This Haunted House is located right in the middle of the town which I Thought was unusual for a hunted house but i got the address and used mapquest. We had no problems finding it then.

Wait Entertainment: no wait entertainment. we had to use a bathroom at a business around the corner. After that we sat in the car and listened to music. They give you a tour time to be back.

Length of Event: About an Hour

Actor Performance: The owner of the house was the only good acting we seen. He gave us a description and history of the house that is really suppose to be haunted. The tour guide was a good comic though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: With having a time for the tour you wouldnt think you would run into the other group but we had to wait for like 5 minutes in a room to get far enough apart.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up, except for some of the jokes

Props / Special FX: the house was chalk full of odds & ends, it was a good ambience in the beginning then they got a little pointless

Costumes / Make-up: nobody was really in costume but the owner & 1 guide who had fantastic make-up

Summary: When we were reading about the house we wanted to be SCARED, but the only thing that saved the house was a slide from the third floor to the wine cellar below the basement. That was fun but they warn you people have broken bones while freaking out going down it. A good place for family fun but not to get the crap scared out of you.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at