Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon Of Doom & Internal Nightmare Haunts (Grayslake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: supercreep   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the signs were not the best lit but the fair grounds had signs of their own that were very visible so it evened itself out

Wait Entertainment: it was really thought out by the staff. there were many things to keep your eyes entertained and a veriety of actors, each able to stand on its own. even the person taking the money and giving out the tickets was in character. They had a graveyard and open casket scene along the far wall that seemed to have a life of its own as it shifted and changed (through lighting effects) as you waited. the 3 tv screens was a great idea especially because 1 showed a hidden camera from inside the house.

Length of Event: half an hour or so in total.

Actor Performance: the actors were really spectacular.some you could tell had honed their characters quite well over the years (like the jester and clown).Even the fresh brand new characters up front like the spikey guy or the other creature guy were very three dimensional and great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty decent flow except it isnt really the haunt that has a flow issue it is the people going through it. some girls would run through it do to fear while others would be so scared they would go at a snails pace

Appropriate Ages: they arent lying when they say not recomended for anyone under 12. The guy out front that prepares us to enter really had some dirty humor and disgusting tricks up his sleve that a younger child should not be subject to.

Props / Special FX: they were great......none were really THAT cheezy and most all were acompanied by an actor that really steped up the interactivness of the room.

Costumes / Make-up: really great the most masks I saw were in the internal nightmare and even thouse were slim to none. many of the actors you would think that it was their real face.

Summary: Overall I think it was a great haunt. I dont know why people think that it is the same as other years. yes ok there were a few props that were the same but they were presented in new and different ways. and they had some new stuff too that I guess people over looked. like the spandex wall. or the bloody mary room............all I have to say about that room is ull never look at a mirror the same way again. The shock therapy was very stratling and unexpected.I cant wait to see what they have next year

Reviewed by: 2Scurred   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find, I went on the web page before going to the haunted house and there was a helpful link to mapquest!! The directions and the signs that dispite what others say made it very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: GREAT!!! i loved to see all the little gurls getting tormented by the actors. They scared the crap out of me so thank god they stayed by the screaming frantic girls

Length of Event: 20 min???

Actor Performance: CRAZYYY....from the acotrs outside which were amazing to the ones inside that scared the heck outa ya. one of the guys trapped one of the people in my group in the corner. It was awesome!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good!! They made it seem like we were the only ones in there!!

Appropriate Ages: 12+ i guess

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. Before we even got in the haunted house there was so much to see in the waiting area. I mean the stuff looked so real, like the hanging guy before you got in. Honestly how many haunted houses do you actually walk into a sculls mouth to go in??? common that was awesome!!

Costumes / Make-up: Crazy...I really only remember the guys outside because i closed my eyes everytime a guy inside the haunted house would come at me but from the Clowns & Jester to Jason and the crazy priest inside it was frieken awesome. Everyones makeup looked so real including the cool lady that sold me my ticket!!

Summary: This is the greatest one ive been too. You can tell fromt he props to the actors that this was really well put together. Nothing like your average haunted house they put together in a barn and chase you around with a chainsaw .....this one is the real deal. Worth every penny and the wait!!! Ill be back next year!!

Reviewed by: sis1220   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at the lake county fair grounds off of 120.... there are signs but they are hard to see at night..

Wait Entertainment: the wait was long but it was funny seeing all of the little girls getting scared of the monsters

Length of Event: it was about 30 mins depending how fast you run or walk

Actor Performance: the performance was not that good because the monsters were asking all of my friends thier numbers and they just would follow us until another monster came out...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was good cuz it was a straight path through it all

Appropriate Ages: i would say 12 because my 24 year old friends got freaked out

Props / Special FX: the props were good but while the wait there is a coffin and your supose to touch it but you dont know that because there is no sign saying touch me or die

Costumes / Make-up: the makeup was good but the costumes didnt really go with it because some of thier faces were bright and thier cloths were black

Summary: it was an ok haunted house but i didnt get very scared because the actors were not on there game the day i went but my boyfriend went another day and said it was great but he is a chicken so i dont know

Reviewed by: thisguy   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was pretty dificult to see and I know where the fairgrounds are at Maybe they should invest in a light up sign I mean come on guys. It's dark out and you have a black sign.

Wait Entertainment: This was my favorite part. We spent like 2 hours in line but it felt more like 1 at most.The outside actors were a thrill for sure. The clown and the Jester which if you see the poorly lit signs of them in the alley thier names are Jerk and Dozer. Jerk who is the jester lives up to his name. These guys are the #1 reason why you dont bring your kids there. They are just insane. For example. There was a gang banger looking guy behind us with like 5 of his friends two of them were girls. The 2 clowns were acompanied by what seemed to be an endless army of gouhly charectors. the Jester and the clown were walking up and down the line only stopping when they desired they really had awsome acting abilities becouse they acted completely how they looked. They were out there to entertain us yet they seamed disinterested in the whole crowd at least that's what you think. They walked past us and I noticed that the jester had cleverly almost sly like put a maxi-pad with the word nancy boy written in blood on my brothers back and my brother had it on all the way untill he got home lol good job Jerk. so they walked up on the gang banger guys and one of em said under his breath I kick thier a## if they come over here. Well I think they both have great hearing cause they stopped dead in thier tracks and Jerk said "Who is the pansy that has raisins for nuts to say that while I'm walking away" none of them said anything infact the one that did wouldnt even make eye contact. Jerk who is extrememly intimidating looking by the way got right in to his face and asked when the last time the guy had a diaper change cause it smelled like he was way over due. These guys definately you dont want to mess with the clown is just as snotty if not intentionally trying to piss people off although he seems to enjoy every minute of it and Jerk he just seems always pissed off no matter what. Oh and Jerk despite what the guy said to you about you having bad breath I think you smelled more like cough drops lol. I love these guys and they are my favorite every year.

Length of Event: About 20 minuts???

Actor Performance: SPACTACULAR!!!! the guys inside were just as intense as the ones outside just with less lines lol.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: actually it kind of sucked but I blame the people for that the ones beihind us cought up cause they were running through and almost ran us over and the ones in front moved verry slow so we ended up being one giant groupe for a little while till the actors figure it out and split us up which they did cleverly cause they still stayed in charector.

Appropriate Ages: well if your gonna be in line and see the clowns I'd say 18+ they can get pretty crude but they are worth seeing in action, Iside the haunte dhouse probly 13+

Props / Special FX: the props were neet but I got to be honest they didnt seem to be scary or even working some of them.

Costumes / Make-up: Never seen this kind of quality make-up the clowns and other actors had on masks but they didnt seem to be like strapped on they almsot seemd glued on and like those masks were thier acutall faces. Neet by far they guys inside had severe road rash and verry good make-up I was impressed.

Summary: I have read some other reviews I gotta say I don't understand these guys changed a lot from last year and if you can't tell you need to get your eyes checked. The actors get more intense and in your face every year it's like they just pump themselves up durring the ofseason to release it for one month lol. I love it guys and I will come back again before the season and every year since.

Reviewed by: spudley   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not the most obvious entrance at night, but we managed to find it without much trouble.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was excellent. About 5 actors outside terrorizing patrons, along with several in the inside wait area. There were lots of decorations/props etc. to set the mood while waiting as well. There were some carnival type games outside, and TV screens showing movies inside. Overall, quite a bit to keep you from getting bored while you wait.

Length of Event: It seemed pretty lengthy, maybe 20 minutes for the house and 5 minutes for the Internal Nightmare.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were pretty good, staying in character most of the time and having good timing on the scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good, and we didn't have a problem running into others.

Appropriate Ages: I brought my 10-year-old daughter, and it seemed ok for her. I wouldn't bring anyone much younger, and they recommended 12 and over at the ticket booth.

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of solid props and effects, which were well placed, including a number of animatronics which popped out very close to you, as well as some good ones in the "Exorcist" room. The spinning vortex was very effective. Buried Alive was also a great effect.

Costumes / Make-up: There was a nice mix of make-up and masks, and the costumes seemed appropriate and well done.

Summary: Overall, I thought it was a very good haunt. It lasted a good length of time and had plenty of actors, effects, and animatronics. The wait entertainment was abundant, and I must specifically mention the tall monster in the wait area who really got a good scare on dozens of patrons. I really liked the vortex, Buried Alive, and the Exorcist. There were lots of well-timed scares, too. I would definitely go again next year.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Even after visiting this attraction for several years now, I still found it hard to find--they didn't have clearly visible signs indicating a haunted house from the main road (although there was a sign posted partway down the side road)

Wait Entertainment: I think this is one of their better areas. They had (professional looking) characters interacting with the audience, who seemed very committed to their performance--for example one character would violently slide on his knees toward unsuspecting patrons. In the main waiting room, they had a lot of props to set the scene and 3 monitors showing movies and patrons moving inside the house.

Length of Event: I'm guessing about 25 minutes if you include the "Internal Nightmare" portion of the event

Actor Performance: mixed--there were some great actors, but then some others just appeared to be pushing our groups along (felt a little like cattle). It was a busy night and we had a long wait, but after such a long wait in line I expected a lot more from them (especially having seen their better years in the past)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fair to poor. As I said above, there were portions of the house in which we were pretty much herded through the house. I'd also like to mention that I'm on the shorter side, but yet I was put in the back of a large crowd for the opening possession scene--I wasn't able to see a thing. I started out the house feeling very frustrated and disappointed. I am an avid haunted house patron, but I missed out on part of the experience. Very frustrating. One other thing to mention is the "buried alive" portion of the house--they didn't care where we were positioned when the "burial" began--I had other patrons shoving me forward from the wall as the room was overfilled with patrons for the space that it allowed. I don't want to go into too much detail, so as to not give away the experience, but I was again disappointed this year in how they handled this part of the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up?

Props / Special FX: They had some good props/effects--I think they spend a nice amount of their budget on the props, which was I think the redeeming factor this year for me. However, another part I'd like to mention is that every year they have handed out 3D glasses to the patrons during the 3D portion of the house--except this one. I think this is partly why it felt like we were herded through. The 3D portion of the house was pretty disappointing when you can't view it the way they intended. I guess I should also mention the second house, although it was little more than a glorified "moon bounce" maze--I think this part of the house could have been ommitted.

Costumes / Make-up: Great--I thought overall the makeup jobs and costumes were done professionally.

Summary: Overall, this house was a disappointment for me, as this is my 5th year attending it and I was able to compare their performance in past years. I have driven each year about 1-1 1/2 hours each way to attend this house and in the past I felt the drive, price, and wait were worth it. This year was disappointing in that I wasn't even able to see all of the scenes (ie. opening scene due to being short and in the back row of a group of at least 20), felt rushed through portions of the house, and wasn't able to view the full "effects" of the house due to a lack of 3D glasses this year.

Reviewed by: ONEofTHEM   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I GO EVERY YEAR... WHEN YOUR A FAN YOU KNOW WHERE TO GO.

Wait Entertainment: WAY MORE DETAILED THAN LAST YEAR.. I LOVED THE LIVE FOOTAGE OF THE PEOPLE INSIDE. AND IT SEEMED LIKE THEY UP'ED THE NUMBER OF OUT-SIDE SCARERS

Length of Event: THE DUNGEON WAS MAYBE 25 MINUTES. AND THE GIANT WAS PROBABLY 10...

Actor Performance: IT SEEMED AS THOUGH THE ACTORS WERE PUTTING ON A SHOW... LIKE A CHAIN-SAW MUSICAL! THEY CAME OUT OF CORNERS AND CELINGS AND WALLS. I HAD A HARD TIME PREDICTING WHERE THEY WERE COMMING FROM.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: THE GROUP BEHIND US RAN INTO US... AND THEY ALMOST PASSED US. BUT WE ALL STAIED AS ONE GROUP. THAT DIDNT EFFECT THE SCARE, EVERYONE WAS GETTING SOME TYPE OF FRIGHTENING ATTENTION...

Appropriate Ages: NOTHING LESS THAN MIDDLE SCHOOL. THIS PLACE IS KINDA VISUALLY REALISITC AND COULD PROBABLY SCAR A LITTLE KID

Props / Special FX: ALMOST EVERY ROOM HAD SOMETHING MECHANICAL. AND EVERY ROOM WAS FILLED WITH PROPS. NOT AN EMPTY SPOT ON THE WALL. I DID THINK THE FIRST ROOM PROP COULD GO WAY FASTER THO...

Costumes / Make-up: EVERY CHARACTER WAS IN PROSTICS AND STUFF... THE MAKE UP WAS DONE WELL. I DONT REMEMBER SEEING ANY TACKY MASKS. SO I GUESS IT WASNT APPARENT.

Summary: GREAT. I HAD A LOT OF FUN. ILL BE BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR. ITS A FUN PLACE TO GET SPOOKED, AND ME KNOWING WHAT I WAS IN STORE FOR WAS A GOOD THING. THE PRICE WAS A BIT HIGHER BUT YOU ALSO GOT A SECOND HAUNT FOR IT. THANKS FOR THE HARD DEDICATED WORK GUYS!

Reviewed by: kiimberly69   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was very easy to find and there was good parking too!!

Wait Entertainment: In the haunted house they had t.vs with movies on and outside they had games outside for you to play after the thing ended!And out there in the lobby or room tht you wait in they had a scare camera that showed you the people that went in before you get csared and stuff!!IT WAS AWSOME!!

Length of Event: It lasted bout 35 to 40 minutes!

Actor Performance: The actors were awsome and they were good at this!They all knew how and were good at scaring people!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the haunted house the flow was okay but at lyke the middle we met up with the group!!but it was fun!

Appropriate Ages: i say you have to go with a parent!Id say people under 12 go with parent or get the f scared out of you!!

Props / Special FX: They had the most realistic props and effects in everyroom!!It almost looked real!Especially in the room that spins or look like it going to tunr over!

Costumes / Make-up: They had the most real looking makeup ever...i asked one dude if it was real cuz i mean it looked sooo good and not fake you could pass it up for real!

Summary: In the clown room they had this dude pop out with a chainsaw and scare the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of everyone!it was awsome n then theres a dot room with a person tht you cant see that jumps out of nowhere and freaking scares you half to death!!!But i think my favorite thing was buried alive!!

Reviewed by: crzyj1987   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it's the lake county fairgrounds, if you get lost stop at a gas station because they know where it is

Wait Entertainment: raw, crazy these guys are on their game they know what to do

Length of Event: about 20 to 35 minutes depending on how long u take in the haunted houses

Actor Performance: the guys outside are pyscho. but the guys inside need medication like the clown with the chainsaw internal nightmare was confusing because the walls move and make u move close to the wall (i mean really close)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: besides the begining and the end i really didnt see anybuddy

Appropriate Ages: kids under 10 yrs please go in with your parents and don't let go of them no matter what

Props / Special FX: i am not really into props but with the right combo of human interaction and the use of the props u will get a horrifying experience

Costumes / Make-up: the make-up was crazy i thought one guy wiped out a motorcycle on concrete

Summary: for the ticket price it was worth it but u better come to be scared and have fun otherwise these guys are psychotic and they will do anything to get u to leave there with ur pants soiled

Reviewed by: tiggs516   (Event Visited: 10/01/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since I know where the fairgrounds are and drive by regularly during daylight hours, I knew where to turn in. however, at night, if I didn't know where I was going I would not have knwon where to turn.... needs more lighting on the signs outside.

Wait Entertainment: Decent. Didn't seem very into their roles. Glanced at us, tried to get a scare out of us, then wandered away.

Length of Event: 15 minutes??

Actor Performance: Poor. Most of them stood there and glared at us. A few were strong. The clown was a little weak, could have gotten more into his character. Jumped out at us and then almost immediately lost interest in us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: Props are nice, but too much stopping us to look at them. One or two large props are fun, but other than that, it just gets boring. Spend half your time watching something twitch. Plus, as in previous years, I was almost hit by one of them. The actors need to work a little harder on group control and keeping people out of the way of the prop.

Costumes / Make-up: No complaints here!! Costumes and makeup looked excellent!

Summary: Overall, I was not nearly as impressed with Dungeon of Doom as I have been in previous years. The actors seemed even more out of touch than last year. Also, the stopped to watch props thing is not scary. And the ball room/whatever you call it is getting old. Neat effect, but for return customers like me, it's just not scary anymore. That and getting beaned in the head with plastic balls is not really my idea of a good time anymore. Some actos were very into their characters, however, some seemed like they could care less. Just flip a switch and let us watch the prop. Overall? I think Dungeon of Doom is losing its appeal. it's just not fresh anymore. Maybe time for a bigger overhaul? 
 
Internal Nightmare, well, that was just pointless. Boring, quiet, too much fog, actors pusing walls into you and knocking you over, and maybe what 4 actors? That's about all I can say on that one.

Reviewed by: capracas   (Event Visited: 10/22/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We got a bit lost, but didnt really know our way around the area. The signs on the road to turn into the fairgrounds were very visible.

Wait Entertainment: I thought this part was very good, good atmosphere, the door man was funny in a creepy sort of way...definitely amusing!

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes depending on how fast you want to go through it.

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good, honestly though, the doorman was my favorite!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Average, I think this all depends on where you are in line & who is in front of you, we ran into the people in front of us several times...but I think thats to be expected.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Summary: Overall I thought this was a pretty good haunted house, we really only go to 1 a year so I dont have many to compare it to. The wait was only like 15 minutes and cost $14, so I would definitely say worth it! I think I expected more out of the "buried alive" portion, but it was still pretty freaky. I would say if you live close by, check it out, but if you've got to drive like an hour (as we did) check out some other options.

Reviewed by: SCAREFREAK1   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was pretty hard to find if you dont know where the fair grounds are. once you figure out where to turn in, its like a find it yourself..

Wait Entertainment: eh okay. one person gets up in your face which was okay. not too great though. didnt get too scared.

Length of Event: about 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: not what i expected at all!! same thing as always

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: groups caught up way to quickly!

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: too many animatronics!!!! almost got hit a few times by some of them.

Costumes / Make-up: pretty generic.

Summary: overall it was average i guess. im not going to be going again though thats for sure. they keep the same things every year. did NOT like the blow up giant. cant find your way through there at all.. the exorcist room didnt scare me either; the girl was not a good effect, sorry. the ball room is getting old. it was cool for about the first two years, needs to be changed up though definitely.. the one thing in there though that did get my attention was the shock wall. was not expecting that. otherwise i dont think ill be going to that one anymore.

Reviewed by: Julissa19   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This place was EXTREMLY HARD to find.... the signs did NO good!!!! there was one sign that lit up on the main street but once you got back there it was fair game.. Kinda of like find your own haunted house type of thing....

Wait Entertainment: Ummmmm.....about a half an hour to an hour or so....

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes...depending on how you react to the "scare"

Actor Performance: Not too good... SORRY..but it was...I did not get scared once and everything was predicted...I mean comeon!!! It was almost the same as last year!!! CHANGE it up a bit!!! the burried alive thing is getting a little OLD .....

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was good...we did not run into anyone....untill the middle of the haunted house!

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Same as last year ...so it was not that interesting!!!The exersit room was horrible!!!! that room was not scary at all..

Costumes / Make-up: Poor...... 
everything like i said again was expected!

Summary: This haunted house reminds me of one from Great America..it is very very very bad and I would and will not return next year..I mean there was all this hype about it and i get there and a BIG let down... 
I went there few nights ago since they are open on the week day and they turned us DOWN it was 10:02pm and they close at 10:00pm they said SORRY we are closed!!! there was about 20-25 people outside wanted to get in there..thats $14.00 a person that they just turned down..that was a very very bad mistake on there part. 

Reviewed by: MonsterMkr   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Although the signs were abundant,they weren't well lit. With them being on street corners, you can't always depend on street-lights to illuminate a sign.

Wait Entertainment: "Holy Shitake mushrooms, those guys/gals....ghouls are intense." There's one small critter with horns/spikes you gotta watch out for....now you see him....now you "Oh my Lord get it away from meeeeeeee"

Length of Event: Once you finish with the first scene, it'll take you 20-25 minutes to clear the first house.(Depends on how fast you can crawl on your hands and knees...floor is good,floor is safe place...floor provides sanctuary.)

Actor Performance: Whoa...... Best I can come up with.....Whoa! Don't make eye contact....once you do, your fate has been sealed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow, we didn't meet up with another group until entering Buried Alive.

Appropriate Ages: No one under 12, or at least a skittish 14 year old.

Props / Special FX: Props to the Prop-guys.....they've got some wicked toys.

Costumes / Make-up: It's easy to see that a great deal of time and effort has been spent to match actor appearance to various scenes.

Summary: They've been at the same location for 10 years running now.(That to me speaks volumes.) I hope they'll be there 10..20...30 more. It's one haunted attraction that is well worth the price and the wait. You don't have to take my word for it though....go see it for yourself, come November 1st, it'll be too late.

Reviewed by: MEG0527   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's the Lake county Fair Grounds, you can't really miss it.

Wait Entertainment: They were great, i love there make-up! they were mainly outside though.

Length of Event: line about an hour and a half. Haunt maybe 20-25minutes

Actor Performance: They were great, never broke character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we went in first so we never ran into anyone, but i think the people behind us caught up. I like to go through slowly, if you run whats the point?

Appropriate Ages: 11 or 12 and up that's when i started to go to haunted houses.

Props / Special FX: I wasn;t fond of the first room, i though it was kinda boring. other props were cool, but props dont scare me, the actors do.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, there make was awesome i did not see any one with a mask on (except Jason) all were in makeup/

Summary: I go to this haunt every year, There were a couple new things i noticed this year that were different. I was a little upset that there were no clowns in the clown room when i was there. My advice get there early but not too early. I got there at like 8:30 and waited for a little over and hour, but it seemed that not all the actors were there yet, not many were in the haunt, some rooms had no one. Internal nightmare was o.k for a blow up haunt. I liked how it was a maze, but there are cords taped down to the ground and i tripped on them like 6 times. they need to fix that before someone gets hurt.But overall it was a good experience i recommed going here if you have never been here before.

Reviewed by: kghost74   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its a little hard to find coming off of 120.. but we found it

Wait Entertainment: AMAZING! There were like 5-6 guys outside... WOW great makeup and costumes! They all of them were able to scare the crap out of my girlfriend and even startled me. The Clown and Jester were funny as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) the Jason guy was cool, some bloody guy with a trench coat and machete was creepy! They all did great and made the wait worth it! 
Especially when they started ganging up on people.. haha

Length of Event: around 30 mins or so..

Actor Performance: A couple were a little off, but overall they were on point

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into the group before us towards the buried alive room

Appropriate Ages: definately not for little kids.. unless you want them to have nightmares

Props / Special FX: The props were cool, a couple were kinda corny but it was still good. The sounds and music were all very fitting although I really didnt hear much in the Excorcist room

Costumes / Make-up: most of the guys had some badass makeup a couple people wearing masks, but they looked great!

Summary: I really dont have any complaints about this place.. they did a great! Especially the outside guys.. Well worth $14. The giant was kinda confusing, but they did good too..  
 
Whoever said they didnt like this place definately was not there at the right time or they just werent looking to have a fun time..

Reviewed by: shaker1973   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The signs from 120 heading east are hard to see and the directions once in the fairground are bot well marked. I live about 10 minutes away and got a little confused.

Wait Entertainment: There were 5 different actors int he wait. We waited in 2 separate areas. Teh "decorated" area and a large empty warehouse. The actors spent more time in the warehouse area. They were good and did attempt to stay in character, but there was one moment when one of the actors pulled the pants down from one of the other workers. There was a full moon out that night! They seemed to focus their attention on about 10 people of the hundreds that were there. The decorated area was much better lots of visuals. Didn't see the wait actors much. Thank goodness for the awesome cheezy horror flicks playing.

Length of Event: Took about 20 minutes or so to get through and then another 10-15 to get through the 2nd part.

Actor Performance: Let me preface this by saying we are in our 30's and visit several haunted houses a year. These actors were great. The costumes were wonderful. They were sneaky, they were reletenless and great scare factor. They made the show. There was one part where one of the actors got a little out of hand, he actually hit my boyfriend in the face and broke his glasses. It was an accident, but it still happened. They actually did touch quite alot. We did not touch them. But overall A+

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The spacing was great. There were 2 times when we did meet up with other groups. Once in the buried alive and the very beginning. I did not see the first part which I am told was really cool because I was in the back of the group. I am 5' 1" and could only see the flashing lights and hear sounds. But My partner loved it. In the 2nd part of the haunting the actors could move the walls and that helped a lot with the flow. Overall very good.

Appropriate Ages: No one under 12 should go.

Props / Special FX: The props were great. Lots of automatic scares. Lots of money spent here. Take your time and walk slowly to take it all in.

Costumes / Make-up: Again costumes and make up were great. Really gruesome stuff and just really great make up. Impressive.

Summary: Overall. Very enjoyable. Take your time. Go early if you don't want to wait. The effects, the actors, music and overall effect is spooky. I can't say we were ever "scared", but there were some great surprises! Some of the actors really took their time, hide well and got ya! I would go again before the season is over. The actors did such a good job I don't think you could expect the same scares in the same places. Happy hauntings!!

Reviewed by: firedanimal   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find for us, but we're local and been to this haunt and the county fair before in previous years. More than enough parking (acres).

Wait Entertainment: Pretty darn scary. There were about 3 or 4 clowns/monsters out front. The crazy little fella with the hooks or whatever in his face moved too quick to keep an eye on. He got us a few times. He's a bad little monkey I tell you what. Watch out for him.

Length of Event: I'd say about a half hour or so. Good duration.

Actor Performance: Outstanding. There was a few times we didn't see the monsters/zombies or even where they came from until they were in our face. We couldn't see them coming. Some made funny comments and some were yelling and getting in our faces or chasing us with chainsaws and meat cleavers and such. They were all entertaining though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I don't know if we were going too slow, or if the group of teenage girls (lots of them around)behind us were flat out running through the halls. I ended up with scratch marks and make-up all over my back. That was fun explaining to my wife. I think I heard one of them say they pee'd themself back there.

Appropriate Ages: That all depends on the person- some 8 year olds could handle it better than some 30 year olds.

Props / Special FX: It seemed like they had some new stuff from other times I've been there. They changed the first room, and added an inflatable giant to the end among other things. Watch out for those walls- they bite.

Costumes / Make-up: I don't know if some of those guys had masks on , or if they just got whacked with the ugly stick, but it looked real to us.

Summary: It was a good time. This was the first haunted house we went to this year, and these guys did a heck of a job scaring and making fun of the people in our group. I'm already looking forward to next year to see what scenes and characters these fellas come up with next Halloween.

Reviewed by: scare13   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: ok

Wait Entertainment: pretty good, best feature!! the animatronics are great, horror movies there!

Length of Event: 25 mins

Actor Performance: avg @ best

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: no, 12 and up and Not!! if your clausterphobic

Props / Special FX: avg

Costumes / Make-up: avg

Summary: tired, the end is still great, [some 4 yrs running]...rooms were usual, and i need to skip this one nxt yr. crunchy! the directions are pretty good, bang for buck? if your a novice.............

Reviewed by: phiten7   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Heading north on 45 I had no problem seeing the sign for Lake County Fairgrounds. The actual haunted house sign was harder to see, though.

Wait Entertainment: We probably waited 40-45 minutes, but it did not feel that long. They have a lot to look at, including a few big screen TV's. There is one point in the house with a live feed, so you can watch people walk through and be scared.

Length of Event: The house probably took 20 minutes to get through (not including the "buried alive" part) and the Internal Nightmare took between 5 and 10 minutes because it was more open and easier to get through at a quick pace.

Actor Performance: Very good, mainly. A few broke character, but a vast majority were creepy and rude and in-your-face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up to the group in front of us at the end, but before that we saw no one.

Appropriate Ages: It recommends 12+ and I think that's about right.

Summary: It costs $14, but that is about what it costs to see a movie and have popcorn... and this is a far better experience. The "buried alive" part of the house that it is not for the claustrophobic. I didn't think I was, until I got inside that room. Just a warning... it's not that you will be in a tight area, but that you will be packed in tight with a bunch of people. The whole thing probably lasts three minutes, but it truly and uncomfortable and panicky experience. It definitely ups the scare factor, and it will certainly be what you talk about on your way back to the car. It might not be for everyone, though.

Reviewed by: mash1331   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Like any other location in could always use more lighting. The entrance itself was pretty easy because it had a huge sign saying "lake county fair grounds. and the Dungeon of Doom". because it is in the fair grounds you cant see the haunted house it self, but you really just follow the crowd and youll be in line in no time

Wait Entertainment: the wait was long. but every one i asked said it was worth the wait. i maybe waited 45 minutes. the atmosphere of the waitng area had so much going on. you had a lot to look at and hear. the haunted house had these clowns and this jester guy scaring the crap out of my friend. over all they had a bunch of things that we looked at and talked about while in line, which made everything seem to go by much quicker...

Length of Event: 40 minutes... with every one creeping behind the dark twisted hallways we really didnt get to far to fast.

Actor Performance: as always, the intensity of the actors are always at their peek. there're are deffinalty no 'kids' working here. its all very percise at how they scare. i was surpied to hear that they raised the price to $14.00 but after going through both haunted houses in one shot [they added a second haunted house at the end. a huge giant you walk through] and seeing all the new additions it was more than a reasonable price.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: like is said earlier, we didnt move through it to fast. we did meet the group in front of us but the 3 girls totally needed help getting through the rooms! they were freaked and were glad to have us guys go in front of them to guide their way, we didnt mind either!

Appropriate Ages: it does say not recomended for kids under 12, but im sure a stong 10 year old could make it with their parents. i do think that its more appealing to the older crowd. 16 +

Props / Special FX: Way to much to list. the rooms were full of props, and it seemed like every room had an animated prop. the exorcist room was one of the best ideas ive seen anywhere!

Costumes / Make-up: very well costumes and make up. it did seem like most of the acotrs were wearing prostetics. you could tell the level of professinalism in the make up because oh how close they get in your face. maybe only a few actors were in masks. the costumes looked like they were specific to the room. instead of boring black capes most haunted houses have... including the Dungeon of Doom a few years ago. but now every thing is progressed into more of a believeable aspect.

Summary: overall year after year, the dungeon of doom seems to strive for new-age techniques. they seem to know what their customers want to see, feel and experience. im looking forward to seeing what the D.O.D. is comming up with next year. its never the same and thats why me and my buddies go at least once a year. there is no need for anyone to travel any further for a good haunted house. its the best thing ive found.

Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find - located in the grayslake fairgrounds on Belvidere road.  
The area can be pretty dark, there is a small sign on the enterence to the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: We were fortunate to have a small wait time - about 10 minutes. I love the lobby - much to check out. Horror movies are played, they have a great cemetary and the enterance to the dungeon is nicely done.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes for both attractions

Actor Performance: I love the actors at the dod. It is one of the reasons I go back year after year. They are (and were again) always great. Always in charector and know how to work the vistors inside and after the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: again we were early, was great

Appropriate Ages: 10 and over - although I do take my son (who is 8) each year this is his favorite haunt

Props / Special FX: great! The beginning exorcisim was great to watch, the rooms were filled with many things to look at

Costumes / Make-up: pretty good - average for the most part inside the haunt, outside the clowns were pretty scary looking

Summary: This is one of my favorites every year, we always have a great time and it is worth the hour trip for us. If you are like me and go to these haunts more for the effects/rooms rather then the scare factor then you will not be disappointed. The props and the effects in the rooms are awesome and the actors blend in very nicely and generally get a good scream from people - i even jumped a few times, which I don't do easily. I loved the new beginning! The only disappointment I had was there were 3D rooms - no glasses were given to add to the 3D effects,and no shock treatment? I didn't realize that there was this room or effect at the attraction until checking out the website after going, not sure how I missed that one? Burried Alive took on a new meaning since there was a smaller crowd, everyone was layed out on the floor for the burial. This made the effects more scary then previous years - I believe we were under for a longer amount of time also. I was extremely happy to see Internal Nightmare was open -as it is always closed when we have went previously, the outside looks killer! - a huge giant that you have to walk thru.. but it was a disappointment. Not many actors working the haunt,probably about 4-5? it was something I could expect at chicago park districts or another Kiddie haunt. The actors are always fun here. I recommend this haunt as it is still one of my favorites, always a great time. A place that even if you wait 2 hours in line you will have a great time waiting because of the actors and the atmosphere.

Reviewed by: morkork   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where the Lake County Fairgrounds is, its pretty simple. But, if you dont, you're going to have todrive around town hoping to see the one sign they have.

Wait Entertainment: A spook here or there...I saw three...but they really didn't do much but stand in a group and talk to each other.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 for the haunted house and another 10 for the inflatable "Internal Nightmare"

Actor Performance: It was seriously hot and cold. The veteran actors seemed to stay in character and tried to make it enjoyable, but the - um - I would call them "kids" didn't really seem to try too hard.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't bump into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Buried alive is cool, but the rest of it...I dont know, I'm not a fan of the inflatable part.

Summary: I'm not a fan of writing bad reviews because I'm sure a lot of energy goes into building a haunted house. But, that being said, its the same old thing year after year at the Dungeon of Doom. They use the same props and gimmicks every year, then try to bring in one new attraction to try and make it a little better. This year its the inflatable "Internal Nightmare" but with only a couple of Zombies walking around in it, to me it doesn't do enough. I say they could have spent the money on changing the stuff they've used for the past five years. The Exorcist Room was a bit hokey - though the actors really went all out to try and make it work. Buried Alive was cool again, but after you've done it a couple of times (like the past two or three years) it looses its appeal. Dont get me wrong, if you love haunted houses and haven't seen this one before, then stop in because its always fun. But, for me, its just the same old thing with an inflatable maze in the middle.

Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is located at the Lake County Fairgrounds and is not very well marked from the road. It can be tricky to find, so make sure you are looking for the Fairgrounds sign and not a haunted attraction sign. Pull in the drive and its in the back of the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: There were about four guys I saw dressed up and interacting with the crowd. Their makeup/costumes ranged from high-quality to low. They were not very intense compared to other wait entertainment I have experienced. They mainly walked around and seemed more silly acting, than scary acting. This might work for a clown, but not for a guy dressed up like an demon/monster.  
Food and drink stands were definately needed. I was dying of thirst by the time I got to the front of the line. 
There were a few TVs to look at, but of course no sound with them. Might have been cooler if they had one movie playing and sound for it going.

Length of Event: Less than twenty-minutes all together. Maybe 13 minutes inside Dungeon of Doom and about 2 minutes in the Internal Nightmare.

Actor Performance: Some actors were exceptional. The priests in the "Exorcist" room really knew their lines and performed an exorcism that was convinceable.  
Other actors did not seem that into it and gave up too easily. One actor literally yelled at me to "just scream!" because he did not scare me. He also said I wasn't any fun because I did not get scared. I did not really like the character break here. 
For the most part, the actors were decent. The buried alive host did not know the disclaimer speech by heart and another actor had to help him out.  
In the internal nightmare, I did not appreciate the zombie actors' performance. They are not supposed to touch you at all, yet they kept pushing this inflatable wall thing into me quite hard. I about got knocked down a couple times and I even reminded them "no touching" and they did it again. I do not know if this was part of the experience or not, but I am a female who doesn't like being tossed around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not very good... Too many people in too quickly and I ran into the first group right away. I tried to slow down to hang back and the group behind us had caught up at this point.

Appropriate Ages: 12 or older. Make sure your child can handle waiting in a 2 hour plus line.

Props / Special FX: If you have an imagination, then you will like Dungeon of Doom. The animatronics work if you are scared by a doll/dummy that springs out of a bed.  
The BEST special effect is the "buried alive" experience. I did not know what to expect going in, and that was part of the surprise. Don't let anyone spoil the "secret" for you. It's more fun to just go in knowing you will be in pitch black and unable to move. It was the coolest part of the experience.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing too scary. A jester I saw had impressive gear/makeup on. Many of the costumes were rubber masks that you could buy at a store. More SFX makeup may improve things rather than a simple mask.

Summary: I am glad I went here for the "buried alive" experience. This is worth it to see what it feels like, as long as you aren't clastrophobic. A little pricy for the experience, considering most of their eletronics went into the waiting area it seemed.

Reviewed by: multiplesean   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Poor. There's a sign that reads "haunted house", but it's not lit.

Wait Entertainment: There are televisions, and music. The inside wait area is actually the best decorated part of this haunt. No food or beverage stalls are availible, and the wait line can be really long!

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes. It was hard to gauge because a fight started to break out in the "buried alive attraction".

Actor Performance: The actors didn't seem convincing at all. There was alot of screaming and jumping out of corners. It just became predictable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not really a problem until the buried alive attraction.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The best props and decorations were in the waiting area. They use the first room as a holding area. It has a prop in it. After the prop was 'done' what I'm assuming was a tech guy came in to check on the prop...that really ruined the atmosphere. Some of the props were from Ikea, which also sort of spoiled things.

Costumes / Make-up: Rubber masks...

Summary: I live in NW Ind, and have read about this haunt for a few years. I called before hand and asked if they wuld recomend driving about 80+ miles to see their haunt. I was told that was up to me, but that they had props and attractions that could not be seen in any other haunt. I found the atmosphere really diaspointing. Internal Nightmare had few actors, and well really what is scary about a giant "air haunt". I really was hoping this venue would excite me, but it failed to.

Reviewed by: rpete2121   (Event Visited: 10/08/06 @ 6:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: 1 sign without lights at each entrance

Wait Entertainment: some wait entertainment

Length of Event: 20-30 min

Actor Performance: good perfomence

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did meet any other group into anyone

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: buried live the shock is unexpected

Costumes / Make-up: make up was good have seen some of the masks before

Summary: good haunted house not as scary as i thought it would be internal nightmare was added into the price but needed more people scaring in there good haunted house

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at