Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Fear Factory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: motheroftwo   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find big sign on the entrance. Parking was great right in front of the ticket booth

Wait Entertainment: Had some actors working the crowd in the ticket line, plus in the wait line. Occasionally a large creature thing would come out of the front door and scare the pants off the people in front. NICE! The front security guard kept us in line with his stern look and teased us about what was inside.

Length of Event: 20 plus minutes for the tour and about 7 minutes to get out of the maze.

Actor Performance: Excellent! on top of thier game, got me a couple of times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into anyone, guided tour perfect with the size of group 6 max.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up although some small kids could not make it through the front door.

Props / Special FX: Smog machines, strobes, black lights, best of all it was really really dark.

Costumes / Make-up: Looked like great care was put into the costumes, but it was dark and kind of hard to see, as I had my eyes closed a couple of times.

Summary: Thought this haunted house was the best we have attended so far, hoped to see them again next year. I really had no complaints except I wish it was longer.

Reviewed by: kgaines   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, North rantoul.

Wait Entertainment: Okay, the wait was short.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: There was no performance... The monsters just seamed that they didn't want to be there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We never ran into the group before us.

Appropriate Ages: yes

Props / Special FX: Very cool effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, it was dark so we are not a good judge of that.

Summary: We looked forward to going to this again this year. We don't know if it's the hype on the radio that disappointed us, or maybe the fact that we went thru it last year and still remembered it from there. It was good, but just didn't scare us much.

Reviewed by: Dadnkids   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find, well marked, plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: A roaming actor walked thru the line every 10 minutes. 2 small TV sets showed horror videos.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: very well done. actors were enthusiastic and energetic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was good, we didn't see any other groups as we passed thru the different scenes.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up

Props / Special FX: several fog filled rooms with bridges and strobe lights which gave the scenes a surreal effect.

Costumes / Make-up: all authentic appearing and well done.

Summary: This was the 3rd year we've gone to the Fear Factory, and our favorite of the last 3 years. The atmosphere in the waiting line was cool as you wait in a corridor lined by Tiki torches as horror movies are played on TV's and a costumed actor roams thru the crowd.  
The actual haunted house was divided into multiple scenes from classic horror movies such as Scream, Halloween, Friday the 13th, etc. There were an army of well costumed actors behind every turn we made in the house. As mentioned in an earlier section, the atmosphere was very spookey and at times felt very surreal. Towards the end we went thru a maze, which only took us 5 minutes or so to get through. After reading other reviews, I expected the maze to be the end of the haunt. I was pleasantly surprised to find a few additional scares were strategically placed both in the maze and at the end of the house, right after the maze.  
My only regret is we moved rather quickly through several of the scenes. We were led by a guide, and I would've preferred going through at a slower pace so I could've spent more time looking around at the different scenes.  
In any event, we'll definitely be back to check it out again next year.

Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find if you know Rantoul.

Wait Entertainment: wait was kinda long for no more than the 6 people that were outside, but it was cold too, so that makes it seem longer

Length of Event: 10 minutes, they guy at the door said 30, but no way!

Actor Performance: the lady in the first room, is always good, the rest were okay

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 10 & up

Props / Special FX: pretty much the same as last year, but still good.

Costumes / Make-up: good I guess, every one was in costume at least.

Summary: It started out pretty good, but at the end in the dark maze there werent any scares at all, it just ended! It could have been that it was the first night open & they didnt have many monsters, so we are going back Halloween weekend to give it another chance.

Reviewed by: froggie   (Event Visited: 10/22/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find thanks to the fear factory website from my door to thier front door map directions

Wait Entertainment: Excellent loved the werewolf it came up from no where. Worked great with the outdoor motif. The rules played on the speaker were nice but a bit more over and over again.

Length of Event: 20+

Actor Performance: Very spirited on que

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guided tour was a nice touch did not think I would like it. Did not see anyone else, but we definitly heard them.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Love the big guy must have been 10' tall, not much with special FX, the props, smoke machines and music was all that was needed. It was so dark was hard to see the sets clearly. In one room something pop up really tall, I think it was one of the 12' creatures. Lastly the spark thing really caught us off guard. Loved it.

Costumes / Make-up: Did not get to see much because it was so dark looked like a mixed of make-up and masked.

Summary: I would do this one again when it gets closer to Halloween. It was a slow night because of Sunday. The scare factor was right at the price. I believe it would be much scarier if I could really see the scenery and actors (to dark in some places) Got lost in the maze. Our group thought it was a really good haunt -- almost great! Need more stobes or black lights.

Reviewed by: ToolboxKilla   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of actors wandering around, the best of which had a chainsaw.

Length of Event: 15+ minutes

Actor Performance: Poor- this is what really hurt this house. Last year the actors were great, but this year they were almost annoying. Some of the actors went up to our group and just started screaming relentlessly, giving our group very little time to enjoy the environments, some of which were very detailed and well constructed. In my opinion, once an actor has made his initial scare, there is no need to continue to harass the patrons until they have left one of the rooms. Also at least four different actors asked us "are you scared?" at times that were not particularly scary. Finally, the more actors there are in a single location, the less scary that location becomes due to overcrowding, and there were a few rooms that just had too many actors present- hence, no big scares in those rooms.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It's a guided tour, so we didn't run into any other groups. The slow pace of the tour guide was appreciated- it gave us more time to enjoy some of the rooms.

Props / Special FX: There were a few cool animatronics. The Saw character riding the tricycle was very entertaining.

Costumes / Make-up: Average

Summary: Overall, this attraction was not as entertaining as I hoped it would be. This is one of three haunted houses I went to in one night, and it was also the most disappointing. Some of the actors just seemed too inexperienced. There were some very cool areas though, such as the improved clown room, the Saw room, the swamp room with the tall man, and one room where there appeared to be something crawling across the ceiling, although it was very hard to see.

Reviewed by: kimmerz   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was in a good location, not hard to find at all.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was okay, a couple of characters came through the lines.

Length of Event: Between 20 and 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were really good, I was happy with their performance.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was pretty good up until the end, the party behind us caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: The props were good, as were the special effects.. However, it would have been great to have been able to see them better. It was pretty dark inside, which is to be expected.. but I think they could have done something with the lighthing so as people could see. The only lighted rooms were with strobe lights and that makes seeing a little funky also.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were good, I couldn't really see the make up so much, it was too dark.

Summary: I liked it, however some of the people that were with me did not. I would have to say that I expected more for the price. It was not as intense as I had heard. Also, the maze I thought was pointless, you just walk into walls for 10 minutes with no one to scare you or anything. I also did not see any 12 foot creatures or ceiling crawlers... unless the 12 foot creature was supposed to be the prop outside in the waiting line. Also, I did not see a forest... Overall I thought it was decent and I would go back, if they lowered the price.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at