Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Terror On The Square (Petersburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: kawdnm72205   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find/ Right on the petersburg square

Wait Entertainment: average. Scary People walk by thats bout it that i seen

Length of Event: approx. 7-8 min

Actor Performance: Very well hidden, dressed, voice changed

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Old Funeral home. moved at a steady pace

Appropriate Ages: All

Props / Special FX: Great prop and special affects, illusions A++

Summary: I Rate this Place #1 compared to all the places ive been, their illusions are perfect and life(ghost) like. Costume were great from what you could see, by that i mean you can't see em till they pop out then your eyes are closed and your running into the wall infront of you!

Reviewed by: cankersore   (Event Visited: 10/22/06 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The square is a tricky with it's one way streets but a line is a good indicator of where this old funeral home haunt lies. (It's above the Napa parts store)

Wait Entertainment: There's a great big black foreboding hearse out front - and if that's not creepy enough, it was own by the same man who owned the funeral home.

Length of Event: Good long productions in each room so you can really absorb and enjoy the many fine details. Oh, and check out the ultra clever gift shop at the end.

Actor Performance: Trust me these guys are pros! Each of the terror girls that take you through the funeral home are beautiful actors. The timing was great. No cheesy lines here. And the screams are authentic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You are taken room by room by your terror girl guide - for a while. There's no real chance of running into other people like in other haunts. No ropes to drag you along. You get a personal performance with all the room to cling and be terrified.

Appropriate Ages: a strong well adjusted 10 year old

Props / Special FX: Tons of special holographic effects! Hope you're not scared of ghosts or heights. Remember - it's all an illusion.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looks like they are supposed to - undead walking a funeral home. The theme is strong and this important in creating mood.

Summary: Sick to death of Freddy, Jason, and Pinhead saying boo? This haunt is original. Heart, soul, and who knows what else lies in this old abandoned funeral home. Enjoy and try to take in every little fine detail put into "Terror on the Square".

Reviewed by: gravely   (Event Visited: 10/23/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is on the square in the historical town of Petersburg IL.where Abraham Lincoln onced lived.Once you drive into town it is right there.The building itself has huge lettering at the top with gargoyles on the top of the building,easy to find.Since the building is on the town square there is parking all around it.

Wait Entertainment: With the wait in line there are costumed actors that hang out of the window above and actors that walk the line to entertain.At the start of the show they drive an old hearse up to the front of the line with sirens wailing,then zombie pallbearers carry a corpse out of the hearse then set it at the entrance,while the whole time fog and spooky music protrude out of the hearse.Once inside,the stairs leading up to the top floor entrance have several spooky decorations as well as an old black and white television set that has a skeleton in a rocking chair watching old horror movies.COOL!!! Once at the top there is a waiting room with all kinds of errie portraits in it.While you sign the guest book and pay,you get the feeling that you are being watched.I think you actualy are!

Length of Event: The actual event length from the time you enter the building until you leave the haunt is about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: All of the actors were very fitting with the theme of the room,zombies in the graveyard,crazy lunatics in the hospital ect.What I was really impressed with was the roaming haunters that you would here behind the walls and pictures wispering names of people in the group.There are also hostest/guides that dress the part and play the role of your tour guide through most of the haunt until they are abducted,after that you are on your own.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once inside you could here banging and screaming coming from beyond the wait room.Once inside the tour that was it,I never saw or heard anyone else other than the haunters.

Appropriate Ages: I would not recomend this haunted house for young kids that scare easily.Although it is not full of blood guts and gore it is spooky.I would say that 8-9 year olds could hang but I did see a teenage girl walk out in tears.

Props / Special FX: My favorite part of the haunted house,the special FX! This is what caught my attention to begin with.When I first heard of Terror on the Square from other people,they told me of the hollagrams,so I had to check it out for myself.From the ghost on the stairs to rising corpse ghosts on gurnies,all very impresive.Then as you watch the effect dissappear the actual ghost pops into the room,in the flesh,from out of nowhere!I don't know how they do this ,very cool!!!Another attraction to the haunted house that I realy was impressed with was the haunted elevator.Once inside you actually get the feeling of decending as the floor disapears,then when the door opens,you walk out into a different room all the while being taunted and spooked by haunters!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and actors were all very fitting for the themed haunt rooms,no street clothes,all in makeup not masks.Again a lot of the actors were also in the hollograms so they were made up to look like the actual ghosts.Great makeup and costumes!A++

Summary: Overall this has been the best haunt attraction that I have ever been to.The fact that it is in the actual old funeral home on the town square really makes it creepy .While you wait in line on the town square there are snack stands,restaraunt/bars sometimes with bands playing,and antique stores that you can visit or window shop while in line.It seems that the whole town embraces Terror on the Square and has a lot of fun with it.One other big plus for the haunted house are the Terror Girls! They are gorgous women that are dressed in goth attire,who are mascots for the haunted house.They do a lot of promotional work for the buisness in parades,fairs and festivals.Not only do you see them outside of the attraction,they actualy work there.You might see them as one of the tour guides or in the haunt rooms as one of the ghosts.After you finish the tour,you end up in the gift shop or merchandise store where you can by posters of the Terror Girls, along with other Terror on the Square items.From the begining the whole idea theme that the place is haunted with spirits sets the pace,and being in an old funeral home realy adds to that.This is my fourth year in a row to visit Terror on the Square and it gets better every year.I don't know what they could do to improve on it other than to actualy have real ghosts in the building,wich it just might since it is an OLD funeral home.What's really neat is that a lot of original decor from the funeral home is used in the haunted house,wich gives it that early 1900-1920'S creepy feeling.I would have to say with all that I experianced at Terror on the Square,from foggy graveyards with zombies in them to pitch black mazes that have monsters awaiting you,to the terror girls and the hollograms it was well worth the $7 admission price!!

Reviewed by: mlwilstu1121   (Event Visited: 10/23/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was quite a bit of parking available for this event, as it is located on the town square. The parking area is very close(across the street). Once we found the downtown area it was no trouble to locate. A few more signs/banners would have been helpful, as we are not from Petersburg.

Wait Entertainment: We waited less than ten minutes to get in. There were lots of neat things to look at as we entered. The hearse outside was definitely something to see. In the short amount of time which we were in the waiting room I noticed it was decorated with gargoyles, candles and authentic funeral home furnishings. It looked like someone spent a lot of time paying atention to the details.

Length of Event: Everything was so interesting and scary, I lost track of time while I was in Terror on the Square

Actor Performance: Actors were convincing and scary, they stayed in character the entire time. The holograms and actors were well timed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had no trouble waitng for other groups nor did we bump into anyone. I did not feel rushed and we were alllowed to move at our own pace.

Props / Special FX: There were hologram images that were very unique. There was a room that we could hardly find our way out of it was creepy. Terror on the square has an elevator which was very frightening.

Costumes / Make-up: Scary, dead looking actors followed us around. The actors wear makeup as well as appropriate costumes. It seemed to me that those who work here pay meticulous attention to details.

Summary: My favorite scenes were the body bags and the elevator. Some scary looking skinny guy followed us through a couple of rooms. The MOST scary was this man behind the glass who looked half- crazed. In one particular room, we could not find our way out and we were being chased by a few ghouls as well. The atmosphere was eerie, the fact that this is in an old funeral home adds to its ambience as well. It looked to me as if the staff had spent a lot of time and effort in the decoration of this haunted house. I felt it was entirely worth the money. I would say that they definitely gave us "a lot of bang for our buck."

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at