Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Lombard Jaycees Haunted House (Lombard, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/30/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily found. Located inside of a strip mall off 53 and north avenue. Plenty of signs along the way to direct you.

Wait Entertainment: Not sure on this, had vip passes...but did see plenty of actors walking around the lobby

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good...the actors seemed to be in charactor and enjoy working the haunt

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good. I went by myself, there was a little crowd I caught up with - about 4 people

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: very good. this year was the first time in a while that I have seen great detail put into the different rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Good. A little basic...but there were a few that were dressed in awesome costumes

Summary: If you are looking for a good family haunt...this is the place to go. This haunt is always a fun place to go, but this year they put more work and design into the rooms and it was excellent for a low-budget haunt. It was a fun time.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right where the old Menards was about the corner of Rt 53 and North Ave--I was able to see the signs clearly from the road

Wait Entertainment: Mixed, although this is pretty much due to one staff member in particular. There were costumed actors mixing in with the crowd, one very notable as the Jeepers Creepers monster (excellent costume!), but there was a street clothed older man who was incredibly rude to myself, my friend, and my husband as we were waiting in line. We were standing outside (before getting in line) literally turning off our cell phones and he pretty much yelled at us to turn them off before entering (!) Then, when we were waiting in the line in the indoor waiting area, we asked the Jeepers Creepers actor if we could take a picture with him, and as the actor agreed and was posing with us, that same male staff member ran up to us, put his hand over the camera and rudely told us no pictures indoors (keep in mind we were no where near going into the house at this point). No explanations, and none of the usual politeness as we were certainly not rude to him! This soured us to the whole house, which I unfortunately feel may be my negative bias toward the attraction this year. I certainly hope this staff member isn't typical of all of their staff--we're unsure of whether we want to return next year.

Length of Event: probably about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Mixed--you could definitely tell that many of the actors were less experienced, but they did seem very committed to trying to scare the patrons so bonus points for that. Most of the scares, were the more predictable ones of them banging loudly out of a hidden door--but still was effective at times of catching you off guard.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good--we didn't run into any other groups, which was one of their strengths

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: For a Jaycees attraction, they do have some creative rooms/scenes set up, but we were a little puzzled as to the western theme in the waiting area, but a lack of a theme once going through the house. One sidenote, they seemed to do a nice job at keeping some of the halls/maze so dark you couldn't see where you were going, which does add to the suspense.

Costumes / Make-up: There were a couple great costumes we noticed (Jeepers Creepers, for one), but also saw some very simple costumes--but honestly we understand that this is a Jaycees haunt and weren't expecting professional level makeup

Summary: Overall, the rude staff member in the waiting area really put a damper on our experience with this house. Assuming he isn't working the night that you attend this house, it might be much better for you. The Lombard Jaycees has had some very creative rooms each year, which always impresses me (not your typical predictable scenes), but then of course you also have to appreciate it on the level that they are volunteers acting in it, etc.

Reviewed by: 100791   (Event Visited: 10/25/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is well known but nfortunatly there arent that many visible signs to let you know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: there is no actors but there is an animatronic prop of a hang man

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This was not the best, in my opinion. The actors didnt have characters and pretty much yelled at you, which became kind of an annoyance.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Goood..never ran into anyone

Appropriate Ages: 4-up

Props / Special FX: The props wernt that bad at all. The rooms were detailed but unfortunatly, it looked way too clean cut for a haunted house. Everything was very bright there also. The rooms were too lit I think.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes consisted of mostly black robes and masks. There was very little to NO makeup. In some of the rooms, the actors had some white faves, but nothing special.

Summary: This was not as good as last year. The out side theme was western but was not consistant through out the haunted house. It was kind of boring; the actors either yelled at you, or slammed a door, which gets old after a while.

Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/16/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: online directions a bit off w/mapquest, use google maps-way better directions. easily found w/google maps.

Wait Entertainment: only one character wandering around.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: my hats off to these guys. excellent actor performances - true to form.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we got there at 730pm & probably waited 10-15 minutes to actually get inside. we did bump into the group ahead of us and ended up passing them.

Appropriate Ages: 8 & up. however, there were kids there younger than 8.

Props / Special FX: excellent, very detailed. this surprised me due to the fact that i've always thought of any of the jaycees attractions to be more kid oriented/but kudos you to guys.

Costumes / Make-up: once again, as the above(props/fx), costumes were nice. mostly your basics-freddy, jason, etc....

Summary: i was throughly impressed with this attraction. i've always thought that the jaycees are too kiddie, but they did get some good scares out of me & my friend. for a good starter to the halloween season, this is a good place to go to give you the taste of excitement for the better hh's, probably will be back next yr but this time i'll bring my nephew.

Reviewed by: hockeyman32   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was good, it was at the same place last year, the only part was that there lots of trees covering the place.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was good, although there weren't many actors in the wait entertainment, they pulled it off.

Length of Event: It took my group about 20 minutes to go through, but for some people, it may take longer or more less time.

Actor Performance: I thought they were great. every actor seem to be very exciting about scaring the patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was ok. my group did run into the group ahead of us about 4 times.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: they were good but some needed more work.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were great although not all of them were original. some of the costumes were off of micheal myres, freddy, and jason.

Summary: This haunted house was fun. I personally like the psycho bath and the alley. I admit that i did jump a couple times and i dont usually do that often. I think it was worth the money going through this haunted house. i'm planning on goin again soon.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at