Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Eleventh Hour (Elmhurst, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: bp2687   (Event Visited: 10/09/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: VERY DIFFICULT TO LOCATE EVEN WITH MAPQUEST DIRECTIONS.

Wait Entertainment: ONE RUDE WOMAN INSULTING PEOPLE IN LINE

Length of Event: 8 MINUTES

Actor Performance: VERY FEW ACTORS, BUT THOSE IN THE HOUSE WERE SCARY

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: MOVED WELL THROUGH HOUSE AND DIDN'T RUN INTO OTHER GROUPS

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Summary: I HAVEN'T VISITED 11TH HOUR FOR A FEW YEARS SINCE THEY ADVERTISE 3 HOUSE BUT ALL THREE WERE NOT OPEN. I WILL NOT GO AGAIN AS THE "3" HOUSES WERE REALLY JUST ONE. I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED A MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE FOR THE MONEY. I WILL MAKE SURE TO CROSS THIS ONE OFF MY LIST.

Reviewed by: zeebelt   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location was fine, there was tons of parking

Wait Entertainment: there was no entertainment to speak of. the wait was outside in a roped area, and it was REALLY cold, so we bought express tickets

Length of Event: the length was shorter than they advertise

Actor Performance: actor performance ranged from good to okay

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we got to go ahead with two others because we had expres passes, but the group behind us caught up to us

Summary: this haunted house was very disappointing, especially for the price. even without express tickets, it was very expensive for what you get, and compared to other venues. we were really hoping 11th Hour had gotten better again after the last few years but we feel like we were fooled by the advertising -- in fact, when we were done i had to ask someone who works there if we really had been through all the areas they advertised, or if we were supposed to go to another building to finish...

Reviewed by: darthmaher   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had some signs on North Ave. and Lake St. that point in the direction of the haunt. Once you turn onto the street, you are on your own to find it. It helped that an ambulance had it's lights flashing and caught our attention. Once in the parking lot, you can see the line of people. There is plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: There was a ghoul in white make up. It was raining and he gave us an umbrella to use. Nice ghoul, but not very scary. There was also a ghoul who looked like he was in the band "Gwar" mulling around.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: The few actors in the first part, "Eleventh Hour" were good. They stayed in character and tried to do their best. But there weren't many actors in there to speak of. A lot of walking around on our own.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The grop of 12 that I entered the haunt with didn't run into any other groups until we hit the "Darkest Hour" and "Chain Reaction". Then there were about 4-5 groups all merged together.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: They had some of the props from "The Asylum". Based on what I have read on other reviews (and visits in past years), there were supposed to be some animatronics... I saw none. It was decorated pretty well though. Great scenery. If there was more of this, I would have rated this haunt higher but it was a very small portion of the whole thing. The kitchen part was great. There also appeared to be a giant monster that wasn't working in the "Darkest Hour" part.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were creative. Nothing you wouldn't see anywhere else, but it did the job. Too bad there weren't more actors.

Summary: I swore off "Eleventh Hour" a few years ago because I felt that they spread themselves too thin with 3 haunted attractions yet still charged a high admissionfor them. In their haunt description, the claim "4 haunted houses crammed into one... An all new Eleventh Hour..." so I gave them the benefit of the doubt that they had improved. I was sorely mistaken. If the actual "Eleventh Hour" portion wre longer, it would have been better, but we were only in that portion for about 5 minutes. The rest was the disappoining "Pitch Black" and "Chain Reaction". Ahere was "Third Dementia", the 3-D haunt that they mention in their haunt description? 
They also state that "Each visitor will also receive 2 free movie tickets to see either Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Saw 3,Rocky Horror, and more!" What we received was a coupon for ONE ticket to a theater way out in Woodridge... Also, the $2 off coupon that you get at Cub Foods is NOT valid on Fridays or Saturdays or on Halloween night. They conveniently left that part out of their "discount" advertisement. 
I don't hate this haunted house, I just don't feel that $17 is a fair price for what you receive. Definitely not enough bang for your buck.

Reviewed by: Mago   (Event Visited: 10/22/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Hard to find. It's a small attraction inside of a large park.

Wait Entertainment: Very Poor. There was one actor doing the wait entertainment. His makeup only went down to his chin, so his face was painted white but his neck wasn't. He didn't make any attempts to scare people he just stood behind everyone imitating them.

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes, the marjority of it was spent walking through Pitch Black in the mud and waiting for the actor in Chain Link to let us through.

Actor Performance: The acting was really good inside the house. However, there werent that many rooms and my group of 4 was lucky enough to get in without having to go in with other groups. Perhaps that's why we got more attention from the actors. Outside of the house the other acting performances were really poor and unmotivated.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The Flow inside for my group was great, but again there were only 4 of us. we got in with just our group because the group behind us was still buying their tickets, had they moved faster we would have been shuffled in with them and it could have ruined the experience.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for all ages

Props / Special FX: Severly lacking in this department. Little to no special effects. Props could be bought at any local holloween shop.

Costumes / Make-up: Poor. There were only a few actors in costume. Every other actor wore make up. Again, the wait entertainment could have used some make up around his neck.

Summary: Eleventh Hour had nothing that stood out for me this year. The House itself was great but really small, Pitch Black wasn't dark and had no actors, and Chain Reaction was long because the 1 actor there wouldn't let us through the gate. How is it a maze if the actor restricts you from going the right way? The Wait Entertainment was poor, and 70% of the attraction was muddy. Overall the mud stood out more than anything. It ruined the bottom of my jeans as well as my girlfriend's jeans and shoes. $17 is a lot of money for a lot of disappointment.

Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Have good mapquest directions if you are not from the area. There are no signs. Make sure you know it is in a city park and its easier to look for the park's name, instead of the event name.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor, but he just stood around and did not interact with the crowd. He wasn't even facing the crowd most of the time. I never even saw his mask.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: This was the worst bunch of actors I have ever seen. There were only about 5 actors in the whole attraction that I saw. Actors were recycled in some cases, meaning that the same actor was in multiple scenes of the house. For an attraction this big, there was lots of empty spaces where there was nothing and no actors.  
The few actors who were there gave pretty lame performances. I have no idea what was up with this old Brooklyn accented grandma near the front of the house. I felt like she was trying out for Last Comic Standing. Key word is "trying." She really killed the mood that the house would be scary.  
After here, there were only a couple actors to pop out at you and they were few and far between.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since they send groups in 15-20 people at a time, you were spaced out decently. Instead of running into another 20 person group, you ran into a train of people from your own group. These large groups also killed the mood. The few actors and scares in store for you were ruinied, unless you happened to be the first guy in line.

Appropriate Ages: ALL who have the patience to wait in the cold for hours and participate in an event that is 2/3 outdoors.

Props / Special FX: Limited. There were zero special effects that I saw.  
Props were lame in a "build it yourself" way. Very cheap construction and scares. The animitronic grandmother was a joke. You are in a room to hear a 5 minute long speech from a tape while a couple animetronics go off over and over again. Got old pretty quick. So old, my group thought we were supposded to turn around and go back. They didn't even know they were supposed to be listening to the "scary story" on the tape.  
The worst prop on the premise was the "Pitch Black" maze. This is TOTALLY false advertisement, and I was VERY disappointed. Pitch black means you can't see your hand in front of your face, and you have to feel the walls to guide you. In Pitch Black, all you have to do is look up and see the where the walls don't meet the ceiling to guide your way through. There is light coming over the walls (they didn't throw a black tarp over the whole thing for some reason) so all you have to do is look upwards when walking through. Even if you don't, your eyes adjust pretty quickly with all the light coming in from over the walls.

Costumes / Make-up: Fair. Ranged from decent to lame. The only really lame looking actor was the Brooklyn Grandma who was just wearing a gray wig and glasses. Not a good costume.

Summary: It was raining and cold and I didn't feel like waiting 3 hours in line, so I paid 35 dollars to get into this event. The "VIP treatment" means you get crammed in with the group about to go in. Like I said, about 20 people in a group, so there's no way you'll get scared since you are crammed into rooms like sardines (you can't even get a good look around, everyone's in the way). The first part of three was designed worse than a 5 dollar charity haunt would be. At least those have more than three actors. 
The absolute worst part of this event? THE MUD. PLEASE WEAR OLD CRUMMY KNEE HIGH BOOTS if you are planning on attending here. Literally 70 percent of this event is walking through 3-4 inch deep sloppy mud. There is nothing over the mud, so Pitch Black and Chain Reaction are in a swamp of filthy mud. I had no idea and my shoes are ruined now. The "FREE MOVIE TICKET" giveaway is a scam unless you live in Chicago (this ticket is only good for a specific theatre, not just any theatre). I drove 2.5 hours to see this event and there's no way I'm going to go back just to use my "free movie ticket."  
I do try to say something nice about every event, but this is hard in this case. I try to give readers a REALISTIC review. I go to MANY haunted houses and I don't give any "Omg I waz so scared!!!! my firzt hauhted house!" reviews. If you want to bundle up your kids in parkas and boots, this would be a good family-event for even small children. Not even Chain Reaction is scary, unless for some reason you are afraid of fences. A few strobe lights and fog could have saved this area, but all they had was paper chain "vines" hanging down. Even if you do not get the VIP pass, 17 dollars is an insane amount of money to put down for this. It is compareable to a small-town haunt. I am sorry for the pessimistic review, but not as sorry as I was after leaving 11th hour.

Reviewed by: tryme   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is very easy to locate because once you tun onto the street, it is in this very huge park.

Wait Entertainment: I waited in line for the attraction for about 1.5 hours. Though there were no characters in the line.

Length of Event: 20 Minutes

Actor Performance: There were two great characters in the beginning of the attraction that explained the theory of the haunted house and why it is haunted. There was also one good actor in the kitchen scene of the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good, they waited about 5 to 10 minutes before they sent another group in, so we did not bump into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: There were a couple scenes in the attraction that were very well decorated to scare someone but no characters to go along with them.

Costumes / Make-up: The costume and make-up on the mere four characters that we saw were good.

Summary: Overall I believe that this was supposed to be a more family friendly attraction. It had a great shortage of characters which I was surprised being that it was Friday 13th. I was dissapointed because they had a decent set-up but not enough people to scare me, though if they did it could have easily turned out great because there were some scary scenes like the dark maze. Like I said it was family friendly so suitable for all ages. Though I will not return to that one. 

Reviewed by: cooldrumman   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was no problem getting there. There is a sign on Lake Street telling you when to turn, so that was helpful. It's in the huge park, you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: The wait wasn't too bad, but I would expect it to get longer as Halloween nears. There wasn't any wait entertainment when we went.

Length of Event: We were in there for about 15-20 minutes. It seems like a good length because it wasn't very scary.

Actor Performance: Great acting. Very good characters. They all played their parts very well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was no problem. They wait a while between sending small groups in. We never ran into or even heard any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: It's probably fine for any age, their were some rather young children in line with us. But just to be safe I'd say 10 years and older.

Props / Special FX: Very cool props. They had an amazing kitchen scene. The props and set up were the highlight for me.

Costumes / Make-up: They obviously took a lot of time with their make-up. It looked very professional. This one clown was probably the creepiest costume I've seen in a long time.

Summary: It over-all wasn't very scary. The actors mainly pop out and get a scream and then follow you around. I thought the scenes and the maze were very original. The price ISN'T $15. It is $17, but only $15 if you have a coupon. I thought this was a little bit over-priced, but I still had a great time at Eleventh Hour.

Reviewed by: joeyc84   (Event Visited: 10/08/06 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location isn't visable from any main road, but it's in a huge park which is easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The wait wasn't too long, mostly because we were the last group on a Sunday night.

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes to make it out. It you don't listen to the actors at the end it may take a lot longer.

Actor Performance: The actors played their parts well. The best actor had to be chuckles the clown.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Small groups are taken it at a time. You move as fast as the first person in your group.

Appropriate Ages: Just about any age is okay. Maybe stay away from children younger than 10

Props / Special FX: They have a lot of mechanical props and special effects that enhance the attraction. Even for someone older who is aware of their surrounds, they still surprise you with effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were very well done. They obviously take their time preparing and know what their doing.

Summary: There is no question this was worth it. The wait wasn't too long and the attration was longer making it worth that cost and wait. They incorporate a story into the attracion which makes it more than just a haunted house. They know what they're doing and they've taken a lot of time to create something different. I'd deffinatly reccomend this attraction especially for guys who are looking to get a little closer to theri dates. The only dislike would be that it could have used a few more actors.

Reviewed by: awondergirl5   (Event Visited: 10/08/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good amount of parking! Somewhat by North Ave and 83, kinda confusing to find but if you turn left onto west going east on north ave... go to gladcy and turn right into the parking lot

Wait Entertainment: The actors outside were funny and entertaining... and they didn't have any music, but the outside of the haunted house was creative!

Length of Event: It took my group about 30 minutes or so to go through the haunted house! But that's because we got lost in the maze part!

Actor Performance: Very good actors! Too bad there weren't more of them!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very well done with groups going in at a time! they took about 10 people at a time inside the house

Appropriate Ages: probably 10 and over

Props / Special FX: good effects and pretty awesome props... they put alot of effort into this one part where it's a house and there's a kitchen and hall way where you have to enter into it and then this door opens into the kitchen there's a secret door!

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the people were very scary looking... they had this clown that had these crazy eyes! probably the scariest person

Summary: This was my first haunted house and i was scared out of my mind to go in and i was very surprised to see how big and long it took to go through it. They were very creative and i really like how the actors would follow you throuhg not just pop out! Overall I would go through it again

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at