Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Creatures Crypt (Bloomington, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: yuscareme   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good signs after getting close to it

Wait Entertainment: the movie play over and over and over giving the rules was to loud and boring

Length of Event: maybe 15 min

Actor Performance: good, the real tall thing was great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a guided tour, I don't care for guides

Appropriate Ages: 10 or 11 depends on the kid

Props / Special FX: seemed like alot of special props and less people

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were great, make up was good

Summary: I didn't like having to hold on to the rope but without it people would get lost it seemed like it was very open and had different pathways. A sign outside said that they are rated number 2 in the state must be good.

Reviewed by: ktflags   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find!!

Wait Entertainment: Good. I thought the strobes were a little to much, but I cant handle strobes very well.

Length of Event: We were there maybe a hour 1/2 total

Actor Performance: Very Good! Every thing was exelent

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AWESOME!! we did have a group come close to us in the back, but then we never saw them again.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up

Props / Special FX: AWESOME!!

Costumes / Make-up: WONDERFUL!!

Summary: I thought my experence here was worth the 2hour drive and I was screaming the entire time and a person in my group wet themself!! so thats a plus on your part!

Reviewed by: screamgirl   (Event Visited: 10/15/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nice location

Wait Entertainment: Wheelchair guy was a little wicked!

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Great! Couple of performances that really got me were- Jack the Ripper, the tree guy and the dropping door where some monster tried to grab me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: nice - did not run into to anyone

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: very nice use of items

Costumes / Make-up: great on both sides

Summary: I usually visit 2 haunted houses in the area and this being one of them and the Crypt did a good job. I love how it changes up year after year and this is the best location yet. Keep up the good work!

Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Love the old warehouse!!

Wait Entertainment: not long at all, maybe 10 minutes

Length of Event: 15 minutes give or take

Actor Performance: great! The mad doctor at the front was great, even when he did run over your toes in the rascal scooter! OUCH!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did run into the group ahead once, but no big deal.

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up

Props / Special FX: They have an awesome gargoyle at the front, and they have done some cool new things since last year.

Costumes / Make-up: LOVE the giant Creature reacher! he scares the crap out me every time! He freaks me out when he reaches over the walls & touches your hair

Summary: My friends & I just screamed then we would laugh at ourselves for screaming, but we screamed so much we couldnt catch our breath sometimes. We love it! 
We will DEFINITLY be back next year!

Reviewed by: simongarth   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Kind of difficult to find, especially when you are from out of town, and not familiar with side roads. But, ok once you started getting close.

Wait Entertainment: Typical wait. 30 minutes or so.

Length of Event: 12 to 15 minutes? Seemed fast, beacause the Guide kept pulling the rope faster and faster...not alot of time to look around.

Actor Performance: ranged from pretty good. (jack the ripper) to pretty weak.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A group behing us almost merged with us a few times.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: A few animatronics , like the woman in the bed, didnt work when we went through. Others went off too soon, so by the time my end of the line got there, the prop was out of sight. I noticed they used many props and set decorations from the years before. (cracked lava floor, cylinder brick tunnel, ect...)

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. My favorite was the zombie boy who walked around , alongside the crowd. stayed in perfect character. Sad he was better than the actors inside for the most part.

Summary: I personally won't plan on going back next year, unless I read of big overhauls. 10 bucks is 10 bucks. More of a "fun house" than a haunted house in my opinion.

Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little tricky to find. It is not on a main road. However, there were a few helpful signs, once you got nearby. It's easy to tell then, they had cop cars with their lights on.

Wait Entertainment: None. I had VIP passes so I got right in. It did not seem crowded at all. We might have been one of the last groups to get to go in. I got VIP passes so they gave me some halloween mardi gras beads! Yay a bonus.

Length of Event: 10 minutes. pretty short, but the tour guide (you hold on to a rope "DONT LET GO OF THE ROPEY!" they tell you. Our tour guide walked fairly slow so we could look around.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. Many were very into their characters. I saw a wide variety too. From a ghost town cowboy, to jack the ripper. My ABSOLUTE favorite in any house I have been in this season was the 12 foot grim reaper guy. OMG he chased after me and grabbed my hair with this huge hand. He touches you so be careful. He accidently pulled my hair, it got caught on his "finger". I thought I had "escaped" him by going thru a small doorway into the next hallway. I was WRONG! He reached over the 8foot wall and hit my head again!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, heard some other groups screams ahead, but never ran into another group. They did a great job. This could also be due to the fact it wasn't that busy when I went in.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and above.

Props / Special FX: They have some really neat stuff. Pretty cool animatronics and things that jump out at you. Quite a few surprises!

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good! Above average, I would say. No lame masks.

Summary: Overall, I'd say Creature's Crypt was my favorite house so far this year. I had never been to this particular one before, and I was impressed. A nice even mix of actors, props, and special effects. It's especially worth 10 bucks. An idea would be to extend on the haunted house and make it longer. Maybe a pitch black maze or something scary like that. 10 minutes is a little short, but at least its only 10 dollars!

Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: we got right in

Length of Event: 15 to 20 min

Actor Performance: good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 10 up

Props / Special FX: really cool props very impressive a must see

Costumes / Make-up: guides look great actors were cool too

Summary: highly recommend dont miss this one its one of the best in this area and the staff treats you great high dollar scenes its a must see for haunted house lovers one of my favorites

Reviewed by: DrumG2   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building was easy enough to find. The old warehouse is a really freaky location.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was excellent. The guy chasing you down in the chair was awesome. In addition there were some video screens as well. But the highlight was the insane old guy chasing people around.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were good. Some could have been a bit more aggressive but for the most part they were in character and did a heck of job making people in my group jump.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never run into any other groups. Though it is a rope guided tour, the only negative.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Creatures Crypt has great props and special fx. The best of the haunts I have been to, maybe the best in the state. The house itself is amazing, everything is super detailed, and there are tons of things that pop out or rattle you.

Costumes / Make-up: All of the actors were in costumes and make-up. I don't think I saw a single mask. Some of the actors could be a bit more bloody and it might have helped out their scares. But overall they were all exceptionally well done.

Summary: I have been to Creatures Crypt in the past. It is one of my favorite haunted houses in the area. It was an excellent show. My only complaint was that some of the actors were not has aggressive as they have been in the past. But it was really cold Saturday. Defiantly a worth going to. Not gory and scary but defiantly very scary and a lot of fun.

Reviewed by: goblin1961   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location- old warehouse

Wait Entertainment: Crazy Doctor- Great

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Good- some young actors though

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Held onto a rope- so did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 7 +

Props / Special FX: nice special effects

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: Overall great job, had some moments where I want to crawl out of my skin. Scenery was awesome. Would highly recommend! Daughters took friends through and all loved this one.

Reviewed by: speed2592   (Event Visited: 10/01/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was good and you couldnt miss it with the people directing you to the parking areas

Wait Entertainment: There was ok wait entertainment i only had one character come through during my wait.

Length of Event: about 11-12 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors did an ok job they had good quick scares however ther were some part where the actors were not scarry they were more so annoying then scarry

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow of people was excelent i didnt run into any other groups inside but could hear the many orher screams

Appropriate Ages: 11 +

Props / Special FX: the props were ok

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes looked expensive and were quite believable

Summary: there was a good flow to get in and inside the house the flow and pace while walking was good however the tall character on stilts was not scarry at all but was just annoying because he just kept touching you with his claws and the guide with you prevents you from getting out of the hallway with him but other wise it was a good house.

Reviewed by: Sanctuared   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Best location of any haunt I have visited yet. It's in a big old building that is very visible and obvious. There are men directing traffic and lights everywhere.

Wait Entertainment: There was absolutely no wait! but there were actors scaring people outside of the building.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some really good actors, some bad ones. Overall, I would say a decent job with acting. The clown was pretty lacking, as was the actor in the woods scene. (which would have been an AWESOME scene if it had better acting.)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. Each group has a guide that walks very steadily and you never see another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: They had some extremely detailed and high-tech props that went very well with the atmosphere. The scenes were some of the best I have seen (especially the woods, the jack the ripper, and the doctor).

Summary: This was deffinately worth going to. It wasn't one of the most frightening haunted houses due to some poor acting and having not enough actors in general, but it was still a lot of fun and very cool. Some girls in my group were terrified still, so it can still make you jump pretty well. One thing the owners should consider- little kids are not scary! They actually ruin the atmosphere most of the time, which they nearly did here. Overall, I'm very glad I went and it was an extremely well-done and well put together event.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at