Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
S. Beloit Lions Haunted Barn/ Hayride (South Beloit, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: surrah11487   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was really easy to find there were signs all the way in from town.

Wait Entertainment: There wasnt really that long of a wait, but there was a guy with a chainsaw outside scaring people as they came in and went out.

Length of Event: I think it took about 15 or 20 minutes to get through, but it depends on how fast you walk.

Actor Performance: All of the actors were good, some more in character than others, but it seemed like they had a good amount of people working and they all scared me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good we saw the group ahead of us but a guy trapped us in a corner for a while, i think it was to let them get ahead more, but he still scared the crap out of me.

Appropriate Ages: 10 to 65, Depending on how big of a baby your kid is.

Props / Special FX: The had really good special FX the one graveyard room with the snow was really awesome, and the scientist room.

Costumes / Make-up: some people were just wearing regular clothes and a mask but it still scared me others had on full outfits and stuff

Summary: OVerall the barn was really good, it was very scary and it wasnt a bad price, there were a lot of actors and a couple of them even got us a few different times. the hayride was pretty good too.

Reviewed by: bigballabmw   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very hard to find there are signs poiting u in all different directions!!!

Wait Entertainment: there were clown outside but they just sat and talked to eachother!

Length of Event: 5 min

Actor Performance: very poor

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into the group in front of us

Appropriate Ages: 4

Props / Special FX: nothing really too too good

Costumes / Make-up: just some really old masks

Summary: I though that for the money i paid and it only took 5 min to go through i was very dissapointed it reminded me of the haunted house at the pumkin patch if you have younger children this may be the one for them!

Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is quite difficult to find if you do not the area. There are signs in varying spots but one of them points in the wrong direction. Also, the road splits.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't really any. There was a guy standing around with a chain and red-haired mask but he didn't do anything. He just stood several yards away from the line. There was however, a man on a horse that jumped at a car that was leaving to scare them a bit. There wasn't anybody interacting with the waiting patrons though.

Length of Event: It takes approximately 5-10 minutes to walk through the barn.

Actor Performance: There wasn't much energy. They basically atttempted to jump out at us or wave their hands in our faces. They seemed confused if you weren't scared or if you spoke at or about them. One monster did have a great comeback to something somebody said. Kudos to them, however, there were two girls with a little pink flashlight and no makeup or costume that jumped out and shouted "blah". We asked if they were actors because we thought they may be patrons with a light. They said, "No, we work here." Overall, it seemed that many of them were not comfortable with their characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It starts well. They try really hard to space it well but we did collide with one group.

Appropriate Ages: 7-8+

Props / Special FX: They have some very detailed scenes but since there are no actors there it is very easy to walk past them.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors wear masks or it is too dark to see what they were wearing. The makeup was minimal but okay for what is seen.

Summary: It seems that the amount you pay is not quite what you get. The acting was very light and not very scary and it just seemed that most of the actors were tired. The length was also a bit of a problem as it costs $8 but took us approximately 7 minutes to walk through. I really was disappointed though if you are a parent looking to take your child to a haunted event, this may be the one.

Reviewed by: Terk   (Event Visited: 10/15/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt was very easy to find since they had signs posted on all of the main roads throughout the area. Also, this haunt was located right off of I-90 which made it even easier to see.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of haygard roaming around with chainsaws, and a couple of clowns were outside scaring people in there cars as they pulled in.

Length of Event: 10-15min. (depending on how long it took for some to get through the maze).

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were really creative and had a lot of energy (the clowns and the prisoner guy), but others were just fair and didn't really do the best job of scaring me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was ok. I did see a group up ahead of us but we never did run into them.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and older.

Props / Special FX: This was a plus for this haunt. They had a lot of authentic props and since it was in a really old barn, the props they choose fit perfectely

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the actors had masks, but they were pretty good masks, and other had face paint.

Summary: Overall this is a really good haunted house. You get what you pay for, and that is an old fashion haunted house that uses dark hallways and chainsaws to get your blood pumpin. Not to say this is the best atraction I've visited, but it's certainely on my top list.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at