Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
ABYSS Haunts, LLC (Joliet, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: bee1   (Event Visited: 10/31/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was great, plenty of parking spots to chose from , right in front of building, and parking decks, also on street.

Wait Entertainment: They had a few ghouls out in the lobby or waiting area,and very unique ghoul tee shirts for sale.

Length of Event: about 15 of the most terrifying minutes !

Actor Performance: The actors were absolutely the best ever, they made you feel like you were really in a scarey movie.Each and everyone of them had an eerie quality about them, to becon you to come closer to living this horror...!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not a long wait at all, but we did go on Halloween night, so I do not know if that made the difference.

Appropriate Ages: I am 48yrs old and I was very frightened , but yet a stable 10 yr old could absolutely have a great , frightful Halloween scare, with adult family member.

Props / Special FX: Every room , every corner, and every wall had some special effect to it,,even a silent moment in the house, was perfect to catch your breath for the next scene or horror.!!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Make-up were so right on the money, not alot of phoney caked on make up, hard to explain but there was a dead little girl who kept poping up in just about every other room, which was frightful in itself,since she had an axe in her hand, but she had that child like quality and skin, but still the makeup was almost translucent , like she was a real ghost.!!

Summary: This is a must see for everyone, the price I believe was fine at $16.00, worth every penny.The actors and props were excellent,there was one point where the walls get a little too narrow and since I am scared of confined spaces, one of the actors actully slid me to a side door to wait for my friend,without making me feel silly, only missed about 30 seconds of the wall and still got to go on with the haunt, so they are very accamodating.I love a good scare and this is the best, you will not be sorry at this haunt.!!

Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find, using online directions and a lit-up sign on the street helped too.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor walking around outside.

Length of Event: Maybe 5 minutes

Actor Performance: It was pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was good too. Never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: All

Summary: I was a bit disappointed with this! The actors were ok and the scenes were average, but the $17 ticket price was just outrageous for what little this place had to offer. Much of it was plain black hallways and plain scenes without a lot of props. I would have been happy paying maybe $8 for this, but $17 is just way too much! They really need to reconsider their ticket price. I won't be going back to this one otherwise.

Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you live in joliet, then its easy to find. if you use mapquest you WILL get lost. try google maps or something else. mapquest's directions has us going way out of the way big time.

Wait Entertainment: none - very disappointing.

Length of Event: about 10 min or so

Actor Performance: for there 1st haunt, not aweful - but pretty darn close

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we bumped into the group ahead of us, and the 2 groups behind us caught up to us. should've been more spread out. for a saturday night, it wasn't busy at all. they could've had 5-10 min gaps

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up no problem

Props / Special FX: overall poor, with the exception of the vortex which spun so fast it felt as though we were going to get sick. other than that, i've seen way better.

Costumes / Make-up: average to poor. exampe: if you think a little girl say age 10-ish walking around in a night gown brandishing a fake knife is scary, then this haunt is for you. as far as make-up goes, i'd say it was probably 80/20 for no-makeup(costumes)/costumes/makeup. they need some work in this department very badly

Summary: like i said, for the abyss's first try out in the haunting house realm, nice try. you guys need to go to other haunted houses such as nightmares basement of the dead, slaughterhouse on sayton road or even dare i say 11th hour(which sadly enough is way better than the abyss) so your hh could be better next yr. for this year, however, i've been to many hh's this yr that were alot cheaper and better. give a try next year and hopefully you will get the art of a good haunted house down pat.

Reviewed by: spider   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It has the perfect setup. You can get off of I80 at the Chicago Street exit. This is very convienient because the haunt is on Chicago Steet. They have signs posted along the way. The parking is great because it is in a guarded parking garage which is located right next to the haunt. And the parking is FREE!!! It is also easy to find because it is located next to the RIALTO THEATRE and you can't miss that sign.

Wait Entertainment: They have music playing in the background and on the weekends they have a live broadcast. It is great because you wait inside a big hallway and you don't have to deal with the cold and rain

Length of Event: The event took between 10 and 15 minutes. It really depends on how fast you choose to go.

Actor Performance: Overall the performances were top notch. There is a little girl that seems to be everywhere in the haunt. It is pretty creepy. They also have a clown room with freaky clowns.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They space groups out so that you never run into the ones ahead of you. It is nice because unlike other haunts in the area, you don't have to wait at checkpoints in the middle of it. It is nice because you feel apart of the action the whole time.

Appropriate Ages: 10-Up. We saw couples in their sixties and even kids that looked to be 7. It is really up to the pare.nts discreation

Props / Special FX: Great effects. They have a vortex, something all haunts should have. Throughout the whole thing their are strobe lights, lazers and shock walls!!! They even have a FREDDY KRUEGER that sparks the walls!

Costumes / Make-up: Really good make-up. The costumes are appropriate for all the parts in the Haunt.

Summary: Overall it is a really great haunt and by my opinion and everyone coming out, it is worth the 15 dollars. I've went to it the past three weekends. They change parts of it because they want to keep it fresh. This is their first year and it seems as if they are veterans. I go back and every time I do it is great. A must see.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at