Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Barn (Marion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: steveb   (Event Visited: 10/31/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location out in the sticks, but only a few minutes from Marion. Made it that much more scary. It is in a creepy old barn.

Wait Entertainment: A movie and some actors were messing with people, made the wait seem a lot shorter.

Length of Event: about 15 or 20 minutes. Kind of neat, we thought it was over, but we went outside and then back in the barn.

Actor Performance: Great! Good mix of all types of strange creatures and not the mask you see at Walmart.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not see any other people.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the child, there were some pretty intense scenes. Probably atleast 10.

Props / Special FX: Wow lots of detail, cool sound and they whispered my duaghters name mixed in with wierd rumbling loud sounds, after I told the guide. Scared the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of her. I have never heard of a haunted house doing that.

Costumes / Make-up: make up was decent, good mix between masks and make up. But the killer was this scare crow that came out of nowhere and chased us, must have been 10 ft tall!

Summary: Realistic location, an old barn out in the country. Bad things could really happen in a place like that. Great actors and props. Wait was average for a good haunted house, I have waited longer. Worth the trip and admission.

Reviewed by: staceyq   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The parking attendants were very good. There were enough of them to guide all cars in and out quickly and safely.

Wait Entertainment: I enjoyed having several entertainers walk throughout the line and talk to/scare the customers. They were very funny.

Length of Event:  
I felt the time that it took to walk through the haunted barn was appropriate. (10-15 minutes)

Actor Performance: All of the actors remained in character and did a very good job. I especially enjoyed the scarecrow on stilts. He surprised me! You don't expect this tall scarecrow to come to life! He did an excellent job walking/running through the corn field...and the ground was soft from the rain the night before.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were plenty of guides to direct the flow of the customers through the barn. Nice job.

Appropriate Ages: I like the fact that the barn has certain nights that it caters to families and other nights that it is directed to an older audience.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were appropriate for the different scenes that they were in.

Summary: I felt that this haunted barn was well worth the money. It was very obvious that a lot of time and effort went into the design of the scenes and into managing the haunted barn so that there were few, if any, problems that could occur. Great Job Haunted Barn of Marion!

Reviewed by: uniteach14   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: An eerit ride out into the country sets the perfect atmosphere for the scare of a lifetime! Clearly marked signs get you there!

Wait Entertainment: A very funny and wicked clown insults people and keeps you entertained while in line so that the 20-30 minute wait seem to fly by.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes

Actor Performance: Great job being on que for the tour--unrealistically scary--makes you feel as if you are in a real horror film.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow, entered in small group but it was as if we were the only ones there

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up depending on their interest and tolerance to being scared to death!

Props / Special FX: Real to life costumes and props, many mechanical displays, great lighting and sound effects sets the stage for a scary time!

Costumes / Make-up: Great costuming--especially the clown!! All other costumes were just as if they were taken from a movie set.

Summary: Very eerie haunted barn out in the country which sets the stage for the scare of a lifetime! Very real actors, props and costumes. Scares you to death so you better use the bathroom before you go in or else you will need to change your clothes by the time you get out. You might also take some Halls to sooth your aching throat after screaming your lungs out for 25 minutes! The scariest by far I have ever been to!!

Reviewed by: wickedclownd   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good loca....they have signs in town and leading you to the barn

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment is great...there is a clown that insaluts ppl his is very quick witted and works with the crowd....i loved it!

Length of Event: 25 30 min...you get entertained in the line too

Actor Performance: good there are monsters very were a 8 foot scarecrow actor...crazy clowns and little clowns the actors are good and dont do the samething over and over again

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good i had a small group one time and the 2nd time i was in a large group

Appropriate Ages: yes and no there is a family night

Props / Special FX: very good...like a move pro colection or something...lights and it seems like very thing jumps at you and i cant tell if somethings are real or not...tell it jumps at you...

Costumes / Make-up: good the actors are good one clown had on 3 differnt faces a mask then a clown mask and i think his face was painted to

Summary: this place is very good. its about time we here in souther ill had a good haunted house...i travel most every year to see one...but this year it was in my home town and the place reiveled stl. houses and places up north of me....ppl i know my group went right back in line after the first time and i plan on going again...it seems like there is something different every time...a very good house close to home....i would travel to see this one....

Reviewed by: rebecca   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was out in the country which made for a scary atmosphere. It was pretty easy to find from the directions on the net.

Wait Entertainment: The wait in line was pretty cool. They had a movie playing and actors to keep you entertained.

Length of Event: After you entered the barn I would say it was about 20 or so minutes long

Actor Performance: All the actors were great and had very high energy. The scarcrow was my favorite.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They had groups of 4 or 5 go in at a time but we never ran in to the other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the age for this would be 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: They had alot of props and alot of details.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were all very neat and original. Very impressed.

Summary: I had a great time. I would encourage anyone to visit here. It is one of the best I have seen in a long time. Very creative. The price of this event seemed far for the show you got.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at