Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
X-treme Haunting's Sayton Road Slaughterhouse (Fox Lake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: j9er22   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good! Love that it is on Sayton road!

Wait Entertainment: Good! Someone told them my name, and it freaked me out cause they kept saying it!

Length of Event: good! longer than most!

Actor Performance: Excellent...especially loved the exorcism room!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good! ran into some others in the dark maze, but it was ok!

Appropriate Ages: 12

Props / Special FX: Loved the snow!!!! and the toliet!!! some of the best i have seen! very orginal!

Costumes / Make-up: good!

Summary: This is one if the best houses i have ever been to! it had my 6'3" 275 lb boyfriend screaming like a little school girl and using me as a human shield! the christmas room and exorcism room were the BEST!!!! and the cage maze was unreal! we liked it some much we went back again on Halloween! the employees were extremely nice as well! cant wait till next year!

Reviewed by: Prdangelo   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Onced noticed, very easy to find. There was a sign on the side of the road directing you to turn here.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of clowns that were scaring the line. One with a chainsaw. Very in to character.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Outstanding, they didnt miss a beat. Very scary all the time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This has to be the absolute best thing besides the haunt itself. They sent only your group in. Made it very personal. Never ran into anyone and no one ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Each room was done just right and just enough. They used a great mixture of lighting and timing to make sure you were scared as best as possible.

Costumes / Make-up: All of them were great. Santa claus was awesome. And so was the tortured girl.

Summary: Being that i have gone to all the big haunts and loved them, I have to say that this was better than all of those. This was a fairly detailed haunt and it was well equipped with diligent actors. If you do go, please be warned. . . .You willed be scared! I think with this being its first year around that its only going to get better and better as each year passes.

Reviewed by: SCAREFREAK1   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find. off a side road of 12. signs helped tremendously. i called for directions and they were very people friendly.

Wait Entertainment: clown was EXCELLENT. scared a lot of people.

Length of Event: 15-30 mins

Actor Performance: good. a lot of 'screamers', good effect though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it got a little bunched up but only because groups were running through and a lot of people were there

Appropriate Ages: eh 11+

Costumes / Make-up: pretty good.

Summary: the 1st room was great. original definitely. 1st time ive seen it. cage maze was trippy! got lost a little too! definitely a house to visit and worth the $10! good scares!

Reviewed by: thedarkone   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find

Wait Entertainment: OK, a clown in the young girls faces.

Length of Event: 10-11 minutes total (3-4 minutes I was lost in the dark maze).

Actor Performance: Below ordinary. All encounters were very brief without much depth in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: OK, it went fast until the maze with jail bars. Then things slowed and other groups caught up.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up. Not too scary.

Props / Special FX: Props were OK but limited. The bar maze was pretty cool but not much else. The rooms were decorated OK but no animatronics or surprises.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good (average).

Summary: The actors did not draw me in. I don't recall being startled or good scares. The dark maze at the end was annoying (too dark and hard to get out of). The exorcist room seemed interesting and looks like it has some potential. Overall, I was disappointed. Jaycees type haunt is a good way to sum it all up. I am surprised at all of the good reviews (maybe I missed something?).

Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: SINCE I'M NOT FROM THE AREA, GOOGLE MAPS HELPED TREMENDOUSLY. EASILY FOUND ON SAYTON ST. WHETHER YOUR COMING OFF OF ROLLINS RD OR RTE-12, SIGNS AT BOTH INTERSECTIONS. VERY VISIBLE EVEN WITH THE RAIN COMING DOWN.

Wait Entertainment: SOME, 3 OR 4 ACTORS ROAMING THE LINE & GETTING ON THE YOUNG GIRLS NERVES. GOOD JOB.

Length of Event: NOT TO GIVE TO MUCH AWAY, DEPENDING ON ONE PARTICULAR AREA, SOMEONE COULD GET LOST FOR AWHILE. APPROX 10-30 MINUTES DEPENDING ON YOUR SENSE OF DIRECTION IN THE DARK.

Actor Performance: FANTASTIC. TRUE TO FORM. EVERYONE VERY MUCH RIGHT ON CUE. AGAIN, MY HATS OFF TO ALL THE GUYS AND GALS WHO PUT ALL THE HARD WORK INTO THEIR PERFORMANCES.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: UP UNTIL THE MAZE, WE NEVER BUMPED INTO ANYBODY. IN THE MAZE, WE DID CATCH UP TO AND PASS THE GROUP THAT WAS AHEAD OF US. BUT THAT WAS TO BE EXPECTED. NO BIGGIE. PATRON FLOW MUCH BETTER THAN MOST OF THE ATTRACTIONS THAT I HAVE BEEN TO IN PAST YRS.

Appropriate Ages: SIGN SAYS 12 AND UP AND I WOULD SAY THAT IS PROBABLY CORRECT.

Props / Special FX: AWESOME, AGAIN THESE PEOPLE DID A WONDERFUL JOB IN THE DETAIL OF ALL THE PROPS/FX THAT WERE USED. AND THE SMELLS - WOW. MORE HH'S NEED TO SEE THIS PLACE TO BETTER THEIR HH'S.

Costumes / Make-up: WITH THE EXCEPTION TO THE EVIL CLOWNS (WHICH PRACTICALLY ALL HH'S HAVE THESE), VERY ORIGINAL TO ALL OF THE OTHER COSTUMES AND MAKEUP. THIS WAS OUR 4TH HAUNT THIS YR AND THE 1ST WITH DIFFERENT COSTUMES/MAKEUP ON THE ACTORS. KUDOS. 

Summary: OVERALL, VERY ENTERTAINING. HAD A FANTASTIC TIME GETTING BOTH SCARED AND JUST PLAIN LAUGHING AT MY STUPIDITY AT TIMES. TO DATE THIS YEAR, BY FAR THE BEST HH I'VE BEEN TO. I'LL PROBABLY COME BACK AGAIN NEXT WEEKEND AND DEFINITLY WILL BE BACK FOR AS LONG AS THE GROUP RUNS THIS HAUNT FOR MANY YRS TO COME. AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Jeff82   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house was pretty easy to find, and it was in a good location. It was off the beaten path enough that it created a spooky atmosphere, but was close enough to the main road that is was hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple people entertaining the crowd, nothing special but they did the trick.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: They were good enough, pretty standard for a basic Jaycee-style haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We bumped into the group in front of us and the group behind us caught us a couple times too.

Appropriate Ages: I don't know, 11+ maybe?

Props / Special FX: This area was really lacking, for what I was expecting. There was really nothing new or exciting in here to discuss. Very standard and basic. It felt like a midgrade Jaycee haunted house. Nothing stands out as interesting, it's just sorta blah. The Santa Claus candy cane room looked okay I guess, and the cage maze was pretty cool for what it was.

Costumes / Make-up: It screamed volunteer charity haunted house, but I must admit, for $10 it wasn't too bad.

Summary: I'm not sure who is reviewing this place, but I can't understand why people are scoring it so high. I visited this attraction because the visitor reviews hyped it up to be excellent. I thought if it is getting 9s and 10s it must be good. That is the last time I go by visitor reviews. One reviewer said it was the best of the three in Lake County. I personally thought it was by far the worst of the three. Take it for what it's worth I guess. But as a whole, this was a whole lot of hype for a very run of the mill, generic, and uninteresting haunted house. At least it was only $10, and there were some decent scares. It might be worth it if you live in the area and just want a quick, cheap scare or 2. I personally would not return, and feel there's too many bland haunted houses like this one already.

Reviewed by: jaxel   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find, had signs up pointing the way once you got off the mainroad

Wait Entertainment: Had a few characters working the line, pretty scary too...

Length of Event: About 25-30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good. They knew how to handle different types of people very well (for example, if you tried to act all tough in front of your friends they would badger you, what's the matter tough guy? You think your so tough? Follow me, we'll see how tough you really are. Actually pretty scary)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: With the exception of one moving desk, everything seemed very realistic and scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Great Make-up and costumes. There were a few guys with a mask, and they were rather scary masks to say the least. Surprised by the professional make-up job.

Summary: Definitely worth the price of admission. The house over all played on realistic fears, and had a little bit of everything. Most people that I heard come out of the house all had at least one room that truly scared them. The house had a variety of very creative rooms. I would highly recommend a visit.

Reviewed by: juggafreak   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see it from rt.12 
it's not to hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: It was decent. there were some actors outside and doing a great job. The butcher clown was really cool

Length of Event: half hour

Actor Performance: Great!  
The timeing was perfect and went right along with the flow of people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: 20 minutes inside 
depends how fast you move

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: the FX was really cool the toilet exploding and the smells that went with the rooms where awesome.  
Not the best to smell but it gave that extra push in the rooms just to make it that much more realistic.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were awesome. There were a couple masks but it went along with everything. other then that the make up on the people looked very real. good job to who created the dead in the house.

Summary: The house itself is very cool! Well worth the 10 bucks to get in. The actors in the excersist room was awesome. everything moving and bouncing around it seemed as if it was really haunted and she was posessed 
the bathroom and slaughter room was really good! and the cage maze was awesome! You have no idea where your going and with the strobes and fog and loud rock music it just messed you up. The people who ran that cage knew exactly what to do and they did there job to the max 
over all this house is worth checking out!

Reviewed by: pinkangel   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visability was a little tough from the raod, along with the yahoo map was a little confusing, but we made it.

Wait Entertainment: Randomly guys would come out and run around... giving us something to look at or run from rather...

Length of Event: We waited in line for about an hour and a half. Which was a long wait, but well woth it!

Actor Performance: It really seemed like they knew what they were doing and there was a lot of time taken in to prepairing the haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything went together really well. There were very few times were I couldn't figure out what was going on.

Appropriate Ages: I think that this haunted house should be for children over 13 because of the nature and how scary it can get.

Props / Special FX: This is the first time I was really scared in the huanted house. I've worked at one in the past so I know the "ins and outs" but I defintally can't atest to this one! The speical effects were very well done, even the smells were there, which made it that much better!

Costumes / Make-up: I thought all of the costumes were very well done! The masks were fabulous!!! I can't even imagin how much time it took to get everything together. I love the room with chucky and santa!

Summary: With the speical effects, actors and the time that it must have taken, this haunted house was very well done! None of the ones i've seen in the past, or even worked on, can even come close to the scariness of this one! Good job to everyone whos working there!

Reviewed by: morkork   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is just barely off Route 12 in the heart of Fox Lake, but still a little tough to see from the main highway. A little lights on the building would be nice. Buit, dont get me wrong, its real easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Depending on lines, the wait entertainment is great. At least three walk around messing with the crowd on busy nights, while at least one spook is sen on nights where the lines are slower. They also do a great job of scaring everyone.

Length of Event: 20 to 30 minutes, depending if you get lost.

Actor Performance: The actors really go all out to put on a performance and give you your money's worth.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow is really good. We did get bunched up in the maze a little, but that really depends on the people in front.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 12 and up, but I can see kids a couple of years younger enjoying it too.

Props / Special FX: They spared no expense this year. Every room has something blowing up in your face or things jumping at you. The shock factor is amazing.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of masks, but a lot of incredible make up as well...a real decent blend.

Summary: I dont want to give too much away, but this really is the best house of the three in Lake County. They took some old tricks and juiced them up, while also bringing in some new elements I haven't seen in a haunted house anywhere. The cage maze is incredible, and the actors in there really know how to mess with you to the point where you are truly disoriented walking out. Also, the eight or nine rooms we went through in the front of the house...the actors went all out for us. They startled me in the beginning with Santa and continued to scare me worse as we wove deeper through it all. It was a great experience - well worth the money.

Reviewed by: jkerrdd06   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not easy to see from main road, but still easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were spooks outside to keep the crowd jumping while waiting to enter.

Length of Event: 20 to 30 min

Actor Performance: Actor perfofmence was very good, as my opinon as a former spook

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow through the house was controled very well. The actors keep everyone at a good pace.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Very good use of both old style and technical props

Summary: I wouldm and have recomended this house to many people. You will deffanatly get your money's worth. From props to actors this is a house to go and see.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at