Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Trail of Screams...The Evil Has Awakened (Rockford, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Blackskull66   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had a big flashing sign at the entrance of the attraction along with a huge Trail of Screams sign on a telephone pole. The long winding road at the entrance of the camp set the "creepy" mood.

Wait Entertainment: AWESOME!!!!! They had a scary movie playing along with a devilish looking character on stilts with long claws - he totally creeped us out. Michael Meyers was also roaming the line and scared ALOT of patrons. They also had loud rock music playing and a gift shop and concession stand.

Length of Event: It took our group about 35-40 minutes to get through the trail.

Actor Performance: The actors were GREAT!!! Most of the scenes had a very strong actor performance. They did alot of yelling and screaming and were not afraid to get into your personal space. Someone in my group even fell to the ground because they were so scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our guide was GREAT!!! She kept the group walking at a good pace and we didn't run into one group.

Appropriate Ages: Since the actors were very intense and in-your-face, I would say 13 and older like they advertise.

Props / Special FX: The detail and sets were AWESOME!!!! Every scene put you in a different mood and really made you feel like you weren't even on a trail. They did a tremendous job on everything from the props, lighting, music and oh yes - the chainsaws...we loved it! I especially love the big monster that they had in one scene.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup and costumes were great. Some scenes it was a little hard to see the makeup detail (like the prison), but from what I saw it showed that they took alot of time with makeup and costumes.

Summary: I have been to the Trail of Screams for the last 3 years and I must say this year was AWESOME! The actors stayed in character and were very intense. You can tell they put alot of time and effort into this attraction and it shows! We drove over an hour to get here and it was worth every $$$$. I don't want to give alot away, but the Crematorium was my favorite scene. My friend got so scared by the guy in the gas mask that she almost fell down 
and the detail in there really mad you feel like you were in a cremation room. My other favorite part was the crazy butcher in the Slaughterhouse - he scared us to death when he jumped out from behind the hanging meat. To sum it up, I had a blast and would highly recommend visiting this haunted attraction. The $11 we paid was well worth it -I probably would have paid more. I can't wait to see what they come up with next year!

Reviewed by: dbzpokemama   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Even though it was a more remote location, it was well marked on the road with a lit signboard.

Wait Entertainment: It was great! There were several frightening characters walking through the crowds all the time we were waiting in line, scaring people randomly. It was quite entertaining to watch them roam about. Several of them targeted me, and I must say the costumes were great and they startled me several times. They also had a big screen TV set up so those in the line could watch scarey movies, which was nice too.

Length of Event: I'd say it lasted about 45 minutes to complete the trail walk.

Actor Performance: I was extremely impressed with the actors there! They were all great!! The Reaper Guide we had did a great job of telling the whole story all along the trail and he had wonderful witty in-character comments to the patrons when they spoke to him.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once we got through the line, we moved along at a perfect pace from one attraction site to the next along the trail.

Appropriate Ages: Fine for most, although I think some of the younger ones under 10 may be pretty frightened.

Props / Special FX: I loved the props and various room decorations. I think they did a marvelous job on it all!

Costumes / Make-up: Really good job on costumes and makeup! Very impressed! Our Reaper Guide looked fantastic!

Summary: I had a fantastic time at the Trail of Screams this year too! The line wait was fun (even tho long) with the actors roaming around scaring people, our Reaper guide was AWESOME, the Trail covered a lot of area, it was well orchestrated, had great scene sets, really good actors and special effects... I'd definately recommend it!

Reviewed by: p8ntballer89   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: hard to spot sign for the entrance, just look for camp winnebago sign

Wait Entertainment: they had two people scaring in the visitors line and a tv that hada freaky movie playing on it

Length of Event: 30 min.

Actor Performance: kind of lag, i think because it was end of night

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good didnt run into any other groups

Summary: i personally did not get very scard during this attraction my sister went the week before and was telling me some of the stuff that happened to them like the dropping floor in the prison and the little girl screamin in the bedroom....none of the neat stuff she told me happened there.... i think just because it was the end of he night they didnt do all the stuff they do earlier in the performance times...overall not impressed not recommended to not do all haunting attemps just because it is getting later in the night..if u have customers give them the full show...or they wont come back next year......

Reviewed by: bdhnvy1940   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just north of town, fiarly easy to find, if you drive the speed limit. Sign was easy to see coming from south but I am sure anyone coming from north may drive by it.

Wait Entertainment: Micheal Meyers, from one of my favorite movies of all time. A creature that looked like it was from M. Night Shamalans "The Village", oooh was he creepy.

Length of Event: There were LOTS of people there, I waited for about 30 mins to get tickets, then about 30 to get in, and it was about 30 mins, wow so about 1.5 hours total.

Actor Performance: Very good lots of energy, some actors had lines others just screamed, and very few just jumped out and scared the bejesus out of us then went back into hiding. I usually don't scare real easy but after we were walking abit and the guy before the slaughter house scared the group, we went into the slaughter house where some kid scared us again, then outside there we ran because of a crazy guy wielding a chainsaw, it was relentless, but scary fun. In the Prison of the Dead, it was alot of screaming and banging, oh and the floor thing, man. The crazy hospital was nuts, almost funny, they were like yelling at each other until we got into the back room, then the Dr just creeped us out. I am not sure about after that the group I was in kept yappin, so I could not hear what it was called, but creepy, and the kid with the chainsaw AGAIN!?! We went into a cemetary thing, saw a "monster" was freaky but not scary. Finally the clowns, they scared this group like I have never seen. The whole time our guide, from what I could hear, kept to her part very well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group I was with had some teenagers and at times they walked very slow babbling consistantly, the guide had to shout for "SILENCE" about 20 times(that got annoying), then at times when they were being chased by the guy who jumped out of a demented amulance, they went very fast, and I had trouble keeping up. We did not run into any other group but we sure could hear where they were.

Appropriate Ages: Like the sign says, 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great, The mazes, the strobes, the fog, body parts, sets, very good. The slaughter house did look like something you may find in the back woods and mountains of the Appalachian states.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, costumes were very good, many "wounds" looked so real, the guys in the BIG costumes did a great job. I really liked that many actors were wearing make-up and not masks, it added to the believability.

Summary: Awesome attraction, definately wear older good shoes, got mud all over mine. Wait time was a little long but there were alot of people. All the sets were very well put together and mostly believable. Anyone looking for a good time should attend this event.

Reviewed by: j03_1   (Event Visited: 10/24/06 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is great, away from traffic of the city streets.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment is good, concessions are available and the classic chainsaw gives a visit.

Length of Event: anywhere between 30-45 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were professional and kept the scare factor high.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The "reaper" guide kept the flow going and the actors kept us going the right direction by "scaring" us the right way.

Appropriate Ages: No kids below 10.

Props / Special FX: Great props and effects, the atmosphere was great, a lot of time spent in this attraction.

Costumes / Make-up: Great great costumes! The make up was good on the clowns, men in very large costumes which required stilts to fill.

Summary: This haunted house is the best in Rockford for about 3 years running in my opinion. Nothing touches this in Winnebago county. Definitely worth the drive from another county, just make sure to get there a couple hours before it closes to ensure your ticket for the night. Great, great, scary haunted trail.

Reviewed by: jack1985   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find if coming from the toll bridge like i did. There is a big trail of screams sign on the telephone pole and they have a sign that is lit up right near it.

Wait Entertainment: Very creepy, there was a big tall red creature walking around, they also had a TV playing some scary movies.

Length of Event: It took about 35-45 minutes for us to get through. it more or less depends how fast the groups move.

Actor Performance: Very good, the actors didnt hesitate to get in my personal space.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: only once ran into another group, pretty well spaced out could have been better.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ for the intense action and the chainsaws.

Props / Special FX: Props were good, strobe lights got alittle annoying though.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very real, and the make-up was also convincing. they took alot of time on this subject.

Summary: Overall, they did a great job this year, i think they did better than last year, though the van ride was still alot of fun from last year. The prison was my favorite scene though, the warden barked at you like you were one of his prisoners and from the outside it sounded like a riot. The search lights and siren went well when the "Break-out" started. One guy with a chainsaw that was wearing a gas mask made me wet myself though, he just came out of nowhere plus i forgot to use the restroom before i went in so i already had to go.

Reviewed by: Skayrrdgrl63   (Event Visited: 10/19/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Dark and creepy, fairly easy to find, right off main road. They could use bigger or better sign to lead others to site.

Wait Entertainment: OH MY GOD! What is that thing?!?! Good, tall red thing scared me and my friends, it chased us all around the parking lot. Music rocked, coulda been louder.

Length of Event: From waiting to buy ticket to be chased back to my friends car about 1 hour, not bad really. Could have been faster but some of the people in my gruop were moving very slow, like they were afraid.

Actor Performance: The guide was good, felt like they really believed what they were saying, there were 2 scenes that had no light at all, I think that was freakier than having lights and actors. Actors overall excellent I was scared alot, I was told that this year was more "funny" but they had actors jumping out of nowhere scaring the entire group, that was awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: People moved slow, not sure if thats good or bad sign, I think good means that they were afraid of what might be around next corner. We did not run into another gruop but we could heaqr when they were in a scene or 2 in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: hmm, definately not under 10, there was alot of violent screaming and smashing of things, that was quite alarming.

Props / Special FX: Even though 2 scenes were completely black there was plenty to be scared of in those scenes, not knowing and being scared bad is worse than seeing and just being freaked out. Lots of chainsaws!!

Costumes / Make-up: Some good, some not so good, not sure about the costumes in the dark scenes, but then again what I could not see scared me more.

Summary: The whole attraction was scary, from the devil guy to the van guy to the prison to the clowns, I found myself and my friends huddled closely together moving from scene to scene and then practically on top of each other in the scene. Wait time was expected, total length was within reason. Cost was ok to, I had a coupon.

Reviewed by: bigballabmw   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very hard to find if you are from out of town.

Wait Entertainment: there were a few scary people out side

Length of Event: 20 min really depends on how fast you walk

Actor Performance: very poor, no one new their lines and everyone kept messing up even our tourguid didnt know what she was saying.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into alot og other groups and had to wait alot.

Appropriate Ages: 7

Props / Special FX: some of the stuff was not working the night i had gone do to electrical problems

Costumes / Make-up: the make-up was done okk nothing too too fancy

Summary: I have been goint to the hunted event every year and wen i went through this year i was made fun of by one of the actors and he was dissmissed many of the people did not know their lines!!

Reviewed by: z3r0   (Event Visited: 10/16/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was pretty hidden, we pretty much missed the entrance since it was so dark. Overall the road leading towards the attraction really build up some intensity, mainly because it was very dark and covered with trees.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertain was pretty cool, the had a tall creature, really tall like about 10 feet, walking around scaring people, but id prefer a chainsaw guy. The wait was no more than 30mins, but the surrounding did build up the mood. OVerall pretty good.

Length of Event: The lenght was probably 25-30. What i expected since it took about that long in 2004.

Actor Performance: NOw this attraction all comes down to this, the actors. In 2004, it was because of the actors that this haunt was so scary and fun. They were all taking their parts seriously and performed so well. IN 2006, the begining scene was great the actor build up the mood and the scene was speechless, but that was it. The rest was nothing compared to what they have done in 2004.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was not what I have expected. We were actually stopped once and waited in the middle of no where for 10 minutes, just waiting for the other group to move on. Plus you can hear other groups scream in front of yours, which is pretty bad. It might of just been our bad luck, but our group were stopped or slowed down a few times to wait for other groups to finish.

Appropriate Ages: Good for 10+ but in 2004 it was 13+ in my mind.

Props / Special FX: The props were okay, there was not really much props, but the rooms were very well decoraded.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes was not up to expectations. There was some really good makeup, but most of the actors had on jeans and leather jackets, and wore masks.

Summary: There was no clown room, no elevators, no chainsaw room, no doctor room. Its like they took everything out and brought it over to Trails of Scream 2, and upped the price for no reason. There was actually one scene, or the second scene to be exact, where there were no actors, just a plain decorated room. There was no actors in the forest while you are walking to the next house, and you spend most of the time walkin in the forest. Oh yea, they took out the van ride and the death of one person from the group. Compared to 2004 Trails of scream really toned it down. I mean in 2004 me, im a guy a big guy, and my friend literally fell runing in horror during the trip through the woods, but this year i was just anticipating for a scare that never happened.

Reviewed by: kildarea191   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: i was able to find it well thanks to thesigh they had lite up outside.

Wait Entertainment: the had some pretty spooky actors running around scaring the people. the also had movies playing on the tv outside.

Length of Event: it took anywhere between 45mins to an hour to get thru the attraction

Actor Performance: i thought the actors did a great job. i especally liked how the guides kept you in suspence. i honestly thought the guides did a lil better than the actors but they all did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never once ran into a group i thought they did good on that. they always had at least 12 people going in a group at a time so i thought we got in pretty quickly

Appropriate Ages: i would not recommend this attraction for anyone under 13. there was a lil girl in the group that was so scared that the guide had to keep her outside of the scenes.

Props / Special FX: the had an awsome prop in the crypt. it was creapy

Costumes / Make-up: the make up looked really convincing. i acually thought that some of the were bleeding. im impressed

Summary: they could of had some actors out in the field but other than that i liked it alot. i really liked the hospital. i thought the guys up in the rafters were the best part of it and the guy outside did awsome as well. i really liked my guide to she was awsome she never once broke character except for when it came to the little girl being scared. she had a really creapy staff in her hand with a skull on it that i thought went well with her whole act. i thought that the sparks coming from the fence outside the prison really did me in.i thought for sure i was going to get shocked and inside the floor gave way form under us.

Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is kind of out in the country, so be aware while looking for the sign! You cannot see the attraction from the road. Be looking for a drive you pull in with a sign point to it.

Wait Entertainment: I had a zero minute wait. I was one of the last people let in. However, be aware that this is an outdoor haunt, so you will be waiting in the cold.

Length of Event: about 25 minutes

Actor Performance: We had a high school "grim reaper" host. Props to him for trying so hard, but he was very friendly, he could have acted more scary. 
Some very good actors. The warden was very scary and played his part well. In general, the older actors seemed to really know their parts. The young actors were not very enthusiastic, and in fact, totally broke character many times. They would stop acting when I was a few feet after them and start gossiping about other actors. It was very childish. Another thing I didn't like was that our host was making comments along the whole tour to other actors "hey we need this floorboard fixed" "Dont forget to patch that up." I realize it was opening weekend, but they could have waited until our tour was over to chit-chat and discuss fixing up the house. I felt like I wasn't getting my money worth.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into no other groups, but I went very late and it was opening weekend.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: Nothing realy stood out. Most of this haunt was outdoors and walking through corn fields. Not too many SFX in a corn field. There were little houses along the way that you went into for a few seconds that had more eletroncical props.

Costumes / Make-up: The guy on stilts in the cornfield was pretty creepy. They should have picked a guy with a deeper voice though, because he was really straining to sound "scary."  
These guys had very good costumes and makeup. Not just rubber masks.

Summary: I have a low overall score because some of the actors were terrible and unprofessional in keeping their character. If you don't mind walking through dirty fields and being outdoors for most of the night, its worth checking out. However, don't expect to get too scared. This haunt was more amusing than scary. A BIG disappointment compared to last year, when there was the van ride. They got rid of it this year, so don't go if you are only wanting that.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at