Site Sponsors

Dark Summit Haunted House - Summit, Illinois
Fear City - Morton Grove, Illinois
St Patricks Haunted High - Kankakee, Illinois
Niles Haunted House Scream Park - Niles, Michigan

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Statesville Haunted Prison & City of the Dead (Crest Hill, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/30/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily spotted - marked by huge signs and a inflatable pumpkin - it is located in a pumpkin farm off webber road

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. Many actors walking around entertaining the crowd waiting

Length of Event: 50 minutes for both houses...about an hour wait

Actor Performance: Excellent. Everyone was into charactor and gave an excellent show

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Disappointed on the amount of people they crammed into the first two rooms of the haunt. So many people, that everyone was crushed and stepping on other people.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: Excellent.

Costumes / Make-up: Great - everything from extravagant to basic...but it all fits in very nicely with the appropriate rooms

Summary: This was my 3rd time this season visiting statesville and had to be the best. The actors were great and very much into entertaining everyone. The only disappointment I had was the amount of people crammed into the first rooms of both haunts for the "show"...way too many people, everyone was crushed and being stepped on or stepping over someone else. Even at the breakoff rooms, there was a huge line that spanned several rooms down because of the amount of people let in at once. 
But overall this is always a fun place to go. This has to be the best haunt I have been too...so much so I have been 3x this season lol. Seriously, there is so much to look at and it was diffrent each time I went, I kept bringing my freinds to see how awesome this place was. Definately a must see for next season if you haven't gone already

Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nicely Marked - police and a giant pumpkin give the location away

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: about 40 minutes - with a vip pass

Actor Performance: Seemed tired and just going thru the motions

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of patrons was good. There are many areas that you are in a continous line of people, but there are also break-off points...

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: Nicely done - much to look at

Costumes / Make-up: everything from extravagant to basic...but everyone's costumes fit in very well with the rooms they were working

Summary: This was my 2nd time going...and the worst..but to be fair, the event was extremely crowded..the traffic was so terrible that they had to shuttle us from a 1/2 mile away. The shuttle buses ran very slow and we waited about 1 1/2 hours in the rain before our freind decided to leave and give us a ride back to the haunt. If we had waited for the buses, we would've been in line for another hour... At this time, we were let directly into the parking area for the event!!...The normal wait at that time was 4 hours - not including the time spent waiting for the shuttle, and there was no consideration for the people waiting a 1/2 mile down to get in while others were parking in the lot and getting ahead of everyone else waiting elsewhere! This should have been handled better - when we were leaving around 12:45am, they were still bussing in more people who were still waiting..while again, the lot was very empty and people who came after and parked in the lot were in and out before these people... We bought vip and was in the haunt in about 15 minutes. The actors were pretty tired from being worked all night and not too into their charactors and seemed to rush the entire interactions with the customers...lots of rude customers and we've almost got into a fight with 2 of them! Especially in city of the dead when there was a huge group of people, hitting walls, yelling and being very obnoxious. While watching the opening show, instead of telling this group to shut up, an actor told me to put away my cell phone, when I was texting for an emergancy. This group of people ruined our time in the second attraction. The actors threatened to exclude them from the event but did nothing except push them thru with our group...and it wasn't just our group complaining about these people! they were grabbing props and just being very rude. 
I love statesville but this was a horrible night to go..to be fair, I'm sure they had their hands full...but I think a haunt like this should be a little more equipped to handle a huge amount of people as it seems they are always swamped with people.

Reviewed by: chitownlaila   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of the place itself was good... it was easy to find because they had a big lit up pumpkin in the front & the parking was great & well organized. All the visual affects were great!!

Wait Entertainment: I had no clue that there would be actors going around & scaring you while you were in line...it was great! lol...they were chasing people around and the props they were using were so scary. They psyched you out before you even got into the haunted house...I loved it!

Length of Event: We waited in line for the first haunted house for approximately an hour & a half, & we waited in line for the second haunted house for 30 minutes. The wait time wasn't that bad at all because they kept you entertained while you were waiting. I would suggest for anyone who wants to go...to go an hour before they open and wait in line ahead of time...this will save you so much time...that's why we didn't wait so long- because we got there right before they opened.

Actor Performance: The actors were REALLLLLY good...they did such a good job & they never strayed away from their roles or character despite all the people around them & noise.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think it was a normal rate...there were times where we just had to stand still for a minute or two, but it didn't bother me because I was so scared ...there was always something happening.

Appropriate Ages: I think that anyone under 12 shouldn't be allowed into the place because the language they use & it's just toooo scary for someone under that age.

Props / Special FX: The props were good... the special affects were even better. I was shocked to see that there were so many lights and sounds...and when you go inside the house itself...there are times when you start to panick because the lights flash so fast & you think you're hallucinating but then an actor jumps out of nowhere & scares the daylight out of you lol... it was the best. There were a lot of parts inside were it was really small and tight & had you feeling claustorphobic, but that's what made it so scary & good...I did not expect that...it was great.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were great...a lot of the actors were unusually large or tall...and that's what made them so intimidating...along with the makeup & costumes...it made them look sooooooooo scary!

Summary: This was the 1st haunted house I've ever been to in my life & I'm 22 years old. I never wanted to go to any of them because I thought they would be lame, but my cousin convinced me to go to this one & I agreed. I had no clue it would be this scary. I definitely thought it was worth the money & time. This is an experience that I will never forget for the rest of my life! And I mean it. There were times where the crowd of perhaps over 500 people started cheering & clapping at how good of a job the actors were doing...the actors were unbelievable- they did an incredible job of scaring people & they were really involved ... there was never a dull moment- I REALLLLLLY recommend for anyone to go to this place...that is if you have the guts for it ;)

Reviewed by: chuckt   (Event Visited: 10/22/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was great.

Wait Entertainment: Entertainment outside was lacking alot of scare.Especially being in the VIP line.

Length of Event: The length was great once you are in the house but the length of time waiting in the VIP line was longer than it should of been.

Actor Performance: they definitely know how to work the rooms but were not very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well they could of had the groups more split up than they did because i caught up with the group in front of me quickly. if the groups were more split up it would of been more scary

Appropriate Ages: 10 +up

Props / Special FX: Props and special Fx were really above all that i have seen. They are really 10 screams on a scale of 1-10

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were awesome. I loved every bit of there creativity.

Summary: I enjoyed the experience but i will not pay the money for VIP again becaus ei don't think it was worth that much money.But the overall look of the place was exceptional.

Reviewed by: cubbies1127   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little tricky to get into, you may have to turn around to enter.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of stuff to look at once you get into the actual lot.

Length of Event: one hour for both

Actor Performance: A++++ as always!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The line may look huge, but it does move very quick.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Excellent

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent

Summary: This one is always my favorite. It is always packed for good reason. This haunt never disappoints. It is well woth the $25 fee to get in and it is, without a doubt the best scare around!!

Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had a limo driver take my group there. He didn't seem to have a problem, except he was confused as to where to pull in.

Wait Entertainment: NONE. I got there right as it opened and I still ended up waiting. I had VIP passes too. I don't know why we paid an extra 10 bucks, it didn't help much. We got to skip the ticket line and go into a different line. You would think cuz we were the first group, the wait would be decreased, but it was terrible either way.

Length of Event: 45 Minutes, BUT I want to warn you that about 25-30 minutes of this was waiting in line... either in line for the prision, in line at City of the Dead, or just waiting some where for someone to give you the okay to go through.

Actor Performance: Not that great. My friend got called a dumbass by an actor. I understand this is where they joke around with you, but this was not right. They made fun of a gay guy's clothing too, and that's not very appopriate. I mean calling someone a generic "maggot" and making a personal attack are two different things. I didn't like how my friend got called a dumbass, and they kept picking on me, calling me a "pussy cat," which I thought was out of line. No one was really that scary in the prision, just freakin rude. 
In city of the dead, which was laughable, they had a bunch of glow paint jamacian dreadlock actors running around chanting. It was more funny than scary. Many looked to be actors under the age of 16.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: TERRIBLE. Stop wait. Walk 30 seconds. Stop wait 15 minutes. Walk 2 minutes. Stop. Terrible being the first group to enter, I do not understand what was up with the wait. Over half the time was waiting.

Appropriate Ages: Anyone with patience, as this wasn't that doesn't mind waiting in line in the cold. Please bundle up your children, because its a long wait.

Props / Special FX: This is an area that was pretty good. The opening eletrocution scene was AWESOME. However, it seemed as if all their budget was spent on this room, because it was quickly downhill. But, wow what a great opening for a haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Decent. Not too bad here, some actors seemed to take their characters quite seriously.

Summary: WOW, the webmaster was right. 25 bucks (35 VIP for me) is ridiculous for this place. I go to MANY haunted houses each year, and there was a limited bang for your buck here. I didn't pay all this money to wait in line, especially with the VIP pass. Wow, when I was leaving, (this didnt make me happy) they were offering VIP passes for an extra 5 bucks to people in line. I literally heard the actor say "Pay 5 bucks to avoid the 5 hour line, we'll get you right in immediately." This was when I was leaving, so I guess the wait time was on 5 hours. I do understand you have to wait for a haunted house, I am complaining however, because for the price, you would think there would be more quality. At least indoor warm waiting or something. The entertainment was very low for the price. There is no reason that this should be a 25-35 dollar haunted house compared to other main haunted houses who charge about 15. 
I do know that I am not going back next year or again. Rude actors who do not have their act together. The place opened up at 7pm, but the first group didn't get to go in until almost 7:30? Makes no sense to me.

Reviewed by: multiplesean   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Loud music. Small televisions (that did not work) Two people in costumes (the same two over and over for our 3.5 hour wait)

Length of Event: They changed the lentgh, and it's shorter. Haunted Prison: 10 minutes COD: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: Some actors were agressive, others did not seem to know what they were doing, and there was also a lack of actors. Not one clown to be seen in the clown area.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: POOR! We were constantly running into other groups. 
COD was the worst I've seen in 3 years. There was a line to enter, and another 3 waiting areas inside

Appropriate Ages: The language was really cleaned up this year..10+

Props / Special FX: Same stuff from the past three years. Some of the props didn't work

Costumes / Make-up: Painted faces. The best costumes were used by the two actors working the lines

Summary: I read some of the reviews here about the new things at Statesville, so decided to go. I've enjoyed going the past two years, but I was really let down this year. My question is where are the new things?!? Yes the asylum was lengthened a bit (maybe by one room). One of the props from last year lightly sprayed patrons with water (big deal). As I mentioned earlier the length of the event was MUCH shorter, and there were whole scenes we walked through that had no actors! I know how much work it takes to make an event happen, and the costs involved...BUT for what they charge(and how many people attend this event) one would think they would put a bit of the profits back into the upgrage and improvement. The acting lacked depth. I will not reurn to this event, and just wish the reviews were not misleading. Nothing new to see, and it's not longer..it's shorter! Whats frieghtening about this event: the lines and the price.

Reviewed by: ms001   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, alot of lighted signs along the way.

Wait Entertainment: Good, there was music, t.v, and some actors to scare you while you waited.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good, they will not touch you but they do scare. Some mean things were said to people though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. You were in groups of about five and you can go through at your own pace.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: one word 
STUNNING!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Very detailed. Went great with the scenes they were in. Just amazing.

Summary: It was great, everything was very elaborated. The begining is amazing, and the whole house is just awesome. I had a blast, it did scare me alot, but it was byfar the best ive been too. I would check it out. 
It is more than worth your 25 dollars.

Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very well marked - located in a pumpkin farm - lighted signs show the way

Wait Entertainment: not much. great music and one actor popped in after a while to work the crowd for a little while

Length of Event: about an hour for both haunts

Actor Performance: loved it! they were great! I'm not sure what he was supposed to be - but a huge prisioner with a huge sledgehammer smelled us in the beginning and would pop up periodically through out the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fairly good. had areas that you would catch up to the people in front, but also areas where they re-split the crowd again.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and over

Props / Special FX: Lots to look at - awesome rooms. Not even sure where to start here...so much to look at.

Costumes / Make-up: From great to average - but done appropriately for the different rooms

Summary: This was my first time to statesville. We had a great time. The "guards" make you feel right at home from the beginning. The beginning show is just amazing!! My daughter was scared. We were a little disappointed that the scare factor was not as much as we anticipated, as we heard it was the scariest - but I will admit it does take a lot to "scare" me and my daughter, and we did jump a few times. The props and effects were great, much to look at - the clown and asylum rooms were the best. The ending took me by surprise there was nothing to indicate the end of the haunt except for walking outside after turning a corner. 
City of the Dead was pretty cool also,the beginning was great - although not as elaborate... I loved the props and effects used in this haunt, the actors in this haunt were good also.  
We had a lot of fun and will do this again next year, if not again this year - anxious to take my hubby there now.

Reviewed by: RebelFreek   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The two squad cars sitting at the entrance(on Weber Rd.) to the parking lot were a dead giveaway as to when to turn in...

Wait Entertainment: Several "Guards" running around calling you maggots get you into the mood to go into a prision type haunt(or to beat one of them up...)

Length of Event: 45minutes to an hour(depends on how fast you move through both haunts...)

Actor Performance: Good, except for the handfull of actors talking and those that looked like they were tired as hell(one evn looked to be sleeping)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into the group in front of us several times, but they moved them ahead of us at several choke points.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Both Haunts were very well designed with tons of eye candy placed througout both haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: The Costumeing was excellent, but 95% of the makeup inside the haunts was to basic, almost to the point of just being horrible.

Summary: This haunt definatly gets away with alot of things most haunts would never dream of getting away with(slanting walls, plexi glass floors ect.)This is definatly one of those haunts that imerses you in what your going through.

Reviewed by: socojoe1976   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. There is a huge Lit pumkin and the construction sign says turn left. You cant miss it.

Wait Entertainment: There was a few actors doing there job in the wait line.

Length of Event: 45- 60 minuites It was busy that nite

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were just fine. They have a couple of very young actors in there and that did not do it for me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. They did a good job of seperating the groups and couples.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older. they do use harsh language in there and there was brief nudity.

Props / Special FX: I saw a lot of the same props they used last year. They need some new stuff and move the old stuff around. A couple of special effects were cool. The make up was great. There were parts where the sensors werent working and some effects didnt trigger.

Costumes / Make-up: What I saw of the costumes were great.It seemed they were lite on actors that nite.

Summary: For the most part everything was fine. When we went to the second part, that is where it got disappointing. Someone kept pulling the fire alarm. I understand safety first and crowd control. The sad thing is this happened twice. On the second time they said they could give us a free vocher to walk through a third time. I saw it twice! A third time would have no effect. I asked for a manager. They said no one was on duty. I asked someone else for a manager and got one. She was nice and understanding but would not make it worth the money. The security was ver mean and bully like. I was calm and non threating, they should be the same. They were threating to take me to jail because I was asking to make it worth my while. I even suggested free food or a couple of shirts. The manager said I could come back for free to go through the second house. So as long as the haunted attraction does not have a glitch you will get your moneys worth. If there is a problem they made their money and you get arrogant security and an empty wallet.

Reviewed by: Sanctuared   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: with a couple police cars along with lighted signs, you definately can not miss this place. The location is great too, right off a major road in a corn field.

Wait Entertainment: It was a pretty short wait, but they did have actors scaring throughout the line. They also had TV's in the wait area, but they weren't on probably because the wait was so short.

Length of Event: 45 minutes total (without waiting time)

Actor Performance: This haunt always has outstanding actors, and this year was no different. Not a single actor was out of character, and their roles were very well done.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was an unguided haunted house, so we saw the group ahead of us a couple of times. Although, there is a mid point where they make the groups wait in order to seperate them further.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: In many sections of Statesville, I couldn't tell if things were actors or props. They did a great job with effects as well, the mental hospital part of the haunt was awesome! They added a nice touch in a certain room, but you might get a little wet!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very professional, make-up was lifelike.

Summary: My girlfriend nearly started crying inside this place! It is extremely scary, and very fun. They changed a lot of it from last year, including an entirely new scene with trailer trash and pig-people. The mental hospital expanded as well, it's almost half of the whole tour now, which I loved. The only thing they could have improved upon was patron flow, as we did bump into another group about a quarter of the way through. This is still by far my favorite haunted house I have been to.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.