Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
15th Annual St. Matthew Haunted House (Hawthorn Woods, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: GGaz   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good

Wait Entertainment: No line, just wait around with a bunch of entertaining stuff.

Length of Event: It was about 30 minutes for my group to get through

Actor Performance: Great, they were very fit for their roles and they were very scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any other groups

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: All props went nicely into the rooms even though the actors did most of the scaring, fx were well placed.

Costumes / Make-up: Good job with this, all actors fit the role well with the makeup

Summary: This Haunted House is very well designed with a lot of great actors in it. It is in my top favorites because the actors dont try to rush you through to the hidden exits in some rooms. They let you look, but when they know you can't find it, they will just point into the general area and let you search somemore which is good, because i dont like to be led around the corner by anyone else than myself to get the full scare affect. I will definately come back next year for another great haunt!

Reviewed by: tnat   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good when you realized where it was. Signs along the way did not help out. Map Quest a must if youre not familiar with the area. Little confusion between Lake Zurich and Hawthorn Woods.

Wait Entertainment: Reasonable. About 20-30 min. on a Saturday night. Had a DJ and Karaoke to kill some time.

Length of Event: About 20-25 minutes depending on how caught up with the actors or the mazes you became.

Actor Performance: Very good. The group seems to enjoy their roles and play acts a lot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Easy enough. Its in a Lutheran Church. The catch you by the DJ then let certain numbers move along to keep the flow even.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above. There is enough gore and graphic depiction that would not agree with smaller kids. Perfect for pre-teens, teeens, and adults.

Props / Special FX: Nice mixture of old school and low tech props. Nothing too fancy but a lot of the old tried and true favorites that make for a nice time. Plenty of misdirection and obstacles too.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice. Again nothing too fancy but appropriate and playful.

Summary: Nice bang for your buck House. the misdirection is the best part. Never know where you are headed or to what you are heading for. Could use a little more spice at the end but this is better than I remember it from a few years ago. One note: Actors will lightly touch you or bar your way. they wont allow you to touch them and they wont split up your group. My group liked that but some others may not.

Reviewed by: Tazgaz1   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Way better this year with a blinking sign

Wait Entertainment: Kareoke and no line cuz we got to take a number

Length of Event: Around 25 to 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, there were short scenes instead of just boos and Ahhs

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw any group

Appropriate Ages: Flyer says 10 and up

Props / Special FX: They left most of teh scaring to the actors, but the air hitting you and there are some shocks that scare you are very well placed.

Costumes / Make-up: All actors had facepaint, but a lot of designs. Cool

Summary: THis is most likely the best Haunted House I have been to. It makes you very scared and the actors are very scary, and if you cant find your way out of a room or hallway, they will tell you which way to go, but still in a mysterious way, A+ and I will be visiting again

Reviewed by: mr300_1996   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: ok not hard to find

Wait Entertainment: no

Length of Event: it was about 20 min.

Actor Performance: some good and some ok

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up not for young kids

Props / Special FX: the ones they have are good

Costumes / Make-up: I did not see the make-up 
but the costumes are good

Summary: I have ben to a couple of 
places this year and for my 
time and money this is the 
best I have seen and it halps 
a jr football team to keep 
playing  

Reviewed by: zeebelt   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: visibility was good, ample parking, but we were there early before the crowds anyway.

Wait Entertainment: no entertainment while waiting

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: actor performance was great -- people stayed in character, knew just when to jump out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never saw anyone else. they le us in with only 2 people in our group, which was nice.

Summary: overall this was one of the best haunted houses we've been to this year. there were lots of perfectly timed scares and secret passesges to try and figure out -- some of them took quite a while to find, and we were never hurried by the actors.

Reviewed by: egrant   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sign in front of school was well lit, although mapquest had us turn right on Old Mchenry instead of left(From Quentin). It is definitely left!! Plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: There was music and karaoke available. Inside waiting was definitely a plus since it was raining outside!

Length of Event: We were inside the house about 30 minutes. They marked our hands with the time as we went in.

Actor Performance: Very nicely done! Timing was everything. Just when you thought you knew what was coming, whammo!! They got you again!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never saw another group while inside, came close once, but the actors kept you engaged to keep you separated.

Appropriate Ages: Definitely not for the faint of heart! I'd say 12 or older.

Props / Special FX: Good use of lighting and fog. I love that spinning wheel! It's always my favorite part.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good. Makeup was outstanding! Lots of blood and gore though.

Summary: This is my favorite house this year! Lots of surprises. You don't just follow a path through the house, you actually have to find your way out of many of the rooms. Not an easy task! Very unique!

Reviewed by: sbhbjh   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent - plenty of parking close to the door. Signs were lighted and visible from the street.

Wait Entertainment: Karaoke was provided - nice touch. Several smaller "ghouls" were noted walking around while we were in line. There was even someone in the parking lot and near the front doors scaring people with a chainsaw!

Length of Event: It took about a half hour to get through the house since I had to find my way out of a couple of places.

Actor Performance: The actors were great! Timing was excellent for the roles they played. I never imagined a barbershop could be scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never caught up with the group ahead of me and no one caught up with our group either - except some of the creepy actors!

Appropriate Ages: They advertised "not for kids under 10". I believe this!

Props / Special FX: Good use of props and special effects. Lots of fog in some rooms, laser hallways, and lighted faces seeming to come out of nowhere. I especially liked the spinning tunnel at the end. I almost fell over!

Costumes / Make-up: Actors had their faces painted to look creepy. They were all done differently to fit the roles they played. Same for costumes. Lots of blood and gore, and even some scary looking toys.

Summary: This was a great haunted house as usual. The actors were every bit as good as professionals and yet they were very courteous when I got stuck finding my way out of one of the rooms. It was definitely worth the wait. The element of surprise was used often to create some scary moments. You never knew what was around the corner! This is one of the best houses I've been to this year!

Reviewed by: chaser   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Approximately 7 miles outof Charleston keep looking to the left for lights and cars parking

Wait Entertainment: A few weird charachters that you would later encounter inside. Hot chocolate to mix with your favorite rumplminze

Length of Event: 30 min.

Actor Performance: was there the 1st night probably getting better every night

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Gatemaster only would let groups of 6 or 8 go in for the scare factor

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: nurses station with nurses mortuary with coffin electroconvulsive chair rocking chairs with schizos sitting in them crazies running at you with bizaar requests

Costumes / Make-up: typical for crazy/possessed people

Summary: I worked there in the 80's with these demon possessed residents and the experience gave me goosebumps very realistic of what was really there crazy and scary out of control people

Reviewed by: cueball13   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was better this year. There was a blue light on the sign.

Wait Entertainment: Karaoke as usual but still great. The lines weren't too bad.

Length of Event: About 35-40 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors did a teriffic job. The costumes looked cool.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was pretty good. I got stuck in he hallway with all the doors.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The proprs were cool. They had some chainsaws and another loud tool in the barbershop.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was great. Lots of blood this year.

Summary: This is my 3rd year gong to the house and it keeps getting better. It beats Lake Zurich's Original house and Navy Fear. This is defintiley one of my favorite houses because you dont know what to expect. They even had a slide this year. I wil be back again next year.

Reviewed by: car54e   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in school gym; just north of Lake Zurich on Old McHenry Road (Note: this is NOT located at the Fairgrounds). No problem with parking. There was a flashing blue light at entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Good. Food and entertainment. Wasn't a long wait, but this was the first weekend.

Length of Event: Estimate 15 to 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good to average. Good Jungle adventure. Got "stuck" in one of the hallways.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. Got backed up at the hallway "doors".

Appropriate Ages: Some actors and situations make it too intense for young ones.

Props / Special FX: Good with some surprises. Typical lights, fog and special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good make up. Most different than last year.

Summary: About ten differnt rooms or areas. Some require stooping or sliding, although I saw a gal make it through on crutches. I remember a jungle area, a morgue w/ a surprise, a butcher, a barbershop, a graveyard, a maze, a junk yard, a child's room?, a tilted room and a couple of other areas. Limit your group to 5 or less to get full effect. The folks in the back will miss some of the action if the group is too large.

Reviewed by: muddboss   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find ,its on the fair grounds.

Wait Entertainment: they were a little late getting started BUT we had a great time.

Length of Event: the tour was about 15 min in length

Actor Performance: I would say they actors were very good,the maze was really good, we could not find our way out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow was very good,we did not see anyone from any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: props was good and fx was also.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were great the clowns were very good as well as the tour host.

Summary: I took two of my friends with me and we really had a great time,thanks fear fair for a really great show ,even though it started late it was well worth it, oh and one more thing, WE WILL BE BACK.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at