Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
The Halls Of Madness (Paris, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: infatu8ed   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Halls of Madness was very easy to locate. It is right beside the highway (Route 16), plus they have lots of lights, signs, and a Hearse sitting out front. And if that isn't enough, then there are cars parked everywhere, in fields, along the highway, in the real parking area and so on, plus you see all of the people waiting in line right out front. Easy to see from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: To me and my friends that were with me, we thought they had some really good wait entertainment. They had a guy that would just come rushing out of the woods with a chainsaw chasing other customers out of the woods which was great. The same guy would also go thru the wait line with his saw and taunt everyone. They also had scarey music playing over the sound system, and the one thing that freaked out us girls the most was a guy that would walk up to you and be in your face and just stare at you, never saying a word. He wore a leather trench coat, had long black hair and a baseball bat in hand. The way that he stared us down made us all feel very un-easy with him around. And when we would try to move to hide from him he would follow. What was most convincing about this guy was the fact that he didn't even have any make-up on ! He scared all of us alot. The haunt also had horror films playing once you got into the main part of the building.

Length of Event: The Halls of Madness had 2 different parts this year which was really neat. They had the house and then the woods. It took us about 15 to 20 minutes to get thru the house, and then about 25 to 30 minutes to get thru the woods part.

Actor Performance: All of the actors and actresses that we came across were very convincing in the house. They all played their parts well, and really knew how to fit into their surrondings and how to make things work. All of the actors out in the woods were just flat out intense and really in your face. It almost seemed as if they really did want to keep you there for good !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The only time that we ever saw another group after we got out of the line and into the house, was when we had to go into the clown part of the house. The clowns had secret mazes or something, and they could keep people guessing on how to get out all night if they wanted I think. So seeing another group in that area was probably by design of the clowns that ran the place. But the clowns would not let the two groups mix together because we tried it, and they scared us right back into yet another dead end and kept us isolated from the others. It was a really creepy experience !

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest that no one under 10 should go in there. And maybe 10 might not be old enough. These people are serious about what they are doing without a doubt.

Props / Special FX: They had plenty of cool lighting effects. Then this may not be classified as an effect but it was to us, they had us in bright strobe lights and then suddenly pitch black. Thats when you want to panic because you cant see your own hand right in front of your face ! They also had very realistic looking body parts, and various things all over the place. Also some dummies that can move so you are not sure if its a real person or not until you are right in front of them.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyones costumes seemed to fit into the mold of what they were doing. We saw a few costumes that could have been better, but over-all they were good. Especially that guy that didnt even really wear a costume, way too convincing.

Summary: We thought that The Halls of Madness was a great haunt again for its 3rd year in a row. We are already looking forward to going back in 2007. This haunt did really well considering that their owner was going in for heart surgery. Hope everything goes well for him. And I know that I've mentioned the trench coat guy without make-up already, but to top this whole thing off, not only did he get to us while we where waiting in line, but somehow when we got to the end of the woods he was there too. He was up on top of something standing above our heads swinging his bat around. Finally we walked on under him, to get out ! But he jumped to the ground and chased us all the way out and into our car ! That guy was everywhere ! This was a great convincing and intense haunt ! Keep up the great work !

Reviewed by: Sweetcowgirl   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome! Very big signs with lots of lights!

Wait Entertainment: Not a lot really. A few people came out but thats about it. They had a tv with something playing but it was so small and hard to see. The scary music was good tho.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes in line and about 20 minutes in the halls of madness and 15 in the woods.

Actor Performance: The ones they did have had a lot of energy but I think they might have been a little short staffed that night or something bc there were not very many haunts. Also a couple of the ones I saw were not even dressed up they were just in plain clothes with a lil paint on there face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into a couple of other groups in the maze, but that was just because we got lost lol!

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Some were good.

Summary: I have went to this one for the past few years and this year was the worst. I told everyone last year it was the best haunted house around and now it is one of the worst. I was very disappointed. The fact that they were separate was cool but I think they need more haunts all around especially in the maze and in the Woods FOR SURE! This year really sucked for them. Hopefully next year will be better!

Reviewed by: caution   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I think the location of The Halls of Madness is great. Especially for their back woods theme they set for Insanity Woods.

Wait Entertainment: They had some people out with chain saws when the actors were on break and 100.7 mix fm was playing on the pa.

Length of Event: It took us about 30 minutes to get throught the house and about 15-20 for the woods.

Actor Performance: The actors here really got into it they really worked hard to give the best scare they could.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the high scarfe spots and some of they dark hallways were there weren't any live actors they groups got a little close but other then that it was great.

Appropriate Ages: I personally think that NO-ONE under 8 should go through because of the high levels of fear these actors put into their scare.

Props / Special FX: They had really cool body parts and different animatronics.

Costumes / Make-up: I think the best special effcts was the make-up and scares and crap the people were wearing

Summary: This was a very cool, very well put together, and very scarry haunt. Anyone who hasn't already be should go just to see the effort the halls of madness and insanity woods puts out to see how scared even the toughest people are.

Reviewed by: dott12   (Event Visited: 10/08/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Outside of town, but well signed.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of chainsaws and some music playing.

Length of Event: There were two events, the halls took about 10 minutes, and the insanity woods about 15.

Actor Performance: Of the ones we saw, the performances were good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into another group when we became stuck in an area.

Summary: The woods were expanded this year and had good actors roaming about. The halls seemed to be lacking in actors and scares. Overall an okay haunt, but it seemed to be lacking the same scare factor as last year.

Reviewed by: guardguy18   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find well lighted

Wait Entertainment: there was no waiting entertainment well really there was no waiting lol

Length of Event: well there were 2 haunts the halls and then the woods so im thinking about 45 min or so well it really depends on how fast you move because you have no guide which is really cool it adds to the fear of being lost

Actor Performance: well there was an over all lack of actors in the begining you are waiting for something to happen and nothing really does there was a room twards the end of the halls like a dinning room and the guy just sat at the table then he stood up and just looked at us not that scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was really good i only saw one grupe when we got lost in the maze thing what it was ok b/c they scared us more then some of the actors

Appropriate Ages: umm 9 and up

Props / Special FX: props were ok nothing really that great i know a wall kind of fell off in one of the rooms

Costumes / Make-up: they were ok nothing that great

Summary: well i think this haunt was better last yeay. mabe it was b/c it was the first noght you really need more music in the haunt it was to quiet mor effects and make it daker. and well more actors i know last year i cried i want to cry again i will be back tho this haunt b/c i know that cane make it happen work on it guys good luck!!!!!...........

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at