Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Hall of Horrors (Farmer City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: WitchQueen   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find Great location

Wait Entertainment: There were no outside Monsters for our wait, but we were there early, at open

Length of Event: It was about 15 minutes give or take, due to obnoxious girls in front of us that were refusing to go forward

Actor Performance: the actors did their best, but we missed alot of the scares due to the Girls that were in front of us that refused to keep moving. That was kind of a downer. Not the Monsters fault at all though. Clown in the secret window scared me, and the grabber of the ankles got me too! I hate my ankles being grabbed, freaks me out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Again, that was not good, I was diappointed that those girls screwed up scares for us. We should have just passed them up & went ahead of them.

Appropriate Ages: 12 & up

Props / Special FX: These guys are doing really well on the atmosphere. Alot better that years past. The decor is getting close to Clinton's Terror on washington street BRAVO!

Costumes / Make-up: Every one seemed to be costumed well.

Summary: I think it was good, we had a good time. I wish there had been a scare at the end outside though, it was kind of a buzzkill to just be done when you went out side. The little skeletn in the bloody trailer at the end inside was good, he ran up & scared the crap out of me!

Reviewed by: screamgirl   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Good

Length of Event: about 14 minutes

Actor Performance: Great overall

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: nice- your by yourself- did not meet up with anyone

Appropriate Ages: 12 +

Props / Special FX: Great Special effects

Costumes / Make-up: nice job on both sides

Summary: Very scary. Would recommend this be your last stop of Haunted Housing.. This one scared the crap out of our group. Nice zombie and horned devil. Freaky Clownshow!!!

Reviewed by: totalfear   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Across from a grocery store and Caseys.

Wait Entertainment: Good, entertainers going up and down the line

Length of Event: Around 12-14 minutes, depending on how slow you go.

Actor Performance: Very Good. The actors seem to take their job very seriously. Most stay in character very well. Sometimes can hear talking before entering room, but not that big of a deal to me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is Self guided. They space out very well. Did not run into anyone

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up, pretty intense for those younger than 12

Props / Special FX: Good mix of props and sfx. Fog machine, strobes, excellent props. Really took a lot of time to make each room individual.

Costumes / Make-up: Good mix of costumes and makeup.

Summary: This haunted house gets better every year. Definitely worth the money. The clown room, the Room upstairs, the trailer, all are excellent. Numerous doors to go through, strobes, dark, this house has it all. A very good house for the money.

Reviewed by: jessica   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: We had to wait in line an hour but it was well worth it. Then we found out that there are no guides and you dont have to go in groups so thats probably why is took a little bit.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: I thought they were all very good. One guy kinda of chuckled when he scared the living day lights out me! I found that funny.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was running basically the entire time and was stopped once for a little bit but never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and up

Props / Special FX: I liked it all.

Costumes / Make-up: good!

Summary: I liked the entire thing! I love haunted houses and this one scared me the most! I like it better than Creatures Crypt. My boyfriend and I were able to go through it by ourselves which i think adds another level of scary! At the end, they had me running for the car! It was great!

Reviewed by: MikeMeyers   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This building was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Two guys walking through the crowd. One guy at the door was dressed in a scary looking jeepers kreepers costume complete with cat eye contacts. The only down side was that we waited over a hour and it was raining.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were popping out everwhere. Every time you turned around somebody was jumping out at you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into the group in front of us. I did hear other people in the house screaming.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Fairly good. Didn't quite inderstand the room with the soap bubbles was all about.

Costumes / Make-up: I thought that the costumes were very well suited for the rooms they were in.

Summary: This house was very scary. I really liked the setup and how things were decorated. There was a couple of things that really scared me about this house. Micheal Meyers was in this house and he scared the holy crap out of me. The clown room scared me to because you never can tell which one of the clowns are fake and you never reallt know which one the them is going to jump at you. My girlfriend hated chainsaws and the guy with the chainsaw scared the living crap out of her.

Reviewed by: ghostrhyder   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: Gosh- where to begin. I took my daughter and her friends and they were terrified from the two creatures out front. The zombie would sick the winged demon on people.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: Great. Everyone was in character and stayed that way. The zombie we saw out front somehow made it to the middle of the house and scared the srap out of my group. Great clowns, and the two guys in just the white masks, voodoo woman- yikes- she is crazy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not see another group in the house. It was great. we could hear other people screaming which was awesome.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: These guys really push the limits. I love that in a house. Nice door scene and what were they thinking about with that trailer. Jeeze I thought I was in some slasher movie.

Costumes / Make-up: Great effects overall

Summary: This was definetely a must see. Even though it was raining it was worth getting wet and being cold. Casey's was across they street so snacks and coffee near by. Will be back next weekend with some people from out of town. 
 
Great Job!!!!

Reviewed by: ToolboxKilla   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Great- there were two actors walking up and down the lines, and they were VERY entertaining- see costumes/ makeup.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Amazing- probably the best acting I've ever seen at a haunted attraction. There are people you will see that are pretending to be animatronics that seem to come to life. Usually this doesn't work, but they definitely fooled me at this house- more than once. The voodoo lady, which I thought sounded cheesy, was an awesome actor! Good work! The actors in this house also really have their timing down.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Awesome! We didn't run into any other groups & it isn't even a guided tour! (which is something you barely see anymore). Plus, they allowed my group of 3 to go without any other groups, and this was VERY appreciated.

Appropriate Ages: 13+. There are some really messed up and freakish scenes in this house! I loved it!

Props / Special FX: Awesome props! I can't stress this enough. Every room in this house was extremely detailed. It was actually designed to look like a house too, which is my favorite type of haunted attraction.

Costumes / Make-up: Great! There were actually people who wore makeup under their masks to make the whole face blend together, and they also wore contacts that made their eyes appear to be strange colors. They really went all out in this category.

Summary: I am a haunted house enthusiast, and this is one of the best attractions I have ever been to. All of the rooms are extremely detailed and interesting, the actors are doing exceptional work, and the costumes are very well done. We showed up a little late, so the line was a bit long, but it was definitely worth the wait. There are sections of the house where you will have to duck and crawl, which I think is a lot of fun. I don't want to give too much away, but my favorite rooms involved a freakish child with a white face, a rat-like santa claus, and a bunch of deformed and mutilated babies. Haha. This house really pushes on the boundaries of good taste in a couple of areas- and I think that is great! Good work guys! I was impressed, and I'll probably be coming back!

Reviewed by: Sanctuared   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location, an old building in the middle of a down town area.

Wait Entertainment: Had one actor roaming the line, he scared a few people but was also pretty humorous. They could have used some more wait entertainment since the wait was so long.

Length of Event: About 8 minutes. It was pretty short, but deffinately worth the $7 ticket price.

Actor Performance: Some actors were really great, others were lacking. I saw two actors talking before we got to their scene, which was a little disappointing. Almost all of them had really good timing however.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Really cool setup here. The largest group they allow at once is 4 people (I believe), and I went in with only my girlfriend! We saw the group ahead of us, but they do a really good job of spacing the group out. It's hard to regulate perfectly since the entire thing is completely un-guided.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ unless they are not easily frightened.

Props / Special FX: They could use some more moving props, but the rooms were very detailed and well decorated.

Costumes / Make-up: Great makeup and costumes pretty much throughout.

Summary: This haunt did a lot of things I had never seen before such as a part where you crawl, and some tricky doors. It was really different, and I loved pretty much every moment of it. It wasn't one of the more scary houses I have been to, but it is a must see in my opinion for their originality. Great show guys!

Reviewed by: Icewitch   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find- Great location

Wait Entertainment: Great old scary building- makes you wonder what is in there

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very Good- did an excellent job staying in character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not meet up with anyone

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Great lighting and a great effect with some kind of ashy substance. Nice webs too!

Costumes / Make-up: Overall very good looks like they had half and half.

Summary: Would highly recommend this attraction. Kept my group jumping and at one time the chainsaw guy appeared from no where and my one of my girlfriends ended up pushing all of us out of the way to get away from him!! Top notch!!!

Reviewed by: FrightSeeker   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right past the town square...easy to find

Wait Entertainment: There were two roamers that kept the crowd entertained while we waited.

Length of Event: 7-10 minutes

Actor Performance: Very weak. The characters didnt really do much.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I'll just say we never saw the group ahead of us...just heard the girls screams.

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: Rooms, props, and anything in between were amazing. ALot of time and effort went into the detail of the rooms and props.

Costumes / Make-up: MAintly masks

Summary: In my own personal opinion it wasnt a good attraction. Unless little kids scare you...not very scary. Very friendly staff. Rooms were well thought of and designed

Reviewed by: witchywmn   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: eerie to look at

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great- tons of Great Scares. Chainsaw saw guy scared the crap out of me, I still don't know where he came from: as did the voodoo woman. I don't know what she said but I know I don't want to hear it again

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into anybody

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Great use of special effects, lights, bubble machine

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of both masked characters. Liked that they did not have the usual Freddy, Jason, etc. used too much

Summary: Overall definetely worth the wait and money. This was the 2nd stop out of 3 Haunted Houses that we visited that night and was the best out of the 3. Will be back last weekedn of October with friends and hopefully scarier yet.

Reviewed by: HHLOVER1   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right across from Casey's

Wait Entertainment: Too very scary characters tormented us

Length of Event: about 20 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Very scary- all the actors did a great job. Not a dead space in the attraction

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not meet up with other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: Great Special Effects- loved the lighting effects

Costumes / Make-up: Great make up on the zombie guy. Great monsters and ghouls thoughout the house.

Summary: Went with a couple of friends and we were generally scared outside waiting and inside the house. We seemed to have death grips on each other. I would recommend stoping by the Halls of Horrors for a great scare.

Reviewed by: iHauntU   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome...easy to find, right on the corner of the main road across from Casey's.

Wait Entertainment: They had a couple costumed people in the lines working the outside, one which was really cool looking. Also had some sort of concession stand.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: I thought that did a really good job. Most of them had really good timing with the scares and all of them stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. We caught up to the group in front of us but that's because my girl friend was trying to run through the place.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They do a good job with the props. Great attention to detail. Special FX were good too with the lighting, strobes, music, and other creepy sounds.

Costumes / Make-up: I would like to see a little more make-up and cut back on the random masked monsters, but the ones that had make-up were really good.

Summary: This is a really good haunted house. I've been the last 3 years and they're always changing things up and getting better. I thought last year was awesome, I think this year was as good if not better than last year. It's cheaper than a lot of haunted houses and better than most of them so it's definately worth your time and money. I'm probably going to go again later this month because it'll probably get even better.

Reviewed by: hhlover   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The event was very easy to find...right off of the main street in town. There was some parking and I got lucky with a great spot.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few characters outside for wait entertainment. Unfortunately the groups that were in line did not seem to get scared. I felt that they were there more as crowd control.

Length of Event: It only took our group about 5 minutes to go through the haunted house.

Actor Performance: They were obviously short staffed. There were several actors/actresses that really got into their part. One woman in particular played her roll as a voodoo woman extremely well. BUT there was not a scare in this room. I didn't know how it fit in with the rest of the haunted house, or with a haunted house at all. Also, there were several younger people in the haunted house, maybe 12 and below, and unless they are playing as a clown, I personally do not find them to be scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They spaced the groups out very well. We did not run into the group ahead of us and when we had some difficulties finding our way through the haunted house the actors helped us through.

Appropriate Ages: Any age.

Props / Special FX: The props and decorations in this haunted house were done very well. I felt that they spent a lot of time on the details, which does help. They had snow machines which can create an awesome visual and they had everything set up very well.

Costumes / Make-up: I was slightly disappointed with costumes. It seemed like the majority of the characters were just a random mask with a black cape/sweat suit. Personally, I get scared from people like Michael Myers and Jason...not some random masks.

Summary: Overall I was slightly disappointed. The fact that they were understaffed hurt the scare factor. There weren't any really good scares. And the biggest disappointment was that there was not a single chainsaw in the entire thing. The ending definately needed some work, you just crawled out and you were done. I will say that their attention for detail was amazing and that they had a decent set-up.

Reviewed by: goblin1961   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Good

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8 +

Props / Special FX: Great lighting effects

Costumes / Make-up: about 1/2 and 1/2 I think- great make effects on the ones I could make out.

Summary: Very scary over all. Took my 4 daughters, they love this house. Would recommend! Loved the "What do you want for Chrismas", line. Will be taking another group through towards the end of the month.

Reviewed by: hauntfinder   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very visible, right across the street from Casey's Gas Station

Wait Entertainment: Awesome Zombie guy and some winged creature. Really put the fear into you what was going to happen inside.

Length of Event: About 14 minutes

Actor Performance: Overall very good. Some person scared the crap out of me when she told me to crawl while some creature was coming up behind me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very Good- only waited about 15-20 minutes

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Great Special Fx.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice make up and masks. The Zombie guy had great make up and eyes!

Summary: One of the scariest clown rooms I have been through in a long time. I thought it was never going to stop. Lots of great scares. One of the girls with me about half way through said she had enough and just wanted it to end. Would recommend checking this one out. Great ending scene. The guys have outdone themselves once more this year. Only comment would be for ticket people to dress up!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at