Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/30/06 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very clear signage from the bordering roads. Also the hearse and giant (fake) flame at the street make this very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: The day and time that we attended had almost no line, but they still had plenty of actors interacting with the patrons outside the attraction.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent, as it has been every year! They use a variety of approaches to "scare" its patrons, and one thing I particularly love about this attraction is that they don't just try to scare the first person in the group. No one in your group is safe

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent!! They excel in this area--you truly feel alone in the house

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Wonderful use of props and the theme of Imus and Al Kihlya (not sure if I spelled that right though). If you check out their website, you get the back story of what their house is based on, and they do a wonderful job making their scenes/makeup/actors/... fit the theme, while being very unique and surprising. One more thing to mention, this haunt is one of the darkest you will find in IL, as it is really set in a basement level. On top of that, they do many things to disorient you, and it really works!

Costumes / Make-up: See above--just excellent!

Summary: I pray this house is open for yet another year next year, as it is my number one favorite (and I am an avid haunted house attender, driving for miles and miles). If you only have time for one haunt, make it this one!

Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: excellent - same place as last year. right near the casino/river.

Wait Entertainment: excellent. they had this one guy who actually grabbed a girl and dragged her everywhere with her screaming bloody murder the whole time (even though one could hope that this was staged), nobody wanted to get near that guy when all was said and done. kudos people. excellent work. very believable!!!!!

Length of Event: approx 20-30 min or so, wasn't really paying too much attention.

Actor Performance: just as last yr, awesome. these guys/gals perfectly on cue the whole time while we were inside. keep up the awesome work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect. did not bump or get bumped by any other group. these guys run a hh the correct way. no bumping inside, no rushing people through.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: again, my hats off to these guys. fine work. with the amount of time that was put into the props/fx, one could only appreciate the time that was given up to do this. i was told by a fellow worker (bobby z.) that he knows the guy that runs this hh, and he told me that it took him and his buddy & friends 4 yrs to do this the 1st time around. over the yrs, this hh shows the time, involvement by all parties helping, the love for an excellent haunt and the care that goes into the actual preperations to do this sort of thing. good work people and please come back again next yr.

Costumes / Make-up: very original - also my answer to the above pretty much covers this section too.

Summary: see props/section. also i'd like to include that i've been here now 2 yrs in a row. both years, i have had the crap scared out of me. this year more than last year. they have my vote for the #1 haunted house in illinos hands down. for every year this haunt comes back, so will i.

Reviewed by: bp2687   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: IT WAS VERY EASY TO LOCATE, WITH SIGNS AND FLASHING LIGHTS ON THE STREET.

Wait Entertainment: THE WAIT ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT! MUSIC, ACTORS, AND VIDEOS GET US ENTERTAINED.

Length of Event: 15+ MINUTES

Actor Performance: THESE ACTORS ARE BY FAR THE MOST INVOLVED AND CREATIVE OF ALL OF THE HAUNTS I HAVE VISITED! THEY OBVIOUSLY LOVE WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: WE NEVER RAN INTO ANOTHER GROUP ANYWHERE IN THE HOUSE. THE ACTORS KEPT EVERYONE SEPARATED, YET MOVED YOU ALONG TO MAKE SURE THE NEXT SCENE WAS READY FOR YOU.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ (IF YOU ARE BRAVE).

Props / Special FX: UNBELIEVABLE PROPS AND SPECIAL EFFECTS NOT SEEN IN OTHER HAUNTED HOUSES.

Summary: THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST OF THE 14 HAUNTED HOUSES WE HAVE SO FAR VISITED. IT IS VERY PROFESSIONALLY ORGANIZED AND YOU ARE SCREAMING THROUGHOUT. EVEN WHEN YOU THINK YOU ARE DONE, THERE IS ANOTHER FRIGHT WAITING FOR YOU. THIS HOUSE IS WELL WORTH THE DRIVE AND I WOULD VISIT AGAIN!

Reviewed by: mcducks15   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's location was between a building and the Fox river, and it was pretty easy to find if you knew the area. If not it will take extra work - but well worth it.

Wait Entertainment: It was very good. The spooks, especially the werewolf (who looked VERY real), had my daughter on guard. There were also 4 or so other characters, including a talking head. The 45 min. waiting time went by quickly.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: It was very good! They were really into their character and were where you often didn't expect it. Everytime you turned a corner, someone was there. Most of them looked so real that my daughter didn't know if they were fake at times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We only caught up with the people in front of us, but that's because they got lost because it was so dark in there. Dark, but easy enough to get around.

Appropriate Ages: Jr. High and up.

Props / Special FX: The props were very real, and it was fun to look at them. The place is worked on year-round so there is a lot of attention to detail.

Costumes / Make-up: As I said before, they looked very real and very well done.

Summary: Overall, I enjoyed this haunted house the best out of all the ones I visited that night. I enjoyed it a lot last year too. They changed around a lot of things. I really liked the part where the guy came out of the manhole and tried to grab our feet. That was very unexpected, but it was really effective. Every time I turned a corner, there was something new. The different rooms were very fun to look at, and I enjoyed the entertainment outside. It kept me entertained. The werewolf was so into his character that he ran around on all fours and chased people around the block. Inside was fantastic, and the music added to it greatly. I heard that they work on this haunted house all year. It shows. Very well done!

Reviewed by: djduran   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: kind of hard to find, its behing a building.

Wait Entertainment: very good. about 4 ppl interacting w/the crowd.

Length of Event: 10-12 mins

Actor Performance: very good, stayed in character and came out on time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good, we didnt run into ne oen nor did ne 1 run it with us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Very good props. some real cool themes.

Costumes / Make-up: very good. some of these people i couldnt tell if they were fake or not.

Summary: i loved it. you can tell they spent a lot of time on the haunted house. the actors were real good and u can tell they tried real hard. its really scary and i would deff recomend it to any one.

Reviewed by: wendymillerd   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: look for a lantern at top of stairs near river

Wait Entertainment: characters running around, mostly scaring high-school and jr. high girls. not creepy, but I really don't expect them to be. Cool talking beheaded man tells you rules before entering.

Length of Event: 10-15? not sure, but I loved every second of it. felt it was worth what I paid -- not a quickie haunt.

Actor Performance: inside, excellent. scared the heck outta me several times -- lots of unexpected people in unexpected places. excellent because the house is so dark inside!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good. we were in a small group and appreciated this. could not hear where other groups were inside attraction, so had no idea what was coming next

Appropriate Ages: jr high on up.

Props / Special FX: very creative, yet uncomplicated (I won't ruin it for you here!)

Summary: we've been going to haunted houses the last three years -- this is the best we've been to. ...it was the best we'd been to last year as well. long enough, dark enough, creative scares. should be at the top of your haunt list!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at