Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates Asylum (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: phiten7   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Big house with red strobe lights off the main road. Easy to see, not the easiest to find the side road needed to get onto the property.

Wait Entertainment: They were entertaining. We had to wait for about an hour, but they worked the crowd for some screams and some laughs. And there was a crazy bride inside the house who hung out the window and singled me out.

Length of Event: Hour wait. Twenty minutes in the house. It's a big house, three stories, and they put you through slow so that you see no one.

Actor Performance: Well done. They had good senses of humor and while some acted scary the whole time, others had amusing/entertaining things to say. One of them broke character with me a little... but I didn't mind.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. If you move too fast they scare you back into a good pace to break you up from other groups.

Props / Special FX: Not a ton of props or special effects, but the house itself was creepy enough that much extra in the props department would have taken away from the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Some were great, some were okay.

Summary: The house was worth it. It was a different kind of haunted house because it was a lot more open and there were not a ton of fake animatronics. But the atmosphere was creepy and I really enjoyed myself.

Reviewed by: panther08   (Event Visited: 10/25/06 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had visited Ashmore Estates a couple weeks prior to attending the haunted house, so I knew where it was. If you have never been there before, just look for the huge building with strobe lights in the windows.

Wait Entertainment: I attended on a rainy Thursday night, so there was virtually no wait time.

Length of Event: I'm not sure how long the event was. It really depends on how large your group is. With a large group I would expect it to be 20-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. They really stay in character. If they dont scare you the first time, they will follow you until they do.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Besides the maze in the middle, everything went pretty smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: It depends on the kid. I would say 3rd or 4th grade and up.

Props / Special FX: Special FX were great. I'm not going to go into detail, as that would take away from the surprises.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up and costumes were amazing. You can tell that they really strive to look realistic.

Summary: I would recommend Ashmore Estates to anyone. This is the 4th haunted house I have been to this season. The actors and the building really make this one the best haunted attraction around.

Reviewed by: liriel   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to see the haunt from the road but difficult to find the turn. Someone vandalized the beautiful, giant sign that used to mark the road. I would assume that when the sign is repaired, the road will be simple to locate.

Wait Entertainment: There was a bonfire, concession stand, multiple actors and lots of chilling screams coming from the building. It really got me jazzed up to get in!

Length of Event: I'm not actaually sure how long I was in there, it's got three full floors with mazes and staircases and scenes and multiple actors. I kept expecting to turn a corner and be done and instead there was more and more to see. I definitely felt that I got my money's worth. At best guess I was at the attraction for about an hour including waiting in line and chatting with friends about the experience afterwards.

Actor Performance: I know some of the people haunting and they still managed to scare me! I jumped and swore at least a dozen times and was on a total adrenaline high by the time I finished the tour. The actors all had a wonderful sense of timing. I was especially impressed by the guy in the "bloodbath" room who was edgy and funny and just plain creepy. The character on the top floor with the long black hair and black trench coat who screamed and ran away from me freaked me out. Usually they run AT you, not away! LOL The little gremlin or goblin or whatever it was, on the first floor was awesome! It's not animatronic! It's alive! One girl has a hysterical cackle that gave me chills and there were actors up in the rafters and pipes, not a direction I am used to being suspicious of.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They let people in a few at a time, which works well for everyone in the group to be startled and/or scared. The only problem my group had was that we slowed down and became cautious about going around corners. The group behind us contained hysterical teenage girls who quickly overtook us and enlarged our group since their response was to run instead of slow down. It all worked out when we got stuck in a dead end in a maze. When we turned around, the screamers were at the front of the group and we just let them go ahead of us. Frankly, I thought they were funny in their reactions but they were annoying my companions who wanted to be scared without being deafened.

Appropriate Ages: I went with all adults but am seriously considering taking my five year old daughter and some of her friends next week. I have been told teh actors back off and try to scare without terrifying and I think my kid can handle it. I heard there was a three year old going through who complimented everyone on their makeup, but I also saw a girl approximately ten or so in tears while still in line to go in! Use your best judgement based on what your child can handle and be aware that you will not be scared at the same level if you have children with you.

Props / Special FX: The building itself is the ultimate prop! It is awesome and spooky and HUGE! The mazes and props were extremely well constructed. My favorite room had a bride with a wedding cake. The cake had a severed head on it and she offered us a piece! LOL It was great! I expect that as the haunt ages (this was it's first year) that the props will increase in quantity and detail.

Costumes / Make-up: As I mentioned earlier, I know several people acting at this haunt. I had trouble identifying them!! I even saw some of the costumes before the haunt started but in the dark with all the running, screaming, lighting effects, other people milling around and sudden appearances and disappearances of characters, I had to ask some of my friends later where they were in the building! I was especially impressed with the makeup and outfit of a character called Curls. She looks like an insane doll! This is a friend of mine and I was looking forward to seeing her costume. When she came up behind me and breathed on my neck I turned around and totally jumped cuz she was RIGHT THERE and she was just that FREAKY!!!! It was really cool!

Summary: I completely recommend this haunt to everyone! I had a blast! I will be going back, probably with my daughter and some of her friends! Bring a few extra bucks, get some snacks, stand around the bonfire and watch the teenage girls scream and run from the chainsaw weilding skeleton. Bring a date and cling to each other. Bring your family and talk and laugh about the experience together. Come alone and they'll stick you with a group or let you get thoroughly creeped out by yourself! Good times for all!

Reviewed by: Goth_Gina   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was kind of hard to see off of the main road. It made for a VERY interesting time getting there though. My friends and I road tripped up to go to a REAL haunted insane asylum.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any really.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: It was very lacking. Outside of one actor that I really liked that was dressed up like a "doctor" it was really uneventful.`

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good. They were putting them through pretty slow though. Our group never saw anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: I did enjoy looking at some of the old rooms, but there was too much spraypaint on the walls. I also noticed that some of the fixtures just did not go with the building. It looked old and run down but some of the doors inside looked brand new.

Costumes / Make-up: This is where they really did a good job in my opinion. I really stopped myself and said a couple of times, that would look cool at the Forum!

Summary: Worth the trip if only to get a shock from the Doc! The makeup made me get a few ideas for a rave or two. Just seeing the place and driving up was a thrill. Hard to park though.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at