Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Asylum of Mad Dreams (Morrison, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: lpfdfighter   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find thare were really know signs the way i cam from rockford

Wait Entertainment: they had a shop ware you can bye shirts and they had movis playing and thay gave you a number and they wouild call it and the were really great about it becouse if they new you were waiting fora while the sugested to go and get somehting to eat and if we mist our number let them no and they will let us get in before the next group

Length of Event: 25-35

Actor Performance: all the actors you can tell love thare job but thare was a cuple of times i was aginst the wall with my eyes closed the crazy clown with the cahin saw and the actor with the saw saw in the hall way

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was really good if you got to close to a nother group they just messed with you more in the room you were in until they new the other one was gone it was a really great idea

Appropriate Ages: i wauld say 15 and up

Props / Special FX: they had great specail efects the best i have seen and i have ben to 5 diffrent haunted house this year they put a lott of thought into it and it was great

Costumes / Make-up: the make up was great accualy amazing such detail to most of the actors in cetans rooms more detail than ones who just come out of no ware

Summary: this is the most intinse and most extream hAUNTED HOUSES I HAVE EVER BEN TO i drove 2 hours and allmost dident want to go in becouse people that ware leaving it waare vrying and wouldent stop running till they got 2 blcoks awayi great thought out haunted house i will defintly go next yeah the speacial effects and the actors hearft to do this it was definlty werth the gas and the long drive out i hope it continus you dont se emuch haunted houses like this any more

Reviewed by: iamme   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Off main street a litte hard to find...Parking is tough

Wait Entertainment: Jeepers Creepers and children of the corn played on a television

Length of Event: 20 minutes roughly

Actor Performance: They dont do a lot of scripted interaction but what they do works very well

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It is the most time I jave ever had to enjoy the stunning rooms they have. Fantastic

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up..small kids will be scared almost anywhere

Props / Special FX: Loaded... eye candy everywhere

Costumes / Make-up: Not so much...good enough

Summary: This is a different haunt then Dream Reapers, Creature Cryptmaze type layouts. It is an old building where you make your way from room to room. The exsits and entrances are brilliant. The execution of each room is similar, but the room creates enough variety that you are never sure whats coming. They have a vortex tunnel, they have a high dollar prop that greets you.....It is a fantastic top 10 Illinois haunt....go there

Reviewed by: 0969   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a good location, right of Rt 30. Plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: Showed movies on TVs

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: Good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great...we did not have any troubles running into other groups. They made sure to have the workers stop you if you were getting too close to the group ahead of you.

Appropriate Ages: 11+ in my opinion

Props / Special FX: GREAT...they went to alot of hard work.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent

Summary: I think that it is a great attraction for anyone looking for a good scare. They did a really good job on organization and I love how they give you tickets w/a # on it and you have an estimated wait time before you get in. Then you can leave and come back when you are due to go in. That is a great feature. Then you don't have to stand in line in the cold.

Reviewed by: midget   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy enough to find... though we did miss Main St. but found a cool cemetary.

Wait Entertainment: none... you got a number for your group and wiated.. there were no actors out in the crowds warming you up...

Length of Event: it was about 25 minuts, but that was due to them holding us up towards the end

Actor Performance: It was pretty much 'where are you going' 'why are you here' 'not that door' we did however have some of the actors scare us, but mostly they were there to guide you though the room

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good untill the end, then there was a massive back up.

Appropriate Ages: i would say, if your kid does not get scared... bring em if you gottem

Props / Special FX: they were ok... though there was one attraction that was pretty cool, most were unimpressive

Costumes / Make-up: it did not seem like there was much time or prep work on thier end... i even think i saw a Richard Nixion mask in there.

Summary: it was not what was protrayed on the websight. I was expecting a massive clown heart attack, and no. we drove for 2 hrs to get there, and i would say if you are from around there, then have at it, but if you are from the chicago land area, dont bother. Though i have to give them mad props for doing this every year.

Reviewed by: blakeybull05   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was really easy to find. It was located practically in the middle of Morrison. The fact that it used to be a meat processing plant makes it creepier.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was 45 minutes for us. They give you a number and a time you should have to wait. They told us 45 minutes. It was actually 30. We were at Hardees when they called us, but they were nice enough to let us go in before all the other people waiting in line. The entertainment was that you could hear what was going on inside. I heard gunshots and chainsaws.

Length of Event: 30 minutes. (It all depends on how well you can find your way out of the rooms)

Actor Performance: EXTREMELY WELL- they were great at acting and staying in character the WHOLE time. All actors were adults, so that made it more realistic and scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was one hold back but we were chased around the room by a clown, that was honking a horn in our faces while we tried to find the right door and he blocked them.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and Up

Props / Special FX: There were tons of animatronics. My favorite animitronic was the beast after you firt walk in that would grab bodies and lift up off the ground and roar at you. 
The one that made me jump the most was in Phsyco Therapy and it was a cot with no matress on it that was hung on the wall and when you walked by it banged against the walls as killers started to surround you.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup and masks were terrifying! Some of the creepiest were in chaos carnival where there were creepy clown masks and people with bloody clown faces.

Summary: Asylum of Mad Dreams is seperated into 3 parts, the scariest of which in my opinion was Chaos Carnival. The first are is called h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) Billies, this is full of creepy western people with bloody faces and straw hats with arms and legs stuck in them with machine guns and knives. You go to the front of the house, into the kitchen, and then into a little girl's bedroom where she tells about her father hunting. Then she leads you through a hidden door and out to the back where you see a broken down bus. You walk around it as it honks at you and people bang on the windows from inside. 
 
After that you see a narrow staircase and above you is a sign that says Phsyco Therapy. You know this has to be bad. When you get to the top you are in a hall with bars everywhere and some cages and windows. People jump at you from behind the bars and some of knives the swing at you. There you are led into one of the cells where there is a man with some kind of jackhammer type device he chases you until you find the way out. Then you are in what looks like a never-ending hallway with tons of doors that are locked and open, people lung out at you from the open ones and follow you. Then you see a freezer in one of the kitchens in physo therapy. You have to go through it. I'll tell you one thing, there was a dead body in the freezer on the other side of the glass. You keep crawling up and down, then you see a staircase leading down. 
 
When you reach the bottom staircase you see the Chaos Carnival sign and you hear music playing in the background. This is where we had the back up. WE were chased until we were finally let out. Then we went into a vortex tunnel. Then we were in the last room which was a hige room. In front of you was a mirror that had chaning images and then all of a sudden it bagned open and a clown with a chainsaw charges at you with a chainsaw. 
 
That is the most I could tell you, there are plenty more scares and surprises in the house. Hope you go! You'll enjoy it!

Reviewed by: spooky1   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find and parking was ok

Wait Entertainment: there wasnt any while we were there..but it was opening night and all the actors were in the house

Length of Event: 20-25 min.

Actor Performance: all of the actors working did a great job!!!although...sometimes being quiet and creepy is scarier than screaming in your face

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect!!but it wasnt buzy when we were there

Appropriate Ages: 15 and older

Props / Special FX: some of the best ive seen...we wanted to spend more time to look at things but our group was in a hurry

Costumes / Make-up: THE DOCTOR GUY WAS THE BEST!!!! 
 
THE GUY WITH THE CHAINSAW AT THE END WAS GREAT TOO....I THINK I PEE'D

Summary: GREAT HAUNT!!! RECOMMENED TO ALL ITS WORTH ALL THE MONEY TO GET IN..ITS NICE CAUSE IT TAKES AWHILE TO GET THROUGH..PROPS AND SCENERY ARE GREAT..TAKE THE TIME TO LOOK AROUND...ALOT OF WORK WAS PUT INTO THIS HAUNT

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at