Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2006 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dblock1319   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was great. THey had a large blinking sign on the corner of north ave and cornell that you couldn't miss. Also, police lights on top of the building and large inflatible things that said dream reapers on them

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertain was excellent yet again this year. I saw a few familiar faces. Sheldon, Sataniclaus. Always good fun. There was a new charater outside this year that scared the sh*t out of my g/f and her friend. He had this wolf like face and spoke this weird language. It was fked up.

Length of Event: about 10 minutes. The group I was with ran through the house because they were so scared

Actor Performance: Top notch acting. Everyone was on key. Great characters throughout the house. They really stepped it up this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too bad, we bumped into a group in the maze but that was it

Appropriate Ages: 16 and over

Props / Special FX: Excellent. Some new scenes this year that were laid out real well. The tree is awesome

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up gets better and better each year. Very impressed

Summary: All and all I have yet to be disappointed by dream reapers. Another great show. Can't wait to see what's in store for next year. HIghly recommended

Reviewed by: spudley   (Event Visited: 10/29/06 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty visible and easy to find, right off North Avenue.

Wait Entertainment: We got VIP tickets and didn't wait at all, but we saw a few monsters milling around.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors put on excellent performances. Lots of them and did their jobs well, having good timing and staying in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems at all with flow.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Very good props and FX. They have great attention to details here every year. The decor, lighting, fog, scents, etc. all excellent. The spinning vortex is dynamite - knocks you off your feet. Loved the polka dot room/inhabitant as well.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were top-notch. Well done and scene-appropriate. Loved the babbling girls and the polka dot costume.

Summary: There were lots and lots of great things in this haunt. You need to really take your time in order to appreciate it all. The Vortex, the swamp, the elevator, the hillbillies, the industrial area. What else? The babbling girls, the statue/man, the polka dot person. So many great things and all with attention to detail. No sloppiness here. Probably the best in Chicagoland. My only complaint is that it seemed short. Maybe only ten minutes. As great as it was, I just wished it had been more like 20 or 30 minutes.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/27/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: One of the more visible attractions I've been to, due to the well lit sign from North Ave.

Wait Entertainment: As usual, pretty good as they make good use of well costumed actors making their way through the line. Also they have music, wall artwork/graffiti, and a large screen projector once you get to the inside waiting area.

Length of Event: 15 minutes, give or take

Actor Performance: I thought they did a better job with this this year. Overall, I felt the actors were very good and didn't just fall into the predictable pattern of screaming into your face (not scary, but annoying actually). Nice acting job overall

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow, although we did catch up to patrons in front of us who were too scared to keep moving through the house!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They have had great props and effects each year, and this year is no different. My personal favorite was their crashing elevator--I felt very unsteady after leaving the elevator at that point!

Costumes / Make-up: Great, again this year. They look the most professional of the attractions I have attended

Summary: While I felt a little steamed again this year that we had to pay for parking (to be told to park in a huge puddle after paying for it, no less), this attraction was a good one for a local haunted house. I have been disappointed by this one once or twice in the past of many years of attending, but I had a positive experience this year. While I really didn't get startled or "scared" at any point, they do a great job with props, scents, and acting to set the scenes well. I would recommend this attraction this year!

Reviewed by: hauntmonkey   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not much signage from North Ave/64, however, there were two giant inflatable flailing tube men outside to attract your attention.

Wait Entertainment: There was a hillbilly, a boar? on stilts, and a few other characters keeping crowd control. There was a garbage can fire and heavy rock and metal music playing to also keep your ears entertained.

Length of Event: Depends on how fast you walk but for us, 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent, right on cue every time. Of course my girlfriend who isn't scared of anything was walking ahead of everyone so she got all the immidiate scares but i saw all of them and they did a fantastic job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. We didn't run into any groups, however, a group did run into us.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend anyone younger than 10 but then again, you will get 6 year olds afraid of nothing and 30 year olds who won't walk through the front door.

Props / Special FX: Amazing. The scenes were so incredibly detailed that i was more caught up in that than the actors. Every scene had it's appropriate detail.

Costumes / Make-up: Perfected. There was a little boy done up with a sewn shut mouth looking like a cannibal. The clowns were appropriate. All of the costumes were amazing.

Summary: Overall, this haunt was worth it. From the little surprise when buying your ticket to the ending room with the psychotic madman. I had never seen a haunt quite like it. It's only 3 miles from Eleventh hour and only 6 miles from Lombard Jaycees haunted house so we were conveniently able to hit all three of those houses in one night.

Reviewed by: hauntil70   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction was very visible from the street. The flashing lights as well as the dancing balloons made it easily seen from a distance.

Wait Entertainment: This did not apply to me. I decided to purchase the VIP Tickets this year and I think it was a very good purchase. We immediately went to the gift shop and waited maybe 10 minutes to go inside.

Length of Event: The entire event was around 30 minutes, I think.

Actor Performance: The actors were in character at all times. They were in tune with those who were more likely to scream and were able to get screams out of those patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was very good. There were a couple of times when our group got separated and I went from middle of the group to first. Also, we did not run into any other groups inside.

Summary: Overall, this haunt was better than last year. The detail in the rooms was spectacular and the added scents was a nice touch. Animated objects were used well. I just felt it was more detailed than last year and they deserve kudos for a job well done!!

Reviewed by: darthmaher   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Mapquest was dead-on. It's also hard to miss the line of people that almost extended to North Ave. There is a small marquee on the corner with "Dream Reapers Haunted House" on it. The letters could have been a little bigger, but I managed to see it.

Wait Entertainment: We waited about 1 hour. There were plenty of ghouls roaming the waiting area (both inside and out). There was a large video screen with behind the scenes footage set to music.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were all top notch. None of them broke character at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is probably the first time in a long while that I didn't run into the group in front of me at a haunted house. 
However, we were sent through in a group of 10+ so unfortunately, some of the scares happened way ahead of me.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: PLENTY of creative props and SFX. This was the highlight of the haunt. I can always count on Dream Reapers to transport me to a different world... or in this case, MANY different worlds.

Costumes / Make-up: Almost every ghoul I saw was in pretty elaborate make-up. No $5 Walmart masks in here... none that I saw anyway.

Summary: Dream Reapers has yet to disappoint me. I am always sad when I see the end because I having so much fun in the haunted house. The actors were all on top of their game and the props and sfx were really effective. If I could only go to one haunt this year, it would be Dream Reapers.

Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow mapquest directions and it was pretty easy to find. Look for the blow up things waving in the wind. Be warned that it is an extra 3 dollars just to park!

Wait Entertainment: Skipped to the VIP room. Saw one guy outside, a clown, interacting with the crowd. It was cold and rainy and I don't think actors wanted their makeup to run.

Length of Event: 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: Some of the actors at Dream Reapers are top of the line. They really get into their characters. For example, the hillbillies! The actors in this scene did a great job, I almost believed they were straight from Kentucky or West Virginia! 
The actors I DID NOT like were the clowns because I don't believe in making fun of customers. They were really rude and picking on people. I didn't pay 25 bucks to get made fun of by a 250lb female clown and a 10 year old brat.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: TERRIBLE. This was the worst aspect to Dream Reapers. I understand there was a loooong line, but that's no reason to overflow the haunted house. I had about 10 people in my group and it was annoying to navigate. Make sure you are at the beginning of the line and do not walk fast or else it is not fun. The people in the front of my group ran into the group ahead of them. AND the group behind that litterally RAN into me. They bumped into me and started pushing their way through. I heard them making comments about how terrible the flow was too. I thought I was supposed to get VIP "Rockstar" treatment?

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: Nothing too creative. Dream Reapers really went a couple notches down this year in my opinion. In the past, they were top of the line. I was quite disappointed with the Special Effects. It was limited to strobes here and there. The props were better, some scenes were elaborate, but they were few and far between. The elevator ride was the coolest effect, but not that scary. Just get in a box and someone shakes it from the outside a bit. It was still decent.

Costumes / Make-up: Some people were REALLY good. Wow, extensive makeup and costumes on some characters. This is an area thta was pretty good.

Summary: I did not like being pushed and made fun of and run into. Since so many people were crammed in, that's all that happened. It was not a scary or fun experience. I feel like I paid 25 dollars to watch the first guys in line get scared. Nobody popped out at me, it was all the people at the front of the line, and the guys at the end of the 2nd group that ran into us that got the actors focus. The hillbillies were better about this and focused on random people.  
I would like to warn people who buy tickets on line that I about got screwed over big time. Make sure you buy tickets for the exact DAY that you are going to go. I figured this was like every other haunted house where you just buy a ticket that's good for any open night. I got tickets somehow for the nite that I bought the tickets (early october). The staff looked at me like I was nuts when I tried to use these tickets and told me that they were invalid. I explained how every other haunted house you buy a ticket that's good for any day. They acted like they had never heard of that before in the existance of being able to buy haunted house tickets online. The ONLY reason they let me in was because I upgraded my standard tickets to VIP. You know they wanted that extra 20 bucks and wasn't gonna turn that down. So, MAKE SURE you buy tickets for the nite you want to go. I had no clue it was like a concert or sport event where you have to get the exact ticket for the nite you want to go. No room to buy it and then change your mind later!!!  
In conclusion, I do NOT think Dream Reapers deserves the number one spot this year. If they do, well I would think something is fixed, but I know the webmaster is a good honest guy and wouldn't do that. Let's just say, I will be confused if they win, because there were a lot cooler ones out there that space out patrons effectively and allow you the chance to get scared!

Reviewed by: cubbies1127   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to see from the road

Wait Entertainment: Lots of monsters and not a long wait, I'm sure it will get longer as halloween nears

Length of Event: 20 min.

Actor Performance: actors are great, high energy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: you go at your own pace

Appropriate Ages: 11 and up

Props / Special FX: great props and special FX as always. So much to look at, you could go thru a couple times to see everything.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of different monsters and scenes to go thru and great make up as well.

Summary: This is one of my favorites every year. They always add something new and always do a great job with the scenry. In my opinion this is the best visual haunt around here. 

Reviewed by: Goth_Gina   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I could not find it at first. Your site has it as one of the best in Illinois so my friends and I road tripped up there. After we found it, parking wasn't TOOO bad.

Wait Entertainment: AWSOME!!! I liked the guy that made the woman behind me just gag when he was picking his scabs and eating it.

Length of Event: Total time (including standing in line... I would almost pay just for that) 1 hour.

Actor Performance: AWSOME!!!!! It was not your typical jump out and say BOO. There were differnt themes to several areas. I was really impressed by the makeup and the how the place was laid out. I never knew which way to go or which way I was going. I especially liked ... well, you will just have to see it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group never saw anyone else even though we went through almost right after the other group. Nice atmosphere. Kept you in the "I am alone but not invisible" spirit.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: Fog, Lights, Makeup, robotic stuff. too much to name. There is a reason they are the BEST.

Costumes / Make-up: AWSOME! I am really into makeup and I got some really good ideas the next time we go clubbing.

Summary: This is such an awsome place I don't even know where to start. From the moment I stepped out of the car to the moment I got back in, there was a chill down my spine. I was even scared in the gift shop. I didn't know if it was over or not!

Reviewed by: Prdangelo   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This year was even easier than last. There was a sign right off North Ave. Plus when you turn you can't miss the line

Wait Entertainment: Few actors moving around, one was pretty funny. One or two more couldn't hurt

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Outstanding, every rooms actors were phenomenal. Even better than last year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was really good, only bumped into the group in front once by accident. We got so scared we ran to fast

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Every room was really detailed. Make sure you smell and look eveywhere when you go through.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing oridinary here. Top notch!!

Summary: I have been to several houses. The past few years have been good but have been similar each time. Not this year, not even close. This has to be the best I have ever been to and I think will be for years to come.

Reviewed by: phoxxz   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to see. My friends and I dont know the Melrose area very well and we were looking where to turn and the flashing lights and air tube displays helped greatly.

Wait Entertainment: Pretty awesome, It was better than most because they werent like freaking you out that badly, they were nicer and like funnier than anything. This one clown guy was pretty perverse but it was hilarious.

Length of Event: I think it was too short, We were in and out of there within like 15 minutes. I dont know whether or not it was the fact we were going fast or not but it felt short to me.

Actor Performance: Pretty good, They were really in character, especially the clowns in the clown section and the kids that jumped around in the halls. Some of the chainsaw people got a little too close and I think hit my friend in the leg. Overall they were believeable but not all that scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We bumped into some other people while inside, other than that it was fine.

Appropriate Ages: They said it was 16 and up but I saw like a 5 year old believe it or not. I say 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: The artwork on the walls in the waiting room was outstanding. It was so intricate and insane to look at. The scenes inside the house were realistic and eye catching. I loved the moving tube making you feel like you were dizzy. It was great painting and details were really great. There werent alot of special effects though, most of it was people which kind of drew from the excitement.

Costumes / Make-up: Really great, this one corpse bride girl was so well done, I didnt know she was real! The makeup on the people was very well done. I was impressed with this aspect. One problem was not enough people were dressed up. There were alot of people in plain clothes so it was like "Where are all the scary dudes?" Alot of the characters got OUT of character and like were "ha ha" funny with some. It really detracted.

Summary: I dont think I was all that impressed. Its just my opinion but, Not enough was mechanical and unpredictable. After a while I knew at least 2-3 people would be in each section and wasn't scared. My friend who normally is scared so bad at these things, was the first one in line and like not affected at all. The cost fit the product. People were rushing us through each scene so I didnt get a chance to really take in the view. The fact they couldnt touch us was a little dull. At another one they would grab our shoulders and stuff like that. Overall, the hype was like it was going to be some astounding pee-your-pants type of thing and...it really wasnt.

Reviewed by: SxMike2   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: With two inflatable tube men in the front, its pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Since I went on a Saturday night, I did have to wait a long time but there were entertainers, music, and a good atmosphere while you were waiting.

Length of Event: Only 10 minutes

Actor Performance: AMAZING!!! Each actor nailed their part perfectly.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A backed up patron flow was not an issue. In this haunted house, it doesnt matter if you're in the front or the back, your still gonna get scared!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very good props and special FX. The owners of this haunted house obiously spent a lot of money on props/ special FX

Costumes / Make-up: Super professional. The costumes/ make-up were increadible.

Summary: This was the best haunted house I've ever been too. Even though the wait was extremely long, and the amount of time I spent in the haunted house wasn't that long, it was a great experiece. I was horrified all the way through. If you do go, watch out for the wheelchair man and the clown room. YIKES! Im gettin goosebumps just thinking about that clown room!

Reviewed by: RebelFreek   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Two of those Wacky arm flailing giant tube men give away the location of the haunt very well if your coming from the west down North Ave

Wait Entertainment: Several actors were running about scaring the patrons(although the chainsaw hillbilly should spend less time on scaring one person...).

Length of Event: About 10 to 15 minutes in length

Actor Performance: Very good, considering most were on their game, I did see a few standing around and talking before they saw me though...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, I did run into the group in front of me before entering the clown room though...

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Sets excellently designed with lots of accents.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup fit well throughout the whole haunt. The Makeup was also excellently done.

Summary: Out of the haunts in Chicagoland, this is my favorite with Statesville coming up at a very close second this year, mainly because of the energy coming out of the actors. Great work Guys!

Reviewed by: sherry   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is one of the most detailed haunted houses I have ever been to. They really get into their parts!

Wait Entertainment: Didnt wait at all. We bought the tickets online beforehand.

Length of Event: Decent length. Could always be longer.

Actor Performance: Very scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didnt have a problem.

Appropriate Ages: Adults for sure. Would not receommend children.

Props / Special FX: Loved the man in the wheelchair who chased me everywhere and the clown was top notch!

Costumes / Make-up: VEry well put-together.

Summary: I think we would totally go back. I wish it was a little darker in the house. That would make it scarier. The girls in the beginning were annoying. But we loved it!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at