Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2006 Visitor Reviews Submitted by Haunt_Master

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow mapquest directions and it was pretty easy to find. Look for the blow up things waving in the wind. Be warned that it is an extra 3 dollars just to park!

Wait Entertainment: Skipped to the VIP room. Saw one guy outside, a clown, interacting with the crowd. It was cold and rainy and I don't think actors wanted their makeup to run.

Length of Event: 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: Some of the actors at Dream Reapers are top of the line. They really get into their characters. For example, the hillbillies! The actors in this scene did a great job, I almost believed they were straight from Kentucky or West Virginia! 
The actors I DID NOT like were the clowns because I don't believe in making fun of customers. They were really rude and picking on people. I didn't pay 25 bucks to get made fun of by a 250lb female clown and a 10 year old brat.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: TERRIBLE. This was the worst aspect to Dream Reapers. I understand there was a loooong line, but that's no reason to overflow the haunted house. I had about 10 people in my group and it was annoying to navigate. Make sure you are at the beginning of the line and do not walk fast or else it is not fun. The people in the front of my group ran into the group ahead of them. AND the group behind that litterally RAN into me. They bumped into me and started pushing their way through. I heard them making comments about how terrible the flow was too. I thought I was supposed to get VIP "Rockstar" treatment?

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: Nothing too creative. Dream Reapers really went a couple notches down this year in my opinion. In the past, they were top of the line. I was quite disappointed with the Special Effects. It was limited to strobes here and there. The props were better, some scenes were elaborate, but they were few and far between. The elevator ride was the coolest effect, but not that scary. Just get in a box and someone shakes it from the outside a bit. It was still decent.

Costumes / Make-up: Some people were REALLY good. Wow, extensive makeup and costumes on some characters. This is an area thta was pretty good.

Summary: I did not like being pushed and made fun of and run into. Since so many people were crammed in, that's all that happened. It was not a scary or fun experience. I feel like I paid 25 dollars to watch the first guys in line get scared. Nobody popped out at me, it was all the people at the front of the line, and the guys at the end of the 2nd group that ran into us that got the actors focus. The hillbillies were better about this and focused on random people.  
I would like to warn people who buy tickets on line that I about got screwed over big time. Make sure you buy tickets for the exact DAY that you are going to go. I figured this was like every other haunted house where you just buy a ticket that's good for any open night. I got tickets somehow for the nite that I bought the tickets (early october). The staff looked at me like I was nuts when I tried to use these tickets and told me that they were invalid. I explained how every other haunted house you buy a ticket that's good for any day. They acted like they had never heard of that before in the existance of being able to buy haunted house tickets online. The ONLY reason they let me in was because I upgraded my standard tickets to VIP. You know they wanted that extra 20 bucks and wasn't gonna turn that down. So, MAKE SURE you buy tickets for the nite you want to go. I had no clue it was like a concert or sport event where you have to get the exact ticket for the nite you want to go. No room to buy it and then change your mind later!!!  
In conclusion, I do NOT think Dream Reapers deserves the number one spot this year. If they do, well I would think something is fixed, but I know the webmaster is a good honest guy and wouldn't do that. Let's just say, I will be confused if they win, because there were a lot cooler ones out there that space out patrons effectively and allow you the chance to get scared!

Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elmhurst, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Have good mapquest directions if you are not from the area. There are no signs. Make sure you know it is in a city park and its easier to look for the park's name, instead of the event name.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor, but he just stood around and did not interact with the crowd. He wasn't even facing the crowd most of the time. I never even saw his mask.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: This was the worst bunch of actors I have ever seen. There were only about 5 actors in the whole attraction that I saw. Actors were recycled in some cases, meaning that the same actor was in multiple scenes of the house. For an attraction this big, there was lots of empty spaces where there was nothing and no actors.  
The few actors who were there gave pretty lame performances. I have no idea what was up with this old Brooklyn accented grandma near the front of the house. I felt like she was trying out for Last Comic Standing. Key word is "trying." She really killed the mood that the house would be scary.  
After here, there were only a couple actors to pop out at you and they were few and far between.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since they send groups in 15-20 people at a time, you were spaced out decently. Instead of running into another 20 person group, you ran into a train of people from your own group. These large groups also killed the mood. The few actors and scares in store for you were ruinied, unless you happened to be the first guy in line.

Appropriate Ages: ALL who have the patience to wait in the cold for hours and participate in an event that is 2/3 outdoors.

Props / Special FX: Limited. There were zero special effects that I saw.  
Props were lame in a "build it yourself" way. Very cheap construction and scares. The animitronic grandmother was a joke. You are in a room to hear a 5 minute long speech from a tape while a couple animetronics go off over and over again. Got old pretty quick. So old, my group thought we were supposded to turn around and go back. They didn't even know they were supposed to be listening to the "scary story" on the tape.  
The worst prop on the premise was the "Pitch Black" maze. This is TOTALLY false advertisement, and I was VERY disappointed. Pitch black means you can't see your hand in front of your face, and you have to feel the walls to guide you. In Pitch Black, all you have to do is look up and see the where the walls don't meet the ceiling to guide your way through. There is light coming over the walls (they didn't throw a black tarp over the whole thing for some reason) so all you have to do is look upwards when walking through. Even if you don't, your eyes adjust pretty quickly with all the light coming in from over the walls.

Costumes / Make-up: Fair. Ranged from decent to lame. The only really lame looking actor was the Brooklyn Grandma who was just wearing a gray wig and glasses. Not a good costume.

Summary: It was raining and cold and I didn't feel like waiting 3 hours in line, so I paid 35 dollars to get into this event. The "VIP treatment" means you get crammed in with the group about to go in. Like I said, about 20 people in a group, so there's no way you'll get scared since you are crammed into rooms like sardines (you can't even get a good look around, everyone's in the way). The first part of three was designed worse than a 5 dollar charity haunt would be. At least those have more than three actors. 
The absolute worst part of this event? THE MUD. PLEASE WEAR OLD CRUMMY KNEE HIGH BOOTS if you are planning on attending here. Literally 70 percent of this event is walking through 3-4 inch deep sloppy mud. There is nothing over the mud, so Pitch Black and Chain Reaction are in a swamp of filthy mud. I had no idea and my shoes are ruined now. The "FREE MOVIE TICKET" giveaway is a scam unless you live in Chicago (this ticket is only good for a specific theatre, not just any theatre). I drove 2.5 hours to see this event and there's no way I'm going to go back just to use my "free movie ticket."  
I do try to say something nice about every event, but this is hard in this case. I try to give readers a REALISTIC review. I go to MANY haunted houses and I don't give any "Omg I waz so scared!!!! my firzt hauhted house!" reviews. If you want to bundle up your kids in parkas and boots, this would be a good family-event for even small children. Not even Chain Reaction is scary, unless for some reason you are afraid of fences. A few strobe lights and fog could have saved this area, but all they had was paper chain "vines" hanging down. Even if you do not get the VIP pass, 17 dollars is an insane amount of money to put down for this. It is compareable to a small-town haunt. I am sorry for the pessimistic review, but not as sorry as I was after leaving 11th hour.

Event Reviewed: Creatures Crypt (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little tricky to find. It is not on a main road. However, there were a few helpful signs, once you got nearby. It's easy to tell then, they had cop cars with their lights on.

Wait Entertainment: None. I had VIP passes so I got right in. It did not seem crowded at all. We might have been one of the last groups to get to go in. I got VIP passes so they gave me some halloween mardi gras beads! Yay a bonus.

Length of Event: 10 minutes. pretty short, but the tour guide (you hold on to a rope "DONT LET GO OF THE ROPEY!" they tell you. Our tour guide walked fairly slow so we could look around.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. Many were very into their characters. I saw a wide variety too. From a ghost town cowboy, to jack the ripper. My ABSOLUTE favorite in any house I have been in this season was the 12 foot grim reaper guy. OMG he chased after me and grabbed my hair with this huge hand. He touches you so be careful. He accidently pulled my hair, it got caught on his "finger". I thought I had "escaped" him by going thru a small doorway into the next hallway. I was WRONG! He reached over the 8foot wall and hit my head again!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, heard some other groups screams ahead, but never ran into another group. They did a great job. This could also be due to the fact it wasn't that busy when I went in.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and above.

Props / Special FX: They have some really neat stuff. Pretty cool animatronics and things that jump out at you. Quite a few surprises!

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good! Above average, I would say. No lame masks.

Summary: Overall, I'd say Creature's Crypt was my favorite house so far this year. I had never been to this particular one before, and I was impressed. A nice even mix of actors, props, and special effects. It's especially worth 10 bucks. An idea would be to extend on the haunted house and make it longer. Maybe a pitch black maze or something scary like that. 10 minutes is a little short, but at least its only 10 dollars!

Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions (Bolingbrook, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had a limo driver find the place quite easily. I mean comon, its this huge dome thing, u can't miss it! 

Wait Entertainment: Not much, but we had VIP passes, so we got to skip to the front of the line. Only had to wait about 10 minutes.

Length of Event: 25 minutes for both parts.

Actor Performance: Pretty good, the adult actors were cool. The vampire guy who read the rules was really into his character. Also, there was this one part where crazy monster hillbillies would jump over your heads from above to "corner" you. 
Outside of the haunt, the workers were very nice and helpful.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. They really space people out going in, so we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: Varies, one haunted house was more tame. The other was more dramatic.

Props / Special FX: They did a decent job. Not too many animatronics, but they did a good job with props and setting up the atomosphere to be scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Some actors were really dressed up crazy with cool makeup. Decent compared to other houses I have been to.

Summary: For their first year, evil intentions did a great job. I would go back next year, if they have it. I thought it was a fair price for almost 30 minutes of entertainment. I didn't get too scared, but it takes a lot to scare me. I think it would be really scary for a family looking for a "creepy" house, and not one that is too tame. I agree with the webmaster, it would be a good idea to offer an option to buy tickets separetly. Some people may be more geared to one house or the other and not want both.

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison & City of the Dead (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had a limo driver take my group there. He didn't seem to have a problem, except he was confused as to where to pull in.

Wait Entertainment: NONE. I got there right as it opened and I still ended up waiting. I had VIP passes too. I don't know why we paid an extra 10 bucks, it didn't help much. We got to skip the ticket line and go into a different line. You would think cuz we were the first group, the wait would be decreased, but it was terrible either way.

Length of Event: 45 Minutes, BUT I want to warn you that about 25-30 minutes of this was waiting in line... either in line for the prision, in line at City of the Dead, or just waiting some where for someone to give you the okay to go through.

Actor Performance: Not that great. My friend got called a dumbass by an actor. I understand this is where they joke around with you, but this was not right. They made fun of a gay guy's clothing too, and that's not very appopriate. I mean calling someone a generic "maggot" and making a personal attack are two different things. I didn't like how my friend got called a dumbass, and they kept picking on me, calling me a "pussy cat," which I thought was out of line. No one was really that scary in the prision, just freakin rude. 
In city of the dead, which was laughable, they had a bunch of glow paint jamacian dreadlock actors running around chanting. It was more funny than scary. Many looked to be actors under the age of 16.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: TERRIBLE. Stop wait. Walk 30 seconds. Stop wait 15 minutes. Walk 2 minutes. Stop. Terrible being the first group to enter, I do not understand what was up with the wait. Over half the time was waiting.

Appropriate Ages: Anyone with patience, as this wasn't that doesn't mind waiting in line in the cold. Please bundle up your children, because its a long wait.

Props / Special FX: This is an area that was pretty good. The opening eletrocution scene was AWESOME. However, it seemed as if all their budget was spent on this room, because it was quickly downhill. But, wow what a great opening for a haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Decent. Not too bad here, some actors seemed to take their characters quite seriously.

Summary: WOW, the webmaster was right. 25 bucks (35 VIP for me) is ridiculous for this place. I go to MANY haunted houses each year, and there was a limited bang for your buck here. I didn't pay all this money to wait in line, especially with the VIP pass. Wow, when I was leaving, (this didnt make me happy) they were offering VIP passes for an extra 5 bucks to people in line. I literally heard the actor say "Pay 5 bucks to avoid the 5 hour line, we'll get you right in immediately." This was when I was leaving, so I guess the wait time was on 5 hours. I do understand you have to wait for a haunted house, I am complaining however, because for the price, you would think there would be more quality. At least indoor warm waiting or something. The entertainment was very low for the price. There is no reason that this should be a 25-35 dollar haunted house compared to other main haunted houses who charge about 15. 
I do know that I am not going back next year or again. Rude actors who do not have their act together. The place opened up at 7pm, but the first group didn't get to go in until almost 7:30? Makes no sense to me.

Event Reviewed: St Patrick's haunted high school (Kankakee, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had a limo driver find the place for us, so I cannot really rate this accurately. He seemed to find it okay.

Wait Entertainment: None, we just stood in line for about 35 minutes. It was slow because this was a special night where they sent people in 2 at a time in the dark.

Length of Event: 25 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: There weren't too many actors. It was very quiet, stumble around in the dark kind of thing. There were a few actors here and there, but they were mainly just standing around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into other people in the maze areas and crawling thru the tunnels.

Appropriate Ages: This tour was adults only. I cannot say what the normal tour would be appropriate for.

Props / Special FX: It was dark so we didn't really see any SFX. However, there were areas where you had to crawl around in tight spaces. BEWARE: there is this one part where you get into this giant wooden box thing (like a wooden elevator) and it drops/shakes. I am a light female and I went flying from one side to the other and got my hand slammed into this wooden edging stuck out in the box. My hand got all scrapped up and it was bleeding. This happened a week ago and my hand is still tore up a bit and bruised. I think the management should be careful and at least warn you the box is going to move. This could be dangerous with small children.

Costumes / Make-up: Didn't see too much.

Summary: This was a cool concept of turning all the nights off and having people crawl their way through. I thought it was a fair price for the entertainment. It was fun not knowing where you were going to end up and there was like four floors to this place. I want to say though, my review pertains to only Friday the 13th when they had the lights off. I do not believe they are doing this again. Usually their hours are more limited and the lights are on. It would be interesting to check out in the light.

Event Reviewed: Trail of Screams...The Evil Has Awakened (Rockford, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/06/06 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is kind of out in the country, so be aware while looking for the sign! You cannot see the attraction from the road. Be looking for a drive you pull in with a sign point to it.

Wait Entertainment: I had a zero minute wait. I was one of the last people let in. However, be aware that this is an outdoor haunt, so you will be waiting in the cold.

Length of Event: about 25 minutes

Actor Performance: We had a high school "grim reaper" host. Props to him for trying so hard, but he was very friendly, he could have acted more scary. 
Some very good actors. The warden was very scary and played his part well. In general, the older actors seemed to really know their parts. The young actors were not very enthusiastic, and in fact, totally broke character many times. They would stop acting when I was a few feet after them and start gossiping about other actors. It was very childish. Another thing I didn't like was that our host was making comments along the whole tour to other actors "hey we need this floorboard fixed" "Dont forget to patch that up." I realize it was opening weekend, but they could have waited until our tour was over to chit-chat and discuss fixing up the house. I felt like I wasn't getting my money worth.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into no other groups, but I went very late and it was opening weekend.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: Nothing realy stood out. Most of this haunt was outdoors and walking through corn fields. Not too many SFX in a corn field. There were little houses along the way that you went into for a few seconds that had more eletroncical props.

Costumes / Make-up: The guy on stilts in the cornfield was pretty creepy. They should have picked a guy with a deeper voice though, because he was really straining to sound "scary."  
These guys had very good costumes and makeup. Not just rubber masks.

Summary: I have a low overall score because some of the actors were terrible and unprofessional in keeping their character. If you don't mind walking through dirty fields and being outdoors for most of the night, its worth checking out. However, don't expect to get too scared. This haunt was more amusing than scary. A BIG disappointment compared to last year, when there was the van ride. They got rid of it this year, so don't go if you are only wanting that.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Doom & Internal Nightmare Haunts (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is located at the Lake County Fairgrounds and is not very well marked from the road. It can be tricky to find, so make sure you are looking for the Fairgrounds sign and not a haunted attraction sign. Pull in the drive and its in the back of the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: There were about four guys I saw dressed up and interacting with the crowd. Their makeup/costumes ranged from high-quality to low. They were not very intense compared to other wait entertainment I have experienced. They mainly walked around and seemed more silly acting, than scary acting. This might work for a clown, but not for a guy dressed up like an demon/monster.  
Food and drink stands were definately needed. I was dying of thirst by the time I got to the front of the line. 
There were a few TVs to look at, but of course no sound with them. Might have been cooler if they had one movie playing and sound for it going.

Length of Event: Less than twenty-minutes all together. Maybe 13 minutes inside Dungeon of Doom and about 2 minutes in the Internal Nightmare.

Actor Performance: Some actors were exceptional. The priests in the "Exorcist" room really knew their lines and performed an exorcism that was convinceable.  
Other actors did not seem that into it and gave up too easily. One actor literally yelled at me to "just scream!" because he did not scare me. He also said I wasn't any fun because I did not get scared. I did not really like the character break here. 
For the most part, the actors were decent. The buried alive host did not know the disclaimer speech by heart and another actor had to help him out.  
In the internal nightmare, I did not appreciate the zombie actors' performance. They are not supposed to touch you at all, yet they kept pushing this inflatable wall thing into me quite hard. I about got knocked down a couple times and I even reminded them "no touching" and they did it again. I do not know if this was part of the experience or not, but I am a female who doesn't like being tossed around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not very good... Too many people in too quickly and I ran into the first group right away. I tried to slow down to hang back and the group behind us had caught up at this point.

Appropriate Ages: 12 or older. Make sure your child can handle waiting in a 2 hour plus line.

Props / Special FX: If you have an imagination, then you will like Dungeon of Doom. The animatronics work if you are scared by a doll/dummy that springs out of a bed.  
The BEST special effect is the "buried alive" experience. I did not know what to expect going in, and that was part of the surprise. Don't let anyone spoil the "secret" for you. It's more fun to just go in knowing you will be in pitch black and unable to move. It was the coolest part of the experience.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing too scary. A jester I saw had impressive gear/makeup on. Many of the costumes were rubber masks that you could buy at a store. More SFX makeup may improve things rather than a simple mask.

Summary: I am glad I went here for the "buried alive" experience. This is worth it to see what it feels like, as long as you aren't clastrophobic. A little pricy for the experience, considering most of their eletronics went into the waiting area it seemed.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at