Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2006 Visitor Reviews Submitted by goth_gina

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Springfield Jaycees Haunted House (Springfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/13/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was in a good location, however, there was too much light for me to really get into a scary mood.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any entertainment.

Length of Event: 10 Minutes

Actor Performance: It was your typical actor jumping out and going boo. Nothing spectacular.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We bumped into the group ahead of us several times and had to wait.

Appropriate Ages: 5 - 100

Props / Special FX: It looked like most things were thrown together. Not bad, but it could have been much nicer

Costumes / Make-up: Masks... I don't think I need to say anymore.

Summary: I thought it was ok. It was not worth the ticket price though. The wait was small, the haunted house was ok in length. I guess I just expected more as they have done a better job in the past.

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Goth_Gina   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I could not find it at first. Your site has it as one of the best in Illinois so my friends and I road tripped up there. After we found it, parking wasn't TOOO bad.

Wait Entertainment: AWSOME!!! I liked the guy that made the woman behind me just gag when he was picking his scabs and eating it.

Length of Event: Total time (including standing in line... I would almost pay just for that) 1 hour.

Actor Performance: AWSOME!!!!! It was not your typical jump out and say BOO. There were differnt themes to several areas. I was really impressed by the makeup and the how the place was laid out. I never knew which way to go or which way I was going. I especially liked ... well, you will just have to see it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group never saw anyone else even though we went through almost right after the other group. Nice atmosphere. Kept you in the "I am alone but not invisible" spirit.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: Fog, Lights, Makeup, robotic stuff. too much to name. There is a reason they are the BEST.

Costumes / Make-up: AWSOME! I am really into makeup and I got some really good ideas the next time we go clubbing.

Summary: This is such an awsome place I don't even know where to start. From the moment I stepped out of the car to the moment I got back in, there was a chill down my spine. I was even scared in the gift shop. I didn't know if it was over or not!

Event Reviewed: Ashmore Estates Asylum (Ashmore, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Goth_Gina   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was kind of hard to see off of the main road. It made for a VERY interesting time getting there though. My friends and I road tripped up to go to a REAL haunted insane asylum.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any really.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: It was very lacking. Outside of one actor that I really liked that was dressed up like a "doctor" it was really uneventful.`

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good. They were putting them through pretty slow though. Our group never saw anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: I did enjoy looking at some of the old rooms, but there was too much spraypaint on the walls. I also noticed that some of the fixtures just did not go with the building. It looked old and run down but some of the doors inside looked brand new.

Costumes / Make-up: This is where they really did a good job in my opinion. I really stopped myself and said a couple of times, that would look cool at the Forum!

Summary: Worth the trip if only to get a shock from the Doc! The makeup made me get a few ideas for a rave or two. Just seeing the place and driving up was a thrill. Hard to park though.

Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Goth_Gina   (Event Visited: 10/14/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: All I can say is.. watch out for the cops! Got pulled over going in and got pulled over going out of town. Lucky for us, two different drivers so both got off with a "warning". Place was easy to find, lots of signs.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing really, there was a guy in the "graveyard" that was suprising. Had a movie for us to watch while we waited couldn't hear the sound very well, since it was outside. Not long of a wait though.

Length of Event: 20 Minutes not counting waiting outside

Actor Performance: I would have to say this is the strong point of "Mayberrys" haunted house. They have CLOWNS! I really don't like clowns that much. There something I think they thought was supposed to be a transporter or something. It really didn't go with the whole place. There was also a fat guy in a blue room that was a little freaky but in a good way. He must be an actor from the theater(plays and stuff) that we saw. Maybe I will go back if they put on a play as good as that guy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We bumped into the group ahead of us one time, but they were all girls and guys that had bunched up after they got inside. We scared them pretty bad.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Fog, Lights, Music and it was cool the campfire smelled like smoke or the building was burned out not sure which

Costumes / Make-up: Some good makeup, not hot but pretty good. The clowns were down though. Scared me bad. Also some of masks I had not seen before, either really old or really new.

Summary: DRIVE THE SPEED LIMIT! No joke got pulled over going in and out of town. Thought that the place pretty good considering there are only 1000 people in the whole town. I think half of them were working there. I would say it is worth an hour or two drive. We went on to another haunted house after this so it was a good trip over all. The biggest let down was my girlfriend and I were wondering what "Harvest of the flesh" was all about. When we get there it was all about nothing. I was expecting more from that line I guess. Would have been cooler to have something to back it up. Overall, I have a friend that wants to go and see it. It was good enough I would drive to see it again.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at