Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2006 Visitor Reviews Submitted by jeaniek

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison & City of the Dead (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/30/06 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily spotted - marked by huge signs and a inflatable pumpkin - it is located in a pumpkin farm off webber road

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. Many actors walking around entertaining the crowd waiting

Length of Event: 50 minutes for both houses...about an hour wait

Actor Performance: Excellent. Everyone was into charactor and gave an excellent show

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Disappointed on the amount of people they crammed into the first two rooms of the haunt. So many people, that everyone was crushed and stepping on other people.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: Excellent.

Costumes / Make-up: Great - everything from extravagant to basic...but it all fits in very nicely with the appropriate rooms

Summary: This was my 3rd time this season visiting statesville and had to be the best. The actors were great and very much into entertaining everyone. The only disappointment I had was the amount of people crammed into the first rooms of both haunts for the "show"...way too many people, everyone was crushed and being stepped on or stepping over someone else. Even at the breakoff rooms, there was a huge line that spanned several rooms down because of the amount of people let in at once. 
But overall this is always a fun place to go. This has to be the best haunt I have been too...so much so I have been 3x this season lol. Seriously, there is so much to look at and it was diffrent each time I went, I kept bringing my freinds to see how awesome this place was. Definately a must see for next season if you haven't gone already

Event Reviewed: Lombard Jaycees Haunted House (Lombard, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/30/06 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily found. Located inside of a strip mall off 53 and north avenue. Plenty of signs along the way to direct you.

Wait Entertainment: Not sure on this, had vip passes...but did see plenty of actors walking around the lobby

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good...the actors seemed to be in charactor and enjoy working the haunt

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good. I went by myself, there was a little crowd I caught up with - about 4 people

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: very good. this year was the first time in a while that I have seen great detail put into the different rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Good. A little basic...but there were a few that were dressed in awesome costumes

Summary: If you are looking for a good family haunt...this is the place to go. This haunt is always a fun place to go, but this year they put more work and design into the rooms and it was excellent for a low-budget haunt. It was a fun time.

Event Reviewed: Mayhem on Mansfield (Burbank, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/20/06 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is a home haunt, but if you use the directions posted or mapquest it is easily found.

Wait Entertainment: No wait. walk right in.

Length of Event: allow yourself a good 1/2 hour to check out everything.

Actor Performance: unfortunately because it was rainy there were no actors working.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a crappy night, so there was nobody else checking it out.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and over

Props / Special FX: Awesome!! There is much to look at here...the fishing hole is a must-see, along with the skelleton hawaian party and the mad scientist lab...

Summary: I love this place!! This is a great place to check out...even tho it is a home haunt, it is better then some of the haunted houses I've been to. When the weather is good there is a great lazer show in the cemetary to check out.

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison & City of the Dead (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nicely Marked - police and a giant pumpkin give the location away

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: about 40 minutes - with a vip pass

Actor Performance: Seemed tired and just going thru the motions

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of patrons was good. There are many areas that you are in a continous line of people, but there are also break-off points...

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: Nicely done - much to look at

Costumes / Make-up: everything from extravagant to basic...but everyone's costumes fit in very well with the rooms they were working

Summary: This was my 2nd time going...and the worst..but to be fair, the event was extremely crowded..the traffic was so terrible that they had to shuttle us from a 1/2 mile away. The shuttle buses ran very slow and we waited about 1 1/2 hours in the rain before our freind decided to leave and give us a ride back to the haunt. If we had waited for the buses, we would've been in line for another hour... At this time, we were let directly into the parking area for the event!!...The normal wait at that time was 4 hours - not including the time spent waiting for the shuttle, and there was no consideration for the people waiting a 1/2 mile down to get in while others were parking in the lot and getting ahead of everyone else waiting elsewhere! This should have been handled better - when we were leaving around 12:45am, they were still bussing in more people who were still waiting..while again, the lot was very empty and people who came after and parked in the lot were in and out before these people... We bought vip and was in the haunt in about 15 minutes. The actors were pretty tired from being worked all night and not too into their charactors and seemed to rush the entire interactions with the customers...lots of rude customers and we've almost got into a fight with 2 of them! Especially in city of the dead when there was a huge group of people, hitting walls, yelling and being very obnoxious. While watching the opening show, instead of telling this group to shut up, an actor told me to put away my cell phone, when I was texting for an emergancy. This group of people ruined our time in the second attraction. The actors threatened to exclude them from the event but did nothing except push them thru with our group...and it wasn't just our group complaining about these people! they were grabbing props and just being very rude. 
I love statesville but this was a horrible night to go..to be fair, I'm sure they had their hands full...but I think a haunt like this should be a little more equipped to handle a huge amount of people as it seems they are always swamped with people.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Doom & Internal Nightmare Haunts (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find - located in the grayslake fairgrounds on Belvidere road.  
The area can be pretty dark, there is a small sign on the enterence to the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: We were fortunate to have a small wait time - about 10 minutes. I love the lobby - much to check out. Horror movies are played, they have a great cemetary and the enterance to the dungeon is nicely done.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes for both attractions

Actor Performance: I love the actors at the dod. It is one of the reasons I go back year after year. They are (and were again) always great. Always in charector and know how to work the vistors inside and after the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: again we were early, was great

Appropriate Ages: 10 and over - although I do take my son (who is 8) each year this is his favorite haunt

Props / Special FX: great! The beginning exorcisim was great to watch, the rooms were filled with many things to look at

Costumes / Make-up: pretty good - average for the most part inside the haunt, outside the clowns were pretty scary looking

Summary: This is one of my favorites every year, we always have a great time and it is worth the hour trip for us. If you are like me and go to these haunts more for the effects/rooms rather then the scare factor then you will not be disappointed. The props and the effects in the rooms are awesome and the actors blend in very nicely and generally get a good scream from people - i even jumped a few times, which I don't do easily. I loved the new beginning! The only disappointment I had was there were 3D rooms - no glasses were given to add to the 3D effects,and no shock treatment? I didn't realize that there was this room or effect at the attraction until checking out the website after going, not sure how I missed that one? Burried Alive took on a new meaning since there was a smaller crowd, everyone was layed out on the floor for the burial. This made the effects more scary then previous years - I believe we were under for a longer amount of time also. I was extremely happy to see Internal Nightmare was open -as it is always closed when we have went previously, the outside looks killer! - a huge giant that you have to walk thru.. but it was a disappointment. Not many actors working the haunt,probably about 4-5? it was something I could expect at chicago park districts or another Kiddie haunt. The actors are always fun here. I recommend this haunt as it is still one of my favorites, always a great time. A place that even if you wait 2 hours in line you will have a great time waiting because of the actors and the atmosphere.

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison & City of the Dead (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jeaniek   (Event Visited: 10/07/06 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very well marked - located in a pumpkin farm - lighted signs show the way

Wait Entertainment: not much. great music and one actor popped in after a while to work the crowd for a little while

Length of Event: about an hour for both haunts

Actor Performance: loved it! they were great! I'm not sure what he was supposed to be - but a huge prisioner with a huge sledgehammer smelled us in the beginning and would pop up periodically through out the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fairly good. had areas that you would catch up to the people in front, but also areas where they re-split the crowd again.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and over

Props / Special FX: Lots to look at - awesome rooms. Not even sure where to start here...so much to look at.

Costumes / Make-up: From great to average - but done appropriately for the different rooms

Summary: This was my first time to statesville. We had a great time. The "guards" make you feel right at home from the beginning. The beginning show is just amazing!! My daughter was scared. We were a little disappointed that the scare factor was not as much as we anticipated, as we heard it was the scariest - but I will admit it does take a lot to "scare" me and my daughter, and we did jump a few times. The props and effects were great, much to look at - the clown and asylum rooms were the best. The ending took me by surprise there was nothing to indicate the end of the haunt except for walking outside after turning a corner. 
City of the Dead was pretty cool also,the beginning was great - although not as elaborate... I loved the props and effects used in this haunt, the actors in this haunt were good also.  
We had a lot of fun and will do this again next year, if not again this year - anxious to take my hubby there now.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at