Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2006 Visitor Reviews Submitted by jh1129

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: ABYSS Haunts, LLC (Joliet, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you live in joliet, then its easy to find. if you use mapquest you WILL get lost. try google maps or something else. mapquest's directions has us going way out of the way big time.

Wait Entertainment: none - very disappointing.

Length of Event: about 10 min or so

Actor Performance: for there 1st haunt, not aweful - but pretty darn close

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we bumped into the group ahead of us, and the 2 groups behind us caught up to us. should've been more spread out. for a saturday night, it wasn't busy at all. they could've had 5-10 min gaps

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up no problem

Props / Special FX: overall poor, with the exception of the vortex which spun so fast it felt as though we were going to get sick. other than that, i've seen way better.

Costumes / Make-up: average to poor. exampe: if you think a little girl say age 10-ish walking around in a night gown brandishing a fake knife is scary, then this haunt is for you. as far as make-up goes, i'd say it was probably 80/20 for no-makeup(costumes)/costumes/makeup. they need some work in this department very badly

Summary: like i said, for the abyss's first try out in the haunting house realm, nice try. you guys need to go to other haunted houses such as nightmares basement of the dead, slaughterhouse on sayton road or even dare i say 11th hour(which sadly enough is way better than the abyss) so your hh could be better next yr. for this year, however, i've been to many hh's this yr that were alot cheaper and better. give a try next year and hopefully you will get the art of a good haunted house down pat.

Event Reviewed: Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/28/06 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: excellent - same place as last year. right near the casino/river.

Wait Entertainment: excellent. they had this one guy who actually grabbed a girl and dragged her everywhere with her screaming bloody murder the whole time (even though one could hope that this was staged), nobody wanted to get near that guy when all was said and done. kudos people. excellent work. very believable!!!!!

Length of Event: approx 20-30 min or so, wasn't really paying too much attention.

Actor Performance: just as last yr, awesome. these guys/gals perfectly on cue the whole time while we were inside. keep up the awesome work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect. did not bump or get bumped by any other group. these guys run a hh the correct way. no bumping inside, no rushing people through.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: again, my hats off to these guys. fine work. with the amount of time that was put into the props/fx, one could only appreciate the time that was given up to do this. i was told by a fellow worker (bobby z.) that he knows the guy that runs this hh, and he told me that it took him and his buddy & friends 4 yrs to do this the 1st time around. over the yrs, this hh shows the time, involvement by all parties helping, the love for an excellent haunt and the care that goes into the actual preperations to do this sort of thing. good work people and please come back again next yr.

Costumes / Make-up: very original - also my answer to the above pretty much covers this section too.

Summary: see props/section. also i'd like to include that i've been here now 2 yrs in a row. both years, i have had the crap scared out of me. this year more than last year. they have my vote for the #1 haunted house in illinos hands down. for every year this haunt comes back, so will i.

Event Reviewed: X-treme Haunting's Sayton Road Slaughterhouse (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: SINCE I'M NOT FROM THE AREA, GOOGLE MAPS HELPED TREMENDOUSLY. EASILY FOUND ON SAYTON ST. WHETHER YOUR COMING OFF OF ROLLINS RD OR RTE-12, SIGNS AT BOTH INTERSECTIONS. VERY VISIBLE EVEN WITH THE RAIN COMING DOWN.

Wait Entertainment: SOME, 3 OR 4 ACTORS ROAMING THE LINE & GETTING ON THE YOUNG GIRLS NERVES. GOOD JOB.

Length of Event: NOT TO GIVE TO MUCH AWAY, DEPENDING ON ONE PARTICULAR AREA, SOMEONE COULD GET LOST FOR AWHILE. APPROX 10-30 MINUTES DEPENDING ON YOUR SENSE OF DIRECTION IN THE DARK.

Actor Performance: FANTASTIC. TRUE TO FORM. EVERYONE VERY MUCH RIGHT ON CUE. AGAIN, MY HATS OFF TO ALL THE GUYS AND GALS WHO PUT ALL THE HARD WORK INTO THEIR PERFORMANCES.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: UP UNTIL THE MAZE, WE NEVER BUMPED INTO ANYBODY. IN THE MAZE, WE DID CATCH UP TO AND PASS THE GROUP THAT WAS AHEAD OF US. BUT THAT WAS TO BE EXPECTED. NO BIGGIE. PATRON FLOW MUCH BETTER THAN MOST OF THE ATTRACTIONS THAT I HAVE BEEN TO IN PAST YRS.

Appropriate Ages: SIGN SAYS 12 AND UP AND I WOULD SAY THAT IS PROBABLY CORRECT.

Props / Special FX: AWESOME, AGAIN THESE PEOPLE DID A WONDERFUL JOB IN THE DETAIL OF ALL THE PROPS/FX THAT WERE USED. AND THE SMELLS - WOW. MORE HH'S NEED TO SEE THIS PLACE TO BETTER THEIR HH'S.

Costumes / Make-up: WITH THE EXCEPTION TO THE EVIL CLOWNS (WHICH PRACTICALLY ALL HH'S HAVE THESE), VERY ORIGINAL TO ALL OF THE OTHER COSTUMES AND MAKEUP. THIS WAS OUR 4TH HAUNT THIS YR AND THE 1ST WITH DIFFERENT COSTUMES/MAKEUP ON THE ACTORS. KUDOS. 

Summary: OVERALL, VERY ENTERTAINING. HAD A FANTASTIC TIME GETTING BOTH SCARED AND JUST PLAIN LAUGHING AT MY STUPIDITY AT TIMES. TO DATE THIS YEAR, BY FAR THE BEST HH I'VE BEEN TO. I'LL PROBABLY COME BACK AGAIN NEXT WEEKEND AND DEFINITLY WILL BE BACK FOR AS LONG AS THE GROUP RUNS THIS HAUNT FOR MANY YRS TO COME. AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/21/06 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: BIG SIGN ON THE SOUTH SIDE OF ROLLINS ROAD. VERY VISIBLE.

Wait Entertainment: 2 ACTORS ROAMING, NOTHING MAJOR TO REALLY SAY. KINDA BORING.

Length of Event: 10 MINUTES MAX.

Actor Performance: ACTORS WERE GOOD, SOME COULD'VE BEEN A LITTLE MORE INTO IT. THE BEGINNING ACTORS VERY INTO IT, THEN KINDA DOWNHILL FROM THERE.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: NEVER BUMPED INTO ANY OTHER GROUP.

Appropriate Ages: 10 AND UP.

Props / Special FX: SAME AS LAST YEAR FOR THE MOST PART. COMPARED TO LAST YEAR HOWEVER, THIS YRS' SEEMED LIKE THERE WERE LESS PROPS. DISAPPOINTED.

Costumes / Make-up: VERY ORIGINAL FOR THE MOST PART.

Summary: IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A STARTER HH FOR THE NIGHT, THEN THIS IS A GOOD PLACE TO START TO GET THE NIGHT OF HH'ING GOING. I WOULDN'T TRAVEL MORE THAN 30 MINUTES TO GET HERE, SOMEONE WOULD BE BETTER OFF GOING TO A STARTER HH IN YOUR AREA.

Event Reviewed: Lombard Jaycees Haunted House (Lombard, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/16/06 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: online directions a bit off w/mapquest, use google maps-way better directions. easily found w/google maps.

Wait Entertainment: only one character wandering around.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: my hats off to these guys. excellent actor performances - true to form.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we got there at 730pm & probably waited 10-15 minutes to actually get inside. we did bump into the group ahead of us and ended up passing them.

Appropriate Ages: 8 & up. however, there were kids there younger than 8.

Props / Special FX: excellent, very detailed. this surprised me due to the fact that i've always thought of any of the jaycees attractions to be more kid oriented/but kudos you to guys.

Costumes / Make-up: once again, as the above(props/fx), costumes were nice. mostly your basics-freddy, jason, etc....

Summary: i was throughly impressed with this attraction. i've always thought that the jaycees are too kiddie, but they did get some good scares out of me & my friend. for a good starter to the halloween season, this is a good place to go to give you the taste of excitement for the better hh's, probably will be back next yr but this time i'll bring my nephew.

Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions (Bolingbrook, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jh1129   (Event Visited: 10/15/06 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/06
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: neon signs on that can be seen from the road at a distance. easily found.

Wait Entertainment: only 2 characters roaming around , but it was a sunday night and there was no line whatsoever.

Length of Event: haunted mansion-about 10 min. 
evil intentions-about 5 to 10 min.

Actor Performance: haunted mansion-excellent, scared the crap out of the lady i went with. 
evil intentions-actors did a good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: being a sunday night, i think we were the only ones inside either attraction.

Appropriate Ages: haunted mansion-12 and up. 
evil intentions-13/14 and up. people say that e.i. is supposed to be adult only, but i never figured out why. was pretty bored with it. hence my lower age score for ei.

Props / Special FX: props were average for the haunted mansion...your basic for most haunted houses.  
evil intentions(ei)...everything completely hand made so that was pretty cool

Costumes / Make-up: haunted mansion costumes were nice, ei-could've been way better.

Summary: i've read the reviews about this attraction and thought cool an adult only hh. i give hats off to the actors, but i feel the 2nd - ei, could've been way better. both myself and my lady friend had more fun/scares in the haunted mansion than in the 2nd attraction-ei. and thats a shame, i was really looking forward to an adults only attraction. very disappointed. maybe going on a sunday night was part of it, but at the same time, one would think the actors should of given us the time of our lives since it was pretty dead (no pun intended). maybe on a busier night (fri/sat) its better, not sure. but regardless of the day, any really good haunted attraction should give its walkers a jolly good time/scary time. just didn't happen for either of us. truly disappointed with the adults only attraction-evil intentions. i go to about 6-10 hh's each yr and i do repeat certain ones, this one however will never be repeated by myself and will not be recommended to any of my friends. the so-called scare/sick factor just wasn't there for me.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at