Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Shotgun Manor (Sullivan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: navy14   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: this haunted house was taken place above the square, and the line was in an alley

Wait Entertainment: there was an awesome video made by chris miller

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: the scarers were very good at what they do, lets just say i went in it twice and pissed my pants

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was all very well thought out

Appropriate Ages: probably 13 and older

Props / Special FX: lots of dry ice

Costumes / Make-up: many scary ppls, and very well thought out costumes and make up artists

Summary: Ok so i went into this haunted house twice, once with my parents and my friend, then another time with a lot of friends, what was kind of a drag, was that the most you could have go in is 5. but me and my friend bawld and peed our pants. when i went with my friends, a bunch of drunk 30 yr olds decided to get in front of us, then being as immature as they were, they threw a beer can at us, worst part is that the owners of shotgun manor did nothing but pick up the beer can.........But other then that this haunted house was awesome.......BEWARE OF THE GREEN SliME

Reviewed by: ana0818   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: well it was kind of hard to get to because there was just a little sign that said "shotgun manor" we had to stop and ask for directions and then they had a place where you bought the ticket to get in and that was really hard to find too.

Wait Entertainment: there wasn't any at all, just standing in a line in the freezing cold waiting.

Length of Event: like not even 30 minutes

Actor Performance: they could have used some work majorly because well the only part that was really scary is when some of the actor's and actresses would hide and jump out of no where.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was alright but they really need to do some work..to make it more haunted

Appropriate Ages: maybe like 10-13...

Props / Special FX: it was ok

Costumes / Make-up: looked fake it needed to look more realilistic

Summary: well when you think of haunted you think of ghosts zombies vampires ware wolfs not people dressed up in bright colored make up. i mean these people had on masks and like clown make up and it wasn't scary at all. they need better special effects.

Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find they have signs all over town

Wait Entertainment: they had none, this was the only part that was disapointing

Length of Event: about 25 minutes inside

Actor Performance: very good, we had one spook follow us for a while

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, I don't know if we got lost or what but we came out of the house after the group that came in behind us???

Appropriate Ages: 10 or so

Props / Special FX: really good props with real good use of lighting and fog

Costumes / Make-up: I did not see any costumes, I think they all had real good face paint

Summary: really good this year, I liked the new floor plan we went through part of it twice somehow, we liked the spooks getting close in the dark areas. good job shotgun spooks, see ya next year!!

Reviewed by: headless   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find we went there on the 12th also

Wait Entertainment: still nothing, except a old man complaining that he could not have his little dog in the house with him, it's like duh put the dog in the car.

Length of Event: about 25 minutes

Actor Performance: the tree guy was great and a blue and black painted face really got us from a window

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run into anyone like last time

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: they had made some changes inside since our visit on the 12th, it only made it better, thats why I gave them a 10 this visit

Costumes / Make-up: mostly all face paint which was done very good did not see any mask this time

Summary: If they continue next week end like they did in the first two weeks of being open (making changes/ better scares) they will have a really great haunt for the holloween weekend. Other than the stupid guy wanting to take his dog in the house it was a great night, two really good places in the same night, awesome!!!

Reviewed by: angelofkarma   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not bad, there are signs telling you how to get there.

Wait Entertainment: There were spooks outside the house when I was there as well as a small concession stand.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes but there are outside spooks so its not bad.

Actor Performance: Overall the actors were amazing a few very loud screamers. All the actors were in character when i attend the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Part of the tour it was good and part of the time it was not. But i think we had a slow group in front of us and a fast one behind.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ There were lots of children crying and one of the kids in my group asked to be let out.

Props / Special FX: Lots of really good animatronics and special effects. Also very good use of lighting and strobes.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up is done very unique and almost every spook is differant. Some of the masks are a little generic though. But there use of make-up and prosthetic features(noses, scars, ears, etc.) is absolutlely amazing.

Summary: A very good Haunt, admission price fair. I had a very fun time when I went. Most of the scares seemed well thought out and unique. This house is most definately one of genuine design, it was well thought out originally, its all from a movie or book. I had a blast and the scares were very good, make-up also good. A good Haunted house to visit.

Reviewed by: scared4life   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good, signs up all over the play directing you to the square.

Wait Entertainment: None, just someone in a mask, i think she was security and a spook, very good, scared a lot of people around me. Very good job.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes depending on what happens

Actor Performance: Very good, got my friend a lot of times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, ran into one group behind us, but that was because we were going slow because my friend was scared to death, they stopped and waited and we never saw another group again

Appropriate Ages: 12+ depends on how scared they get, saw some people go out crying

Props / Special FX: A lot more props than last year, i don't want to give anything away so go and find out.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of really awesome face painting. I've never seen some like that before, very good job. Mask were good and went along with the theme.

Summary: Overall this house is good. I know each night varies from one another depending on the people working it, but the night i went my friend was so freaked out, she had a wonderful time. I had fun watching her get scared. i wouldn't call this house a "fun house" at all. It's good and i would recommend it to any of my friends! Good luck Shotgun; have a great season and good luck next year!

Reviewed by: headless   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: building is on town square, which is easy to find, they also had signs pointing which way to turn.

Wait Entertainment: none, it would have been better with something

Length of Event: about 25 min inside the house

Actor Performance: really good for the first night of being open, we could tell which ones had been spooks before

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was good, we did have a group come up on us

Appropriate Ages: 9 or so

Props / Special FX: they had more mechanical stuff than last year which is good, props was good

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes fit the area they were in and the make up was great

Summary: the flow was much better this year than last, you could tell that alot of detail went into this place which made it better. they need something for the wait line. overall it was a good time and I will return next week end.

Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find; it is located on the square uptown.

Wait Entertainment: They had one person walking around, but not doing anything; just pacing up and down the line and she/he wasn't scary.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes maybe.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was not great and they seemed short-handed. Several we walked by and they didn't even bother to try to scare us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was relatively good. We did run into the group in front of us, but only because it was a couple of teenage girls (which should explain it all).

Appropriate Ages: 8 and over. Nothing really gory that would be inappropriate.

Props / Special FX: They had some nice props. They have copied a lot of things from other haunts I've attended.

Costumes / Make-up: I only saw one person with make-up on. Masks were average.

Summary: With the building and set-up they have, they could do so much more with this haunt. Hopefully the actors will get into it a bit more as this could be a fantastic haunt.

Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good location easy to find on the square easy parking well lit

Wait Entertainment: we waited about 15 min

Length of Event: around 15 min

Actor Performance: very good everyone worked hard at spooking you

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very well no problem

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: very nice

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: This was our first time there we go to a lot of haunted houses and was very empressed and would highly recommend that you go .they had some very cool scenes our group works haunted houses so we dont impress or scare easy and was very glad we went.creatures of the night Decatur

Reviewed by: 5nights   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ok, there were signs and a gas station clerk told us how to get there while we were getting gas

Wait Entertainment: good they had actors walking around... got a girl in our group 2 twice.

Length of Event: 20 - 30 minutes

Actor Performance: great, there was a girl in the house that was a great screamer...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not as bad as the other houses we have gone too but we still had a group right on top of us.

Appropriate Ages: 12 + there were kids coming out of the house in tears

Props / Special FX: Really good, too many great ones to comment on

Costumes / Make-up: great

Summary: This was our first time to this haunted house and it was good. It was probably one of the best we have been to this year and will be a hard one to beat. They come at you from all directions so watch out....

Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasn't too hard to find as I had been there before.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any that I saw. However the wait was small.

Length of Event: 15 - 20 minutes depending on how fast you run.

Actor Performance: There were some good drop downs and there was a guy that got my girlfriend pretty good, he was laying on the casket, I am not going to say anymore! There wasn't any people that were in my face like there was last year, for that I am disappointed. I really liked the clowns last year! Bring them back!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a little rough going. Some of the scenes were a little tight but that just made my girlfriend get closer. I didn't feel rushed nor did I feel like we were going to slow. We did bump into another group but they seemed to be pretty scared and were moving slowly.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: There were lots of effects. The only place where I have seen better effects was Dreamreapers this year, but they make the darn things to sell at thier haunt! However, just like Dreamreapers it was almost to a point that it no longer was a "haunted attraction" but a "fun house". I know that the two have fuzzy lines but that was my feeling.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were not too elaborate. The makeup was excellent though.

Summary: Overall I would have to say that Shotgun Manor this year was more of a "fun house" than what I consider a haunted attraction. I think that more consideration has been put into detail and props. It was a little disappointing as I wanted more action and less animatronics, but that is just me.

Reviewed by: screamgirlz   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs in several places when you got to town directing you to the "House" (which is actually located on the town square above the Thrifty Boutique Store)

Wait Entertainment: There really was not any

Length of Event: Once you got inside the house...was about 20 mins

Actor Performance: I have attended this Haunted House all three years...and in the past they had some really scarey characters...but there were less actors this year and really more scare type people

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Man there were a lot of rooms and every year the flow has been different so you really can get turned around and not know where you are

Appropriate Ages: The regular house I would say 9yrs and up...They do offer a Friendly Ghost tour w/lights on (which is for all ages if you're afraid of the dark)

Props / Special FX: Not to give anything away but they had way more cool props this year thus less actors

Costumes / Make-up: Was nice to see they have gotten away from masks and have use face paint...and some of the make-up was out of this world!!!!

Summary: I would go see this house again. They did raise the prices, however there were more rooms this year and the special touches added to the scare factor...You would probably need to see this attraction a couple of times to really see all the new things going on inside SHOTGUN MANOR

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at