Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
South Beloit Haunted Barn/ Hayride (South Beloit, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: cougargirl2   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The event is very easy to find-there are plenty of signs that are well lit and we always can see the lights on top of the silo from a couple of miles away.

Wait Entertainment: There has never been a very long wait when I've gone, but there are a few monsters lurking around.

Length of Event: It took us about 15 minutes to go through the barn, and a little bit more on the hayride.

Actor Performance: The actors in both the barn and hayride are awesome as usual, and this year you couldn't smell alcohol on the breaths of the workers in the barn.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They always does a good job of spacing small groups in the barn.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 8-10 and up.

Props / Special FX: The barn has mirrors, electricty (such as a Jacob's ladder), something that scared us that made a really loud noise and vibrated the floor when we walked over it, a floating hand that we could not figure out but scared us to death. There is so much to describe besides this too!

Costumes / Make-up: There were some really good clowns and the others weren't half bad either.

Summary: I have come to the Haunted Barn every year since it has opened and it gets better every year, and this year was no exception. The new owners really know how to put on a show! The hayride was great last year, and it has improved tremendously too. This is the perfect place to go at Halloween, plus there are 2 attractions at one site, which makes things convenient for my group every year.

Reviewed by: sherone   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very good props, lots of smoke, chainsaws and dark scarey atmosphere.

Wait Entertainment: Plenty of ghouls running around sneaking up behind you while you waited in line for hayride.

Length of Event: Went only on hayride and it lasted about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Lots of scarey actors jumping out and sneaking up on the ride

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The wagon we went on was full and there were plenty of people in line but the flow was good, we didn't have to wait more than 5 minutes to get on the ride when we arrived.

Appropriate Ages: I brought my teenagers and they loved it but there were smaller kids on our ride too, they seemed to have fun.

Props / Special FX: Lots of smoke and chainsaws.

Costumes / Make-up: a variety of masks and makeup

Summary: This was the first hayride I have been on as an adult and I really enjoyed it. I would definately come back again and tell others to check it out. My boys were pretty scared too, although they would never admit it!

Reviewed by: surrah11487   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is out in the middle of no where, but I found it easy because Ive been going there for years.

Wait Entertainment: There was a guy with a mask on the top of his head(not on his face) standing by the entrance smoking. He said hi to us and smiled, very scary.

Length of Event: It took us 5 minutes to go through this 8 dollar attraction.

Actor Performance: There werent any actors, Until we got to the clown room and there were like 4 clowns in there and they werent doing anything scary just jumping around and making weird noises. Then they were laughing at each other being goofy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones in it.

Appropriate Ages: Good for young kids.

Props / Special FX: Nothing new or exciting.

Costumes / Make-up: Clowns.

Summary: I dont understand why it wasnt any good this year. It has been my favorite every other year. Thats why I decided to do a review so that in case the haunted barn tried something new this year maybe they should go back to there regular way of doing things. I heard in the paper that they changed owners or something, but they said it was going to be scarier and have lots of new things. It wasnt. They usually had someone around every corner and in every nook and cranny ready to scare you. but this year nobody but 4 clowns in the same room. The hayride was pretty cool though, a lot better than the barn.

Reviewed by: cimbucky   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find via google and mapquest. Signage is well light.

Wait Entertainment: Ghouls walking around and interacting with the customers

Length of Event: 20 min for hayride and 8 mins for haunted barn

Actor Performance: Outstanding performance for the hayride. The actors throughout the entire ride were very scary and very interactive

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Both hayride trailers were full both times we went which made the experience more intense and thrilling

Appropriate Ages: Yes, actors showed respect for the young children on the hayride. If they saw a kid upset they would not keep scaring them.

Props / Special FX: Lots of fog, chainsaws, music and overall great stuff

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of clowns (reminds me of Stephen Kings IT) great masks and makeup.

Summary: This is the best hayride we've been to in 3 years! I brought my daughter's 15th birthday party here and we ended up going on the hayride and then the haunted barn and then they wanted to go on the hayride again. My daughter and her friends screamed so much they almost wet their pants!! They were consently jumping out of their seats. You never knew what was coming next. The actors got on the rides and interacted with the customers which made the experience more fun. Lots of turns and twist throughout the ride you would never know what was around the next corner. Last years hayride was great, this year's is 10 times better. GREAT JOB!!!!

Reviewed by: jsutherland4   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lots of signs and very easy to find right off the Interstate 90 at Ill 75

Wait Entertainment: lots of ghost lurking around in the shadows while you wait.

Length of Event: 15 Minutes in the Barn and 20 minutes on the hayride

Actor Performance: actors were quite lively- stalking the customers, making them look over their shoulders

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: constantly moving in barn

Appropriate Ages: appropriate for school age and up

Props / Special FX: chainsaws, live scenes, fog

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: Overall the haunted barn and hayride are worth the drive and money. They both keep you in suspense. Also there's a concession stand to have a snack while you wait or have a hot chocolate to warm up. I would go back more than once just for the fun of it.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at