Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates - Undertakers Laboratories - A Haunted Event (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: anwerns   (Event Visited: 10/30/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good

Wait Entertainment: Good I didn't have to wait

Length of Event: Long enough

Actor Performance: Great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: Yes

Props / Special FX: Awesome

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome WoW

Summary: I really enjoyed it and had a lot of fun. Hope you all have it again. I really enjoyed the experience did not even know that the place even excited till this year. I was just surfing the internet for haunted houses and found the haunted ill directory which is really awesome for Haunted house goers 

Reviewed by: diana   (Event Visited: 10/30/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Need better lighting on main road to show entrance. Location itself is great!

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait, but there was a place to buy food and drinks it you wanted.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good job. Great make-up, costumes, etc.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was continuous, no back-ups, or waiting.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Good--could use more.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.

Summary: We loved it, it was great~ We are looking forward to next year already!! My son and his friend especially liked (or not, the part where we had to seperate and go in different directions--that freaked them out quite a bit.

Reviewed by: Shatterbabe   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Found it right away! No problems at all.

Wait Entertainment: We had a blast waiting in line. Curls did a great job freakin my friends out. Spooky got them a few times too! Waited less than 10 min.

Length of Event: Approx 20 Min

Actor Performance: Awesome! Curls was by far the freakiest. I don't spook easy but she did give me the chills. Her eyes are so intense..... I just LOVED her! They all had great makeup on as well. They were working extra hard as many of their crew were not present. I think they did an outstanding job picking up the extra parts. The lady in the dark that told me I was going the wrong way sent a chill down my spine too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth. The only people we ran into was another couple in our group that we were purposely trying to cath up with.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The spinning cages in the beginning were awesome!! The Vortex, nurses room, Broiler room, I don't know.. All of it was wild.Just watch yourself on the way out!

Costumes / Make-up: Fabulous!!! Great job. Especially Curls. WOW!!! Her eyes will send a chill down your spine. This girl did NOT break character ONCE. WOW, we are still talkin about her. Spooky was awesome too. I loved watching him creep around with his chainsaw. Watch out for dark corners!

Summary: It was awesome. I can't wait to go back. We went with a group of 11 and everyone is talking about it. We want to thank everyone for their time in doing this. We WILL be back....

Reviewed by: lizzieborden   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Look for the tiki torches on the sign and lining the road. It's pretty easy to see!

Wait Entertainment: The redhead with the doll is freaky! There was the lady in a long black cloak with a really scary laugh... Binki needs help, someone please help that poor guy!! There are interesting displays in the waiting room and the "commercials" that interrupt the movie are pretty funny. There were a lot of people there so I got to see a few of them.

Length of Event: Don't ask any of the staff, you won't get a straight answer. It took me almost 20 minutes, but the rest of my group got lost. It took them about 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The chick with the needle was super freaky!!! The guy that crabwalks backwards and sniffs is creepy. He gets way into your personal space without touching you and doesn't back off. He made my skin crawl!!!! The little girl was unexpected. She came out of nowhere and scared the bejeesus out of me! I like the hunchbacked doctor too. He was good! Overall, I'd say the actors are pretty good and you can tell that they are having fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had to wait so they could escort a woman out who was crying and scared. Other than that, we never really ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: The spinning room was very disorienting. I kept leaning way over. I felt like I was falling the whole time.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the makeup was really well done, and some people were just black. A few had masks. The costumes and makeup of the nurses and doctors by the needle room were amazing. The identical doctors had to have been twins. That was eerie!

Summary: This place is well worth the money and wait! The building is scary by itself! The actors made the experience a very frightening one! I never knew where the next scare was coming from especially when the people in all black would jump out of dark places. I'll go back on Halloween for sure!!! Keep up the good work guys... you did an "awesome" job (as Binki would say)!

Reviewed by: mbiddy04   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The sign was easy to see from the highway. It was easy to find coming from charleston.

Wait Entertainment: Very entertaining, Binky cracked me up.

Length of Event: 20 -25 min

Actor Performance: Very good, lots of energy and you could tell they enjoyed what they were doing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow wasnt bad we only saw one other group but they were kinda busy that night so it was understandable.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: Ok the spinning tunnel was cool and the room with the needles scared me. The decon part was cool too because they split my group up in different paths! Nice detail to some of the rooms. The spinning boxes were also really cool

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors had makeup on and it looked good, I could tell some were just all black faces; but i think it was because they were supposed to be due the fact they were all in pitch black rooms.

Summary: Overall I would say this haunt has improved a lot from last year and that it was really worth the money. It does cost a little more but there are no other haunts in the area that will scare you and have the same atmosphere that ashmore estates does! Very good and i was very impressed Ashmore is comparable to the haunts in chicago and is just as good and about half the price! Very good I will be back.

Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find as we went there last year, but they moved the place to buy tickets that was hard to find

Wait Entertainment: the entertainment was kinda funny because the guy was only scaring the girls

Length of Event: about 10-15 min

Actor Performance: I think they could have tried to be more scary instead of just yelling get out of my house over and over

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was fine, it could been slowed down some

Appropriate Ages: 5 or 6

Props / Special FX: not much other than the spinning boxes, I thought that was good

Costumes / Make-up: mostly masks, very little make-up, you might want to stay away from the movie type masks

Summary: to be quite honest we thought that the place was better last year just being kinda plain, the stuff this year was like put some stuff over there and some here with no reason behind it. we paid the price for a rush pass but would not do that again.

Reviewed by: giggles   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: a little hard to find need more light on sign!!

Wait Entertainment: about 10 minute

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: awsome!! very entergetic

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not bad a little congested at one point!!

Appropriate Ages: 10 + 

Props / Special FX: very good you can tell they did alot of work and were very creative!!

Costumes / Make-up: pretty good

Summary: this was a great haunted house and very well worth the money!! the Decon area where they made me go alone throug a door into total blakness scared the crap out of me and somehow the workers in that area new my name that was real freaky!!It shows that the workers really are working hard to scare me, and they did that for sure,They scared me when i really wasnt expecting it other haunts are so predictable, I was really caugth off gard and that is what seemed to happen throug out the house and what i think made this haunt so great!! Also i must mention the chainsaw guy good job you are just a freak and could probaly scare me in the day light!!

Reviewed by: spookyett   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There wasn't any sings directing you from Charleston to the haunt, and when we got there, no signs told you where to go pay

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: Not very good...the actors did not stay "in Character" and their timming of scaring us was way off

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did run into the other part of our group, becaus at the begining they split us up into groups of 3 and 2

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: the spining box was cool, but the rest was ok

Costumes / Make-up: not very good....that needs work!!!

Summary: Outside they need to post signs of where to go pay at, and they need to clear all of the tree lims out of the grass area in front of the house, and hide the cables because i triped on them, and they need to get rid of the stumps as well!! The inside was ok, there "staff" doors were open and we could see in them. the spooks need to stay "in Character!!"

Reviewed by: scared4life   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Coming from Charleston, could not even see the road. I didn't even see the sign, fortunately the people that were with me knew somewhat where they were going. other than that there needs to be more signs!

Wait Entertainment: None, though there was no line either, when we came out there was a guy with a chainsaw kinda roaming. Where he was when we got there i have no idea.

Length of Event: 15 min.....Depends on if you get as lost and confused as we did.

Actor Performance: Poor, i saw one guy with no mask/make-up on. I also saw what looked like a spook down stairs taking a break. Most of them just said get out of my room/house. Need a little more dailic. This one guy said he new Bob Dillon...scary how? Just need a little more variety in the sayings.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not bad, i did run into the group behind me, but that was our group that had to split up at the beginning. We did see another group, and i scared them (by accident) but it was like through a "dead" part of a wall. Otherwise they was nobody really in the house to run into.

Appropriate Ages: 9+ depends on how scared they can get

Props / Special FX: There was a vortex that was cool, the moving boxes arn't too bad, other than that, there was nothing worth remembering.

Costumes / Make-up: Honestly, they were on the poor side. I saw one guy in the house without make-up or a mask on, and he tried to scare us, didn't work very well without a mask. Some of the masks were cool, but most just had painted black faces. Costumes were cool in the "needle" room, and the "electric chair" room

Summary: Overall this house did not rate up on my scary factor. Though i am hard to scare, i'm not impossible. The house needs a lot more work. They need to put more signs up and let people know what their doing when they get there. My group was so confused at where to pay, till we just kinda wondered up there and found it. I know every house differs from night to night when they have different people working, and either this house isn't as scary as i thought or we just went on a bad night. either way I dont think it was worth the admission price. I hope they will be better next year, good luck ashmore and better luck next season.

Reviewed by: yuscareme   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location is great/ but it is very hard to find we drove past it twice

Wait Entertainment: little not much

Length of Event: about 15 minutes I think

Actor Performance: slow, I think they were getting tired, one said she wanted to go home to another spook right behind us

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good, did not run into anyone

Appropriate Ages: 8

Props / Special FX: a spinning tube thing but it had too much light on it the spinning boxes was different

Costumes / Make-up: mostly all costumes some fit the area they were in

Summary: finding the place was kinda hard, (you need some lights on the one sign next to the road)the scares was mild I think mostly they were tired you can tell which ones were adults, you might want to turn off some lights inside the haunt it was too bright, sometimes the dark works a lot better it makes you feel like something is there.

Reviewed by: whiplash13   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have a big banner hung out by the highway which is very helpful, but their road is still a little difficult to locate at night.

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment was good. the chainsaw guy was scarey and did a good job of keeping you on your toes.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors did a fair job here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: things went good, however i did feel like for the size of the building it got over with maybe a little too fast.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: the spinning boxes are a must see !

Costumes / Make-up: make up was very well done. they all seemed to have been professionally painted.

Summary: ashmore estates is a good haunt to check out. the building alone is creepy by itself. a few things that in my opinion would make this an even better haunt, would be to make the thing last a little longer, and to change it so that we dont have to crawl, that part kinda hurt. but in the end i would say that ashmore and it's actors all did a great job and that me and all of my friends will be back again.

Reviewed by: farmer_6   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Kinda of visible, best to follow someone who knows where they are going.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome, better than inside the house. The man in the skull mask, was phenominal with chasing people with the chainsaw.

Length of Event: 15 -20 min.

Actor Performance: Seemed to be a majority of teens doing the acting. Some professionals, but not all of them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok. It went fast, it went to fast.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Ok. Vortex was my favorite. Other than that, it was not as good as I had hoped.

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: I would not pay $13 to see that again, if it was $5 that would be more resonible. I really hope they improve the place. An idea would be to put up black sheets over the spinning box, making it completely dark inside.

Reviewed by: drew   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Their is a big sign on rt 16 so this made it easy

Wait Entertainment: The chainsaw guy got me by surprise!! They did a good job

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Most were great!! Binky your the best and the actors in the dark room when you go through the black curtain, they scared the crap out of me you could not see them and they got me when i did not expect it!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: good

Costumes / Make-up: most make up waas good but their seemed to be alot of people with just black faces!!

Summary: This was a very good haunt and the actors were good you could tell they were enjoying what they were doing!! I am a hard person to scare and they got me man did they get me!! I recommend this haunt and would encourage everyone to go and it is worth every dime!!

Reviewed by: headless   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: they need a sign from the north on rt 16 we missed the turn

Wait Entertainment: it was a short wait, not many people in line yet

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: it was ok

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was kind of fast almost too fast

Appropriate Ages: 10 or 11 depending on the kid

Props / Special FX: some good props, the vortex thing was not working right??? 
 

Costumes / Make-up: ok

Summary: overall it was an ok haunt, I was hoping that after being open a couple of weekends it would have been better. Although it was ok. I might have to return next year to see if they make it better. I almost forgot the chain saw guy was pretty good.

Reviewed by: mksbk   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Better than the inside.

Length of Event: 20-25 min.

Actor Performance: very weak, except for the wait entertainment.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very bad ran into other groups constantly.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: the only one they had didn't work.

Costumes / Make-up: amateur makeup

Summary: This was the weakest haunted house I have ever been to. We went to two tonight one in Rantoul (excelent) and then drove about 70 miles to get completely disapointed by this one. This building could have so much potential but was completely wasted by this group.

Reviewed by: lexy   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could use a little more light on the sign off the main road!!

Wait Entertainment: a short wait but the wait was very entertaining!!

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: pretty good!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not to bad a little conjested around the decon area!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Vortex was awsome!! The building itself was very creepy!!

Costumes / Make-up: some were great others were just in all black they were not very scarey!!

Summary: I really enjoyed the maze!! The clown was awesome and so was the dead looking lady behind the bars she freaked me out as we walked by!! I did not want to have to go past her but the clown was behind me and i had to go forward!! and the guy with the chainsaw oh my gosh he scared me to death!! I hope to go back on halloween!!

Reviewed by: saretha   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: No signage from nort on 16 .

Wait Entertainment: Wait about 20 minutes . Guy with chainsaw really freaky

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Scary... Did good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into 1 other smaLL GROUP

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Loved Vortex... and air cannon

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes good

Summary: Place is very run down, debris ( busted up concrete)on steps, real spiders as big as half dollars , and at no time were we warned that you have to crawl out and as over 40 enthusists we thought that was bad idea...

Reviewed by: the_jackel   (Event Visited: 10/15/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: a little hard to find in the dark but good other wise

Wait Entertainment: not long good enterainment always on my toes

Length of Event: 15-20 min.

Actor Performance: very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: nice never felt like i was rush out and all and never ran into groups

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: very good

Costumes / Make-up: love the costums make-up was done very good very scarey

Summary: very all the way worth ever dollar love the actors u all keep up the good work dr. hart is very scary and the guy in the basement is scary to i think he kept yell out the jackel at us and the convict was very good as welland that zobbie guy was scarey too!!!

Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: great location and easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: ok

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok

Appropriate Ages: any

Props / Special FX: with time and experence this will be a great haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: fair

Summary: great building, building itself is very scary , need alot of improvement inside,as far as actors and to much lighting.If they would turn down the lights and work with their actors they will have a awesome haunted house. they also should remove the advertizement of the actor being at the haunted house that is very misleading this should of been done as soon as they knew he was not going to be their. Kids put out a good effort .

Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very hard to find. There was only one sign and it was only visible from the "other" direction.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't have to wait very long, but I have to say it because I promised, BINKY YOU ARE AWSOME AND I AM YOUR PINKY FRIEND! I did also like the guy with the chainsaw, he really got my girlfriend good even though she would not complete the haunt (she had to be escorted out) she thought it was the scarest place she had been EVER.

Length of Event: 20 - 30 minutes depending on if you walk or run.

Actor Performance: Very good. There seemed to be people where I didn't expect them and none where I really expected them to be. I did enjoy the guy dressed up like a Riff Raff doctor. He was funny. I also have to say that the guy in the black light room was pretty freaky. I am really afraid of needles BAD, that is all I am going to say.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was really good. I never felt rushed but I also never felt like I was going to fast.

Appropriate Ages: Not for small kids. Ages 13+

Props / Special FX: I didn't see many effects. There was a spinning vortex (supposedly), but it was stopped for some reason and the spinning boxes were INCREDIBLE! I would have like to seen more props and a little more careful detail to the rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was pretty good on some, excellent on others. You could tell who had haunted before from their makeup! Some were just all black face, clothes, etc. Others had elaborate costumes.

Summary: MUCH BETTER THAN LAST YEAR! I am glad I gave Ashmore Estates another chance. I was telling people not to go to Ashmore until best bud told me I had to give them another chance. One bad year doesn't mean that from then on it was a bad haunt. I would have to say that for the money, this is the best haunt so far this year. I have been to the ones in Chicago, Indy, and St. Louis and this one by far (once again, for the money) is the best. When we drove up, my girlfriend told me she wasn't going in because just the outside gave her the creeps. I told her that I love going to these and she was going to go. Like I said, she didn't last to the set of the first stairs before she had to be escorted out of the building. She has already been through 7 haunts this year. This is the first that really "scared" her. I think it is the whole, "This is a really haunted place" thing that got her going. Thanks for allowing me to go back in after I helped her out of the building. I would recommend this haunt to anyone and traveled 2 hours to see it, I am glad I did and more than likely will be coming back with more people.

Reviewed by: bigdog7173   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt is very easy to see but the road that runs in front of the haunt could be a little hard for people to find (keeps looking for it you won't be sorry).

Wait Entertainment: things where not fully up and running when we went through the haunt, entertainment was limited but the actors were great at keeping you jumping while waiting.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Most of the actors are seasoned veterans and do a wonderful job with staying in caracter. Would like to have had them just a little more "in your face". 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was not a problem, we only ran into another group once and the staff did a great job of getting us split back up without leaving caracter.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and above, maybe younger is they are brave!!

Props / Special FX: the magget movers and the vortex were very unique, although the whole building is a prop in itself (former mental hospital...HELLO).

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up that I could see were very good, not just the same old movie knock-offs, not sure if it was the building being dark or the actors not coming into the light but some were hard to see.

Summary: the legends and stories behind this building really help set the mood and give a certain something that not many haunts have (real paranormal activity), hats off to The Cast, Curls had my 13y/o so freaked out that she wouldn't even go in, and that is all she talks about now. THIS HAUNT IS A MUST!!

Reviewed by: elliott   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was in a good location. an old abandoned asailem. But be careful..u will end up alone b4 the end

Wait Entertainment: very little wait.less that 5 min.

Length of Event: it took us a good 20 min to go through it. maybe longer

Actor Performance: they were so great. they really made it feel like you were there when it all happened

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was non-stop one after another, but the long dark hallways had a great effect

Appropriate Ages: i would say ages 10 and up

Props / Special FX: o yes, loads, its not all make up and costumes. they even had an entire room the moved in a circle around u, like you were in a huge tube rolling.. you get so disoriented

Costumes / Make-up: they wernt all cheesy like most places. they wrnt just dumb clown masks. they were like atual insane ppl

Summary: Admission: $13...BUT WORTH EVERY PENNY...I had loads of fun you really cant miss this. it is located in ashmore about 10 min east of kansas. YOU REALLY CANT AFFORD TO MISS THIS!

Reviewed by: lollipop   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to see coming from Rt 16. There is a big banner on the road at the turn. Most people know where Ashmore Estates is so they can find it but there needs to be more lighting on the building for anyone that doesn't know. Also the entrance is on the other side of the building now - and it was a bit confusing knowing where to go at first.

Wait Entertainment: Lots to do! They've changed it from last year and now there is Cadavre Cafe (concessions) instead of their DEAD truck. Its a ghoulishly painted room now inside by the waiting room. There is an old piano with sheet music for Halloween songs to play. The waiting room has posters and framed pictures and stories about the haunt in years past, the reputation of the building (it's haunted for real), and stories about other interesting things. The actors in the waiting area rotate around so you never know who is going to scare you or where they will scare from. The red headed doll girl is the creepiest. There are also bonfires outside where you can cook hot dogs and s'mores from the concessions.

Length of Event: 15 -20 minutes

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were really good. A few were a bit timid but it was the first night and they were new actors I hadn't seen before. The doctor in the room with the electric chair is right in your face scary. The guy in the waiting area with the bloody boils won't stop following you - and if he does it still FEELS like he is there. Eeeww! the actor in the basement hall scared me to death! The clown surprised me when he popped out too. There were a few places that actors didn't seem to be in place and several scares that I saw coming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: People were free to walk around and look at the pictures on the walls or go to the cafe. They have changed things this year so there no waiting line. You are free to wander until they call you when they are taking your color wristband. Once you are inside everyone moves along smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: Brave 10 year olds and up. While I was there I saw a girl about 9 years old crying as her parents dragged her to the ticket booth. One of the younger actresses escorted her. I came out behind her and she was still very scared but not crying.

Props / Special FX: The vortex was pretty cool but the spinning cages were a downright rush!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good, as usual. The Spookmeister is very well dressed. Some of the makeup was great, some needed improvement.

Summary: It was a much better haunt than last year - scarier, longer and better props. I had a good time and can't wait to go back after the new actors get better.

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction is a little in the middle of nowhere, but it is worth the drive. It is on a country road that is gravel, and not very well marked. However, mapquest gave good directions for getting there.

Wait Entertainment: I got right in with no wait, so there was little time to experience any wait entertainment. However, they did have a nice bonfire going outside. It looked like there was waiting space inside too.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Excellent! Everyone stayed in character and were very enthusiastic about their parts. The actors really go out of their way to scare you! And there are quite a few of them! One even spotted me from the parking lot and yelled taunts down at me from inside the house!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I only ran into another group briefly at the end once. Other then that, the staff did a good job keeping people spaced out. It was not very busy when I went, so I am not sure what happens when the place is crowded. However, it seemed as if I had the whole place to myself when I went through.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 12 and above. Maybe a little younger if they are brave!

Props / Special FX: Pretty cool atmosphere for what they have to work with. The building is old and creepy. I hear it is a real haunted house! There are some creative twists and turns and surprises in this house that I won't ruin for you.

Costumes / Make-up: I saw some pretty good costumes and make-up jobs. Some were very detailed and original. There were also a couple "classic" characters like Michael Myers and a chainsaw guy.

Summary: This haunted house is a good deal for the price (especially coupon price). The ticket staff was very friendly and welcoming. I travel all over the Midwest to haunted houses and I think this one beat some of the "fancy" chicago ones. This one wasn't so crowded that you kept running into people! THe only problem I had with this attraction was there were a couple safety issues I noticed in the house. There are stairs that are not lit up well at all or are hard to see. It would be easy for someone to trip on and get hurt! Aside from that, this was a lot of fun and worth every penny. I hope the actors keep up their high-energy performance the whole season!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at